Problems inside the club with S.West and S.Cox

It comes to my attention that next year Scott West will be going to St.Kilda and Peter Everitt will be coming to the Doggies.
This is because Scott West was caught by Simon Cox having SEX with his wife.
This isnt what we need in our club at this point of time, and this is the reason why West has been suffering miagrain problems.
I certainly feel sorry for Scott West and Simon Cox, but with problems like this they have to be delt with in this sort of way.

Putting the personal aspect of the West-Cox situation aside, i would find it very hard to be disappointed with this trade. How good would a Darcy-Everitt combination in the ruck and Full Forward look.

As good as Westy is(and he is an absolute champion), a trade of this nature could see the doggies right up there in premiership contention next year.

Originally posted by sigscotty
Putting the personal aspect of the West-Cox situation aside, i would find it very hard to be disappointed with this trade. How good would a Darcy-Everitt combination in the ruck and Full Forward look.

As good as Westy is(and he is an absolute champion), a trade of this nature could see the doggies right up there in premiership contention next year.

Thats exactly right, I am glad about this trade.
With an extra tall man to help us out we will be a top 4 side.

This rumour has been flying around for yonks, X_Box_X.... it's been mentioned here before, and there was a topic started about it on the main AFL board about a month ago. It's old, old news .... and all this topic (and your mention of it in the 'each clubs B&F' thread) does is give rival supporters something new to hang shlt on us for..... and that's ignoring the fact that we're talking about players' personal lives which isn't really any of our business, and without knowing the facts.

As for the trade - F'in ridiculous. They can have the other player involved in this rumour + Ellis and possibly a draft pick. If that's not enough - stuff the trade. West is arguably our most important player and I'm not trading him for a ruckman who's commitment is questionable, and who's career could be finished in two years. Don't get me wrong, I rate Everitt VERY highly, and think that he would be a PERFECT pickup for us, but not for someone the callibre of bloody Scott West! We're trading one of the top 5 midfielders in the comp with another 6-7 years ahead of loyal service for an 'erratic' ruckman. No way. You never trade your champions, and if we did, I would expect a bloody lot more than that.

Apologies for the grumpiness.

Westy Boy, i would imagine we would also get early draft pick or another player. If we can get Spider for what you offer as an alternative i would prefer that to losing West.

As for talking about the players personal affairs, well we pay our money to go watch them, and if such things effect their performance why shouldn't we discuss it? Sure it is a rumour, but if we are willing to talk about rumours involving players carrying injuries, why not other things that effect performance and club morale?

Originally posted by sigscotty
As for talking about the players personal affairs, well we pay our money to go watch them, and if such things effect their performance why shouldn't we discuss it?
Well, for one thing, the FACT that the rumour is circulating may negatively impact on both players performance even if the allegations are FALSE, which is what David Smorgan stated about 3 weeks ago.

So we are perpetuating a story which could have a negative impact on our side's performance. As members, we shouldn't be doing that. That's what the other 15 sides' supporters and Age columnists are for. The spreading of this or any other such rumour, and the continual repeating of it (regardless of whether it is fact or fiction), is not good for the individual players or the club. So, as supporters, why do it?

Sigscotty,

I thought a lot of your points were fair enough. Don't know about the money argument though - if you were working in some fancy job in the city, and your relationships were affecting your work, would it be fair to have that kind of personal information aired publicly merely because you earn a higher wage? Or if you're a shareholder in a company (like the member/club scenario we're talking about here), should you have access to information regarding Finance Department Employee X's love life?

Simply- I just don't like the gossiping .... and what makes it worse (as k9-54 pointed out), is that it is merely a rumour which any idiot in the social club could have started as a stir ... but it's being portrayed as a cold, hard fact. And I certainly don't like the idea of it being on a public platform (such as a bulletin board on the internet) for all to see.

But to be fair, sigscotty, you glanced over the actual rumour in your first post, and went straight to the issue which effects us most - trades/ dealings/form. I have absolutely no problem with that, and even if I did, you have every right to post what you want. What I don't like however is others are more worried about the 'who did he root, who's wife shagged who's best mate ... aww that sounds juicy ' ... which is pointless and stupid and something that's better left to the likes of Caroline Wilson.

As for the trade - Scott West is our midfield general - granted, he is out of form (but still managing 30 possessions a game) - at his best we are a 10% better side. If we trade him for Everrit and a draft pick(/s) (such a high risk trading philosophy when you've already got a champion at your fingertips), who do you propose as our centreman for the next 5 years (min.) ? Who's going to replace Westy, the bloke who is leading the comp in hard ball gets? Replace his 30 quality possesions every single week? Tackles? 160 odd games of experience? Passion for the club?

On the surface it looks great - Everitt and Grant in the forward line, Darcy rucking and creating mismatches when resting at FF and then possibly all 3 of them down there if one of the youngsters can ruck for a little while.... I like the sound of it heaps. But frankly, at the moment our gameplan is very reliant on the smaller blokes and rotations …. and West is WAY too valuable to our team and it's structure. If it was to snare us a Hay etc... to sure up our defence ove the next decade … my stance could be different... but for a 29 year old ruckman - no thanks.

K9-54,
As always, beautifully summed up.

I find it very hard to accept that so-called supporters of our club are perpetuating what is basically nobody's business, even if true. x_box_x seems to believe this to be an important topic that warrants broadcasting far and wide, even posting it on the main board for everybody to read and presumably pass on and comment negatively about our club and players.

And to use baseless allegations as fuel for trade talk is insane.

Have you all forgotten so soon that Scott West is our reigning club champion? If the rumour was about Chris Grant would you be talking about trading him?

Show a bit of loyalty if you call yourself a supporter. It's easy enough for the media to find adverse stories about our club without you helping them.

Westy Boy, Dogs_R_Us and K9-54,
What you are saying has much merit. The fact is it is terrible that such personal issues of the players are being aired/contrived in public forums. So why do i talk about it you ask.

Well the thing is, if true, it could be having a huge effect on the club. So why not access the repurcussions of it being true? Maybe the rumour itself is causing the club harm? Well as high profile individuals they just have to cope with that.

As for the shareholder in a company example; I don't suggest we should have access to this information. But if i should happen upon such information, and it may be effecting the company, well i am going to discuss it, and i believe i have a duty to my fellow members to do so.

I am in total agreeance that those who focus on the 'juicy' gossip angle of the story are doing themselves and the club no good. I think these people would be better off following the royal family rather than the Bulldogs.

Regarding the trade itself, i must admit i was unaware that Everitt was so old. I thought he would be 28 max. This cahnges my thinking a little. But i still believe that Spider and the Saints second draft pick (will be no. 5 probably) would be a good deal. The fact is West will never be replaced. He is too good to think we can cover for his loss. But with an early draft pick we are likely to get a 10 yr player, and the strength it adds to other areas is immense. All of a sudden one of our weaknesses would become a strength.

I think it is a way to be in contention next year. Somehing we will not be capable of without a big lift in the Forward/back-up ruckmen department.

PS. If the club believes Bruton, Wiggins or Skipper can do an adequete job in this area than that would also change my thinking. Would still love Spider but only for something along the lines of Westy Boy's alternative.

First of all I'd say that outlining this rumour in such explicit terms is potentially libellous, and thats all I'm going to say about that part of X_box_X's post.

Now to the juicy part of the rumour, the player trade.
I too have heard that Scott will be traded, and am unhappy. But do you think that the club is insane? There is NO WAY that they would trade him for Everitt.
The player in question-as I hear it-is a key forward from an inner city club. The club in question has three key forwards and need to shore up their mid-field. The player is best mates with a fringe player at our club, they played TAC cup together and were drafted at the same time. He is a much more tantalising prospect than Peter Everitt.

You should have worked it out by now.

Anyone else heard this one? :eek:

Sometimes things are said to be rumours!!
Anyway enough of the personal lives, I heard that Simon Cox, wanted to leave but they told him that he had to stay until the end of the year. So it is possible that he will be traded? Like coxy but a better option than westy

Originally posted by localyokel
First of all I'd say that outlining this rumour in such explicit terms is potentially libellous, and thats all I'm going to say about that part of X_box_X's post.

Now to the juicy part of the rumour, the player trade.
I too have heard that Scott will be traded, and am unhappy. But do you think that the club is insane? There is NO WAY that they would trade him for Everitt.
The player in question-as I hear it-is a key forward from an inner city club. The club in question has three key forwards and need to shore up their mid-field. The player is best mates with a fringe player at our club, they played TAC cup together and were drafted at the same time. He is a much more tantalising prospect than Peter Everitt.

You should have worked it out by now.

Anyone else heard this one? :eek:

It would be devastating for us to lose Scott - he is a captain-in-waiting. Do you know if he wants to leave? Would he leave if "other" arrangements were made. Is the club giving him the push? His loss of form in recent weeks has been very alarming.

Definitely no way is Everitt even approaching a fair trade, in fact even the whole St Kilda team wouldn't be enough. :rolleyes:

The player you are talking about has been reportedly unhappy where he is (and can you blame him? ;) ) It would be good to get him, but I wish there was another way.

The other player (nobody else has said his name so i won't) is my favorite non Bulldog, and will be around for another decade.

I have heard about this one too. Lets hope Buckley and him have another blow-up soon. Would love to see him at our club. Much moreso than Spider (who is actually 27).

I dont know enough about the situation with Scott West to know that he wants to leave. I've been told that an unspecified problem with teamates-I'm not going to speculate about who or what-has been sorted out. This is from a good source at the club, and squares with other gossip I've heard.

However if there is anything in the gossip, and Westy wants to go then I reckon that Tarrant would be the ideal trade. I would prefer that trade to almost any other that you could come up with.

How bout this trade everyone...........

Cox, Curley - Tarrant ;) or Smith - Tarrant :rolleyes:

If we were to get Tarrant what player do you think we will have to give up?

Thanks for that sigscotty. I too top dog think Curley Cox would be a good trade. Dissappointing result yesterday, seems that the passion has gone a little, does anyone else agree? Or just not good enough anymore.