49ers, Mavericks, Canucks,Cubs
Rain On Sunday

I was asking for no changes to be made but if its gonna rain i think
Bowden and possibly dare i say it even Pettifer may come in

Pettifer Brown Morton edwards all forward on a wet day might be handy

Hope it poors down

Hopefully it rain's down so it limit's Buddy and Roughead's oppurtunities. With expierienced bodies in the middle like Tucky, Johno and Simmonds, it would also help us. Small fowards in Edwards, Morton, Tambling etc should have a field day aswell

Rain On Sunday

I was asking for no changes to be made but if its gonna rain i think
Bowden and possibly dare i say it even Pettifer may come in

Pettifer Brown Morton edwards all forward on a wet day might be handy

Hope it poors down

I remember he won us a game against hawthorn a few years ago.

Our evergreens won't be able to hide in the rain. Are you kidding me? Hawthorn will smash us if it pours. Their midfield is that much meaner and better drilled in the disciplines it takes to win football games than ours.

Nup. We def have more of a chance it rains. Rain is the great balancer :thumbsu:

Disagree, rain can also expose less physical sides against more mature bodies…it certainly exposed us last year in Adelaide.

If it rains, IMO it’ll exentuate the difference in body strength between the 2 sides in close. Both clubs like to play running, free flowing football, but the Hawks have the stronger, more mature bodies in tight

Richmond would be a much better show on a dry track where they can run the ball out of defence with handball, the Tigers are a team that play better football when they play on instinct and run, instead of relly on their foot skills in a contested high pressure contest.

The Hawks have huge bodies in the centre. Hodge, Mitchell, Crawford, Sewell and Lewis love it when its physical. So do we though. Johnson, Tuck, Foley, Newman and our boy KING :) all love the contest.

If it rains I'd bring in Jacko.

Stuff the rain. I'd prefer dry weather, big crowd, good skills. We shouldn't rely on the rain and I hope the rain holds off :cool:

Totally agree Madtiger - stuff the rain. Big crowd, big atmosphere, that's what the footy's all about (north fans, take note).

Can't see us beating the hawks regardless of the weather, but I give us a better chance in the dry - we can utilise our running game and basically hope that it all 'clicks' for us on the day...

The rain should also help our forward line, its been mention before that Franklin is an above average mark but an exceptional player below his knees for his size, if the ball is damp and skidding, it could be a telling factor if you play a tall on him.

Play a small, and he'll push back to the goal square and outmuscle his opponent on the goal line.

Wet weather accentuates the importance of skills, it doesnt bring ordinary teams back to the pack

It hardly ever rains(showers) at Richmond games in Melbourne. I reckon it has only rained in about 3 Tiger games in Melbourne in the last 15 years. The game is 5 days away and the weather could be very different than what they think now. I bet it doesn't rain. Bring on another ripper 25 degree day :cool:

Stuff the rain. I'd prefer dry weather, big crowd, good skills. We shouldn't rely on the rain and I hope the rain holds off :cool:
Most sense you've made for a long time. Totally agree. We need to give these kids a licence to take on a top team and see where they are it in dry conditions.

It hardly ever rains(showers) at Richmond games in Melbourne. I reckon it has only rained in about 3 Tiger games in Melbourne in the last 15 years. The game is 5 days away and the weather could be very different than what they think now. I bet it doesn't rain. Bring on another ripper 25 degree day :cool:

Mate, it's only rained about three times in 10 years on any given day in Melbourne. The suburban footy grounds are cactus...thankfully AFL grounds can get some decent water on them.

But drier the better......we need to be like Forrest Gump at Tigerland and just run, run, run and keep running.

Playing some pretty attractive football at the moment and actually a pleasure to watch!

Too right. I hope its dry and good. 60,000 at the "G" and the Tigers competing man for man and ball for ball like a real oldstyle Richmond team would against all comers. If were good enough we'll win if not then the best team will.

The style of play we are playing is not benefited by rain, we need a fast dry track otherwise we are going to loose any advantage we have.

Hawthorn are not a quick side

Praying for some kind of advantage implies that you think we'll lose without it. Kind of like hoping an injured opposition player doesn't make the squad.

Stuff that. Let's pray for a fine but overcast day, not too hot. Perfect footy weather!

But if it does rain then the brains trust must have a plan B for it.

Richmond v Collingwood a few years back anyone?

Richmond can play some great wet weather footy.

Yeah I went to that one,that was a pisser of a game.The pies were more about getting their hair wet than chasing the ball.:D