Post game thoughts - player review

• Thread starter Thread starter Snoop Dog

You can handball to someone 2 metres away from you, and as long as they get possession, it's effective, irrelevant of the pressure on them.

So then what you're saying, is he still have 21 effective disposals?

Thought so :thumbsu:

The stat might not represent how damaging the possessions were, but I'm willing to gamble that 20+ stats with 90%+ DE is going to be a reasonable game any day of the week.
A lot better than say, Daisy with his 15 odd stats and 50% DE.

We all watch the game and you can see from the drastically differing points of view that it is all very subjective. Stats generally clear it up though

We were alright tonight.

**** Chapman is a player and a half. He is the barometer of that side. If he is up, you've got no hope.

We'll be right going forward from here.

I'm in love with a man with tattoo's.

Cox was fine, I don't know what everyone's getting their knickers in a twist about.

Pendlebury, Beams, Fraser, Didak and Clarke were all very good.
O'Brien, Johnson, O'Bree, Lockyer, Thomas, Medhurst, Anthony, Cox, Swan, Presti, Maxwell were all passable.
Cloke, Shaw, Davis and N Brown were disappointing but excused.
Dick and L Brown need to go back to the VFL.

Cox was fine, I don't know what everyone's getting their knickers in a twist about.

Pendlebury, Beams, Fraser, Didak and Clarke were all very good.
O'Brien, Johnson, O'Bree, Lockyer, Thomas, Medhurst, Anthony, Cox, Swan, Presti, Maxwell were all passable.
Cloke, Shaw, Davis and N Brown were disappointing but excused.
Dick and L Brown need to go back to the VFL.

Just a scapegoat mate.

The bloke is a play maker and takes the game on, so naturally his errors look worse, but we need a player like him.

The stat might not represent how damaging the possessions were, but I'm willing to gamble that 20+ stats with 90%+ DE is going to be a reasonable game any day of the week.
A lot better than say, Daisy with his 15 odd stats and 50% DE.

We all watch the game and you can see from the drastically differing points of view that it is all very subjective. Stats generally clear it up though

What i said had nothing to do with Cox. I was just saying how the stat could be misleading.

Efficent and good are different though. If you kick long to a contest to the disadvantage of your player it is still marked as an effective disposal. If you kick to a leading foward and it bounces in front of him, it is still counted as effective. As such disposal efficency is always a stat that is way higher then it actually should be.

You like your kick out player to hold up then kick to a contest?

Run too far and be pinged?

Run himself into trouble then handpassed to someone who is in more trouble?

Not stand by either spud small forward he was meant to be on, or then chapman or johnson when he got either

If maxwell did these things board meltdown, cox does them and he was alright? plus he is at times lazy and obvisously over wieght

Got back earlier aswell, and I think you're over-reacting.

Not every player needs to be a Scott Burns/Nick Maxwell type. I thought Pendles was reasonable tonight, he was far from our worst. If anything, we won't win a Premiership without him part of our midfield.

One or two ruckmen wouldn't have made a difference, that midfield from down the highway is the best in the AFL, and we did our best to match them, although at times we look good, we still managed to get destroyed in the 2nd quarter.

Our midfield wasn't completely killed. We lost by 27 points, mate. You're acting like we lost by 100. We wouldn't have still been in the contest come the last quarter if our midfield had been destroyed. I was there, and majority of Ablett's possessions were cheap.

One person that needs to be gone by the end of the year is Michael Malthouse, and I think it'll happen. Because whoever is making the selections, and I'm assuming its him, definitely doesn't know how to get it right.

Final comment for you all. Seriously, make the most of Malthouse as Collingwood coach, because we won't be seeing it again after this year. I don't mean that in a sarcastic manner, I'm serious. It'll be a great loss, but we won't be a winning a Premiership this year, so it will definitely be this great coach's last season at Collingwood.

Don't sully Burns name!

Captain Maxwell had another dunce of a game, thats 3/3 my 15 rounds before he finds form is looking the goods.:thumbsd:

Beams, Fraser, Pendles and O'bree our best.
Swan, Medhurst and Cox were solid.

Thank fk for Beams finally a well rounded footballer who is hungry for the contest at the bottom of nearly every pack tonight.

You like your kick out player to hold up then kick to a contest?

Run too far and be pinged?

Run himself into trouble then handpassed to someone who is in more trouble?

Not stand by either spud small forward he was meant to be on, or then chapman or johnson when he got either

If maxwell did these things board meltdown, cox does them and he was alright? plus he is at times lazy and obvisously over wieght

Maxwell did directly turn the ball over more then Cox tonight, despite getting half the possesions and creating less run.

btw, if anyone legitimately wants to have a go at Cox, have a go at his weight. Clearly carrying a lot more fat than almost any footballer not named Stuart.

If he actually got into great shape, I have no doubt he could be a really good mid for us, and not just a really good flanker.

Coxy is just naturally built like a seal. He's got a layer of blubber that gets smaller and bigger but never goes away. Ever since we got him he's struggled to get below 42D. Surprisingly though, it really doesn't affect the way he plays, much like the Stuart you refer to. Some people are just made that way. It doesn't worry me and I wouldn't be making too much of it. I was watching an old Hawthorn/North game the other night with Mick Nolan running around. Bloody good footballer and he could eat Coxy for an entree.

Coxy has been good.

1 thing that came out of tonight, Presti is finished. He was killed on the lead & we should only play him if there is a specific matchup that favors him.

You have no football knowledge or at least non about fullback

Mooney provided nothing upfield where he was allowed the ball, in the forward fifty Presti beat him more often then not

Presti also provided some drive today and was the player that set up leigh browns goal in the center

You dislike presti always have, im sure he doesnt particularly like you but in any case presti was our best defender and its teh failing of cox, brown, obrein etc to handle their man that is leadng to presti to having to do more work

Basically Rohan if you say presti was beaten then Cox was belted

Like a Tredrea / Hall stay at home (inside the 50) gorilla forward. A Fev or Buddy would absolutely smash Presti as he has totally lost the pace he once had.
Tredrea and hall are still lead up players, that have the ability like reidwoldt and trav etc to take contested marks

the only stay inside the goal square forward left in A rocca who you have often said is finished and archaic

Stop owning yourself rohan

Gee you magpie blokes are harsh, thought cox was certainly better than most of your team tonight, maybe even one of your best.

Thats just my opinion

Gee you magpie blokes are harsh, thought cox was certainly better than most of your team tonight, maybe even one of your best.

Thats just my opinion
Honestly mate i felt this way for almost three years after watching VFL performances

He hasnt lost weight, he hasnt become a player with good defensive capabilities which he could, he often has brain snaps and losses the ball, and often doesnt go in

Its all stuff ive said for 2-3 years now

I thought we were pretty good tonight. Geelong are the yardstick and could have easily blown us away after half time after opening the game up in the second quarter. And that was probably the difference.

When Geelong open the game up, they hit targets, and those targets tend to be in the corridor where they can do more damage. We tend to miss too often and when we do hit targets they tend to be out wide, therefore less able to be damaging. Obviously we missed many shots on goal as well, although our conversion rate IMO is compounded by our 'around the boundary' style. We always seemed to be taking shots at goal from uncomfortable angles.

The biggest negative IMO is the form of Cloke, Nathan Brown, Harry O'Brien( after a good 1st quarter) and Leon Davis(another big game and missing again). Dick is also not ready for AFL just yet. So there were many passengers. Geelong had far less which is another positive for us.

Our KFs are a problem. Sure JA kicked 4 against the probable wooden spooners, but the duo of JA and Cloke as the KFs is a major weakness atm

Can't believe posters getting stuck into Pendlebery. He was one of our best players. My only disappointment with him is that he lacks the killer punch of the Abletts, Judds ect. Still our midfield held up pretty well during the more 'man on man' periods of the game ie. everytime except the 2nd quarter.

Beams looks a great prospect and hopefully we will get games into Sidebottom and McCarthy as well this year to provide the foundations for a future midfield.

We were never going to win the Premiership this year, but we can build the future by developing the players we have drafted since 2005, and whoever coaches next year will hopefully orchestrate a more direct style.

No doubt your right that he is a few kilos above the weight the club would like him to be at, I think both the club and even he has said that before.

But in my opinion he has had a fairly good start to the season and seems to have improved his footy since last season.

Does a lot of good things that go unnoticed in my opinion and like someones said, when he does stuff up it everyone does notice.

That being said has been lucky to stay on the list since he was drafted but its good to see he's playing some decent footy right now (In my opinion anyway)

Apologies but watching cox tonight brought up all the nightmares ive had of him in the seniors and what i said would happen from watching him in the seconds all that was missing was a display of petulence when a defender doesnt pass to him and a soft attepmt at the ball

I actually think Cox looks to have a lot of time when he gets the ball, very much as Pendlebury does. He certainly does not always do the best thing with it but how many games has he played?

I reckon he will become a very good player.

Beams......now where do you start with this kid?
I am really getting very enamoured with this bloke.
He would be anything.

Fraser was again very good and close to our best. I would not be surprised if he got vote tonight.

Rocca.....Rocca....why oh why.
If we had Rocca in and L.Brown was down back as he should be (I thought he played very well apart from his goal kicking, which he ain't in the side for.) we would have been a better side.

Medders is still a bit off his best and when he is we'll see more goals from his boot.

Didak was good without that final polish we expect.

Daisy, first game back played his usual cameo, but was also off with his shooting. He is still a bit player at this stage and needs to work on consistency around the ground. He looked a step off his normal pace and it cost him.

Davis was great around the stoppages and again a great link, setting up plenty of forward thrusts. It's not his fault shots were missed.

Swan....was the ever reliable Swan apart from catching the "viral Yips" which were going around. Swan is our engine. Beames should be in his pocket at training I reckon.

Anthony just did not get enough of it tonight. His attack on the ball and forward defensive pressure was great all night though.

Tarks needs at couple of goal kicking clinics, but apart from the dreadful innaccuracy was good.

Cloke needs Rocca or another big bodied forward to play off for a while before we see him dominating games himself...Rocca anyone?

Harry...excellent as usual.

Heater...hmmm. I reckon he is trying too hard! He needs to just settle into his backline role and let the rebounding opportunities present themselves. At the momnt he looks to be trying to generate a goal from every touch he gets in the backline.

N.Brown was very good I thought.

Maxwell tried everything he could to keep the side up and switched on and it worked for the 1st, 3rd and last quarters. His work on his man was pretty good but the quick delivery into the forward line from Geelong made it hard to stop them. His body on body work and tackling were excellent as usual.

Presti looked like he was very tired by the start of the last and would have benefited no end from having an L.Brown type player around to help him out.

Dick needs a lot more game time to adjust to the pace of AFL. At times he has plenty of poise and his delivery is silky but too often he rushes his disposal when he in fact has more time than he thinks. No-one can ever accuse him of not being enthusiastic...I love them "saucer eyes".

O'Bree was solid all night and worked very hard in tight wherever the packs gathered. Maligned but quality.

Johnson did a job on Gablett until his injury. Could have had a great game but we will never know now. Is his leg actually broken as I have heard? Terrible luck for Johnno if it is.

Pendlebury was good without being sensational (same as last week) and must be either ill or carrying an injury because he is much slower than I remember.

Why we lost.

Because we did not kick accurately which while being disappointing is better than being unable to get the ball inside fifty.

If you look at the match and the stats from this game they are almost the reverse of how they went in round 7 last season v Geelong.

Statistically the sides were even but in that game Geelong's accuracy let them down. We took more advantage, on the score board but the games had many parallels.

Here is hoping the patern goes 2006-Lose Final to Geelong by 7, 2008-Flog Geelong, 2009-Get flogged by Geelong, 2009 Win Final against Geelong by 1+ :):)

I might be repeating points that have already been made, but I just have a few things I'd like to add myself:

- I liked Leigh Brown's game tonight. If he actually converted in front of goal, we'd probably all be singing his praises for a great game and we might have even won. He tried hard and presented well. He might have actually stopped Cloke playing his usual game tonight, because he got some of his marks in spots where Trav usually gets the footy.

- Cox has one or two turnovers that are costly, but his positives outweigh his negatives for me. I like his run and endeavour out of the back half. Certainly providing more off half back than Heath Shaw the last couple of weeks. I know Heath is coming back from injury, but still. I'd like to persist with Cox in the side. He's certainly not the worst out there.

- I really liked Presti's game tonight. A few things he did we absolutely crucial IMO. There were a couple of moments where if he fumbled the ball coming towards him, it would have ended up in a certain goal, or at least been in great danger of a goal. Thankfully he was able to keep his cool and show some great veteran poise in these moments.

I might be repeating points that have already been made, but I just have a few things I'd like to add myself:

- I liked Leigh Brown's game tonight. If he actually converted in front of goal, we'd probably all be singing his praises for a great game and we might have even won. He tried hard and presented well. He might have actually stopped Cloke playing his usual game tonight, because he got some of his marks in spots where Trav usually gets the footy.

- Cox has one or two turnovers that are costly, but his positives outweigh his negatives for me. I like his run and endeavour out of the back half. Certainly providing more off half back than Heath Shaw the last couple of weeks. I know Heath is coming back from injury, but still. I'd like to persist with Cox in the side. He's certainly not the worst out there.

- I really liked Presti's game tonight. A few things he did we absolutely crucial IMO. There were a couple of moments where if he fumbled the ball coming towards him, it would have ended up in a certain goal, or at least been in great danger of a goal. Thankfully he was able to keep his cool and show some great veteran poise in these moments.

I loved the move where he "out manoeuvred" Mooney....never though I would see the day. Indian Rubber Man Award.:thumbsu::thumbsu:

people dont half over react on these boards hey. if you guys were selectors we would be missing pendles, presti, cox, shaw and about ten others for next weeks game.

pendlebury isnt soft at all, people need to realise his strengths because they are labelling them as his weakness. knowing when to go in shouldnt be considered soft. not everyone has to be a in and under player shovelling the ball out , he does go when he has to so i dont see why people are harping on this week in week out. we would be a lot worse team if he was out thats for sure.

cox was good tonight despite people regurgitaiting the same old stuff about his weight and laid back play style. weight is a place where he can improve yeah. but hes still playing decent atm, hes actually had a good start to the season.

his play style is just that, he comes across as hes not giving 100% because he seems laid back. im not saying hes the best he could be atm , but its a cop out to blame the loss on him