Mega Thread Port Forum 'General AFL Talk' Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Macca19

These back to the future appointments in Eade & possibly Craig make me so glad we got Ken when we did.

I reckon it's Ken's appointment and relative success that has partially led to this recent trend (his age, more so than his coaching experience).

These back to the future appointments in Eade & possibly Craig make me so glad we got Ken when we did.

An Eade-coached team that actually has genuine KPF scoring power isn't something I'm looking forward to.

So, Neil "I'll never coach a team that's not the Crows" Craig is a late contender for the Bulldogs gig.

IMO, Craig will be remembered as an excellent prelude coach. Good at instilling the discipline and structure into a squad before it's handed off to someone who knows how to coach a team to win.

So, Neil "I'll never coach a team that's not the Crows" Craig is a late contender for the Bulldogs gig.

Clearly he meant he would never coach a team that doesn't share at least one colour with the crows. :p

An Eade-coached team that actually has genuine KPF scoring power isn't something I'm looking forward to.
Yeah I moreso meant Craig, Eade would be a good fit for a prepared club like the Suns but I'm glad we didn't go down the twice failed coach path in the position we were in at the time, I don't think he would've rebuilt our club like Ken did.

Yeah... actions speak louder than words.

He told the world how 'highly principled' he was by being a "one club coach"... what a joke!... now his actions are showing us exactly what he is ... a football whore.

Not that there's anything wrong with that BUT don't tell everyone how high and mighty you are and then do the exact opposite. Hopefully he NEVER comes anywhere near Alberton that's all lol.

IMO, Craig will be remembered as an excellent prelude coach. Good at instilling the discipline and structure into a squad before it's handed off to someone who knows how to coach a team to win.
Someone like Sanderson?

Yeah... actions speak louder than words.

He told the world how 'highly principled' he was by being a "one club coach"... what a joke!... now his actions are showing us exactly what he is ... a football whore.

Not that there's anything wrong with that BUT don't tell everyone how high and mighty you are and then do the exact opposite. Hopefully he NEVER comes anywhere near Alberton that's all lol.

Neil Craig. Football Whore.
If you pay extra he'll take his teeth out.

The whole 'get a young coach' phase was really quite stupid when you think about it

I don't mind the idea of a young coach. The stupid thing was that guys were never given another shot if they didn't excel the first time. One stint perceived to have been unsuccessful and you're done.

It's staggering that Gary Ayers wasn't being considered for jobs over the last few years considering what he managed with Port Melbourne, but people were burned by what he did at the Crows (despite basically compiling the list that Craig took to the top of the ladder in 05/06).

In every other sport in the world it's accepted that a head coach will develop and improve with more time in the role.

I dont think the young coach phase was silly. The 'lets appoint a young coach and not give him the support he needs whilst also expecting immediate results" phase was stupid though.

I reckon it's Ken's appointment and relative success that has partially led to this recent trend (his age, more so than his coaching experience).

No doubt. Before Ken we had the "favourite son" phase of head coaches with Buckley, Hird, Voss and even Primus all getting gigs soon after retirement. All recent captains of their respective clubs weirdly, it was a bit incestuous and the lack of experience showed with all of them to some degree. Primus sacked. Voss sacked. Bucks struggling. Hird, well....

Personally I think it's a combination of Ken's age, life experience and his long apprenticeship as an assistant that makes him successful, on top of being a ripper bloke by all accounts.

Other clubs are seeing the results and are trying to emulate them.

I think only Dimma is left in a job of the clubs that took another rookie coach over Ken in the past 5 or so years?

Personally I think it's a combination of Ken's age, life experience and his long apprenticeship as an assistant that makes him successful, on top of being a ripper bloke by all accounts.

Other clubs are seeing the results and are trying to emulate them.

Based on that Bolton at hawks should get a gig ... like Ken ... good footballer, teacher, successful country league coach, assistant at successful AFL club ...

Its more back to the future isn't it ... rather than emulating Ken?

I don't mind the idea of a young coach. The stupid thing was that guys were never given another shot if they didn't excel the first time. One stint perceived to have been unsuccessful and you're done.

It's staggering that Gary Ayers wasn't being considered for jobs over the last few years considering what he managed with Port Melbourne, but people were burned by what he did at the Crows (despite basically compiling the list that Craig took to the top of the ladder in 05/06).

In every other sport in the world it's accepted that a head coach will develop and improve with more time in the role.

You forget his time at the Cats before that. Contrast the way he went about things (including ending the careers of your Coach, Bairstow and others) with the way Ken has prolonged careers or ensured warriors like Cassisi went out with dignity.

It's not staggering at all to me that Ayres didn't get another shot, he may have improved, but he might not have improved as much as was required.

Hinkley had it as a coach from day one, let me assure you. He coaches largely the same way as he did the now defunct Mortlake Footy Club in 1996-1998. That's what is truly great about his coaching. He believes 100% in what he's doing, no mind games, no bullshit, no cutting corners.