QAFL 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

;) not here to bag anyone specifically - always felt that there are a few rules you work by:
1. never ring a player U18 to come to your club - to play seniors or juniors
2. never use a position in Academy / Rep role to influence players
3. never make a kid travel major distances to play unless you are confident that they cannot get what they need closer to home.

Now that doesn't mean a player won't still come to your club but at least you know they are coming because they are desperate to play under you / or with your club. ie the program / culture will be the attraction, not the chat coming out of a person's mouth.

Panthers and Gorillas not getting christmas card from you then?

I suppose with both Maroochydore and Noosa now in QAFL perhaps less of this occurs on the Sunny Coast

I have to say that there was usually very little "recruiting" that went on between the 2 clubs. Even at colts / junior level. The colts teams generally played in the same comp so it was only 2020 when they didn't and no Noosa boys came down.
It's more of an issue when big clubs graze their eyes over smaller clubs and their better players imo. It is a really narrow lens that some clubs use as at end of day you have to play someone. Maroochydore have been guilty as any club at different stages of doing this as well, depending on the coach at the time. At the end of the day I think you have a responsibility as a bigger club as protectors of the competitions. Sometimes to the detriment of your own.

Weren't Maroochydore basically told not to accept more youth registrations at some point early this season, as they were destroying the local competition - and they kept doing it anyway and got in trouble from AFLQ?

Not auggesting they were recruiting either, as surely a fairly natural destination for kids with intentions to take their footy to a high level, plus they have the room!

I see they lured J.Allen back from Sherwood, which probably means B.Allen as well.

Magpies not great at retaining guys who have started with them and then gone up a level, only to have them come back to that same level to play against them. Allen, Frame, Johnson, Franks, Stallard to name a few - probably a few more?

For a club that appears to have as good a culture as any, why do their own blokes not stick around?

Jackson and Brady are Kenmore Juniors, came over in youth footy and then jacko got drafted. Brady is staying at Sherwood.

Frame is one we probably thought would stay but signed with Wynnum.

Stallard and Johnson are Jindalee juniors, not Sherwood. Franks is from Victoria and had 1 season at Kenmore, a few with us before going to Redland and choosing to stay there.

So not really guys that are club Juniors or have spent significant time with us, despite external opinion. We also obviously can't compete financially with those 2 clubs.

Would be great but you have to be realistic.

If sandgate had to many players would you ship them off to zillmere?

kids at the end of the dayjust want to play with mates or reach the highest level they can

I am realistic. I know it won’t happen. I love seeing kids play footy and would rather see clubs like Zillmere, Pine Rivers, Ferny Grove etc have teams rather than a club have 4-5 junior teams and playing themselves in comps. Also understand the way of the world and that kids will want to play with mates etc. Thanks for your question Ryan Thomson.

Sometimes the less numbered clubs are at a stage where they can play highest level but choose to stay down and dominate the less talented of the club with more numbers

Would love to see clubs capped at 2 youth teams per age group.
Sounds good in theory bc then “kids would have to play down the road”. That’s pure speculation as to whether those kids get down the road though.
I’m not sure you grow the game that way but I do agree 4-5 teams in one age group playing each other (now that they have changed the way divisions are made) seems ridiculous.

Weren't Maroochydore basically told not to accept more youth registrations at some point early this season, as they were destroying the local competition - and they kept doing it anyway and got in trouble from AFLQ?

Not auggesting they were recruiting either, as surely a fairly natural destination for kids with intentions to take their footy to a high level, plus they have the room!

no not exactly. Not super across the comings and going’s of junior footy politics anymore esp as they removed the SC office but from my understanding they were told that each year for the next 2 years their teams in each age group would drop by 1 until there was only 2 in each (might be 3 for U12s).
have to say think it’s a dumb idea and whoever thought it might work doesn’t have great understanding of how junior sport decisions are made at both the players and parents level. All that will happen imo is a decrease in overall numbers across the region.
much prefer to see a rule that aligns where u live with your local club. We seem to be able to make it work for education why not sport? Get rid of this stupid system of U12/14 kids travelling to Bris every second weekend too.

Would love to see clubs capped at 2 youth teams per age group.

the challenge is then how do those clubs with 4 x u11 teams choose which 44-50 kids they keep for u12s the next year?

Are they expected to hold trials and pick the best 44? Do they then send a kid thats been there since the u8s down the road because they aren't good enough based on the opinion of an u12 coach (aka parent) ? That kid likely just decided not to play, rather thanm be shipped off to another club.

It's a great theory, but it would likely lower participation, not increase it.

the challenge is then how do those clubs with 4 x u11 teams choose which 44-50 kids they keep for u12s the next year?

Are they expected to hold trials and pick the best 44? Do they then send a kid thats been there since the u8s down the road because they aren't good enough based on the opinion of an u12 coach (aka parent) ? That kid likely just decided not to play, rather thanm be shipped off to another club.

It's a great theory, but it would likely lower participation, not increase it.

Yeah I know it’s not ever going to happen. Let a girl dream of a world that’s equal though.

Do you reckon there is a solution though Longy? I had a chat with our junior pres the other week and said its more about educating the club's coaches not to be so result driven and there is no point whatsoever demolishing an opposition side in any age group imo. Be magnanimous about it all, offer up assistance if you know that a particular club is low on numbers, find out what you can do to help. If club A is struggling to field a team and club B has kids left over Ive never understood why the regs don't allow clubs to transfer internally players to ensure best for all. Too much red tape around clearances etc.

I don’t think there is a solution that makes everyone happy. Clubs working together seems to happen when to smaller clubs have 10-12 kids each and they merge together. Parents get sick of the uncertainty and the stability of a bigger club offen seem wins out as they get older it seems. Some clubs are poorly run and people leave for clubs that are providing a better experience, not a lot you can do about that either. I’m conclusion, I would love to have an even playing field for all but I don’t know how you do it.

I remember leaving Pine Rivers as a 12 year old in 1994 to play at Sandgate in Div 1 U13’s. So it’s not a new problem and they haven’t solved it since then.

I don’t think there is a solution that makes everyone happy. Clubs working together seems to happen when to smaller clubs have 10-12 kids each and they merge together. Parents get sick of the uncertainty and the stability of a bigger club offen seem wins out as they get older it seems. Some clubs are poorly run and people leave for clubs that are providing a better experience, not a lot you can do about that either. I’m conclusion, I would love to have an even playing field for all but I don’t know how you do it.

I remember leaving Pine Rivers as a 12 year old in 1994 to play at Sandgate in Div 1 U13’s. So it’s not a new problem and they haven’t solved it since then.

Yes agree but I'm not sure reducing the number of teams any one club can have is necessarily as solution either. As said previous I think the AFL run the real risk of player numbers being reduced which is the polar opposite of everything they endeavour to do

no not exactly. Not super across the comings and going’s of junior footy politics anymore esp as they removed the SC office but from my understanding they were told that each year for the next 2 years their teams in each age group would drop by 1 until there was only 2 in each (might be 3 for U12s).
have to say think it’s a dumb idea and whoever thought it might work doesn’t have great understanding of how junior sport decisions are made at both the players and parents level. All that will happen imo is a decrease in overall numbers across the region.
much prefer to see a rule that aligns where u live with your local club. We seem to be able to make it work for education why not sport? Get rid of this stupid system of U12/14 kids travelling to Bris every second weekend too.
Totally agree smy.Whilst at Noosa at present our under 16s are no where near the rest in a competition leading into the qafl in regard to who we compete against going forward but from under 14s down including under 15 girls should be local sport.Up to us and other clubs to get our junior development programs up to scratch without burdening costs,volunteers and parents on their weekends particularly sundays.Driving to Brisbane for an under 12 boys or 13 girls game on a Sunday to me is ludicrous and I’m a massive footy head!

;) not here to bag anyone specifically - always felt that there are a few rules you work by:
1. never ring a player U18 to come to your club - to play seniors or juniors
2. never use a position in Academy / Rep role to influence players
3. never make a kid travel major distances to play unless you are confident that they cannot get what they need closer to home.

Now that doesn't mean a player won't still come to your club but at least you know they are coming because they are desperate to play under you / or with your club. ie the program / culture will be the attraction, not the chat coming out of a person's mouth.

Best out of the box approach I’ve ever witnessed was watching a player manager play reserve grade and approach a talented, opposing team player while shaking hands post game.
Cutting off the other PM’s sitting on the fence, waiting. Great touch.
Something to keep in mind as a potential strategy for 2022 before transfer cut-off.

Totally agree smy.Whilst at Noosa at present our under 16s are no where near the rest in a competition leading into the qafl in regard to who we compete against going forward but from under 14s down including under 15 girls should be local sport.Up to us and other clubs to get our junior development programs up to scratch without burdening costs,volunteers and parents on their weekends particularly sundays.Driving to Brisbane for an under 12 boys or 13 girls game on a Sunday to me is ludicrous and I’m a massive footy head!

problem is that if individual clubs get too strong in regions like the sunny coast, the competition is ruined and they need to merge with Brisbane to create a competition. Same in Brisbane, not enough clubs to form a Div 1 comp, so they need to play against Sunny Coast or Gold Coast clubs. This is due to a concentration of talent going to bigger clubs earlier than they need to.

Yeah but if history says anything then a club like Maroochy doesn't win premierships at junior level any more than Noosa / Kawana / Coolum. Sure it is unlikely that there is a poor side in Div 1 but thru the 2010 to now era it was no more common than any other reasonable size club. Pomona for a while had a great group come through with the great Billy Magin at the helm and they were super competitive. Just think, like NB said, travelling to Bris is a furphy when it comes to benefitting a kids footy every 2nd week - thats what rep footy is for. A great way of cutting off numbers imo.

There has never been a problem with the SC competition tbh Miller - it's more individuals that coach for sheep stations and clubs that have as #1 goal - win a premiership that create issues. Can be easily solved though with the splitting of teams in 1 div, not allowing teams to pick and choose where they play, creating an ethos that encourages assisting each other with numbers etc. Just need to keep (some) adults out of the way... :)

I had to go to Noosa for an u12 game this year, we won by 130 points and it was a giant waste of time. 2 weeks later, they removed Noosa and Kawana from that u12 comp, but Maroochydore stayed in, so we went up there a while later, but I didn't go as I attended my other kids stuff.

Basically 3 quarters of your day gone, its crazy. Even worse for the Maroochy/Noosa kids as at least we only had to do it once each, they had to come to Brisbane every second week.

In the u14s, the boys played both Kawana and Noosa and won by 100+ and then got moved to the South comp and had to go to Burleigh, Broady and Palm Beach - crazy at u14 level too!

I think they did the survey, and based on how they designed the competitions -I suspect people must have answered they were prepared to travel to be in a more competitive comp - but once the reality actually sets in, they probably want to take those survey answers back.

SC Coast teams got some serious reality checks in terms of what Div 1 actually is compared to when it was Sunny Coast juniors. That’s the issue.

Anyone thinking there’s no problem on the coast is blind. Ten years ago you had vibrant Divisions. Now Kawana and Roos dominate.