News Pyke Gone

• Thread starter Thread starter Tex200

Chin up people. If you want a cheer up just head on over to the Port board. They are melting again because they are still stuck with "yes we Ken".

No. No. No. No. No.

Not trying to single you out here but
this type of speak is why the supporter base are a massive part of this problem.

Seeing Port fans whinge doesn’t cheer me up. I don’t give a f*ck if Port turns themselves into a shopping mall, I only care about winning.

This mentality of being better than little brother and it’s ok if we are shit as long as Port are a little bit shitter is just ludicrous.

I would take a guaranteed 2 showdown losses each and every year if it meant we won a flag.

We need to stop being so distracted by what Port Adelaide does and start actually worrying about the fact that it’s now been over two decades since we won a premiership and we’re rapidly approaching the depths of an interstate version of the Melbourne Football Club.

Listening to Chapman rationalize the contract extensions of Sanderson and Pyke... would make any fan borderline psychotic.

Rob, just fu** off. Once and for all.

Yep. I have been loathe to sink the boot into Chappy over the years but enough is enough. He is just a smooth talking non-eventful figurehead. Does the AFC reflect that ?

You know what they say: 'Hard to soar with "crows" when you're surrounded by turkeys'.

I'm really sorry to see Don Pyke go and am bitterly imagining where we could be if he'd had actually had some competent staff to support him.

And Grand Final coaches don't grow on trees. IMO a big mistake - there are plenty at this club who should have been 'shown the door' before accepting a Grand Final coaches resignation .

Good luck Don Pyke - you'll be sorely missed.

Only way to eat pineapple..... or in an upside down cake.

Apart from the fact that it’s cooked fruit that’s not encased in delicious pastry and served with a cream product, it’s far too wet to put on pizza without ****ing the base. It’s like fruit in a salad, completely unnecessary and fundamentally counterproductive. Tomato and avocado the obvious exceptions.

Apart from the fact that it’s cooked fruit that’s not encased in delicious pastry and served with a cream product, it’s far too wet to put on pizza without ******* the base. It’s like fruit in a salad, completely unnecessary and fundamentally counterproductive. Tomato and avocado the obvious exceptions.
Not an avo fan myself, strange texture and barely any flavour

Yeah, I get that. If almost all the players give horrible feedback on him and this is presented in the review, how does he survive?

Burton will have nowhere to hide once the reviews are in on him.

Yes but after the upheavals of the coach resigning and general Unsettlement within the club it is probably time for cooler heads to prevail and a steady as she goes approach from the board. It's the Adelaide way. Burton to be retained and his role to be enlarged as a show of faith and confidence by the board. 😛😩

You know what they say: 'Hard to soar with "crows" when you're surrounded by turkeys'.

I'm really sorry to see Don Pyke go and am bitterly imagining where we could be if he'd had actually had some competent staff to support him.

And Grand Final coaches don't grow on trees. IMO a big mistake - there are plenty at this club who should have been 'shown the door' before accepting a Grand Final coaches resignation .

Good luck Don Pyke - you'll be sorely missed.
I wont miss him. The dude refused to play the kids. Desperatley tried floggingva dead horse for 2 years to try and get back to a GF. A shortsighted coach you would not want in charge of a rebuild.

Firstly, how the fu** would Wilson know this? She doesn't know s**t. She's getting it from here.

Secondly, I hope she's right with the Burton feedback thing.:)
If you think Caro doesn't know then you don't know . She does get the right information and not sure how, not only our club but all AFL clubs.

Dunstall to appoint himself as coach. I reckon he would be a good one.

i think he’d be a terrible coach. He’s analytical and good at making tough calls at board level but that wouldn’t translate to the people skills and human management needed to be a successful coach.

Don deserves alot of credit, he came into a position where a group of players were touched by a tragedy. It wouldn't have been easy to deal with the grief of the group initially and I think he handled everything in those first two seasons brilliantly. The poor one sided umpiring really didn't help the boys that day and even Don may have just lost a little mentally as a result.

Don also deserves credit for walking, some people would have stood firm but it was obvious that the playing group wasn't happy about something, how much was Don and how much were assistants and the high performance staff, hopefully the review will uncover the truth.

I believe Phil Walsh death masked a long held toxic player and football department culture to be honest. It can't be a good feeling around the place to have players walk out year on year because they either can't get the contract they want or its not a fun place. Think back our entire history. The Crows have had from day one tough uncompromising coaches. Not many ex players talk about Graham Cornes in a positive light and many players highlight that the culture wasn't great, he was not paid to be friends with players but no one was sad to see him go really. The new club smell masked alot of issues. If you remove Graham Cornes from the equation because its not an easy job doing the new club coaching role, every coach apart from Robert Shaw and to some extent Gary Ayres got an immediate response from the playing group. Blight, Craig, Sanderson and Pyke all were beneficiaries of this and all got into trouble relatively quickly. No coach was able to prolong this uplift. I think this has to be a massive red flag that doesn't look good and whats worse its over a very long time.

If we be honest with ourselves, we have never had a rebuild. This means any negative culture created from day one 30 years ago can continue to drift under the radar from one generation to the next masked by good times but can sit just under chipping away. This may be an unpopular opinion to some but I genuinely think the only way to change is to sweep the decks clean and rebuild a majority of the squad. Greenwood, Hartigan, Keath, Betts, Jenkins, Gibbs, Mackay, CEY and Jacobs should all be moved on as well as anyone else who wants to go. The new coach should be given a list of players who want to be at Adelaide from day one. If this means we finish 16th next year with 4 wins. I couldn't care less. The club needs to make a stand that whatever current culture currently exists within the club is dead.

I don’t understand why Burton and Campo etc are still there.
They better be gone or else we probably won’t attract any decent coach
The whole thing is ****ed.

The review is too late. Makes it hard to make any moves. Dons departure is too late. 4 other clubs have already appointed their coaches.

Any potential recruits (lol) won’t come without a coach in place.

Campo Hart Burton will survive. Mainly because we will be flat out replacing Pyke...and we won’t admit that the best footy department ever assembled had so many duds in it.

What a shitshow

Not an avo fan myself, strange texture and barely any flavour

Eggzactly, avocado doesn’t **** up something that is otherwise tasty. It’s a soft addition with health benefit, as opposed to the pure sugar of wet pineapple (or apple) that goes out of its way to kill off every other flavour by way of the massive sugar hit. Look, I don’t like to tell people they’re taste buds are ****ed, but may I ask if you were a cigarette smoker?

So Don has resigned, so no pay out? Or minimal pay out? How's that being received over there? Considering they can't let Ken go due to his contract.
Chapman was clear in the presser it was a resignation so no termination payment...then proceeded to say it was still being discussed. So that was confusing. I’d say there’s something but not an anchor on our budget

John Ralph said on radio a few weeks ago, and he was very strong on it that all AFC staff contracts had a termination clause in them that meant if they were sacked they wouldn’t get a full payout. He was speaking specifically re pykes contract but also saying it was standard on our contracts