Autopsy Positives and Negatives vs Bulldogs

A little perplexed at a couple of posts criticising Mutimer for being selfish

Can't say I noticed it

Wasn't quick enough to turn around in one instance in the third when he missed the set shot, had a couple of players free in the goal square. Hardly say it's a trend.

On a night where JK kicked 3.6, when he should have been trying to set goals up once he realised he hit a bit of a slump in the second and LeCras was trying to dribble them through from 50, I would not be calling Muts selfish.

Positives
- 4 points against a top 4 rival
- we got dirty and matched the most intense side in the comp for effort
- Sheed took a big step on his path to become a quality AFL standard midfielder. He also has a very neat sidestep inside 50
- Mutimers development continues. Probably just keeping the seat warm for Cripps but the experience he's gained will be invaluable and he's shown enough to suggest he can play at this level. Each of his games has been better than the one before
- Masten is starting to build a pretty decent season. Thought he was good tonight
- So was Redden
- it's always good seeing a player you'd resigned to the scrap heap grab an unexpected opportunity. Mcinness did that tonight and showed why the club persisted with him. Probably won't ever be more than a backup but he did well tonight at least
- Vardy also played well and showed we kept the right half of Girdy
- much more even effort through the midfield
- Mitchell's best game for the club. Was sublime at times
- Gaff just runs and runs and runs. Time and again he provided an option for our defenders looking for a path out.
- we won a game at subi without a lopsided free kick count which takes away one of the touchstones for all but the most bitter
- it's insane the amount of confidence I now have whenever Yeo is near the ball that he'll win the contest

Negatives
- set shot goal kicking was horrid. Missed at least 6 that should have been automatic - 4 of them were JK
- the free kick to McLean for a high tackle in the 3rd quarter. Textbook example of what the AFL were trying to stamp out - he's the most blatant in the league for it. Staggering he still fools the umpires
- we lost a lot of composure in the last quarter and some of our disposal/decision making was awful
- the stupid campaigner sitting behind me
- $19 for a very average pulled pork burger and a soft drink. No wonder I usually avoid buying food at the game. Probably the last burger I'll eat at Subiaco oval
- after goal replays were virtually non-existent especially Bulldogs goals. I get they're not popular but I'd still like to see how they were scored - as in what broke down to allow the goal. Some of our goals weren't replayed either. It's pathetic

Positives- Sheed, not sure of stats must be at least 20 and 2, but was very influential.

McInnes playing for his career. Seriously though, did anyone know he had this in him?

Kennedy finally playing like Franklin with 3.6
is that why david king called him the best forward in the game on fox straight after the game

- $19 for a very average pulled pork burger and a soft drink. No wonder I usually avoid buying food at the game. Probably the last burger I'll eat at Subiaco oval
You should do what I did and snuck a Kebab in. Much better than the crap from within the ground.

Stuck a kebab in what?

Oh you ninja editing campaigner

+ An eight day break has come at a good time, two weeks in a row we have looked cooked at the end of the game.

Stuck a kebab in what?

Oh you ninja editing campaigner
You're just jealous of what I look like with a hidden kebab.

fe488dfc37bf5ac4c7b8a5cb7ad4716b.jpg

Don't agree at all, not on tonight's game. I though we broke it open just as often and created better chances when we did.

Yeah I was just commenting on the leg speed / ball movement speed of the play once it broke. We did create chances but I thought they look slicker and we look like a fish out of water sometimes moving it that quickly.

I wonder if that is the speed Simpson wants us to move at and its about getting players not going into their shell once a turnover happens.

But by the end of the game our players were out on their feet just trying to fend them off so it was good from the point of view of getting the payers out of the comfort zone. I still think we are carrying too many slowish foot soldiers compared to the better teams.

Big negative for me is the AFL continuing to allow the Bulldogs to disgrace the game with their 'handballing'. Watching the replay now and the throws are just so blatant yet they never get called.

My Mate rekons its complete BS but im pretty sure i saw Lewis Jetta ride off on his push bike at HT. He looked right at me and it looked just like him and he had the full players kit on plus his calves looked very much like Jetts.

Big negative for me is the AFL continuing to allow the Bulldogs to disgrace the game with their 'handballing'. Watching the replay now and the throws are just so blatant yet they never get called.
I thought they were being seriously scrutinised this year for that. Apparently not.

Having said that, I am in awe of the dogs, they handball over their head without looking and can still get the ball to a team mate.

Pos - We matched them for physicality and played a good scrappy game that was intense (where was that at the MCG?)

Neg - We still a fair way off the Dogs skill in regards to handballing out of trouble.
- Dogs missing a few good players so I would have liked the score to be a bit bigger in our favour.

Hello. I see you haven't a read a single one of my posts.

Anyway, Frase played ****. Only thing is he can be exposed if you play a runner who's strong overhead on him. Easton Wood, for example, would've killed him. Fraser's just a bit slow on foot and if a kick to him in the forward line isn't good, he's liable to let his man run away too easily.

Otherwise he plays with a bit of fire and likes to lay a strong tackle. He can also jag a good mark and he knows the big man rule - handball unless there's a kick you're certain to nail... Although his kicking is pretty strong for a big.

A certain starter next week.
Not sure why you included your first line mate but thanks for the detailed input. Most of what I've seen on here about frase has been decidedly negative; crab deadwood et cetera, so it was surprising and great to see him play well. Obviously not as surprising to you but I didn't think it was that bad of a question. Cheers though

Yeah, sorry Wiz, only the first part line was meant for you and the rest was for everyone's benefit.

It was a valid question and, again, sorry if I was a douche bag :thumbsu:

In all honesty I thought this was a strength in the second half, particularly the ladt quarter as I recall being pretty pissed when it wasn't happening in the first half.

Possible I got blinded re: second half because of Hill going up for the mark in the sqaure final two minutes instead of being where he needed to be at front and centre (where the ball went)

Positives- Sheed, not sure of stats must be at least 20 and 2, but was very influential.

McInnes playing for his career. Seriously though, did anyone know he had this in him?

Kennedy finally playing like Franklin with 3.6

Only saw the second half, will watch the replay today but Fraser played well abiet against a weaker ruck opposition, Boyd is 200cm though. In general play he helped us link up with handball really well and definitely covers the ground much better than Giles. His ruck work was serviceable and 5 tackles showed good defensive intent and since everyone at the club seems to be using the word intent in every sentence this bodes well for Fraser.

I think an extended run at East Perth playing ruck and gaining form and fitness helped Fraser. Did I think he had it in him the answer is yes. I think he is a honest goer with a footballers brain and some decent skills. An excellent depth tall for ruck and up forward. Remember those first couple of games when Darling was injured two years back. The kid can play.

Positive: an ugly win against a good team
Negative: it should have been a lot prettier but for the goalkicking

A lot of little things went wrong but we still won. That's kinda how I feel about this season. Not once have I felt like we've played as well as we can, but we're six and two so maybe I should shut my trap.

Really happy to see some non-core blokes like Fraser, mutimer and vardy take their opportunities. Last night we were more than the sum of our parts. Bloody ripper.

Really genuinely excited by the idea of Mutimer and Nelson as senior players a few years from now. Both have a bit of bloody gusto I reckon. Think Mutimer will make the grade.

Normally I'd agree with you, but Basil's commentary was so bad tonight that I found myself relieved every time BT took over.

Basil (8 seconds on the clock dogs 7 points down): "Maybe, just maybe it's over now!"
Ling: "it's over Basil. Are you ******* cooked?"*

*second sentence may not have happened

BT was a bit of a knob though, geez he tries hard to be melodramatic at times.

9 minutes to go and I think it was Adams kicking for goal. "Now the Dogs simply MUST kick this to have ANY chance in this game. They've just missed too many goals this is a MUST goal."

9 minutes left and they were like 17 points behind! Really BT?

BT was a bit of a knob though, geez he tries hard to be melodramatic at times.

9 minutes to go and I think it was Adams kicking for goal. "Now the Dogs simply MUST kick this to have ANY chance in this game. They've just missed too many goals this is a MUST goal."

9 minutes left and they were like 17 points behind! Really BT?

He and basil. It's like the AFL is branching out into eugenics and they want to see if they can breed the most annoying commentator in the history of world sport.

I'll continue on with similar to what I posted earlier in the game day thread:

I don't understand the negativity in regard to the game - we won.

The game was played completely on our terms aside from the last 10 minutes when fatigue from the runslog against Port last week kicked in.

If Kennedy and Lecras kick 9.3 instead of 3.9 we win by 40 and it becomes a flogging.

We have the best defensive setup in the league. A setup that is also now fundamentally changing the way the game is being played.

This team is showing potential to become something very special indeed.

For those who are round-ball aware (or fans of FM) there is a deep-lying attacking role dubbed by the Italians as a "Regista" (Director). I doubt the term will hold here (probably Zoneback, Quaterback or Flyback etc will become prominent), however it cannot be ignored. The Regista, or in AFL terms, the intercept marking counterattack specialist, is without doubt where the next step in the evolution of the sport will occur.

And we are currently the best placed team in the league to profit from that.
I said exactly the same thing straight after the game. The final margin flattered the Dogs. Just in the last quarter alone we missed 4 shots from marks inside 50, mostly no more than 35 metres out, that should have been goals. That would have made the margin a very comfortable 5 goals and the glass half empty people amongst us would have nothing to grizzle about.

+ We turned around the result from last year's EF
+ We beat the reigning premiers
+ We are 6 and 2
+ Second on the ladder (for a short time)
+Yeo's second half
+ FMac and Vardy offered a fair bit and were mobile
+ Mitchell's coolness under pressure
+ Our defence

- Goal kicking
- JK's goal kicking (I'm sure that won't happen again any time soon)

My Mate rekons its complete BS but im pretty sure i saw Lewis Jetta ride off on his push bike at HT. He looked right at me and it looked just like him and he had the full players kit on plus his calves looked very much like Jetts.
Did you boo him?

It wasn't his worst game but Darling is making me lose my mind each week with his softness.

Goes to ground every contest, weak, won't use his strength (if he even has any), not to mention his typical throwing of the head back like he's just been assassinated.

He's halfway through his career and i think I've finally realized this isn't going to change.

Likewise, though I haven't concluded he isn't going to change yet.

Watching him in the contest, it's as if he's afraid he might hurt somebody. I was hoping the Redpath hit might fire him up, but it didn't seem to.

I really have no idea what happened to the young Darling that burst onto the scene. Has he become satisfied to be an ok player?