rookie draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter kinggaz29

I also wanted Steven Owen.

Not happy Geelong.

Listen to all the armchair experts, "I wanted him, we shouldve got him, he's no good, etc". Didnt this season teach u anything about our recruiting team? Back the club, these decisions wouldve been made for a reason.

B. Moles. Who the hell is that? From Tassie apparently.

Played for the Devils and Glenorchy, sometimes has lapses in concentration, especially in one game against Port Melbourne. But he's not bad at VFL level, though if he was drafted last year he could have kicked the 7 goals against Careless and not Grima. ;)

He must have really impressed at draft camp, no one really picked him as one of the Tasmanian players to be drafted, Joseph, Collier, Bellchambers, and Grima were all expected to be taken.

Interested to see how he goes for the Cats. Good luck to him.:thumbsu:

Would I be right in suggesting that both Moles and Mumford will only have 1 year on the rookie list due to them both being 22?

Some of the run downs for the boys from Inside Football.

Brodie Moles "He has extremely good pace, is a very penetrating kick and was spotted by quite a few clubs in the VFL and asked to go to the state screening testing. Can play wing or half forward and is probably best suited to half forward. A very nice user of the football and knows where the goals are." - Tasmania U18 Coach Andrew Mellor

Jeremy Laidlaw "Jeremy is probably our most improved player this year. He's a terrific left foot kick, can play anywhere from full back to full forward to the wing or ruck rover. He has got great hands and a great attitude to his footy. Whoever gets Jeremy will be getting a pretty fair player." - Calder Cannons Coach David Flood

Chris Kangars "A real athlete who is very raw in terms of football development but he has a better 400 metres time than Cathy Freeman and has endurance on top of that. Could play a variety of roles but is best suited to a lock-down role on a hard running forward like a Nick Riewoldt type". - Geelong Falcons Coach Garry Hocking

Sounds pretty reasonable. :thumbsu:

Listen to all the armchair experts, "I wanted him, we shouldve got him, he's no good, etc". Didnt this season teach u anything about our recruiting team? Back the club, these decisions wouldve been made for a reason.

Thanks for the info, but Owen is a better option then 2 of the guys we've taken.

Some of the run downs for the boys from Inside Football.

Brady Moles "He has extremely good pace, is a very penetrating kick and was spotted by quite a few clubs in the VFL and asked to go to the state screening testing. Can play wing or half forward and is probably best suited to half forward. A very nice user of the football and knows where the goals are." - Tasmania U18 Coach Andrew Mellor

Jeremy Laidlaw "Jeremy is probably our most improved player this year. He's a terrific left foot kick, can play anywhere from full back to full forward to the wing or ruck rover. He has got great hands and a great attitude to his footy. Whoever gets Jeremy will be getting a pretty fair player." - Calder Cannons Coach David Flood

Chris Kangars "A real athlete who is very raw in terms of football development but he has a better 400 metres time than Cathy Freeman and has endurance on top of that. Could play a variety of roles but is best suited to a lock-down role on a hard running forward like a Nick Riewoldt type". - Geelong Falcons Coach Garry Hocking

Sounds pretty reasonable. :thumbsu:

I dont think there are too many doubts with these first three picks respectively. I am happy with all of them. Getting onto the senior list is another story but we are giving ourselves every chance with these three of doing just that down the track.

Mumford was a surprise to me...but I am happy to be open minded given our recent track record with picking guys off the VFL list.

Mumford is probably a bit of insurance as well. Apart from Otto, there's not a lot of senior experience, let alone AFL experience on our list. Yes Blake exceeded expectations this year but was used as a back-up for most of the year. Even Westy had to play second fiddle in the VFL so someone that has played plenty of senior football might be handy.

you guys should be very happy about laidler. that is an absoulute steal. he played my local footy club and took my brothers spot as a forward pocket in the seniors when he was in u 16's. had a very successful season for calder in the tac cup this season. but was somehow overlooked in the draft.

Thanks for the info, but Owen is a better option then 2 of the guys we've taken.

Says you.

From what I've seen I agree with you on Mumford, but I'd rather Kangars to Owen. I think Owen showed little in his time with us to suggest he could make it at AFL level. Then again, thats just MY opinion. Stephen Wells has seen more of all three than you and I put together, so I'm going to go with his judgement over yours.

Thanks for the opinion though.

Laidler is a very good user of the ball, and apparently so is Moles, so I'm very happy to get more of that into the club. Laidler is extremely versatile too which is a huge plus.

Very happy with both.

I'm overall pretty pleased with our selections. Will not be surprised to see both Laidler and Kangars on the senior list eventually.

Excuse my ignorance, but how does the rookie system work? Are these guys allowed to play next year for the seniors or do the have to be nominated to the senior list? How does the nominated rookie work and will we use this???

What is our actual senior list at the moment?

Interesting picks here. Have to say I know bugger all about these blokes and obviously never get the chance to see them play in any form.. I guess we'll keep an eye on them and see how they progress. You never know with these picks how they'll turn out.

Excuse my ignorance, but how does the rookie system work? Are these guys allowed to play next year for the seniors or do the have to be nominated to the senior list? How does the nominated rookie work and will we use this???

What is our actual senior list at the moment?

Basically there are three ways a rookie can get onto the main list. (and some examples of players who are on our list currently who came from the rookie list via these means)

1. If a player is put on the long term injury list during the season. (Rooke, Byrnes)

2. At the end of a season, after delistings and retirements, rookies can be permanently elevated (Davenport, Lonergan)

3. If you only have one player on your veterans list, you can have a nominated rookie who can play seniors (Batchelor, Reynolds, although both got injured and never actually played seniors)

Says you.

From what I've seen I agree with you on Mumford, but I'd rather Kangars to Owen. I think Owen showed little in his time with us to suggest he could make it at AFL level. Then again, thats just MY opinion. Stephen Wells has seen more of all three than you and I put together, so I'm going to go with his judgement over yours.

Thanks for the opinion though.

Laidler is a very good user of the ball, and apparently so is Moles, so I'm very happy to get more of that into the club. Laidler is extremely versatile too which is a huge plus.

Very happy with both.

I've had my share of disagreements with you on drafting RH, but I concur wholeheartedly on both points here.

Owen can't have expected any favors from the club after he lied to them about his OP problems prior to being drafted.

Bhudda you haven't seen mumford in twleve months and this guy is about a hundred kilos and super ripped. he had a run in a 3km time trial with the geelong seniors a fortnight ago and came twelfth. thats out of the whole vfl team. you watch all your words blow up in your face.

I saw Mumford play 7 games this year. 4 for the Geelong VFL and 3 for Bunyip. He dominated for Bunyip in the games I saw which he should in such a low standard league. In the VFL games I saw (1 admittedly was on TV) he struggled to win an effective hitout and couldn't get to many contests. That is the reason why he didn't get much game time and eventually got dropped for Butler. Obviously his apparent new improved fitness base will help that. Hopefully it also gets rid of the big round donut under the kicks column on his stats sheet too.:D

I hope there is more to the story in that he turned up to training and everyone was convinced he was a different player. It would be a fairly unprofessional pick if that was the case. Hopefully he has worked on his contested marking because a bloke his size should have a greater impact in packs instead of just crashing them. I really can't see him lasting more than one year on the list.

Which games did you see him play at Bunyip Budda? Also, he was more often not playing for Geelong VFL because both King and Westy were in the team, and obvioulsy neither could be dropped. Also, I wouldn't call it unprofessional if him turning up so much fitter was what convinced them to take him. Presumably they thought he could play, but didnt think he'd ever get fit enough. Then they see him fit and that concern is removed. Sounds smart to me. Sure, they have taken a risk, but any 17 or 18 year old ruckman is going to be just as big a risk, plus, you dont know if they will get size or not. Mumf has size already. Now, all of a sudden he has access to PREMIERSHIP winning coaches, nutritionist, Strength coaches, hig performance coaches. He might suprise after a year, he might not. At least you (a so called 10 year team mate, yet no one knows who you are) could be supportive of him, especially now that your club has drafted him.

All the best Shane!

Bards

Which games did you see him play at Bunyip Budda? Also, he was more often not playing for Geelong VFL because both King and Westy were in the team, and obvioulsy neither could be dropped. Also, I wouldn't call it unprofessional if him turning up so much fitter was what convinced them to take him. Presumably they thought he could play, but didnt think he'd ever get fit enough. Then they see him fit and that concern is removed. Sounds smart to me. Sure, they have taken a risk, but any 17 or 18 year old ruckman is going to be just as big a risk, plus, you dont know if they will get size or not. Mumf has size already. Now, all of a sudden he has access to PREMIERSHIP winning coaches, nutritionist, Strength coaches, hig performance coaches. He might suprise after a year, he might not. At least you (a so called 10 year team mate, yet no one knows who you are) could be supportive of him, especially now that your club has drafted him.

All the best Shane!

Bards

Great post Bards!

Infact Mummy was very very impressive in the VFL pre season matches, until he injured his leg. He showed some raw ability and also drifted forward for a bit.

The fact the Kingy and Westy were in the same team is the reason why he never really got much of a go. We also had an abundance of talls all over the ground which made it hard for mummy to get a shot.

Wells has seen him more then any of us have and i'm sure he has made the right decision But ey even if he doesn't turn out great we havent lost much. Pick 50 odd in a rookie draft is bugger all.

Are u Kevin Sheehan? How would u know, really? DO u have access to all the scouting networks that Geelong are privvy to? Did u have inside access to everything Owen did re: training, development, etc? I trust the clubs judgement over yours, no offence...:thumbsu:

As well as the fact steven owen will be lucky to play until round 15 - 18 next year.

And as well as the fact that in 1 and a half years, he showed almost nothing at VFL level that pointed to him being AFL standard...