C Section Premier C - 2012

Power is way past it, been a ressies player at the Tiges, no loss. Phibbs a ripper but it will be a lot harder getting a kick without the star players around him, he can expect a heavy tag every game.

Power is still a big body and dropping two grades Brian

Have to agree with BS on this one Bedford. Power a 2s player of recent times and will have moderate impact in C grade. Phibbs on the other hand still a class act and will be an asset to Mazenod.

I know this is C grade forum but rumours are that St Bedes starting to lose a few from those golden years. A good junior program, which I’m sure will see them through but it must be a worry for the new coach all the same.

What happened to the post about Luke Ablett playing for Fitzroy?

I have heard that he has trained down there a few times along with former Northern Bullants captain Josh Vansittart and a couple of old Gippsland mates.

Also heard that David Sprigg has a close connection with Mazenod. Is there any truth to it or just another rumour? Can anyone help confirm or deny?

I have heard that he has trained down there a few times along with former Northern Bullants captain Josh Vansittart and a couple of old Gippsland mates.

Also heard that David Sprigg has a close connection with Mazenod. Is there any truth to it or just another rumour? Can anyone help confirm or deny?

Sprigg's'

Nicknamed "Mr Tosca" - known name, well travelled, carries baggage and hides away when the action starts.

Good luck Mazenod. Tell him not to jump off anything, FCOL

Great bloke though.

CC

Can now confirm Willo @ OC for 2012. Paperwork on the way to HQ.
OC forwards coach is currently mildly aroused.

:thumbsu:

Phibbs to Mazenod, Willams to OC, Ablett to Fitzroy.....some quality recruits coming to C-Section this year.
I think the Roys are slightly ahead at the moment - my mail is that they have a few more quality recruits to announce.
Scribe, you're well connected down there, can you confirm?

Phibbs to Mazenod, Willams to OC, Ablett to Fitzroy.....some quality recruits coming to C-Section this year.
I think the Roys are slightly ahead at the moment - my mail is that they have a few more quality recruits to announce.

Thats my mail too. More midfield size and depth at Brunswick St this year. Not sure about KPP. Expect them to play finals if they keep their best 22 on the park.

Don't wish to rain on your parade Scribe but the number of ex AFL players who make a real impact at ammo level isn't great.

Wish him well all the same.

Get money on Will Pickering to win the Premier C's goalkicking award...he had a sensational year with ordinary delivery out of the midfield, watch out if you're driving past Brunswick Street this year, there will be Sherrins a plenty holding up traffic...let's hope his old man has had him training hard in pre-season :D

Ablett already signed at the Roys, Van Stittart and 3 or 4 of their mates also still to sign. Angiolella has been appointed captain. Saw some photos of their weekend boot camp, looks like they are having a big pre season down at BSO.

It would also make the VAFA a fairer run competition and pull a few of these schoolboy sides back to the pack.

Consider it danger money. Whilst playing at Sorrento, Rye, Dromana, etc. would be easy to handle, they have to spend at least 4 hours in Hastings every 2nd weekend. :eek:

If I am not mistaken Robbins has screwed Hampton 10 times over compared to Ormond, and that wasnt overly pleasant either. Doesn't say much for his much vaunted arrival in the VAFA back in 2008. Took out a lot more than he put in.

Dead set toxic!

It would also make the VAFA a fairer run competition and pull a few of these schoolboy sides back to the pack.

Couldn't disagree with you more Bedford.....why penalise the good clubs? Should you pull the reins on a club like Werribee because they are currently doing things better than most?
The more high profile players we get into the comp the better. It raises the standard for everyone.
I know our club is doing everything they can to set up our old boy networks and associations to be able to offer work incentives and like to attract players. Its taking time, but it will get there. Until then, we just have to keep working with what we have.
Clubs need to start thinking dynamically and outside the square. Those that do will prosper, those that don't won't - its a simple as that.

Bedford this has nothing to do with schoolboy sides. We all get touched up by the paying comps and we all work our a&*se off to recruit and retain players. Whether you are a school, uni or district based club we are all at the mercy of the suburban and country leagues that seem to have bottomless reserves of cash to throw round. Our clubs school base is much smaller and not as well resourced as some of the big APS schools. We can’t attract the big name ex AFL or high profile VFL players but continue to compete in Premier section due to our commitment to our U19 program. It hurts even more when they got picked off. I just shake my head at some of the money being tossed around at some of our young blokes. Not only do I wonder how they pay for it but how do the loyal players from those clubs feel about a new group sweeping in every year, filling their pockets and them moving on to the next highest bidder. While it annoys the hell out of me we should all be grateful our allegiances lie with ammo clubs. While our success ebbs and flows we won’t go broke from paying over the odds to footballing mercenaries.

I was big on the points system too. But after talking today to someone who has a limited involvement with a well lined club on the Peninsula I'm less convinced. He openly admits that his club respects the system in name only. And he claims his is not the only club operating that way. It appears that whatever system is devised, if a club or clubs don't want to abide by it, they'll find a way to circumvent it. Sad, but it is what it is.

You can't blame people for going and playing for $$$. It's fair and reasonable for a young kid who is going to Uni to get $400-$800 a week playing for another club elsewhere. Usually it may involve a 1-8 hour drive each weekend to get it, plus the same if they bother to train. It's not as glamoorous as it seems.

I get annoyed if someone goes for $150-$200 a game, which won't get you far in todays economy.

If people are in their mid to late 20's and are going for cash then they probably haven't set themselves up in life too well and need the $$$, it's debatable whether you want these guys around anyway. You will usually find that they lack commitment in most things they do and are in the 'too hard basket' at a club.

Smart clubs, even those with no old boys networks, will work hard to find ways to keep people in their club and help set them up with a career. It all gets back to people in and around the club having passion for the place.

Bedford, as far as Xavier goes, they will drop off the pace in the next few years as their school sides have been very poor and will continue to be so judging by their years 7,8,9 ans 10 footy results last year.

Collegiens on the other hand have worked very hard to get back to where they are. It wasn't that long ago that they were palying in C Grade, so you can't seriously complain abiut them IMO.

Bedford, as far as Xavier goes, they will drop off the pace in the next few years [/b]as their school sides have been very poor and will continue to be so judging by their years 7,8,9 ans 10 footy results last year.

Collegiens on the other hand have worked very hard to get back to where they are. It wasn't that long ago that they were palying in C Grade, so you can't seriously complain abiut them IMO.

Brian. Don’t be so sure about Xavs. The fact their school sides are no good means very little. The absolute elite school kids go on to AFL or VFL anyway. What Xavs do very well is convert big numbers from the school across to the footy club. They work very hard at this and do it well. While some clubs struggle to get one U19 team up and running they could have easily entered a 3rd U19 team in 2011 if they had the grounds and training venues available. That is on top of their 5 seniors teams. Also I have seen many year 7, 8 & 9 kids who were no good develop into outstanding footballers. While many eagerly await their demise I am not so sure it is going to happen any time soon.

Agree about Collegians. A good club and a hard working committee that has developed some excellent networks. Could easily have won 3 ‘A’ grade flags in the last 4 years. Reckon they will be tough to beat again in 2012.

Agreed, bedford. This generation has lost its sense of community. It seems everyone's giving their roots the flick in favour of the almighty dollar.

Nothing to do with footy really, but the strength of our economy over the last decade or so has a lot to do with this. A deep and nasty recession would fix the issue - try getting sponsors then!