bigswan

Now that we have our fill of midfielders, I hope the rookie draft sees us pick the KPP or key defenders we will need in 5 years time. Some still available are-Nate Roffey, Paul Colbert, Brad Kelleher-all backmen AND Andrew Ainger (forward), Andrew Bonaddio, Brad Haskett, Tom Reddan -KPP. Any other thoughts?

bigswan said:
Now that we have our fill of midfielders, I hope the rookie draft sees us pick the KPP or key defenders we will need in 5 years time. Some still available are-Nate Roffey, Paul Colbert, Brad Kelleher-all backmen AND Andrew Ainger (forward), Andrew Bonaddio, Brad Haskett, Tom Reddan -KPP. Any other thoughts?

You've got to remember that the Lions have priority with Roffey, and in general, the Swans Rookie Sydney/ACT players first and foremost.

Possible local picks:James Bennett(Midfielder),Kieren Jack(Midfielder),Adam Prior(Key forward),Sam Rowe(Ruck),Trent Goodrem(small defender),Ed Barlow(Midfielder,Key Defender in 3 years) Nathan Twomey(Key defender)and Troy Bartlett(Utility).
As for what is left available to rookie there are some rippers:James Wall(Tall Utility),Shane Neaves(Ruck/KPP),Angus Graham(Ruck/KPP),Matt White(MF),Greg Bentley(U),Daniel Nicholls(MF),Lukas Markovic(KPP),Heath Hocking(MF),Bradley Kelleher(KPP),Jacob McGuane(KPP),Sam Wormald(MF),Jonathan Simpkin(MF),Marcus Crook(Small Def),Chris Dunne(MF),Tim Looby(SD),Ryan Jackson(MF),Paul Currie(KPP),Andrew Ainger(KPP),Rees Thomas(KPP),Chris Cain(MF),Sam Iles(MF),Todd Grima(KPP),Luke McEntee(Ruck),Sam Elliott(MF),Tom Rischbieth(MF),Jace Bode(MF),Alan Toovey(Key Def),Ben Taggart(KD),Matthew Seal(MF) and Jackson Barling(KD).

As you can see plenty of good rookies there.

I'd be expecting us to draft at least one tall who is physically ready (a la Vogels/Campbell this year) to step up if required.

One guy that seem to appear regularly as a top up player this year was Twomey. Anyone know anything about him?

Dean Davies is training with u guys? He is only 20, do you think he will get a rookie spot?

I'd like to think with 8 rookies spots available we'll get a couple of developing KPP's Toovey,Taggart,Wall,Neaves,Grima,Markovic,Currie,Ainger
at least one ready made KPP Prior,Barling,Twomey
and another couple of midfield types Bennett,Jack,Barlow,Bartlett,White,Bentley,Nicholls,Hocking,Elliott,Rischbieth,Bode,Simpkin,Dunne,Seal,Jackson,Cain,Iles
and a development ruckman Rowe,McEntee

Ideally I my Rookie wish list would be Toovey,Markovic,Barling,Bennett,Barlow,Bartlett,Bentley,McEntee.

grub29 said:
I'd like to think with 8 rookies spots available we'll get a couple of developing KPP's Toovey,Taggart,Wall,Neaves,Grima,Markovic,Currie,Ainger
at least one ready made KPP Prior,Barling,Twomey
and another couple of midfield types Bennett,Jack,Barlow,Bartlett,White,Bentley,Nicholls,Hocking,Elliott,Rischbieth,Bode,Simpkin,Dunne,Seal,Jackson,Cain,Iles
and a development ruckman Rowe,McEntee

Ideally I my Rookie wish list would be Toovey,Markovic,Barling,Bennett,Barlow,Bartlett,Bentley,McEntee.
We got a good crew up with that ideal mix I was talking about.Simon Phillips was the only one not on my wish list but as a goalkicking rover he is a ripper.

I am very glad to see James Wall get drafted. I played club and school footy with him for about 5-6 years, he was always in the ruck and I always roved to him.

He is a very modest, down-to-earth guy (I know you probably hear that about most players) and he is even a bit shy I would say. But I can garuantee you he will absolutely bust his guts. He was the 10th best in the draft for the beep test so he can run for a tall guy (199cm I think). He is an actual footballer though, not an athlete. Very skinny but has a good football brain, good skills and agility for a big guy and most importantly, a fantastic attitude.