Opinion Round 20 changes vs. GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

I don't think there's any player in our 22 who I don't like, but surely there must be a question as to whether all 22 of them are better than Crozier, Michie and maybe 1 or 2 others?

Especially in a game like GWS that we have coming up which is a good chance to boost our %, I'd rather see Crozier get a run than a few of the more defensive players in the team, mostly for his scoring power.

Looking forward to seeing Cameron play live, it was disappointing last year when both he and Patton didn't make it over.
Who do we have that can go with him?

Looking forward to seeing Cameron play live, it was disappointing last year when both he and Patton didn't make it over.
Who do we have that can go with him?

Not sure anyone will be able to go with him in a couple of years. On Sunday, though. I think Zac will get the job.

Zac is in for a torrid day then. He can't go with Cameron with the ball on the ground I think

I have a feeling Mundy's ankle will be rested and the cautious approach will be taken with Ibbo. I reckon;

In: Pav, Slivagni
Out: Clancee, Mundy

Our backline was too short against Carlton , so bringing Silvagni in for Clanger will balance that out. We'll be a bit taller with Pav and a resting ruck in the forward line, but that will be a good thing.

Clancee Pearce, Michael Walters and Ryan Crowley were all on the way out under Harvey. Mayne couldn't kick. Johnson was snorting coke off milk crates in laneways and playing crap footy. Dawson came with Ross. Take those 6 players out and we probably would have got a different result against Carlton.

You have made some sweeping statements about what a senior coaches job description is and what he doesn't have responsibility for' .

On some points I agree with you but the football department at a club has to work together and advise each other of what they think about players on the list and what sort of players they want to recruit.

Harvey and his assistant coaches would have been going through our list before the end of the season the same as every other coach in the AFL and advising the clubs football department who should be cut and who should be upgraded to the senior list. that's his \their job the same as the coaches job is to tell a player he is being delisted or promoted to a leadership position in the team.

RTD would be doing the same thing NOW with his football dept .

As to the recruitment of future players RTB has already stated the he and the club don't want Franklin
"We are not bidding for him he is not on our radar " or words to that effect .
So don't try to tell us that the coach doesn't have a say in recruiting .

As to a wish list are you seriously trying to say that RTB and the assistant coaches wouldn't be informing Lloyd and Bondy what sort of players he needs for next year now .

What planet are you on because it can't be this one .

Ross doesn't live in a cocoon when he's not coaching Freo.

He would be going to WAFL games to check out the talent the recruiters had their eye on so that he can give them his feelings about a particular player .

As to interstate talent the club has people watching games all over Australia and reporting their findings back to Bond and Lloyd all the time .

Before the drafts the Whole football dept would be going over the names of all the players that have nominated for all the drafts and would be making up their collective minds on who they would like to draft .
Coaches that want a closer look at a particular player issues an invitation to them to train with the club.
Now I agree with you that no coach is watching hour upon hour of You Tube videos or running all over the country to watch possible draft picks that would be crazy he has to trust the scots to do the scouting .

All the senior coaches live and die by the same sword , winning or loosing and if they are doing their job and the wins out weigh the loses then they keep their job otherwise they are thrown out the door and someone else gets the job and on it goes .

Recruiting and delisting are two very different things.

The senior coach would certainly have the final call on who gets cut at the end of the season.

Sure the senior coach would interview the kids expected to go early in the draft but he'd have little input in our batting order on draft day. The Hill v Rich decision is a good example, I'd be very surprised if Mark Harvey would prefer a skinny outside wingman who could take 3 years in the gym to have an impact to a readymade onballer who uses the ball well.

The football department (including the head coach) would meet from time to time and discuss what
the list needed going forward but there would be little focus on individual players currently outside the AFL..

I'm not sure when Hird was drafted but I'd say it was before Fremantle entered the competition? In that time the AFL has gone from a semi professional sport to a massive business with each club employing hundreds of people.

Mate there are a few holes in your argument and I know for a fact that Harvey spoke to Bill about Hill and as a result of that game and the interview Hill had with Harvey we went with Hill .

Harvey when asked why Freo selected Hill over Rich said the decision was based on that when he questioned Hill on his thoughts about the game and how it should be played he was very quietly spoken but had strong views. Hill had impact from the first time he pulled on a Freo jumper in an AFL game . Wedon't forget how every body had a warm glow when he shone against Brissy and Rich struggled .

Look at the not so long passed had anyone heard of Neale , Spurr or Sutcliff before we drafted them
I would suggest very very few . but the recruiters did and that's what they are paid for and the Coach would have had input in their selection .

Thank goodness GWS had a win last week, I reckon they've blown their load and will be basking in the afterglow instead of going manic. Having said that they'll lead at qtr time beforeshuttingnup shop. Get Sandi in to your fantasy teams he will set some records this week.

I have a feeling Mundy's ankle will be rested and the cautious approach will be taken with Ibbo. I reckon;

Our backline was too short against Carlton , so bringing Silvagni in for Clanger will balance that out. We'll be a bit taller with Pav and a resting ruck in the forward line, but that will be a good thing.

I agree with the outs, although bringing two talls for two smalls could cause us to loose too much run.

I understand your reasons for wanting them, but I think Pav and 1 mid would be better. It will be interesting to see what the team is, and if we start resting players.

I agree with the outs, although bringing two talls for two smalls could cause us to loose too much run.

I understand your reasons for wanting them, but I think Pav and 1 mid would be better. It will be interesting to see what the team is, and if we start resting players.

Yes, basically that is the dilemma I see, which continues the following week with MacPharlin coming back too. We need our runners. I wouldn't be bringing Silvagni in unless we are resting Johnson/Dawson. Certainly not in for Pearce.

mundy is a certainty to be rested i'd reckon

Would be stupid to underestimate them, I'd say 1 or 2 at most would be rested, fine tuning at this stage.

Yep Ross wont be flirting with form too much.
Mundy may have a week off with his ankle.
Pearce will obviously miss.
Ibbotson may have another week with that achilles.
With that said i think either Mundy or Ibbo will play, that'll be it IMO.

Fremantle Dockers@Fremantle_FC10s
Lyon: "Garrick Ibbotson is more than likely to play. If he's fit and available he'll play" #gofreo #FreoMedia
Fremantle Dockers@Fremantle_FC7m
Lyon: "There is no certainty that we'll rest anybody" #gofreo #FreoMedia

Snippets from his presser on at the moment.

Look at our key players and the games they have missed this season already, i don't think resting will be a big deal especially while we are trying to get continuity into the team and some players.
Barlow - 1
Fyfe - 2
Mundy - 2
Ibbo - 5
Hill - 4
Duffield - 5
Spurr - 1
McPharlin - 5 and counting
Walters - 3
Suban - 2
Pav - 13
Clarke - 7
Ballas - 3
Sandi - 14

I'm just waiting for all the "Forster's in" comments from people as they read the website and see another puff piece about him.

Look at our key players and the games they have missed this season already, i don't think resting will be a big deal especially while we are trying to get continuity into the team and some players.
Barlow - 1
Fyfe - 2
Mundy - 2
Ibbo - 5
Hill - 4
Duffield - 5
Spurr - 1
McPharlin - 5 and counting
Walters - 3
Suban - 2
Pav - 13
Clarke - 7
Ballas - 3
Sandi - 14

Yeh I agree and it is important to have everyone fresh for finals.

Dawson, Pearce x2, Mzungu, de Boer, Crowley, Mayne, Johnson have not missed a game.

With Pav back this week, maybe Mayne could have a rest or de Boer.

Johnson could get a rest, and Silvagni could play his second KPD role.

The next two weeks are the time to rest players, then we have can get our full team together for 2 weeks then finals.

Yes, basically that is the dilemma I see, which continues the following week with MacPharlin coming back too. We need our runners. I wouldn't be bringing Silvagni in unless we are resting Johnson/Dawson. Certainly not in for Pearce.

I dont think it will be a good idea to rest Johnson or Dawson considering Patton and Cameron are in the team.

I wouldnt under estimate GWS after they have given both Collingwood 3 good quarters and been solid in other games as well.

Considering Clancee Pearce and mundy are injured, Pav and Mitchie have to come in. Maybe Silvagni in as well as a 3rd tall defender.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I thought Patton was out for the year with an ACL?

I dont think we will or should rest a key defender either, but I think if we did our whole team pressure and defence would be enough to curtail Camerons supply and overall damage anyway.