Mega Thread Random recruiting hypotheticals 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Krooooze

Re: Tom Hawkins to Carlton

I think Robbo has grown into one. He's so crucial to us winning the contest. Winning the center square contest is the most important thing on a football field and he's a massive reason why we do well in this area. He not only wins a lot of the hard ball but he runs very very hard and gets a lot of it around the ground and he's very involved in the spread. He has a massive work rate. All Robbo needs is a little extra polish (an area he's come along in leaps and bounds alread) and to improve his goal kicking and he'll be one of the most damaging players in the comp. He plays a lot like Judd, relatively tall, lean and powerful guy who is tough and will hit the contest running which is great to see.

We put Judd forward a lot against the bombers and he was excellent. Had a rediculous ammount of goal assists. This is something that we must strive to be able to do against the top sides too.

Robbo is providing A grade output, but becoming an A grade player happens over years of this form, not weeks.

+1 :thumbsu:

Still early Dawes though.

Yes. Just... Yes.

early_doors_uk-show.jpg

Sorry to jump in the conversation gentlemen, was having this same conversation with a Carlton mate of mine, posed the question " what would you prefer? A stay at home full back or a rangy centre half back type?

Could/should go after Alipate Carrlisle, would look significantly better in a good side, allowing Jamieson to play CHB, would leave you with a back six of

Duigan - Carlisle - Russell

Yarren - Jamieson - Scotland

Gives you an extra 5 years of service and his body would just about be in prime condition at 25 otherwise if the reports are true and young Trengove wants to come home, I'd move the world to get him. would be a 10 year player and another versatile option.

Just my two cents guys

I love this idea, pity I think he is already heading to GWS if I am not mistaken. I think he would be the perfect option for our team and would not have cost the world if GWS could not offer bucket loads of cash.

Love and Hate him?
Standard rule applies. People that see some of themselves in him will love him. People that abhor what he stands for, dislike him.
I've no respect for a loud mouth of his calibre. Not the person I'd want by my side.

I think he needs to settle down a bit but he is far from the only villain in all this. .. The guy speaks his mind and that is not a bad thing in itself but he also treads on toes and breaks trust occasionally. ..

However he has had his fair share of unfair knocks as well. ..

He was one of the outspoken Brisbane players that drove salaries down to keep the team together. .. Apparently fell out with Voss over this and other things. .. and then the club shunted him, lead by Voss and friends. .. and everyone quickly forgot the good things he did, on and off the field. .. Voss, is just as bad, didn't exactly respect his friendship with Bradshaw either, yet doesn't cop the same treatment. ..

He did the same thing at the Bulldogs by taking a lesser salary then he could have got somewhere else. .. Yet they stabbed him in the back as soon as he made a few waves. ..

You'll note he doesn't tend to hit out at people, particular team mates, until he takes a hit himself. .. I think you'll find he is a hard character to like though. ..

I think he needs to settle down a bit but he is far from the only villain in all this. .. The guy speaks his mind and that is not a bad thing in itself but he also treads on toes and breaks trust occasionally.

However he has had his fair share of unfair knocks as well. ..

I don't really care to like him nor dislike him.

I was embarrassed for Knights this week who set out to "right the wrongs" the way he did.
When will people realise it only makes them out to be, petulant little children.

So Aker tells the truth? Well good on him.
Let's all go out today and tell the truth about our partners, our kids, our bosses etc., and see how far that gets us.
Aker's truth is just his truth anyway and some of the stuff he's come out with may have been best left alone and that's why I think that he will trip over his own words sooner or later.
They always do and then the apologies set it.

I think we should make a play for Andy Otten, he has been poor this season,s but before he did his knee was looking like he was going to be a star.

Reckon he wouldn't cost that much either and the new Crows coach will try and load up on picks.
Maybe a 2nd rnd pick and fringe player like Marcus Davies ???

To this, I hold.

There are some people know in Adelaide who think the Crows overpaid for Jacobs, certainly they did for Tambling.

For the record Hawthorn and Essendon are the biggest pain the arse clubs to trade with, not that we would want any Bomber

I love this idea, pity I think he is already heading to GWS if I am not mistaken. I think he would be the perfect option for our team and would not have cost the world if GWS could not offer bucket loads of cash.

There are a few rangy centre half back types in the state leagues running around, try and get a young 21 year old defender that could play straight away, perhaps Kyle Hartigan?

People go on every year about trading for "player x" , however, looking back in hindsight the very good trades are the ones who give up a lot for that young up and coming superstar who wants to move back home (ala your very own Judd), whilst the other good trades are the ones from the teams who trade for plyers who 'complete' there team (ala Luke Ball, Darren Jolly last year), I think you guys are well and truly in the hunt for a premiership but lack that last piece of the puzzle, another tall KPP.

One more tall KPP would simply complete the Crlton puzzle, not sure wheter you should try and trade for one as there simply isnt too much quality on offer, perhaps if you think you are still a year off then maybe recruiting that mature aged player wouldnt be so bad.

If I was the Carlton recruiting manager I would go hard for Carlisle/Trengove, if nothing came about of it, to be honest there isnt to much more worthwhile available so I would go down the draft path and look at one of the mature aged state league defenders.

The untried state defenders seem better than the forwards, the forwards are a little undersized anyways unless you want to go down the Josh Smith (former North Melbourne forward) road, or perhaps a Michael Wundke (also former North Melbourne) as tall forward options.

Just my two cents worth as you seem to have all other areas covered.

I Think Someone like Chris Dawes is that last piece of the puzzle! were in need of a Key Forward then we are of a Key Defender with what Henderson has shown in Jamieson's absence.

Aaron Joseph + Levi Casboult for Chris Dawes!

FB Russell, Jamison, Laidler
HB Yarran, Henderson, Duigan
C Scotland, Simpson, Gibbs
HF Waite, Kreuzer, Walker
FF Betts, DAWES Garlett
R Judd, Murphy, Warnock
INT Carazzo, Robinson, Armfield
Sub Ellard/Curnow

2012 PREMIERSHIP SIDE

I Think Someone like Chris Dawes is that last piece of the puzzle! were in need of a Key Forward then we are of a Key Defender with what Henderson has shown in Jamieson's absence.

Surely we can pinch a midfielder to make the trade equal? Pendlebury will do fine too...

Where in the history of the Collingwood Football Club have they ever realistically traded away one of their players, for a fair price, to the Blues.

This is not going to happen and it would be like them offering Wellingham and Toovey for Judd and Murphy.

We could at least be a bit more realistic given that we are openly aditting that it would make us much more likely to beat them and I am certain they will never agree to that happening while they have any control over it.

We would more likely have to offer them a high draft pick and player or two established players that complement their current list. I am not sure we could afford to lose who they would want.

FB Russell, Jamison, Laidler
HB Yarran, Henderson, Duigan
C Scotland, Simpson, Gibbs
HF Waite, Kreuzer, Walker
FF Betts, DAWES Garlett
R Judd, Murphy, Warnock
INT Carazzo, Robinson, Armfield
Sub Ellard/Curnow

2012 PREMIERSHIP SIDE

might need a little more than that.:D

LOL not gonna happen. We'd have to give up a bit more than that and I'm not entirely sold on him being the answer to our problems. How will he go taking the opposition's best KPD? Ok we've seen him take the second defender and still doesn't really dominate so on the best he will be silenced far too often IMO.

I'm all over this Taylor Walker to Victoria rumour.

I'd love to slot him into FF, our fwd line hasn't been the same without a self-absorbed KPF.

:eek::eek::eek: What are you on man ???

Collingwood would at least demand Luke Livingston in that trade as well and possibly Digby Morell.

LOL not gonna happen. We'd have to give up a bit more than that and I'm not entirely sold on him being the answer to our problems. How will he go taking the opposition's best KPD? Ok we've seen him take the second defender and still doesn't really dominate so on the best he will be silenced far too often IMO.

Maybe so, but that's when on of the other 5 will shine, its not a one man show like it was in the Fevola days! eg. betts kicking 8 against Essendon? who saw that one coming??

and Collingwood is in the position now where they can part with him for many reasons
- Cloke has improved heaps over last year
- Daisy will expect a pay rise if they want him to stay
- at the end of 2012 Pendelbury will want a pay rise too or he'll be off to GWS

I dunno who else will be out of contract at the end of this year, but I dont feel like Chris Dawes is a major priority for them to keep atm as surely they've just about reached the salary cap!
and they might be happy with the Idea of taking Levi Casboult as he is worth heaps less then Dawes and can very well be the next Dawes in a couple of years!, in the mean time, they have Cloke!

Don't write him off just yet!