Review R23: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood

Wow! Shouldn't beat the Pies! You'll be punished by the good and the righteous and put right back in your box!

Fox Footy showcasing potential frees as if they are crimes against humanity, not showing Pies mistakes or flaws as if they didn't happen, the MRP - run by a retired Collingwood player - picks off Crows players for staging and minor acts of aggression while ignoring the same from Collingwood players and now someone has alleged a homophobic slur made by one ,of our most impactful players. It may have happened, it may be stupid, it may be against the rules, but it also maybe just a bullsh!t storm to distract us and demonize us to show that we have angered the gods by rising above our station! Oh and guess who we most likely will play in the first week of the finals?

Deny deny deny. Lie, make counter claims, challenge. Who cares if he let drop the P word. He shouldn't but so what. Cut the indignancy and the outrage, it is a miniscule offense in the great scheme of corruption delivered by the AFL (AFL) with every breath it takes.

I leave you with the case of Blakey and Smith from the Sydney V Brisbane game last week. That was actual assault, of sexual body parts reasonably described as homosexual in nature. Nothing to see here! Would have been much much much worse if they had called each other names!

I felt that too, this year has felt very different for a while and I just have confidence we will get it done in these close games. Losing I50 counts doesn’t bother me, I know our defense is in the top 3 over the last 25 years and will hold up.

Actually its not in the top 3 - Geelong, Melbourne and Fremantle in 2022, Melbourne, Port, Geelong and Western Bulldogs in 2021, Geelong in 2019 over past 5 years.

It is bloody good tho and it will stand up in finals.

OK, I watched it. Good run from Murphy, decent contest and ball-get,
but maaaaate,
he then just thumped the ball forward, high; screenshot shows what he bombed to, 4 Pies, 3 Crows:
View attachment 2398526
If he'd lowered his eyes he could've passed shorter to either Crow on the R. (is that Tex with the white boots?), and seconds later it was on the way back with interest.
Sorry, but one contested ball-get followed by a high bomb is nett zero to me.

That's why Murphy isn't best 23, a better player would have kept running and gone to a better contest.

He wasn't the only one to turn the ball straight over to be fair :D

We are going to need to be very careful next week as Christian will be looking for anything to suspend our players from playing a final.
Didn't even need to wait until next week. FMD.

You know the whole VFL is going to be against us and you just go and give it to them on a platter.

What a ****ing idiot.

And the identical thing that TT did happened in the Sydney v Geelong game.

Commentators were a bit bemused "it doesn't look like that's a free anymore"
To be fair I only thought it was a free if you kicked it or punched it over the fence, if you kicked it into the side screen and or around the boundary it was fine

The worst part of the commentary was the dinosaurs suggesting TT should play one out in the goal square while the ball was in the D50. The game hasn't been played that way for 15+ years.

Also the constant complaining about neither team using the corridor.

We’re you at the game?

Josh Daicos is a key factor in their success. The most influential things he did tonight was take the kick outs.

Prior to tonight he was averaging more than 28 disposals a match. Is it that hard to admit our coaches devised an effective plan and Murphy did the job?

I know it’s been a tough 3 months for you. Keep your chin up, you might be able to celebrate a straight sets exit in a few weeks time.
Yeah I was at the game, reckon I might have seen you that, some nerd was writing down notes rather than enjoying the game.

Daicos has played some midfield recently which needs to be taken into account.

He had 8 rebound 50, more than his average of 4.9. Considering we only went inside 50 37 times, he accounted for 20% of their rebounds. Disposal efficiency of 84%. Strange stats considering the supposed close checking. He only had 4 kick outs so nice deflection.

Given the ball lived in Collingwoods forward half, that also could impact on Daicos low possession count. Speaking of coaches, do you think our coaches devised a plan to give up 71 inside 50s? Thank **** we’ve got an awesome defence.

As for your last moronic comment. Yes as an inaugural member and who recently upgraded to Gold hoping to attend my 4th GF, I’m truly shattered by the fact we are sitting top of the table. Ever think I’m critical because I want us to be better to be in this position? Nah, that would be too much for happy clapper cheerleaders to comprehend.

On their defensive action forcing us sideways?
Game style and what it did to us. How they wanted to shut the game down.
Obviously we couldn’t overcome it but it wasn’t us going into the game to play that way.

That's why Murphy isn't best 23, a better player would have kept running and gone to a better contest.
I'm not surprised he showed little composure. I think that poor-bastard-Murphy is keen to show his worth and often overplays a situation.
A more secure player would have lowered his eyes and found a mate.
He wasn't the only one to turn the ball straight over to be fair :D
Fair enough.
I watched the replay late last night. Looked for Murphy.
He might have been assigned a hard tag but I didn't see him consistently close to Jaicos, harassing/annoying/blocking him (proof: nine pressure acts for the whole game). Even at the start of the passage of play we've discussed he started 6-8m away from Jaicos to his left.
I reckon he might have trouble reading the play because he was often 10-15m away from the action which reduces any player's effectiveness. Murphy is just not ... involved. Maybe he's under instruction, but to do what is not clear to me. During the commentary Roo said it looked like Murphy was assigned to reduce Jaicos' influence, but Roo's judgment/perceptions are suss imo.

However, having said all that, you and Ciao Giacomo and another poster did help me to see Murphy differently and less harshly.
Right now, he's the least of our problems if the noise around Rankine has any truth.

He had 8 rebound 50, more than his average of 4.9. Considering we only went inside 50 37 times, he accounted for 20% of their rebounds. Disposal efficiency of 84%. Strange stats considering the supposed close checking. He only had 4 kick outs so nice deflection.

Given the ball lived in Collingwoods forward half, that also could impact on Daicos low possession count.
I had been thinking on this also - Perryman was down from 17 in the last 3 rounds to 11

Maynard was par , Moore was down 4 from last week to also sit at 11 , Quaynor was up but still only 13 , Frampton was up - but thats more a feature of his - checks notes - close checking game on Thilthorpe

Daicos was as equal to the other defenders

That's not even in the top 20 worst kicks of the night. Everyone was doing what Murphy did there.
Murph certainly didn't do many bad kicks

I had been thinking on this also - Perryman was down from 17 in the last 3 rounds to 11

Maynard was par , Moore was down 4 from last week to also sit at 11 , Quaynor was up but still only 13 , Frampton was up - but thats more a feature of his - checks notes - close checking game on Thilthorpe

Daicos was as equal to the other defenders
Yep, that wasn’t a game where Collingwood defenders racked up high possession counts, not one defender in their top 6 possession winners, Josh comes in at 7.

Compare that to ours, 4 of our top 5 possession winners were defenders.

Ciao likes to think he’s some football intellect but clearly he’s just looked at the possession count, seen Murphy was on him and thought wow, what a great job he did. Even then Daicos still had 19 touches and Murphy did **** all contributing with the ball.

Given I haven't contributed here yet.

The Ugly: Izak Rankine's brainfade.

Yeah I was at the game, reckon I might have seen you that, some nerd was writing down notes rather than enjoying the game.
Playing the man again?

Prior to Saturday night Josh Daicos was number ONE for Collingwood for uncontested possessions.
Saturday night he was equal 11th/12th for uncontested possessions.

Prior to Saturday night Josh Daicos was THIRD for Collingwood for inside 50s.
Saturday night only Parker, Mihocek. Moore and Allan had less inside 50s (i.e. none)

Do you seriously expect everyone to believe this was a coincidence?

What Murphy did was not rocket science. His aim was to stop Collingwood feeding the ball out to a free Jaicos so he could rebound the ball from the D50. If you watch Collingwood a bit, a key part of their game plan is to have Naicos, Jaicos and Pendlebury deliver the ball to their forwards. We stopped Jaicos on Saturday night which was a win for our coaches.

Game style and what it did to us. How they wanted to shut the game down.
Obviously we couldn’t overcome it but it wasn’t us going into the game to play that way.

And this is why I can’t be confident of winning a flag with our coaching group. 3 games against top end teams with coaching groups bringing a plan specifically tailored to beating us. We’ll neither have our own plan nor adjust to counter that of our opponents. Winning 3 in a row is beyond us with our core philosophies.

Playing the man again?

Prior to Saturday night Josh Daicos was number ONE for Collingwood for uncontested possessions.
Saturday night he was equal 11th/12th for uncontested possessions.

Prior to Saturday night Josh Daicos was THIRD for Collingwood for inside 50s.
Saturday night only Parker, Mihocek. Moore and Allan had less inside 50s (i.e. none)

Do you seriously expect everyone to believe this was a coincidence?

What Murphy did was not rocket science. His aim was to stop Collingwood feeding the ball out to a free Jaicos so he could rebound the ball from the D50. If you watch Collingwood a bit, a key part of their game plan is to have Naicos, Jaicos and Pendlebury deliver the ball to their forwards. We stopped Jaicos on Saturday night which was a win for our coaches.
It wasn't an uncontested game though?
Pretty sure josh has played midfield/wing a bit this year so doing yearly totals/averages doesn't tell the whole story.

Review R23: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly vs. Collingwood