Review R21: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Hawthorn

Ugly: The approx 100 supporters making aeroplane gestures at the Hawthorn team walking off at the end of the game. Why would we give a stuff about two minnow suburban clubs bantering over text messages?
They don’t, they’re just taking the piss out of them.

We've only reached 17 H&A wins in our history twice, and never more.

We sit on 15 wins with West Coast and North still to come, and are a realistic chance to win our most ever
I've noticed the cheeky Nicks digs have diminished from you Mate. Is our current win/loss ratio finally broken that deeply ingrained sarcasm of yours?

EDIT: it broke me a month ago

How ****ing infuriating would it be as a West Coast supporter seeing Dan Curtin absolutely go about it every week.

The club did their best to try and get him. Simply had to take Reid as the number one priority.

If he’s not at West Coast then there’s no other club rather him be at then where he is now. Hopefully he can win a flag and come home :p (later that is, not right now haha).

Don't really mind if Collingwood beat Brisbane tomorrow. If they do, it pretty much concretes our position in the top 2, even if we lose to Collingwood (given we beat west coast and kangaroos of course).

Hows the tank on Curtin? Watching the third and he punches the ball from deep in defence then gets it on the wing up the other end a moment later. Must have put the jets on.
5th highest distance covered tonight

Unbelievable consistency in that regard, for a 2nd year player

Darren Burgod doing his thing

Had a look at the game day thread and tbh at quarter time no one was really melting. No one really thought we’d burst back, but there was a fair bit of “time to step up” vibes
First year in a long time where I've been fairly confident we'll come for after getting spanked for a short period. Feels weird

That felt real good. I don't hate many teams, but for some reason I hate playing Hawks and their supporters can be campaigners. Their players cab be campaigners too.

Liked listening to Mitchell in the press conference. Reckon he'll be a premiership coach.
It is likely because we have had many, many, many games against them similar to that one tonight, where we were on the losing end, usually with a smattering of free kicks for the Hawks in front of goal, and free kicks against us in front of ours.

I've noticed the cheeky Nicks digs have diminished from you Mate. Is our current win/loss ratio finally broken that deeply ingrained sarcasm of yours?

The club and Nicks only get cheeky digs when they deserve it. Right now they don't deserve it

Good:
Tex’s clutch goals in the 4th quarter. A slightly disappointing night for Tex up until 3/4 time, but boy did he come up clutch. Nobody else on the field tonight converts BOTH of those. NOBODY.

ROB - Poor 3rd quarter aside, ROB was huge. One thing that not enough people focus on with ROB is that regardless of how it looks (and it looks bad), his disposal is actually genuinely good and he makes really good decisions too. What a world we live in.

Rankine’s 2nd half. Apart from the miraculous tap back to Thilthorpe in the 2nd quarter, Izak was kinda shit in the first half by his standards. His 2nd half was huge. HUGE.

Dawson - those two captains goals in the 2nd quarter were the classic “lifting the team on his back” moments we’ve come to expect from Daddy Cool. Copped a nasty knock in the 3rd qtr and kept playing through it. I wouldn’t want anyone else in the league captaining this club. All-Australian certainty.

Thilthorpe - another 4 snags from the beast. Unstoppable in marking contests when the ball is kicked to his advantage.

Keane’s first 3 quarters - probably the favourite to get the 3 Brownlow votes at 3/4 time, such was his influence. An absolute monster for 3 full quarters. More on his 4th quarter below (lol).

ANB - was disappointing to see him miss 2 set shots, but his overall effort, leadership, pressure and ability to convert that VITAL set shot at the start of the 4th quarter were huge. The acquisition of this guy has more to do with our rise in 2025 than probably anyone IMO.

Dan Curtin - I maintain that nobody has ever seen Dan Curtin and Jesus in the same room at the same time and that this isn’t a coincidence.

Jai Newcombe - seriously, how on earth does a player of this quality slip through multiple drafts and end up a Hail Mary midseason rookie draft pick. He’s a monster.

Bad:
Peatling - good lord he was a fumbly mess all night. Just a really, really bad game from him, worse than I thought he had in him. Still love him.

Cook - quite possibly the most invisible and useless 2.67 quarters ever played by a crow that I’ve ever seen. Something not right about this. Was almost mental meltdown type stuff I sense.

Jones - there’s just no point in having this player in the side. He’s not good enough at anything.

Berry - relentlessly second to the ball and used it poorly on the rare occasions when he found it.

Smith - he was just below par. Full stop. Laird must replace him next week.

Hinge - continues to make poor decisions and is being carried by the defensive unit around him. Gave up a couple of times tonight too. Is he in our best 22 by Round 1, 2026?

Keays - a panicked mess all night, and botched the majority of his disposals. Poor game. Still love him.

Mabior Chol - yikes, he was bad. Terrible selection blunder for mine.

Keane’s 4th quarter. Such is the Mark Keane experience, the best player on the ground for the first 3 quarters found a way to be arguably the worst player on the ground in the 4th. Haha overall, still a great game, but far out that was a wild swing.

Ugly:
My blood pressure trying to deal with the wild fluctuations in that game. I’m not equipped for such madness.

James Sicily’s pathetic face.

Mate I think I can speak on behalf of the board and call you a fully accepted Crows Fan until the Eagles get up and about again.

Always been a quality oppo poster.

I’ve been fairly steadfast in my belief that you will be a good side in time and your list. Last year wasn’t great (understatement) but starting from the offseason, it’s been a momentum ride forward. I’ve actually tipped against a few times, not because I’ve thought you were an inferior side to your opponents, more just a bit of doubt as to how ready the side is.

Been well and truly proved wrong and the lid is off here now I can assure you :p At the very minimum from here on in, two finals at least (possibly two at home!), coming from behind, being challenged and still being able to win etc. Growth across all areas of the field. All huge going into next year and beyond and hopefully staying in the top quarter of the ladder for a good while now 👍

Berry - relentlessly second to the ball and used it poorly on the rare occasions when he found it.
Usually in unanimous agreement with your assessments, but can’t agree with this. Berry provided very important drive from the middle of the ground after quarter time, and didn’t think he used it badly for someone in his position

Peatling, on the other hand, had maybe the worst game I’ve seen from one of our CBA midfielders in the past decade. Thankfully it didn’t matter

Review R21: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Hawthorn