QAFL 2016

From what I've heard the coach was going regardless. He could have won the flag and still been given the boot.

And another story from out that way...... At a club meeting last night, attended by senior and ressie players (who have made finals by finishing first BTW), the Club President stood up and announced that:

"The winning of reserve grade premierships mean Jack Sh!t to this club!"

Wouldn't you love to train (as the ressies had to do) after that?

I think there's a bigger problem here than just a coach......

Your sources are

Bloody hell, gotta feel for the 2s lads. A couple of the younger boys playing for them this weekend used to play juniors at the club I was affiliated with a few years ago, and I know that morningside tried to poach them back then (u14/16). Now to be told crap like that when they made the move as adults. Gotta be gut wrenching.

On the flip side, could be some good talent heading to clubs close to them next season.

Like Kristian Rooks who went to Morningside in 2014, played 17 games in the Reserves - including being named 2nd best in the Prelim Final - only to be dropped for the GF for the coaches mate (and not given any sort of explanation either!)

No wonder their 3rds barely bothered to show up if they treat their reserves like this!

My sources are what?

1. A bigger problem than the coach? Or
2. Accurate?

Because I'd back 2 over 1 any day of the week. Especially when they were in the audience when the comment was made.

I heard about last Night players meeting this morning, I was told a very similar story today to what King 05 has posted. My jaw dropped. I didn't believe my mate at first, but was told it actually did happened.:(

Not exactly the sort of thing you go spouting forth publicly with on the eve of finals irrespective of the fact that clubs don't play to win 2's premierships.

Great game today with the Magpies getting home by 4 points
Reckon sundays game between the vultures and surfers will be of a similiar result ,, is good to see the evenness in the comp .... bar Labrador ,,

So a mate at UQ tells me that a few of the long-standing members there have executed a coup to take charge and finally pull them up to the professionalism required at this grade, only to find that there's no longer a spot for them here. Apparently the club is crumbling. Not good news for them, but good news for the competitiveness of the QAFL! Who's going to take their spot though? Maroochydore? Mayne? Coorparoo? Springwood?

My mail is it will be Moreton bay who will then attract the better players from the Sunshine Coast. A1 facilities, a club without the issues of parochialism around them a supportive council.
Maroochydore would be the obvious though. Strong footy club, great facility too, well administered, only issue is getting the support of other clubs. There is a stack of mistrust within sc footy, sometimes fairly, often perceived

I heard that Uni dropping out of Qafl as well. But just rumour at this stage. They may go with 9 teams. I noticed their latest restucture said 8-10 teams for Qafl. Probably depends on which clubs put up their hand

My mail is it will be Moreton bay who will then attract the better players from the Sunshine Coast. A1 facilities, a club without the issues of parochialism around them a supportive council.
Maroochydore would be the obvious though. Strong footy club, great facility too, well administered, only issue is getting the support of other clubs. There is a stack of mistrust within sc footy, sometimes fairly, often perceived

There are more to be a successful club than just having A1 Facilities

Yes, what a game today ,,, as good as yesterdays come the winning margin ,,,,, good crowd to for a 1st semi final ,,, some 700/800 at a guess.
Hamill was best for the vultures and Haberfied for Surfers must of had 35 plus touches, yet I see wasnt named in their best 6 players ,, are you kidding

Some more comments ,
1; the umpiring today was very good .
2; the ground could of done with a water on thursday or friday ,, was very hard and in the middle was a dust bowl ,,
3; at quarter time went to buy a hot dog and water ,,,, no ,, all sold out ,, like everything,, no chips, dim sims , pies ,, only thing available were cans of soft drink... Now this is a finals game and Mt Gravatt got to host it,,, so very poor effort here and not up to standard at all .

Some more comments ,
1; the umpiring today was very good .
2; the ground could of done with a water on thursday or friday ,, was very hard and in the middle was a dust bowl ,,
3; at quarter time went to buy a hot dog and water ,,,, no ,, all sold out ,, like everything,, no chips, dim sims , pies ,, only thing available were cans of soft drink... Now this is a finals game and Mt Gravatt got to host it,,, so very poor effort here and not up to standard at all .

To add,, no lollies, chocolate bars etc for the kids ,,, not a thing ... extermely poor effort

Yes, what a game today ,,, as good as yesterdays come the winning margin ,,,,, good crowd to for a 1st semi final ,,, some 700/800 at a guess.
Hamill was best for the vultures and Haberfied for Surfers must of had 35 plus touches, yet I see wasnt named in their best 6 players ,, are you kidding

Long time watcher first time poster.

Along with habberfield, Pope had a heap of it as well but they didn't have enough help. too many players trying to do it all them selves and not bringing others in to it. Green was well kept which wouldn't of helped their cause.

Not sure what game you were at but the umpiring i thought watching was bad. Seemed to be in the favour of mt gravatt all game.

I heard that Uni dropping out of Qafl as well. But just rumour at this stage. They may go with 9 teams. I noticed their latest restucture said 8-10 teams for Qafl. Probably depends on which clubs put up their hand

Correct, no UQ and not replaced (at this stage)

Cracking contest yesterday, both teams out on their feet at the end. Loved the midfield battle of Haberfield & Pope vs Hamill & Murphy, both had periods where they got on top, but reckon Vultures got a couple of critical clearances late. Vultures full back did a great job on Green.

Few qafl clubs looking for coaches. Staker to coach Magpies? Jack Anthony moving from Southport to Labrador? Grange? Panthers?

Interesting UQ are out next year, that div 1 Comp will be a ripper!

Great game yesterday, I also found it hard to get a feed and had to duck out to Logan road at half time. Huge missed opportunity by the Mounties to get some cash through their club.

Cracking game yesterday. I went along and really enjoyed it. Glad it was such a cracker, as I opted for SE Suns vs Kedron on Saturday arvo instead of going down to see PBC take on the Magpies in what I've been told was a game for the ages.

getting to see Vultures and Demons go head to head like that was just reward! Both sides absolutely cooked late, and not surprising given one team played out a draw last week and the other played out an epic 2 pointer. 2 great weeks of QAFL footy.

The smother from Mick Hammill late deserved a Commetti commentary pearler!