QAFL 2021

Good win by Wilston Grange with a young team but let’s here be honest here , if Noosa can’t beat an inexperienced team at Home in trying conditions then they are in for a long year , anyone who had them finish in the Finals doesn’t have much idea about footy.
No disrespect to Noosa but anything above 3rd last will be a good effort in their debut QAFL season

Well done Grange, the 4 points is all you want.
Billy you’d be pumped, we’re up to page 22..
Sol
Well done Grange, the 4 points is all you want.
Billy you’d be pumped, we’re up to page 22..
Solid win for Wilston Grange I thought. More scoring shots and late goals to Noosa. Some in this forum had Noosa unbeatable. Step up in divisions might be harder than we think.
Noosa at home are a difficult proposition. I think in dry conditions, both these teams will be found wanting against most the other teams.

Good win by Wilston Grange with a young team but let’s here be honest here , if Noosa can’t beat an inexperienced team at Home in trying conditions then they are in for a long year , anyone who had them finish in the Finals doesn’t have much idea about footy.
No disrespect to Noosa but anything above 3rd last will be a good effort in their debut QAFL season
I think you are under rating Granges win, and also Noosa making finals in their 1st season as achievements.

Of the Grange starting 22 today
12 were aged 16-19, with 3 of the 19 yo’s turning 20 this year.
Labrador blooded 9 colts in Reserves at morningside. Had at least 1 colt in 1sts. The way Labrador 1sts played, then reserves was the most sensible place to play the colts as their 1sts looked a hard team to crack into. Grange as youve siad played a lot of youth also. Both coaches are ex AFL players. It will be interesting to see Sherwood and Mt Gravatt sides next week (both coaches ex AFL players also) to see if they also put faith in talented youth? See if its a 'trait'?

Fantastic crowd and atmosphere at noosa yesterday.Just over 2 thousand people signed in which was great considering a pretty ordinary day weather wise.Grange thoroughly deserved their win.They were harder at the contest much cleaner with the footy in hand and showed heaps more discipline than the home side who gave away 10 fifty metre penalties and had two free kicks reversed for ill discipline.Noosa played about 15 minutes of good footy and in this comp certainly won’t get you the points.Hopefully the Easter Saturday game progresses was a big success!

Live stream of todays game? On Nossas FB there is a post saying..

Noosa Tigers AFC
30 Mar

" The boys from Klinge Scaffold, big thank for supplying scaffold for our TV crew."

Fantastic crowd and atmosphere at noosa yesterday.Just over 2 thousand people signed in which was great considering a pretty ordinary day weather wise.Grange thoroughly deserved their win.They were harder at the contest much cleaner with the footy in hand and showed heaps more discipline than the home side who gave away 10 fifty metre penalties and had two free kicks reversed for ill discipline.Noosa played about 15 minutes of good footy and in this comp certainly won’t get you the points.Hopefully the Easter Saturday game progresses was a big success!
I didnt see the game but saw some of it on live stream. Congrats to Noosa for a well earnt 1st game in QAFL. I have no doubt they can compete in QAFL but as you stated Noosaboy they will not be allowed lapses as perhaps they could mask a little easier in QFA.

Labrador blooded 9 colts in Reserves at morningside. Had at least 1 colt in 1sts. The way Labrador 1sts played, then reserves was the most sensible place to play the colts as their 1sts looked a hard team to crack into. Grange as youve siad played a lot of youth also. Both coaches are ex AFL players. It will be interesting to see Sherwood and Mt Gravatt sides next week (both coaches ex AFL players also) to see if they also put faith in talented youth? See if its a 'trait'?
Billy, I am pretty sure both Fletch & Lynny will be selecting the sides they believe will win them games of senior footy in QAFL in 2021. Their respective lists will dictate whether they play youth, seasoned players, or a combination of both leaning either way. I understand the feel good factor about youth but if either coach select youth for the sake of your stats on which clubs are playing youth they should be sacked.

We will naturally have a few teenagers as we always do, but it wont be a factor in selection.

I reckon we will have 22 players aged 12-30, great for our club :rolleyes:

i take your point.

Sure, Grange have been pursuing a youth policy with a view to the future, but we’re definitely not playing kids over older guys in the 2’s who would give us a better chance of winning right now.

No coach or footy department in this league is playing with next year (or later) in mind, they want to win this year. If Grange had more “old blokes” who were worthy of a senior spot we’d be picking them.

I didnt see the game but saw some of it on live stream. Congrats to Noosa for a well earnt 1st game in QAFL. I have no doubt they can compete in QAFL but as you stated Noosaboy they will not be allowed lapses as perhaps they could mask a little easier in QFA.
Have a link for that LB?

i take your point.

Sure, Grange have been pursuing a youth policy with a view to the future, but we’re definitely not playing kids over older guys in the 2’s who would give us a better chance of winning right now.

No coach or footy department in this league is playing with next year (or later) in mind, they want to win this year. If Grange had more “old blokes” who were worthy of a senior spot we’d be picking them.
Its great that the kids are developing at Grange Judge. It will be exciting to watch this year

Billy, I am pretty sure both Fletch & Lynny will be selecting the sides they believe will win them games of senior footy in QAFL in 2021. Their respective lists will dictate whether they play youth, seasoned players, or a combination of both leaning either way. I understand the feel good factor about youth but if either coach select youth for the sake of your stats on which clubs are playing youth they should be sacked.
I dont think anyone suggests promoting young fellas undeservedly. However trial matches are exactly for that; Trialling players at another level to see how they go. Grange and Labrador both have done so exceptionally well, and as a result know more about their list. Im not aware of how many new faces and youth other clubs like Sherwood, Mt Gravatt had a look at? One club promoted just the one kid to look at. A 17yo they believe may get drafted. Thats not trialling the unknown quantities on your list, thats focussing on a pet project.

No probs with any of that. But I reckon every single QAFL coach has an extremely good grasp on what standout talent they have in their ranks. If the kid is good enough he is old enough

Full credit to Grange. I for one gave them next to no chance. Whilist im not sure Noosa couldnt have played much worse, and they were their own worst enemy with discipline, alot of that can be put down to Grange. They never allowed Noosa to get any flow in their play always seemingly having numbers behind the footy, their pressure around the contest was terrific and everyone seemed to know and play their role. Not a great spectacle and Noosa probably shouldnt have got as close as Grange had some chances go awry. Weather wise it had everything, heavy rain, strong wind and some sunshine. Grange were able to silence the big crowd right from the beginning kicking the 1st goal and it remained like this for the day. Good day of local footy.

QAFL 2021