Mead

Eagles
Ok, assuming that Primus does get the nod, i think we should have a think about some matchups- Last week, Worsfold's strategy of playing directly head to head with Brisbane's midfield stars payed off. So who do you think should match up on:

Nick Stevens- The leading possession getter for port.. Physically very strong for a midfielder. With his return to form last week, this could be a ideal matchup for Banfield.

Josh Carr- In my not so humble opinion, currently the best tagger in the league. Quick, tenacious, a good ball winner and has a nasty habit of kicking goals. Port will try and match him up on Cousins, I'm guessing.

Jarrad Schofield- Dynamic, Good ball getter and very very quick- like the other two midfielders, has a nasty habit of pushing forward and kicking goals. If he has an achilles heel, its that he likes to work in space and run off his opponents. Cousins or Wirrpunda could burn him because of this?

Josh Francou- Another gun midfielder, good in packs, very much like Kerr in his style of play. Either let Kerr go head to head with him, or rotate guys on him and try and wear him down.

Matthew Primus- Down on form of late, but arguably the best ruckman in the league. Ridiculously strong, murders people in body on body competitions. I doubt that Gardie can outbody him, however, Primus is never quick at the best of times, and lacks match fitness coming back from a two week sojourn. Gardiner can beat him if he brings his running shoes to the game- if Gardiner pushes forward and marks, gets back in defense, runs wherever the play is, he'll leave Primus gasping for air at the other end of the ground, and give us an extra man around the field- could be the key to the game, i think.

Any suggestions?

I reckon Wooden will be given first crack at Schofield.
Schofield & Akermanis are similar players, and Schofield is in such good form that he definitely warrants a tag.

Should be a good match this one. Im expecting Port to win...but then again i almost always expect Port to win. Lsat time you came over you were utterly destroyed the day after the late, great Fos Williams passed away. I think the result will be very much different. Will be a close game i reckon. If Ports forwards kick a few goals then i think we will win.

Without a doubt the most important matchup on the ground will be Gardiner v Primus. Primus as Mead said is just coming back from 2 weeks out and Gardiner is in great form. Gardy is one of the most mobile ruckmen in the league and it will be a testing game for Primus to curb his influence. However it will need to be a freewheeling attacking game for Gardy to take advantage of that. If the game gets held up and turns into an arm wrestle low scoring game then Primus may get on top.

The midfield again of course will be very important. I expect Wooden to stay in the back pocket on Wanganeen which leaves Jones and Banfield with run with jobs most likely on Stevens and Schofield. Kerr could also get a job as he did very well on Aka last week while winning plenty of the ball himself. I feel Cousins is really beginning to find his form and if he gets going then Carr will have a dirty day.

I expect Jakovich to have his way with Tredrea, Jako has beaten all oncomers this season expect no troubles from Tredders. At the other end you would hope someone other than Wakelin will get Wilson. Wilson could kick 10 on Wakelin, not quick enough, not mobile enough and not strong enough for Willow.

Eagles by 26 points.

If Primus plays then the matchup with Gardiner is critical to the result, but even if he does not, Port appear to have good backup ruckmen in both French and Lade. Cox therefore has to play as well, and I thought he did pretty well last week.

The weather forecast is for fine, sunny conditions with a light breeze and a top temperature of about 26 degrees....so it will be warm, but mostly just right for good footy.

I expect Wirra to miss, and even if he plays his mind is probably not going to be on the job....understandably. Munro is an interesting selection? In the discussions about how guys have been playing in the WAFL there has not been much on him.

Midfield matchups will decide this game, and it may run a similar course to last weeks match....tight in the first half with a lot of pressure, and then opening up when one side gets the upper hand. No idea which team that will be...before last week I would have said Port, but now I am not so sure.

The two midfields may break even in which case it will be how each side converts scoring opportunities that makes a difference. Haynes is obviously playing well in the WAFL...can he now cement a place in the team?

Originally posted by jod23
The midfield again of course will be very important. I expect Wooden to stay in the back pocket on Wanganeen which leaves Jones and Banfield with run with jobs most likely on Stevens and Schofield. Kerr could also get a job as he did very well on Aka last week while winning plenty of the ball himself. I feel Cousins is really beginning to find his form and if he gets going then Carr will have a dirty day.

Remember, Cousins killed us last time we played as well....yet we won by 120 points!

I expect Jakovich to have his way with Tredrea, Jako has beaten all oncomers this season expect no troubles from Tredders. At the other end you would hope someone other than Wakelin will get Wilson. Wilson could kick 10 on Wakelin, not quick enough, not mobile enough and not strong enough for Willow.

Eagles by 26 points.

Tredrea has the better of Jakovich.
His las two games against Jako:

2001 @ Subi - 21 touches, 9 marks, 3 goals
2001 @ FP - 16 touches, 7 marks, 5 goals

Jakovich might be in good form, but Tredrea is just starting to get going again and could destory Glen on Sunday. As for Wilson...im not too worried about who plays on him. As long as we get someone dropping into his leading space i wont be worried - Wilson can pound whoever it is...doesnt bother me...we'll take the free kicks.
Our midfield should be able to get on top. Francou and Stevens have never had two quiet games in a row...and expect Francou to have a blinder on Sunday. Carr will probably try and stop Kerr. Im not worried about Cousins. He can get a lot of the ball but his disposal so far this season has been shocking and he does not hurt the opposition with it as much as he should. Schofield will be too quick and too good for Banfield. Our forward line should be able to stretch your defence. Cockatoo Collins is hard to man up on as his hands seem to be made of glue and it doesnt matter whos on him.

Either way. Our teams match up very very evenly and its really difficult to see where the match winning move will come from. im looking forward to a great match...a pity none of you could come over for it!!

Tredrea will have two of Jakovich, Gaspar and McIntosh blocking him at any given stage on Sunday. On a purely man-on-man assessment, Jakovich will almost definitely win due to this.

Macca 19 said......

"As long as we get someone dropping into his leading space i wont be worried - Wilson can pound whoever it is...doesnt bother me...we'll take the free kicks.
Our midfield should be able to get on top. Francou and Stevens have never had two quiet games in a row...and expect Francou to have a blinder on Sunday. Carr will probably try and stop Kerr. Im not worried about Cousins. He can get a lot of the ball but his disposal so far this season has been shocking and he does not hurt the opposition with it as much as he should. Schofield will be too quick and too good for Banfield."

one must ask, have you seen the Eagles play at all this season, or are you just making assumptions?

Am I correct in saying that Wilson has barely given away a free kick at all this season? And if he has, it hasn't been when he has been crashing packs. Ask Brisbane whether it was a smart idea to leave Jo. Brown or Leppitcsh in front of him. Neither incident resulted in a free kick being given away, both resulted in injuried Brisbane players. I'm not saying that will win us the game, i'm just saying that your remark was uneducated/full of sh*te.

Cousins use of the ball has been poor?

Are you f-wording serious? Cus was rampant last week against Brisbane, and the week before against Melbourne, of course it is open to interpretation, i'm just saying that you are wrong. 9 clearances, a truckload of possessions and two clangers, i wouldn't worry about him either, he's s*ite, didn't hurt them last week.

Banfield on Schofield, that won't happen. Expect to see Banners on Nick Stevens perhaps.

i'm not saying we'll win, but we will be competitive me thinks.

as for Jako, it's a whole new ball game this year, forget what you've known or seen in the past.

It will be refreshing to see an opposition team TRY to play through Centre Half Forward. For those Port supporters who think they can comment on Jako because they saw him play last year, that's what happens when you have a champion CHB, you wouldn't know, but the opposition team will play the flanks as to avoid playing down the spine. Bring it on, straight down the guts.

oh and porthos, Jako never has anyone to help him "double team".

rant over

thegur

Originally posted by thegur
For those Port supporters who think they can comment on Jako because they saw him play last year, that's what happens when you have a champion CHB, you wouldn't know, but the opposition team will play the flanks as to avoid playing down the spine. Bring it on, straight down the guts.
I see the WCE ****ers of old are starting to resurface. Feel free to underrate our defence, I hope Woosha does.

oh and porthos, Jako never has anyone to help him "double team".
No, of course not. :rolleyes: They help him instead :p

Porthos, I think you are greatly underestimating the eagles. Fair enough you hammered us last year, but so did Collingwood (1pt loss this year) and Brisbane (46pt win). I'm not expecting us to win -- in Adelaide its very difficult -- but don't be too shocked if the result doesn't turn out the way you expect it. The eagles are no longer the easy beats of the competition.

And on Jakovich, the man is currently the form CHB in the league, whereas Tredrea is yet to hit some form. Unless Jakovich puts in a shocker, chances are he will at least come out even. And in the event he's struggling, Glass and Collica could be switched onto Tredrea. This year we have a lot more options.

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Porthos, I think you are greatly underestimating the eagles
If you make sure you read posts with my name attached, you'll see that I haven't. The most I've done is point out that a supposed duel between Jakovich vs Tredrea is a misnomer, as Tredrea will find his space cramped by Jakovich -and- McIntosh -and Gaspar. If you read what I said, I've said that West Coast will probably beat Tredrea.

And on Jakovich, the man is currently the form CHB in the league, whereas Tredrea is yet to hit some form. Unless Jakovich puts in a shocker, chances are he will at least come out even. And in the event he's struggling, Glass and Collica could be switched onto Tredrea. This year we have a lot more options.
He has back up - exactly what i said.

one must ask, have you seen the Eagles play at all this season, or are you just making assumptions?

Ive seen every Eagles game. Obviously you havent seen me give votes on the eagles game in Jods player of the year thing.

I'm not saying that will win us the game, i'm just saying that your remark was uneducated/full of sh*te.

Ok God. Next time i say something ill run it by you next time to make sure its not 'full of sh*te' :rolleyes:

Cousins use of the ball has been poor?

Are you f-wording serious?

Yes it has. Take off your rose coloured glasses. He hasnt been in th ebest of form this year and his disposal has been poor. He has turned the ball over a lot this year. If youve seen any Eagles games this year you would have seen this. Or maybe its your comments that our full of sh*te.

Cus was rampant last week against Brisbane, and the week before against Melbourne,

One week. If you call his game against Melbourne rampant then i have to ask if you know a thing at all about football?? He was shocking in the first half...improved in the second half but he had no major impact on the game. The first three weeks he was fairly quiet and used the ball appalingly. It seems that people just look at stats and think 'oh he had 25 kicks he must of been good'. Doesnt work that way. When half your kicks are turnovers or kicks out of a pack that end up with the opposition then it doesnt matter if you get 25 kicks. Im surprised he is so far up in the player of the year thing. It seems that a lot of people just give him votes because he is Cousins without actually watching him closely.

i'm just saying that you are wrong. 9 clearances, a truckload of possessions and two clangers, i wouldn't worry about him either, he's s*ite, didn't hurt them last week.

Of course. Im wrong. I forgot, you are god and what you say goes! One week. Yes he played very well last week. He did ok against Melbourne. He did reasonable against the Bulldogs. Was poor against Collingwood, and did ok against the Eagles. He has hardly had a brilliant year so far.

Originally posted by Macca19
Yes he played very well last week. He did ok against Melbourne. He did reasonable against the Bulldogs. Was poor against Collingwood, and did ok against the Eagles. He has hardly had a brilliant year so far.

Holy peanuts, not only is he playing bad, now he's playing against us :eek:

:D

Sorry Porthos, I got the vibe from your posts that you thought WC would be a pushover. I must of been wrong (there's a first for everything). Just assume your name from that post has been deleted, and now instead of it being an argument it is a statement ;)

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes

Holy peanuts, not only is he playing bad, now he's playing against us :eek:

:D

LOL....oops, i meant Freo. Ill fix that up.

Ill just expand on what i mean:

Cousins hasnt been playing badly per se, i just dont think he has been anywhere near as damaging as some people on this board have made him out to be, and definatly hasnt been as good as last year.
To show what i mean...he has had 34 more possesions this year than the nearest Eagle midfielder (Kerr), yet i believe Kerr has had much more of an impact this season. Cousins has had a lot of the ball..especially the last two weeks and against Freo, but he has not used it. A lot of his possesions have been turnovers, especially against Collingwood and Melbourne. A lot of his possesions have also been short little chip kicks. He has not had the damaging impact he had last year. I would say that Judd has been more damaging, despite having 58 less possesions. Judd has ran thru lines, beaten opponents, kicked goals, tackled players and used his pace to advantage and backed himself. Cousins has not been doing this. Kerr has also had more of an impact in the midfield. So far this season i would rate Kerr, Gardiner, Peter Matera, Jakovich, Judd, Wilson and Williams as being better than Cousins so far this year.

Remember...i am an outsider, and im just saying how ive seen things from a neutral persons point of view. I am not against Cousins...i just think he hasnt had the impact this year that he has in past seasons. Other players have had more of an impact on the results of games this year.

Now after saying all this...i wouldnt be surprised if Cuz came out and had 40 damaging disposals and single handedly defeats Port on the weekend :rolleyes: :D :(

Macca 19 said......

"As long as we get someone dropping into his leading space i wont be worried - Wilson can pound whoever it is...doesnt bother me...we'll take the free kicks.

Am I correct in saying that Wilson has barely given away a free kick at all this season? rant over

thegur

Wilson would be lucky to have given away one free this season.
:cool:

Now after saying all this...i wouldnt be surprised if Cuz came out and had 40 damaging disposals and single handedly defeats Port on the weekend :rolleyes: :D :(

Sounds good to me... :D

Macca - it IS good to hear others or outsiders opinions, rather than just slagging off at opposition players. It's pretty much human nature for people to be at least a little bias to their team or favourite player. I know when I'm posting my votes each week, I really have to stop and make sure I'm not looking through my 'rose coloured glasses' ;) at some individual performances. On the other hand, this could also have the opposite effect - I used to have to give the weekly votes at a local under 17's comp. and often wondered if I was being too hard on the guys I was close to so it couldn't be seen as favouring them! ;)

Francou and Stevens have never had two quiet games in a row...and expect Francou to have a blinder on Sunday.

I think you're right. Not alot has really been mentioned about Francou and this game during the week. He was my early Brownlow pick last year, and I expect him to poll well this year too.

Originally posted by WA

Wilson would be lucky to have given away one free this season.
:cool:

I did a check (way too much time on my hands). Wilson has given away a only one free kick this season- it was against Melbourne. iirc, it was for a push out on Nicholson?
Interestingly enough, the least popular of our players with the Men in White seems to be Taylor, who has collected 7 frees against so far. Of the regulars, the only play who has been a totally good little boy has been Andrew Williams, who is yet to give away a free.

Some other arcania whilst we're on the topic- the most favored team in the competition (or cleanest, depending on your perspective), are the Western Bulldogs. the team getting the least love from the maggots is Adelaide, and currently West has the 5th worst ratio of FF-FA

Originally posted by Mead
Interestingly enough, the least popular of our players with the Men in White seems to be Taylor, who has collected 7 frees against so far.

Probably all those kick-ins stressing him out a bit :D Well IIRC at least two of those frees came from the Derby when he lost his cool with Medhurst.

Remember, Cousins killed us last time we played as well....yet we won by 120 points!

Tredrea has the better of Jakovich.
His las two games against Jako:

2001 @ Subi - 21 touches, 9 marks, 3 goals
2001 @ FP - 16 touches, 7 marks, 5 goals

Jakovich might be in good form, but Tredrea is just starting to get going again and could destory Glen on Sunday. As for Wilson...im not too worried about who plays on him. As long as we get someone dropping into his leading space i wont be worried - Wilson can pound whoever it is...doesnt bother me...we'll take the free kicks.
Our midfield should be able to get on top. Francou and Stevens have never had two quiet games in a row...and expect Francou to have a blinder on Sunday. Carr will probably try and stop Kerr. Im not worried about Cousins. He can get a lot of the ball but his disposal so far this season has been shocking and he does not hurt the opposition with it as much as he should. Schofield will be too quick and too good for Banfield. Our forward line should be able to stretch your defence. Cockatoo Collins is hard to man up on as his hands seem to be made of glue and it doesnt matter whos on him.

Either way. Our teams match up very very evenly and its really difficult to see where the match winning move will come from. im looking forward to a great match...a pity none of you could come over for it!!

Macca...cmon mate you've seen every Eagles game this season and you must admit that your comments on Wilson were in haste and far from the truth. As someone found out...Wilson has given one free kick away all season. He runs straight and runs hard, throw your Port players in the way at your own peril, they will be hurt, the ball will come to ground and our crumbers will kick goals.

On Tredrea/Jako..yes fair enough Tredders has had the better of Jako the last couple of encounters but Tredrea isnt really in any sort of form whereas Jako has been playing very well. Jako is back and he wont need help, he has never needed help. He will beat Tredrea and if he doesnt....who cares, we will just move Glass onto him or Collica or Milli. To be honest i dont care if Jako gets thrashed just as long as we win.

Schofield too quick for Banfield? Yes....and this is why you wont see Banfield on Schofield. Most likely Kerr or Jones to matchup on him.

I think your being way too harsh on Cousins, i agree he hasnt been as dominant or as damaging as last season....yet. He is coming off a great game against Brisbane and i think he is beginning to find last season's form. To say his disposals have been shocking is just wrong. When you get the ball in a pack you throw it on the boot to get it forward...if your WC teammates arent playing in front and the kick goes to a Port player how is that Cuz's fault. He is just trying to get it forward.

I do agree that a couple of his disposals this year, particularly against Melbourne were directly to the opposition which resulted in goals. It was annoying but he has very few clangers and gets enough of it to hurt teams. I think he will play a great game against Port. I hope for your sake that the Port heirachy dont take your advice and worry more about Kerr and Judd....because you will get burned. Cousins is our most important player, ignore him at your own peril.

After saying all that about Cuz though, i think the player you guys have to watch the most is Gardiner. He is in fantastic form and could give Primus a bath considering your captain hasnt played that much footy.

Oh and i noticed you said this "Our midfield should be able to get on top." What makes you say that? Just your opinion or do you have facts to back that up. Remember last week the Eagles midfield destroyed the best midfield in the competition.

Anyways after all that i still think it will be very tough to win. The Eagles have a poor record at Football Park and i think Port is one of the few teams we have a losing record against. Anyways if we dont win i will look forward to the return bout at Subi.

re: Port Adelaide's defence. By no means do I under-rate it, I think it's fantastic as a unit, but I'll go on record as saying, it just has never had a player"individually" as good as Jako.... to qualify the statement of teams not playing through their CHF.

thegur

Originally posted by jod23

Macca...cmon mate you've seen every Eagles game this season and you must admit that your comments on Wilson were in haste and far from the truth. As someone found out...Wilson has given one free kick away all season. He runs straight and runs hard, throw your Port players in the way at your own peril, they will be hurt, the ball will come to ground and our crumbers will kick goals.

Or the ball will come to ground and one of Kingsley, Nick Stevens, Hardwick, Guerra will pi ck up the crumbs and move the ball forward. Goes both ways.

On Tredrea/Jako..yes fair enough Tredders has had the better of Jako the last couple of encounters but Tredrea isnt really in any sort of form whereas Jako has been playing very well.

Tredrea isnt in any sort of form?? He kicked 6 goals two weeks ago, had a great game against St Kilda and did alright against Adelaide last week. Tredrea may not kick any goals...but he will get the ball up the ground.

Schofield too quick for Banfield? Yes....and this is why you wontsee Banfield on Schofield. Most likely Kerr or Jones to matchup on him.

I was only replying to someone who said Banfield might play on Schofield.

I think your being way too harsh on Cousins, i agree he hasnt been as dominant or as damaging as last season....yet. He is coming off a great game against Brisbane and i think he is beginning to find last season's form. To say his disposals have been shocking is just wrong. When you get the ball in a pack you throw it on the boot to get it forward...if your WC teammates arent playing in front and the kick goes to a Port player how is that Cuz's fault. He is just trying to get it forward.

A fair amount of Cousins possesions have not been in a pack situation. He has a really strange kicking style and his disposal at times can be shocking. Good player....of course he is...but his disposal can let him down when hes on his own.

. I hope for your sake that the Port heirachy dont take your advice and worry more about Kerr and Judd....because you will get burned. Cousins is our most important player, ignore him at your own peril.[/quote]

Cousins got 39 touches against Port last year, the majority of which were backward of centre and his possesions did not hurt us. We won by 120 points. I dont mind if Cousins gets a lot of the ball again as long as most are behind centre.

think the player you guys have to watch the most is Gardiner. He is in fantastic form and could give Primus a bath considering your captain hasnt played that much footy.

Primus has showed he is an inspiration to our team when he came back a month early from a knee injury last year and was one of our best on ground against Hawthorn. It doesnt matter that Primus hasnt played much football. He has missed 1 1/2 games out of the....10-12 we've played so far this season...hardly not playing that much footy. To be honest i dont think Primus will play. French was one of our best last week and is a very underrated player. He thumped Biglands last week - who has been probably the second best ruckmen for the year so far.

[qote]Oh and i noticed you said this "Our midfield should be able to get on top." What makes you say that? Just your opinion or do you have facts to back that up. Remember last week the Eagles midfield destroyed the best midfield in the competition.[/quote]

I believe Ports midfield is better than the Eagles. More depth, more rotation, fitter, stronger. We have had more clearances so far this year. Kingsley has destroyed the Crows and Carlton in the last two weeks...when he hasnt played midfield since 1998. In my opinion the Bulldogs and Melbournes midfield got on top against you. So it does go both ways. Ports midfield is probably second or third best in the competition with probably the best depth. I believe Ports midfield will get on top. Not to mention the fact our midfield killed yours twice last years, with essentially the same players minus Judd. Yes that was last year, but its the last time we played each other. Our midfield has done very well the last three weeks and is also in top form.

Anyways after all that i still think it will be very tough to win. The Eagles have a poor record at Football Park and i think Port is one of the few teams we have a losing record against. Anyways if we dont win i will look forward to the return bout at Subi.

We've only played you at Football Park twice. The first time we were robbed in the last quarter by the umpires (the only AFL game ive felt we lost because of the umpires), the second time we won by 120 points.

Should be a good game :D I know im looking forward to it. Good luck for the match...i hope its a ripper!!

One of the concerns I have about mtachups this week, and I dont think it has been raised yet, is who is going to take Port's small forwards? We all know the trouble that we have matching up on opposition's small forwards and last week Burgoyne kicked a few to bring Port back against the Crows. Not only is there Burgoyne but Cockatoo-Collins poses a threat, and it wouldnt be unheard of for Williams to throw Wanganeen forward at some point in the game too. Im also worried about how we're going to handle Chad Cornes who is a good leading forward and a strong mark for his size. I think we really have to get on top in the ruck and midfield like we did last week, I dont think Primus will be as effective as he has been against us in the past so hopefully that will help us in this area, but our midfielders have to give the same kind of performance they did against Brissie last week.