News Rodney Eade confirmed as GC coach (see p10)

Not sure about Walsh, but I believe your mob were actually compensated last year when Richsrdson left for St Kilda.
And nobody gives a s**t if they're your main rivals, that's irrelevant in the context of this discussion.
so if you lost eade to Carlton or essendon you wouldn't give two shits lol?

Of course I would, but it would still be completely irrelevant in terms of whether we would be eligible for compo.

Keep up.

That's Harvey and Burns gone then. Maybe Rocca and Lockyer as well.

That's a lot of assistant coaches to replace in such a short space of time, on top of finding a competent football administrator as well (if you don't go down the Derek Hine route)...
I tend to agree with the promotion of Hine to Director of Football & let Mat Rendell take over list management.
Although we still need a 'wise old man' to be senior assistant to Bucks.

As this is an administrative role, and not a coaching role, I cant really see how we could go for compensation. People in administration leave organisations all the time, in fact probably more frequently than coaches...so let's replace Eade with a top line administrator. The salary - $400k? - should attract good candidates. They need sports management quals, people management skills, and some footy nous. Must be some good ones out there. Who can we poach?
But the role is very important to Footbal management & carries IP regarding the clubs drafting & TPP management. The marketing VP of coca-cola cannot just walk into Pepsi without some form of agreement.
I believe we are being 'damaged' by this sudden poaching just as we move into full swing for 2015 planning. Hence compensation is appropriate. He's not just a common admin person or HR staff, he is heavily involved with every football decision the club makes. This hurts the club.

Good luck to Rocket getting the GC gig but a couple of things concern me with his move so late in the peace.

Who else is there? Bomber Thompson?? Probably the obvious choice but I'm not sure he will be allowed at any club if he continues to refuse to pay the AFLs $30k fine for his involvement in the ASADA/due diligence issue. Garry Ayres?? Has been outstanding with Port and brings with him a lot of successful experiences at VFL/AFL level.

I'm sure that once this started to become a possibility the club would have started to sound out some possible replacements. I'm intrigued as to who we might get.
Nah just like the Beams situation, we thought we could convince him to stay

Eddie should make a play to bring Andrew Ireland back to the club. Maybe too much bad COLA blood between them, but Ireland is highly regarded as a football administrator.

If we canned Eade with 2 years to run on his contract would we have to compensate him? Yes.

I would think the amount a new appointment is paid, above what Eade would have earned would be fair compensation.

Absolutely ridiculous, that the AFL is going to tax us on FD spend and later our total revenue, to send this tax money to other clubs, and thus providing those clubs with enough money to poach our players/staff etc. Absurd.

I'm starting to think we just say **** you to the AFL, grab some of the other big clubs that don't rely on handouts and create a real strong 10/12 team comp. Leave the clubs that are regularly putting their hands out for help, to play in a 2nd division type comp.

Eddie should make a play to bring Andrew Ireland back to the club. Maybe too much bad COLA blood between them, but Ireland is highly regarded as a football administrator.
He'd be a great appointment, but as you say, I reckon there might have been a bit too much bad blood flow under the bridge for it to happen

I'm starting to think we just say **** you to the AFL, grab some of the other big clubs that don't rely on handouts and create a real strong 10/12 team comp. Leave the clubs that are regularly putting their hands out for help, to play in a 2nd division type comp.

So what would we call ourselves?
And what would our colors be?
Our name, our colors, our jumper. All owned by the AFL.

Would love your plan to work, but that's a big hurdle right there.

If we took the AFL to court we are one club that could sustain the restraint of trade angle.
Won't happen but the AFL knows Eddie is breaking point with the AFL.

Krak was pretty good though
He played 35 games in 3 seasons at just more than 11 possessions and 1 goal a game. We gave up pick 25 for Krakouer, Ceglar and picks 55, 78 and 95, so we didn't lose a huge amount and I am glad we took the risk on him, but it was hardly a success. That said Jack Darling was taken at pick 26, so what could have been!

Hey guys, not sure I'm quite following Eddie's argument.

Doesn't the tax paid on total dept spending get capped at 1 mil which the pies would be paying anyway?

So if the replacement costs more they would still be capped at 1 mil?

And wouldn't the cost of Eade over the next year now not be paid therefore no tax on it?

Not quite following how this means the Pies are paying "more" other than that they need to find a new coach that might cost more.. Which happens to every club?

If you reach a certain threshold over the cap, you get taxed at a rate of 37.5 cents on every dollar you spend over the AFL Cap.
2 points.
Eade is not a coach.
At this stage of the season, being after the trade period, most football jobs are locked in.
It's very hard to get those staff to move to replace Eade unless you pay them overs.
The result of paying overs is you have to pay the tax rate above on every dollar over the cap.

Gee Sando makes a lot of sense now that we have some cash left in the football department spend to throw around doesn't he?

Edit: Not necessarily as Football Manager, but I'd like to get him on board.

Hey guys, not sure I'm quite following Eddie's argument.

Doesn't the tax paid on total dept spending get capped at 1 mil which the pies would be paying anyway?

So if the replacement costs more they would still be capped at 1 mil?

And wouldn't the cost of Eade over the next year now not be paid therefore no tax on it?

I'm not sure about the cap stuff, but I know that we are cutting back a lot to minimize the tax. Eddie was basically saying that because this happened so late that the cost of replacing Eade would likely mean we have to pay 'overs' compared to if it happened at the end of the season.

If you reach a certain threshold over the cap, you get taxed at a rate of 37.5 cents on every dollar you spend over the AFL Cap.
2 points.
Eade is not a coach.
At this stage of the season, being after the trade period, most football jobs are locked in.
It's very hard to get those staff to move to replace Eade unless you pay them overs.
The result of paying overs is you have to pay the tax rate above on every dollar over the cap.

Thanks for the clarification.

I thought I read somewhere that the total tax payable is capped anyway - which most people presume Collingwood would reach anyway?

Understand that the timing is pretty frustrating for Collingwood so I can understand why Eddie might ask for compensation for this reason (even if I disagree with the way he has gone about it).

I thought with the cap on total tax payable then there really wouldn't be any impact to the total amount of tax paid next year which Eddie used as 1 of his main arguments?

Not keen on Sando as Footy Department director, or any former coach necessarily. See it as a specialised role in and of itself. There are a couple of ex-coaches who have been successful in the role, but many others who have succeeded without that background.

I'd like to see us find the best experienced operator we can. I don't know whether someone from outside the footy industry can be effective in the role or not, given the need for networks, but we should have a look at that. We should try to see whether we can get a Neil Balme, or a Chris Fagan from Hawthorn.

What I don't want to see is someone get the job because they are a pre-existing mate with Bucks or a much-loved figure around the club. I want the best person for the job.

We'll have to lure someone suitably qualified as football manager (it's not just an assistant coach we're talking about here because that would be more easily filled) and if it's someone currently under contract at another successful club (which is possible, perhaps even likely) then we'll probably have to send some compensation their way as well (ie. we'll be paying a premium to get their club to allow them to break their contract) in addition to possibly paying them overs in order to get them to come across at such a late point in the recruiting period.

Compensation gets paid by one company to another for allowing the breaking of a contract in order to bring someone over for a higher (?) role all the time in the executive levels of big business - this isn't any different really. The mooted "requested" figures of $400k or even $200k are probably not much more than an exercise in "journalistic license" though, I don't think anyone on either side would consider those sort of amounts to be reasonable despite whatever initial bluster there might have been.