Autopsy Round 2, 2021: Hawthorn defeated by Richmond

Anyone think Mitchell is a chance for Brownlow votes today? Highest possessions on the ground with 37.

I doubt he polls a vote. Very nondescript with his disposals.

Agree. Mitchell’s primary support act - Worpel, Shiels, O’Meara - add nothing that he can’t do, they just don’t do it as well as him. Wingard provides a point of difference in skill and speed.

Of those three others, something has to give. For me, we should persevere with the youngest. He can still significantly improve. The other two are completed products so they need to be redeployed or if incapable or unwilling, be dropped. The current midfield mix will not take us anywhere.

I would have O’Meara on the half forward flank or on the wing, and then move Wingard as an inside midfielder.

I doubt he polls a vote. Very nondescript with his disposals.

No one really stood out for either team but I thought that umps might feel like a hawk deserves to be in the votes and he is the most likely for the 1 (maybe 2). Even though I think Hardwick was better today they often err to the established vote getters.

I would have O’Meara on the half forward line or on the wing, and move Wingard as an inside midfielder.
Don’t like him on the wing. His ball use in space is terrible. His hardness tackling up forward could be of value, I agree. Worth a try. He and Shiels need to find new roles for the side to improve. I don’t think Shiels can at his age.

I would have O’Meara on the half forward flank or on the wing, and then move Wingard as an inside midfielder.

Sadly Omeara’s ceiling seems to be a lot lower than we were all hoping. He’s really just ‘good’ onballer (like a Sheils or at best a Sewell) but he’s not your go-to match winner sadly. You can blame injury but it is what it is.

Took way too long settle, and the game was pretty much over by the time did. Way too many turnovers in the first quarter, and we were lucky they didn't kick straight. Like several of our losses against Richmond in recent years, Tigers do enough to get a lead, and then just enough for the rest of the game to keep us at arms length. We were far from terrible, but clearly not in Richmond's class. We didn't really have an answer inside 50 for Richmond's defensive structure, which repelled most attacks with ease. Probably close to breaking even in most other parts of the ground. Give us more a chance against Geelong next week.

Clarkson played a ruckman a kick behind play to try to disrupt Richmond going into attack. I think we will see that next week against the Cats, too, to try to make it hard for Hawkins and Cameron, if he's fit.

I posted it in the game thread but I will post it here now. Richmond are on top of their game plan and each player knows what role he is to play. It's what Hawthorn was like in 2013-2015. By contrast, the Hawks have a number of new players coming into the team still unsure of the running patterns and the leads up forward. Makes a big difference. When that is sorted out, we will take a big leap forward.
I think we already have - it's just time and luck with injuries.

I am worried about our plodfield though. This has to change to give these young forwards a better look at it, they won't learn anything if they ball is never to their advantage and they are easily outnumbered all the time. The plodfield is also costing Day, Hardwick, and CJ their dash from defense because the plodders can't get into position quick enough or half a contest in the air.

They are just a very well oiled machine. Better game plan, better coached currently (don't @ me) and are all on the same page. Hopefully we get back there, but it will take time.
Exactly. Their experience hit us hard in the first quarter. It took us a while to get fluency with our disposal.
Blake Hardwick doesn’t get enough credit
It's about time that he did. He's been excellent for the last two weeks.
Need to find a different mix in the midfield, Mitchell, O’Meara, worpel , shiels just don’t offer a point of difference. They just don’t have attributes that can help improve the mix in the middle. Lots to work on.
Wingard is the missing piece.

Sadly Omeara’s ceiling seems to be a lot lower than we were all hoping. He’s really just ‘good’ onballer (like a Sheils or at best a Sewell) but he’s not your go-to match winner sadly. You can blame injury but it is what it is.

I would just like to see O'Meara drop some bulk. He just looks way too big to me for a modern midfielder, especially one with a bung knee.

If he trimmed down he could gain a little more speed and be able to run out 4 quarters of a match (something he has always struggled with at Hawthorn).

We put ourselves under pressure with too many handballs
We butchered our good work with the last kick into the forward line
Yeah that was frustrating to watch. Today. The thing is though, in two years when those kids have 30-40 more games under their belts, those things won't happen. Or happen way less anyway.

Anyone think Mitchell is a chance for Brownlow votes today? Highest possessions on the ground with 37.
He played OK but there were a number of players that had more effect on the game than he did. He needs to start kicking the ball more often, rather than rely on handball all the time. I'm hoping that will happen more as the season progresses and he builds up his fitness. Remarkable really the number of disposals he has has so far with a very minimal pre season.

Just don't see how Moore, Hanrahan and Morrison will push a team to a premiership. I think they're very good at VFL, but just not high level AFL standard.

Don't get me started on TOB.

Loved our defence today, it spent a bit of time up there and the likes of CJ, Frost gave us something.

Have to fix our forward pressure ASAP, it leaks out way too easy.

Just don't see how Moore, Hanrahan and Morrison will push a team to a premiership. I think they're very good at VFL, but just not high level AFL standard.

Don't get me started on TOB.

Loved our defence today, it spent a bit of time up there and the likes of CJ, Frost gave us something.

Have to fix our forward pressure ASAP, it leaks out way too easy.
I think Morrison has been amongst our best players in both games so far.

Margin probably about what I was expecting but the decision making and skill errors are just so frustrating to watch. TOB handballing to a stagnant Howe on the wing when we had an overlap, at a point where the game was on the line just about make me punch the TV. It's cruel to point out one player when they all made mistakes but that one stood out like dogs balls and pretty much finished us off as the tiges scored not long after. Frustrating day at the office, we could have been much closer.

What a day, I was at the footy. Life is somewhat normal again.

To the game, I reckon at about the 13minute mark of the first I turned to my mate and said, this could get ugly if we don't do something soon.
It got about one more goal ugly for the rest of the game so I'll take that.

I'll probably come back later and write more on the game. Now our just concentrate on a few who are young or had a good one. And a couple of concerns some of which we already knew.

CJ - Made some horrid disposal mistakes a few times especially early... I don't care. Everything else he did was magnificent had three Richmond supporters ask me between middle of the last and on tram train home who is he and how the hell did you get him. That from me sums up his game other clubs supporters think he's good. He was Good.

Kosi - Watching the game from the top stand is almost a surreal experience after having an entire season on TV. Kosi works up and down the ground, he runs blocks, he gets back to contests, he gets to contests. The kid has a work ethic that may not be seen with goals, but is more important.

Howe - Did the light finally click on around early in the second. Singlehandedly decided that the Richmond bigger faster bodies at contests were not going to embarrass our smaller slower bodies, he's next 20 minutes of footy was the best quarter I've seen him play in Brown and Gold. It forced Richmond to move from a slaughter to flooding back 2 players at every opportunity to control the game when we had the footy.

Brocky - Geez he is a smart footballer he's kinda young Bruest/Willo combined and he's in the team years before they got there. So much to work with.

Hardwick - Been hard on him last year or so, but today it was noticeable especially with how poor our disposal is overall. When he kicks the footy he does know how to hit a target. He doesn't waste his time on another useless handball to a guy under pressure. Small mention to Scrimsahw who came on late but kicked better and was willing to kick long to a one on one contest.

Anyway there is five and a bit..

To the bad, our stupid game plan of handballing over the man on the mark (who can't move) was terrible we've obviously spent all summer practicing it as we can't stop doing it, the problem is Hardwick (Tiges Coach) worked it out and shut it down almost the whole game (hint just get the guy closest to run at the stationary player waiting for the handpass. We had no plan B.

If you are trying to free men up and burst clear and you see Tom Mitchell clear, do not handball to him unless you have just done your knee, snapped your achilles or think you are having a heartattack. The biggest momentum killer we had almost the entire day was handballing to slow stationary players who run around in circles and Tom was exhibit A today. The bloke led possession with 20 at half time but still was somehow last compared to every single player on the field with metres gained in the same half. Tom has his strengths being a fast running link man will never be one of them.

Anyway we were ok, and if you take out the first 13 minutes or so we were highly competitive. Which isn't too bad. We still need to get faster, stronger/bigger in certain areas and well more skilled but we were certainly better than say our last 13 games last year and a lot of that was young kids.
That is really what I want to see all year. Players developing.

You don't beat Richmond by chipping it along the boundary line. We're not skilled enough to pull that off.

Can't fault the effort, especially the kids, although there is some worrying signs from the more senior players.

JOM is looking like a one-paced plodder with no hurt factor.
Is there any point in playing TOB anymore? He's not hurting the opposition and not offering anything that someone else could offer. He doesn't have any development left unless he can suddenly develop some natural balance... something you can't teach. He's so weak and easy to beat. Only requires one player to touch him and he's out of the contest. At least with Kossie, Richmond had to have a help defender to get the advantage over him.
McEvoy looks overcooked. Old and slow(er).

CJ's willingness to take the game on was what we needed. Just needs to improve his decision making.
Brockman's reading of the play and clean-ish hands is extremely encouraging.
Kossie continues to look promising despite the shithouse delivery he has to put up with.

Big difference between the 2 teams, despite the experience, was the delivery into the F50. They had leaders and players running into space. We had players waiting for the ball to come to them and not using the space. Richmond also kicked to their players' advantage while we kicked on our teammates' head. Same shit, different day. Fortunately Hardwick and CJ read the play well and were able to help effectively.

A dropped mark, an errant handball, a fumble, a brief moment of misjudgment. You simply cannot do that against elite teams and expect not to pay for it. The effort was there but we were simply outclassed by a far superior opponent. Onwards and upwards though, the young guys will definitely learn from that.
gotta say i thought tigers were excellent today and it was a good game... our consistency of skill and effort was obviously better due to our well rehearsed system and great player list, in the end, dusty could not be controlled because he is a freak and finished you off. but many pleasing signs for the young hawks.

Autopsy Round 2, 2021: Hawthorn defeated by Richmond