Preview R14: Changes vs. Sydney Swans

• Thread starter Thread starter jamesclean

We needed him then and took the risk. This time why risk him. I 'd rather they gave him another week just to be absolutely sure personally
Darren Burgess makes this call, not Nicks. If there’s a chance of further injury then he won’t be passed fit, an extra couple of weeks isn’t changing that risk.

Why would you rest Rankine just because of a bye? Burgess is elite in the field, he wouldn’t risk it if there’s any increased chance of reinjury.
Why bring him back for a nothing game when he could have another couple weeks. I'm betting the sit him mostly forward now too.

Because the risk of reinjury doesn’t change? Or are you questioning the credentials of Burgess? He will play midfield.

If they want to go full strength to try and knock off Sydney, fine. As long as they accept when we lose that the season is over and change tactics after the bye.

We won’t, and haven’t ever, changed tactics. The season being blown changes nothing.

That is ROB's one wood - able to run move around the ground for the entire game.

Get past that and he really has no strings to his bow.

No one is suggesting Strawnie will be a top line AFL ruck, it is more that ROB is next to useless apart from his tank.

Strawnie has played stuff all AFL, I'd like to give him a decent run of games to see if he can improve.
The problem with Strachan is his tank/condition.

No doubt, he will blow up again this week against Brodie Grundy....

You can see whybRoB has taken the four off the pedal a bit this year. No one demanding his spot, as was the case with him taking Sauce's spot.

Our Ruck situation is an indictment on our Recruiting team.

On SM-A325F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Most people have noticed that ROB's a poor kick, but it was only on the weekend when I saw a short clip from the SANFL on TV that I reckon I know why. The footage was in close-up and side-on.
It's his action and timing. Seriously.
Good kicks of the ball, especially on the run, have a big backlift behind of their kicking foot
View attachment 2015931

and are nearly upright on ball-impact-on-foot which helps to drive the ball with force from kicking-foot-momentum and transfer of body weight. After impact the player pushes his/her off-leg into the ground to drive the kicking leg through the ball and up.
Blighty was not a big man (182cms, 89Kgs) but was a magnificent kick, especially the torp. His winning kick-after-the-Siren that sank Carlton in 1976 sailed through well above the goalposts and is touted as the best long kick-for-goal, ever. It was all technique and timing.
After impact, good kicks of the ball are in the air, off the ground and land on their kicking foot then the other.
Here's an example, of many:
View attachment 2015847
Compare that to the ROB ugly-kick-photo, below.
ROB's R foot hardly goes back at all. No backlift = no kick-power going through the ball.
He hunches over, plants his L foot and leans backward as he kicks so that his upper body weight leaning backward pushes his R foot forward to kick. There's no legspeed in the kick and no transfer of body weight, with very little follow-through.
View attachment 2015939

That's why he can barely kick the ball 35-40 metres

That leaning backward is the reason why ROB slipped back and shanked that kick late in the AO game in the dying seconds (tie vs. Brisbane?). Too much weight behind his Centre of Gravity (and greasy deck).
Here's another example-in-action:

The weight-on-the-back-foot is also often a problem with soccer players who often blast shots at goal high, because they are leaning back.
All that brings me back to Nicks.
A decent (thorough) Coach would promote and utilise skill-sharing; the Crows have some very good kickers of the ball; Dawson/Tex/Fogarty come to mind.
Surely they could be used behind-the-scenes to show ROB how to kick?
On the topic, Tex could easily show the group (especially Keays) how to kick with their off-foot.
Great post.

Anyone teaching kids how to kick a Footy can see issues here.

Whole body needs to face the target at all times and all momentum heading that way.

RoB is a mess.

If my son looked like that kicking a Footy, he would be asked what he did wrong.

We won’t, and haven’t ever, changed tactics. The season going blown changes nothing.

Absolutely and this is the reason Nicks needs to be moved on, we have a great chance to set this club up with a top 4 pick in a midfielders draft, the position we are crying out for but whilst Nicks is there, he is coaching for his career and will do everything in his power to bump that pick just out of elite midfielder realms and right in the sector of "best KPD in the draft"...again.

I can't believe we think we are so close to flag contention, massive holes in the list, wrong coach, wrong recruiter, wrong football manager, some poor assistants an inability to tap senior players on the shoulder. We are a weak club at present with delusions of adequacy.

Great post.

Whole body needs to face the target at all times and all momentum heading that way.

RoB is a mess.

If my son looked like that kicking a Footy, he would be asked what he did wrong.

Honestly, I am waiting for an opposition player to show Rob how to kick a footy

Most people have noticed that ROB's a poor kick, but it was only on the weekend when I saw a short clip from the SANFL on TV that I reckon I know why. The footage was in close-up and side-on.
It's his action and timing. Seriously.
Good kicks of the ball, especially on the run, have a big backlift behind of their kicking foot
View attachment 2015931

and are nearly upright on ball-impact-on-foot which helps to drive the ball with force from kicking-foot-momentum and transfer of body weight. After impact the player pushes his/her off-leg into the ground to drive the kicking leg through the ball and up.
Blighty was not a big man (182cms, 89Kgs) but was a magnificent kick, especially the torp. His winning kick-after-the-Siren that sank Carlton in 1976 sailed through well above the goalposts and is touted as the best long kick-for-goal, ever. It was all technique and timing.
After impact, good kicks of the ball are in the air, off the ground and land on their kicking foot then the other.
Here's an example, of many:
View attachment 2015847
Compare that to the ROB ugly-kick-photo, below.
ROB's R foot hardly goes back at all. No backlift = no kick-power going through the ball.
He hunches over, plants his L foot and leans backward as he kicks so that his upper body weight leaning backward pushes his R foot forward to kick. There's no legspeed in the kick and no transfer of body weight, with very little follow-through.
View attachment 2015939

That's why he can barely kick the ball 35-40 metres

That leaning backward is the reason why ROB slipped back and shanked that kick late in the AO game in the dying seconds (tie vs. Brisbane?). Too much weight behind his Centre of Gravity (and greasy deck).
Here's another example-in-action:

The weight-on-the-back-foot is also often a problem with soccer players who often blast shots at goal high, because they are leaning back.
All that brings me back to Nicks.
A decent (thorough) Coach would promote and utilise skill-sharing; the Crows have some very good kickers of the ball; Dawson/Tex/Fogarty come to mind.
Surely they could be used behind-the-scenes to show ROB how to kick?
On the topic, Tex could easily show the group (especially Keays) how to kick with their off-foot.

If anyone saw ROB's early SANFL games, then you would know he's a far better kick than he was then. Still not great now obviously, but wow those early days were seriously bad. He's not getting any better than this, it would have taken considerable training just to get him to this level.

Great post.

RoB is a mess.

Saw Carlton v Essendon last night..and the kicking of both DeKoning and Goldstein was exemplary on quite a few occasions and led directly to goals / scoring opportunities. Not sure we can ever afford RoB to be kiciking the ball anywhere.

Sometimes, you just can’t teach this stuff. It’s innate for some
In 1981 a Tasmanian professional golfer won the US OPEN. David Graham had an amazing career winning many times on the PGA tour.

Funny thing is, he's left handed and was changed by his coach to right handed golf at age 17!!! I've never heard of such a radical technique change in any elite sport so dramatic. And all the way up to the top of the mountain.

Surely ROB could have honed a better and effective kicking style by now!! Surely the coaches have tried. Surely a footballer who can't kick has career threatening shortcomings.

In 1981 a Tasmanian professional golfer won the US OPEN. David Graham had an amazing career winning many times on the PGA tour.

Funny thing is, he's left handed and was changed by his coach to right handed golf at age 17!!! I've never heard of such a radical technique change in any elite sport so dramatic. And all the way up to the top of the mountain.

Surely ROB could have honed a better and effective kicking style by now!! Surely the coaches have tried. Surely a footballer who can't kick has career threatening shortcomings.
Sounds silly but I suspect they spend very little time on their technical skills

Lots on fitness, game plan/positioning, contested ball

Sounds silly but I suspect they spend very little time on their technical skills
With the way I see Keays, Rob, Smurph, Laird and Berry miss targets on such a regular basis I am not surprised.

I remember it was Blight I think who said he didn't bring footballs out until January...I'd have little doubt we touch a footy until our first internal trial by the way we kick.

Lots on fitness, game plan/positioning, contested ball
Isn’t it one of the reasons teams don’t do much goal kicking practice anymore?

Fitness staff stepped in and were worried about excess stress on the hamstrings etc from over use

Ben Hogan

Ben Hogan
Yep. Same same but different. We're getting into a complex world here but...

It's not uncommon for an individual who does one handed activities (throwing, tennis, writing etc) with their dominant hand but then do two handed activities the opposite way around. Josh Hazelwood, Mike Hussey, Michael Clarke and Matthew Hayden are examples just from our test teams. There's no doubt more.

I think Ben Hogan is in this category and to the best of my knowledge, never played golf left handed.

In football, it becomes even more perplexing as opposite footedness (no sure about that being a word) has a strong correlation to the odd bod brigade mentioned above. All players can kick on the opposite, it's just variable as to how well they do it.

I don't think this is relevant to ROB however, as his dynamic balance (transference of weight to produce full body power. Think shot put where the full body is used to generate maximum force) is all wrong and well explained earlier by another poster. His kicking technique is quite flawed and he is genuinely uncoordinated which limits his football when competing against those who don't have similar limitations. He's a good aerobic athlete which is a positive but it doesn't hide his kicking or the time it takes for him to get the ball onto his boot.

ROB's probably a fantastic guy and as friendly as anyone you could meet. I just wish he'd shown an early interest in rowing. His physique (long levers), power and stamina would have caught the attention of AIS talent spotters. But it wouldn't have paid as well as his footy does. Good luck to him.

So which players currently playing the sanfl do we hope should be playing 1st round of 2025?

Curtin
Taylor
Edwards
Ryan
(N Murray)

Need to get some games into them this year!

So which players currently playing the sanfl do we hope should be playing 1st round of 2024?

Curtin
Taylor
Edwards
Ryan
(N Murray)

Need to get some games into them this year!
Jay Boyle?

* Sorry I forgot he's only a top up that plays midfield ahead of midfielder draftees.

Jay Boyle?

* Sorry I forgot he's only a top up that plays midfield ahead of midfielder draftees.
You must wonder why we didn't rookie list him... ;)

Absolutely and this is the reason Nicks needs to be moved on, we have a great chance to set this club up with a top 4 pick in a midfielders draft, the position we are crying out for but whilst Nicks is there, he is coaching for his career and will do everything in his power to bump that pick just out of elite midfielder realms and right in the sector of "best KPD in the draft"...again.

I can't believe we think we are so close to flag contention, massive holes in the list, wrong coach, wrong recruiter, wrong football manager, some poor assistants an inability to tap senior players on the shoulder. We are a weak club at present with delusions of adequacy.

Well said mate but it will be more "Best half forward, could be a midfielder hybrid".

We seem to love these types.....