QAFL 2021

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

Was always going to happen. They got the success they wanted now it’s time to bleed for a bit.

Not sure they will be bleeding to long Dusty if they have 3 x U16’s sides with 2 of them probably playing Div 1.

Think I counted about 8 players to come back into that side that played on weekend.

Think they will still keep sides honest and be pushing for top 5 spot.

Think they had 10 kids playing first Senior Footy for Club on weekend so not sure it’s all panic stations just yet.

Labrador will be top 3 if they keep everyone up and going. Might be stretched if they get injuries to any top end players like most clubs but they moved ball really well in first half.

Is Noosa pulling out already in preseason a concern? Are they skinny with playing numbers?
Numbers are fine with an over abundance of colts who will top up stocks if needed.Pretty sure game was cancelled mutually due to weather concerns with ground and the fact Sherwood had a fire brigade annual game pre planned.I reckon another praccy hit out would be better prep but boys and club pumped for round one on Easter Saturday!

Not sure they will be bleeding to long Dusty if they have 3 x U16’s sides with 2 of them probably playing Div 1.

Think I counted about 8 players to come back into that side that played on weekend.

Think they will still keep sides honest and be pushing for top 5 spot.

Think they had 10 kids playing first Senior Footy for Club on weekend so not sure it’s all panic stations just yet.

Labrador will be top 3 if they keep everyone up and going. Might be stretched if they get injuries to any top end players like most clubs but they moved ball really well in first half.

Just wondering why Morningside have turned over so many. It’s not like them. Obviously Payne Hammer Rolls etc to Aspley VFL as expected (like all clubs really)but what about the other 10?

let’s also not forget the panthers also won the ressies and as you point out there’s always the next group coming through so I’m sure they’ll be plenty competitive.

I wonder with all this rain if praccy matches are washed out this week if Broady and Palmy start the season a bit slow with the lack of matches given both washed out sat

I think there was a Redland v Sherwood match? BTW wasnt this going to be Noosa v Sherwood and Noosa pulled out?
From what I hear Redland looked pretty sharp but can't read too much into it. Apparently Sherwood had quite a few players missing and went out with with half the side made up of kids and reserves players that will be lucky to play seniors this year.

Just wondering why Morningside have turned over so many. It’s not like them. Obviously Payne Hammer Rolls etc to Aspley VFL as expected (like all clubs really)but what about the other 10?

let’s also not forget the panthers also won the ressies and as you point out there’s always the next group coming through so I’m sure they’ll be plenty competitive.

I wonder with all this rain if praccy matches are washed out this week if Broady and Palmy start the season a bit slow with the lack of matches given both washed out sat
Kethro back to his home senior club Maroochydore - moved back up with work on coast now.
Coleman drafted

Like you said the 2's were good last year so hopefully opportunities open for some of those blokes.

Been doing it for years and the worst offenders by miles. Mt gravatt were runners up in Div 1 u12 and Div 1 u14 last year, this year they can't field a single u14 side because they have all left to play in an unbeatable superteam in u14s at Morningside. Thats not good for that competition, or the kids playing in the super team who won't be challenged. There are kids in the Panthers u14 side that drive from Ipswich to play there after being sold the dream.

I had a kid in a class I taught at school a few years back, made the state u12 side and his parents got over 25 text msgs from people involved at the panthers in the space of 2 weeks in October inviting him over from Jindalee to further his footy the following year. literally chasing a kid that was in year 7 at the time!

Agree with Still Me that after all, its the parents fault for falling for this rubbish and making decisions, but clubs also should just leave people alone.

Kids leaving over the gender of a coach is deplorable and they're better off without those families.

Aspley u14s smashed them 2 weeks ago.

The reason for the slide is all the recruited Neafl boys have left, along with Coleman, Colenso, Crozier, Tom Wishnat, and apparently players upset from being replaced by them last year have left. On saturday Labrador steamrolled Morningside's midfield. Wasn't even a contest. Siders looked to be devoid of talent in the middle. It was 80 - 14 by half time! If siders have 2 wins (not counting byes) by round 10 they will be lucky. They have no big targets up forward or defenders down back. Their best defender was a 17yo on the weekend. Going on saturdays performance, teams will run straight down the middle and kick baskets against them, it looked that bad.

Labradors recruiting obviously creates talent pressure from the top. Despite this, Labrador managed to blood some 7-9 colts in reserves and only lost by 1 point. From what i was told, Morningside used no new colts on saturday besides the 2 they used last week. 1 in reserves and 1 in 1st. Despite Morningsides u16s being premiers the past 2 seasons (as Labradors u16s were on the GC).

Labrador had a drone above the posts at the northern end of the field recording all of the game in the 1sts. They will take a lot away with their trial. Video of the 1sts, Labrador played their best colts in reserves and now have an idea which colts can step up, and those that should, will stay up. Add to that, a complete slaughter of the 'Premiers'. Some very astute coaching by Labrador, also using modern tech.

I don't know what Morningside get from that game. A mate said they didn't video the games of the last 2 weeks, did not play any colts up, reserves were lucky to get away with a 1 point win over a Labrador team littered with colts, and 1sts had their asses handed to them. If they learned anything, its that they are in for a long, season.

One has to be impressed by the modern approach of the Labrador coaching staff.

N
The reason for the slide is all the recruited Neafl boys have left, along with Coleman, Colenso, Crozier, Tom Wishnat, and apparently players upset from being replaced by them last year have left. On saturday Labrador steamrolled Morningside's midfield. Wasn't even a contest. Siders are devoid of talent in the middle. It was 80 - 14 by half time! If siders have 2 wins (not counting byes) by round 10 they will be lucky. They have no big targets up forward or defenders down back. Their best defender was a 17yo on the weekend. Teams will run straight down the middle and kick baskets against them, it looked that bad.

Labradors recruiting obviously creates talent pressure from the top. Despite this, Labrador managed to blood some 7-9 colts in reserves and only lost by 1 point. From what i was told, Morningside used no new colts on saturday besides the 2 they used last week. 1 in reserves and 1 in 1st. Despite Morningsides u16s being premiers the past 2 seasons (as Labradors u16s were on the GC).

Labrador had a drone above the posts at the northern end of the field recording all of the game in the 1sts. They will take a lot away with their trial. Video of the 1sts, Labrador played their best colts in reserves and now have an idea which colts can step up, and those that should, will stay up. Add to that, a complete slaughter of the 'Premiers'. Some very astute coaching by Labrador, also using modern tech.

I don't know what Morningside get from that game. A mate said they didn't video the games of the last 2 weeks, did not play any colts up, reserves were lucky to get away with a 1 point win over a Labrador team littered with colts, and 1sts had their asses handed to them. If they learned anything, its that they are in for a long, season.

Not really tbh.a
The reason for the slide is all the recruited Neafl boys have left, along with Coleman, Colenso, Crozier, Tom Wishnat, and apparently players upset from being replaced by them last year have left. On saturday Labrador steamrolled Morningside's midfield. Wasn't even a contest. Siders are devoid of talent in the middle. It was 80 - 14 by half time! If siders have 2 wins (not counting byes) by round 10 they will be lucky. They have no big targets up forward or defenders down back. Their best defender was a 17yo on the weekend. Teams will run straight down the middle and kick baskets against them, it looked that bad.

Morningside did receive a copy of the senior practise game against Noosa.They requested it weeks prior as they knew we would be filming the game.And no I certainly wouldn’t be that impressed by seeing a drone hovering over a game unless it kicked 6 goals in the last to win us a final!

N

Not really tbh.a

Morningside did receive a copy of the senior practise game against Noosa.They requested it weeks prior as they knew we would be filming the game.And no I certainly wouldn’t be that impressed by seeing a drone hovering over a game unless it kicked 6 goals in the last to win us a final!
TBF think drone footage is more important from a learning experience than the side on footage. Hard to teach movement and positioning when camera focused only on the ball.

Premier I think they had 3 retirements, 1 drafted, 6 kids to VFL, plus
The reason for the slide is all the recruited Neafl boys have left, along with Coleman, Colenso, Crozier, Tom Wishnat, and apparently players upset from being replaced by them last year have left. On saturday Labrador steamrolled Morningside's midfield. Wasn't even a contest. Siders looked to be devoid of talent in the middle. It was 80 - 14 by half time! If siders have 2 wins (not counting byes) by round 10 they will be lucky. They have no big targets up forward or defenders down back. Their best defender was a 17yo on the weekend. Going on saturdays performance, teams will run straight down the middle and kick baskets against them, it looked that bad.

Billy there is a saying that Premierships aren’t won in March old mate.

Think you going off a bit early on the Labrador train mate. Seen Broadbeach play Southport the week before and I still think they fair bit ahead of Labrador if that’s their best they put out Saturday.

Premier I think they had 3 retirements, 1 drafted, 6 kids to VFL, plus

Billy there is a saying that Premierships aren’t won in March old mate.

Think you going off a bit early on the Labrador train mate. Seen Broadbeach play Southport the week before and I still think they fair bit ahead of Labrador if that’s their best they put out Saturday.
Labrador has some impressive talls, and a busy midfield. I liked em. Yes its early, but they were impressive!

N

Not really tbh.a

I agree NoosaBoy. Whilst I can accept that drones can assist with vision of both your own and opposition structure set ups/zones/press etc it isnt everything and surely its not that simplistic as to the answer to winning and losing if you have an inferior list or one savaged by injuries

that you Mrs Malceski?

I agree NoosaBoy. Whilst I can accept that drones can assist with vision of both your own and opposition structure set ups/zones/press etc it isnt everything and surely its not that simplistic as to the answer to winning and losing if you have an inferior list or one savaged by injuries
Makes a massive difference in teaching young blokes how the running patterns look from behind the goals instead having one of labradors light post in your way while the camera is on the wing 🤣

Where did Colenso, Crozier and Wischnat move to?

How did Sherwood go vs Redlands? Did (bombers or sharks?) field their best side? Did Sherwood or Redlands blood any colts? Who and what grade? What was the scoreline in reserves and 1sts? Did Colts play? How did that go?

Billyclub loves him some colts
They are the future. The ones people will talk about going into the season. Some good kids in the final u19s group for the Lions. I don't know much about the Suns academy, but i reckon they will be a strong group. We'll see soon enough.