QAFL 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

Been doing it for years and the worst offenders by miles. Mt gravatt were runners up in Div 1 u12 and Div 1 u14 last year, this year they can't field a single u14 side because they have all left to play in an unbeatable superteam in u14s at Morningside. Thats not good for that competition, or the kids playing in the super team who won't be challenged. There are kids in the Panthers u14 side that drive from Ipswich to play there after being sold the dream.

I had a kid in a class I taught at school a few years back, made the state u12 side and his parents got over 25 text msgs from people involved at the panthers in the space of 2 weeks in October inviting him over from Jindalee to further his footy the following year. literally chasing a kid that was in year 7 at the time!

Agree with Still Me that after all, its the parents fault for falling for this rubbish and making decisions, but clubs also should just leave people alone.

Kids leaving over the gender of a coach is deplorable and they're better off without those families.

They closed off registrations this year due to numbers and were only taking in players from last year.....unless you were really good then they’d make exceptions [emoji18]. Been doing it for years encouraging the better kids from other clubs to move over. Victoria Point have lost so many of their top end players to them over the years

[/QUOTE]
Been doing it for years and the worst offenders by miles. Mt gravatt were runners up in Div 1 u12 and Div 1 u14 last year, this year they can't field a single u14 side because they have all left to play in an unbeatable superteam in u14s at Morningside. Thats not good for that competition, or the kids playing in the super team who won't be challenged. There are kids in the Panthers u14 side that drive from Ipswich to play there after being sold the dream.

I had a kid in a class I taught at school a few years back, made the state u12 side and his parents got over 25 text msgs from people involved at the panthers in the space of 2 weeks in October inviting him over from Jindalee to further his footy the following year. literally chasing a kid that was in year 7 at the time!

Agree with Still Me that after all, its the parents fault for falling for this rubbish and making decisions, but clubs also should just leave people alone.

Kids leaving over the gender of a coach is deplorable and they're better off without those families.

Wow! if true that is ridiculous!

They closed off registrations this year due to numbers and were only taking in players from last year.....unless you were really good then they’d make exceptions [emoji18]. Been doing it for years encouraging the better kids from other clubs to move over. Victoria Point have lost so many of their top end players to them over the years

Players have only moved to Morningside when there have been issues in their own clubs. Yeronga had a huge falling out and players went all over the place, Coorparoo had a fall out with coaches and players left, Vic Point and Alex Hills the same.

Teams go in swings and round abouts. Remember Winston were the powerhouse a year or so ago, Aspley before that.

Pretty simple solution.

You pick a QLD u18 side to play in the national carnival, kids in that side come from both Lions and GC zones and they spend the rest of their time playing for their clubs and trying to play senior footy, and if/when they don't get drafted they are embedded in a footy club with 20 mates and an ongoing love of the game.

Instead they leave their clubs at 17 for academy, get bounced all over the place, don't get drafted, hate footy and give it away.
just have to go back to zones.

If a kid from Calamvale wants to go to Morningside instead of Mt Gravatt, they should have to get a clearance from both Calamvale AND Mt Gravatt - as thats their QAFL zone.

thats how it used to be

Every now and then you take your meds and say something intelligent. Twice in one day is quite remarkable, might have to wait until May for the next pearl of wisdom, but wholeheartedly agree with the above!

That would have been when Redlands and Alex Hills self imploded and there were huge internal rifts within their clubs.

Coorparoo and Yeronga have had similar issues when there has been issues within the committee or with certain coaches. About four years ago Yeronga lost their entire boys youth football because of internal stuff.

Thats all fine, but how do you explain the "our registration is only open to last years players" public message on FB and website etc, but secretly behind closed doors 'oh you're a good player, you can join us right now, never mind our junior who has been here since auskick - we will push him out later'

Imagine wanting to tell kids and parents where they have to play rather than letting them make up their own mind.

Thats all fine, but how do you explain the "our registration is only open to last years players" public message on FB and website etc, but secretly behind closed doors 'oh you're a good player, you can join us right now, never mind our junior who has been here since auskick - we will push him out later'

Wouldn’t happen. It’s why they have two teams.

Bigger picture out there Ruffles - like a proper competition. Not a fan of the AFL draft system I imagine then??

I very much support the AFL draft system but I do hope we're not comparing a multi-million dollar competition with that of the local footy where clubs are mostly voluntarily run and the players play as a hobby/past time.

Fairness is not telling a kid where he has to play. Fairness is the points cap system the QAFL has utilised to encourage clubs growing from within.

I agree you can argue what constitutes a junior to be considers 1 point (ie what age they joined the club) but flat out suggesting they need approval from clubs and comp to decide what colours they choose to play under is ludicrous.

For junior football I don't see a need to consider such things. If the kids want to play for a club because they think they'll enjoy it more there then what's the issue?

not really true mate.

A few mt gravatt kids left the year before and the best wests kids went to Morningside as well (also the year before) no idea on the reasons, but there were some very strong players that moved in the u14 space.

However this year, simply not the case. Vultures are just playing 3 sides in the u16s and many of their best 14s are in that. They still have an u14 and u12 side, but for reasons most likely to do with complications with the half age group change - they are running 3 x u16 instead of 2 x u14.

Nice conspiracy theory though.

For junior football I don't see a need to consider such things. If the kids want to play for a club because they think they'll enjoy it more there then what's the issue?

the main issue is that all the little junior clubs around the place are incredibly important for the development of the game and attracting talented kids to the sport.

If they are constantly battling because every talented kid that rolls into their club is gone 12 months later and they end up folding, or having no representation in certain age groups - then the entire sport suffers.

If for example Calamvale have a bunch of 5-10 really talented kids, there is no need for them to move until they are 16. Clubs ringing kids under the age of 16 really shouldn't be allowed (and I'm pretty sure its not allowed?) Both morally wrong, and against the rules as far as I'm aware.

Yes, plenty of families etc move of their own volition - but there is always a little nudge and a wink involved - junior rep footy is the worst space for this sort of stuff. (that and over enthusiastic youth coaches who think premierships is the measure of their success, rather than developing young players)

I very much support the AFL draft system but I do hope we're not comparing a multi-million dollar competition with that of the local footy where clubs are mostly voluntarily run and the players play as a hobby/past time.

Fairness is not telling a kid where he has to play. Fairness is the points cap system the QAFL has utilised to encourage clubs growing from within.

I agree you can argue what constitutes a junior to be considers 1 point (ie what age they joined the club) but flat out suggesting they need approval from clubs and comp to decide what colours they choose to play under is ludicrous.

Because the principle behind the draft is exactly the same - to ensure there is a competition and not a one horse race. If you could control human behaviour, and as you said junior football, being run by adult egos then these issues would rarely arise. My argument with what you said is that I rarely think kids change clubs bc of lack of fun or friends -
the main issue is that all the little junior clubs around the place are incredibly important for the development of the game and attracting talented kids to the sport.

If they are constantly battling because every talented kid that rolls into their club is gone 12 months later and they end up folding, or having no representation in certain age groups - then the entire sport suffers.

If for example Calamvale have a bunch of 5-10 really talented kids, there is no need for them to move until they are 16. Clubs ringing kids under the age of 16 really shouldn't be allowed (and I'm pretty sure its not allowed?) Both morally wrong, and against the rules as far as I'm aware.

Yes, plenty of families etc move of their own volition - but there is always a little nudge and a wink involved - junior rep footy is the worst space for this sort of stuff. (that and over enthusiastic youth coaches who think premierships is the measure of their success, rather than developing young players)

100% Thommo - agree on all counts. Like I said Ruffles there is a bigger picture at play here that in actuality is no different to the reasons for an AFL draft. I have rarely seen a kid move clubs for "enjoyment" reasons, more so parental "enjoyment" (read ego) or moving house and convenience.

Is the system broken then ? I don’t understand the reason for fielding 3 youth teams in one age group, when neighbouring clubs don’t have any !

Aside from Lab and Panthers, we’re there any other qafl practice matches this weekend?
Not sure if Morningside were resting players, but they were a lot different side to last year. If that’s close to their best side they are in for a long year.
Hard to judge Labrador as they were not playing against much.

Not sure if Morningside were resting players, but they were a lot different side to last year. If that’s close to their best side they are in for a long year.
Hard to judge Labrador as they were not playing against much.

I said after Panthers played Noosa last week - they are a complete different side to last year. I reckon there is about 5 players from last years team there.