Preview Preview and Changes Vs Adelaide

If you really have to make a change then young Wines ought to be dropped 'cause I get the distinct feeling that he's getting a bit of a big head with all the attention and adulation being foisted upon him. He did one or two things last night that showed me that he was trying to be a bit too clever.
Then the Showdown is the perfect game/experience for him. Don't drop him. Let him square up against a tougher opponent, in a higher intensity game, so he knows how tough it can get.

Keep as is. Mitchell full game. Neade sub.
Neade's skill and speed are needed too much IMO. I think Mitchell is going well as a sub. I know he has a massive engine, but I still think he is playing the sub role well... busts is fking arse all over the field as soon as he is on.

IMO he is one of the few players who can mentally/physically cope with be a dedicated sub. If you want to give him a full game then perhaps P Stewart or Broadbent... but they're travelling well too, so happy with KM as sub.

Kane goes to Thompson. Thomo lifts a notch when he plays against the club he would have preferred to play for. Kane will drop off Thomo and help with Dangerfield from time to time.
P. Stewart or Broady to Dangerfield, either can play on him anywhere on the ground. When Dangerfield goes into the centre square keep one of them on him and have Ollie line up between him and our goals. He won't run through Ollie but he'll try doing it all game. Trengove to Walker with the Heath, Stevenson and Pittard as third up. Westy will drift back as necessary.
Neade absolutely stays on the park and starts, they'll probably play Jaensch on him who lacks the pace required. Johncock may come in but they'll probably drop Cal, so they'll be robbing Peter to pay Paul if they play Johncock on Neade.
It's an 8 day break so both Schulz and Hammer should be right. Mitchell to stay as sub one more week, not because he's not contributing but he just runs the lines so well and late in a showdown when everyone is ****ed that run will be invaluable.
Due respect should be shown to Henderson as he often gets under the radar, I'm not sure if his confidence took a hit from the change room incident. Not being silly but it would have to have an effect on him.
This is probably the most 50/50 showdown for a long time. Tough one to call but will probably be won in the coaches box.

two ruckmen is a must, need to double man Walker, and really get into Danger rough and hard. have someone like O'shea running with him all day, then put Cornes on him to double team him at the stoppages

I believe the crows will make atleast one change against us as I heard one of them pulled up a little dickie during the Brissie game!

Neade's skill and speed are needed too much IMO. I think Mitchell is going well as a sub. I know he has a massive engine, but I still think he is playing the sub role well... busts is fking arse all over the field as soon as he is on.

IMO he is one of the few players who can mentally/physically cope with be a dedicated sub. If you want to give him a full game then perhaps P Stewart or Broadbent... but they're travelling well too, so happy with KM as sub.

I agree with you. We've been pretty lucky not to have been forced into substituting a player early on. If the need arises in the future, then I reckon Mitchell is perfect because of his engine and commitment.

I also see what you mean kaysee about young Wines being subjected to the brutality of a showdown.

This is a fascinating time as a Port supporter. Looked at the tingles board as I do with all our opposition teams. They seem to be putting more stock into the Showdowns because they are playing us. This board is treating this like any other game. I think our team is more disciplined and don't care about whether we beat them but getting the 4 points and improving each week.

A perusal of the tingles board is interesting though. Their team seems less settled as Jacobs and a few of their mids are out of form. Some of them comment that next week is our first test against decent opposition and one suggested we are mutton dressed up as lamb. I look forward to next week. Less pressure on us and really looking forward for us to play our best game of the year. Really think we can still lift a few gears.

Saw signs from Wingard, the Hoff and Lobbe. Still think Boak, Broadbent and Bradbert can lift to another level. Our best is yet to come and it could be this Sunday.
Firstly thank you Jumbo for inviting us on board, I promise to be civil.

But this post I was puzzled by. Our board puts more stock into Showdows because we are playing you? Without you, there is no showdown ;) What I think you meant to say was we are treating this game more importantly because it's a showdown whereas you are treating it as 4 points. Well I can't agree with that. We are both treating this importantly because we want to kick each others arses as we are rivals.

This week is your first test against decent opposition, there's no denying that unless you don't think we are decent. Last year we had to hear all year that we weren't as good as our ladder position because we played inferior opposition, the same could apply to you this year.

But the majority of our board recognises that this is a different Port and we expect a huge match. There's always going to be exceptions on both boards who have a distorted version of what to expect, I don't think this will be a flogging either way.

This game will be won in the midfield and this year your rucks look capable of giving Jacobs a hard time who hasn't been in 2012 form. We also need to stop your defence from moving the ball freely forward. If you give our defence time to clog up your forward line then that's going to assist us greatly as our defence is struggling. I think you will have the advantage with your speed, tackling and ferocity at the contest, we are going to need to ramp this up considerably.

Anyway I won't wish you luck because you won't believe it and I don't mean it, I hope we kick your arse :p

Adel will drop Vince and Callinan im pretty certain on that and possibly VB will be in a bit strife from the match review panel!!
If i was Hinkley id get BMT in there somewhere because of his showdown experience! Just because Butch had one good game it doesnt mean hes ready to play AFL! Id keep the forwards unchanged and sub OShea for BMT only due to experience can be a good tag on sloane while Kane is on Danger

Lobbe? Really? He had as many hitouts as Redden last night and took about 4 contested marks to go with it. Redden barely had 4 disposals, let alone 4 contested marks. If either of our rucks gets dropped, it'll be Redden. And Renouf in for Redden wouldn't be such a bad thing, because Renouf will do a better job of negating Jacobs than either Redden or Lobbe.
I agree Redden at times looked spent.

Adel will drop Vince and Callinan im pretty certain on that and possibly VB will be in a bit strife from the match review panel!!
If i was Hinkley id get BMT in there somewhere because of his showdown experience! Just because Butch had one good game it doesnt mean hes ready to play AFL! Id keep the forwards unchanged and sub OShea for BMT only due to experience can be a good tag on sloane while Kane is on Danger

Other than "that" tackle I don't recall Matt Thomas ever having a major impact on a showdown. No thanks. We pick the best available team.

I just think that Matty Thomas shud come in because hes a hard nut, attacks the footy hard and hes built so solidly and thats what we need in this game dont think oshea is going to be able to keep up tbh

O'Shea has superhuman running capabilities ?

Screw making changes just to match up better

Pick OUR best 22 and make them match up to us

Thomas can stay out IMO

I don't want to see ANY changes unless there's an injury in which case its butcher/Moore or
Cassisi waiting to come in

Dom may not be best 22 but his cool head may be useful in a showdown

O'Shea is the 2nd best runner in the team after Kane Cornes. And Matty Thomas isn't in the team and doesn't deserve to be in the team because of his pathetic disposal.

O'Shea is probably the best runner in our side. He'll run and run and run and run. Attack on the man and the ball is no longer the domain of a couple of players at our club. Hinkley has set it as an absolute non-negotiable. The whole team's attack on the man and the ball is what will win us this game, not one player's.

Screw making changes just to match up better

Pick OUR best 22 and make them match up to us

Thomas can stay out IMO

I don't want to see ANY changes unless there's an injury in which case its butcher/Moore or
Cassisi waiting to come in

Dom may not be best 22 but his cool head may be useful in a showdown

Hinkley has stated no 'golden passes' so I doubt he will change a winning formula based on players having more experience against a particular opposition.. If that were the case Logan, Thomas etc would be in the team. We are building, no need to drop players who have preformed for two weeks in a row.

Callinan yes, Vince not so sure. Loves Showdowns, has won the medal a few years back, on that I think he'll get one more chance.

A perusal of the tingles board is interesting though. Some of them comment that next week is our first test against decent opposition and one suggested we are mutton dressed up as lamb.

I don't necessarily disagree with that, but I bet that those are the exact same people who all got on their high horse last year after the Crows beat GC, GWS, us and the Western Bulldogs (all bottom 5 teams) in the first 5 rounds.

Cornes would surely go to Sloane.

Sloane's not worth a tag from the first bounce. Kornes to Thompson, Mitchell or O'Shea to Dangerfield. If Sloane gets on top of us, then shift Kornes onto him, but Thompson and Dangerfield are better and we can't tag all three of them.

No changes at all.

No one deserves to be dropped.

Double team Walker, Double team Jacobs, shut down Dangerfield and the game will be won.