Review Round 7 - Positives Negatives Changes

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

POSITIVES
Great spread of goal kickers, and ability to win clearances at crucial times.
Most things clicked...ran out the game, really positive win.

NEGATIVES
We can't repeatedly concede 100 points a game and expect to be matching it with the top tier. Even Brisbane nearly kicked a ton on us.
Sides that make finals and win them have far better points-against numbers than we have up to Round 7.

But...happy to take the win, and hugely optimistic for the future. But as of right now...we're a long way off top tier.

Yep, midway through the 4th the commentators were going through some stat's and mentioned Pavlich was running at 22% disposal efficiency, however after just looking at his stat's it says he was going at 45% so not to sure what's going on with that.

Positives-

Sandilands, Pavlich and Mundy were superb. We won by 49.
This:thumbsu:
Driving home tonight with my mate and he said the same thing. Their 3 guns played great games and we still pantsed them.

Positives - Loads of them. Used the ball well a lot of the time. Many of our 'guns' had performances below what we expect them to have when we win and yet we won easily in the end.

- Midfield goals, has been a weakness for so long at this club and it is beginning to change.

- Vickery continuing his development along with others.

-Freo's guns played well and we still smacked them!!

Negatives - Should have been 4 or 5 goals down at quarter time. What the hell do we do before games??? Lucky Mayne, Pav and co are ******ed when it comes to set shots...

- Goals against from stupidity. Luke McGuane (he is generally good) but I just get angry whenever he gets it!!!

Changes - Depending on White's fitness, I would give Nason a full game at Coburg. I would bring in either Webberley or Tuck (pending fitness).

Upcoming weeks - Moore, Astbury, Post, Griff, Derickx. Interesting that we have so many talls out that are talked about so much not in the team. Might be why Grimes and Rance are playing so well..... knowing their spots are in demand.... me likes the outcome.

Santa won't have too much to sook about this week... oh wait that's a positive!! :p

Jack had some awesome kicks, especially the one on one step from the middle to Cotchin on the run towards 50..... Who then nailed a great goal.

It was an awesome kick from Jack.

No... it can't be!
Many others on the BF boards were insisting he was "just a stay at home full forward!" :rolleyes:

Jack is actually averaging more goals per game this year himself than he did for all of 2010 + creating plenty more for his mates & we are winning games with far more goal kicking options.

Dicks...

THE BIGGEST POSITIVE....
beating a top 4 contender by close to 50 pts... where we r at & where we are coming from, just what we needed. Hopefully this instils more confidence in our young playing group & we kick on from here. Next week should be interesting... GO TIGES!

Positives:
Our variety of goal kickers. No longer are we predictable to the opposition.
Our last quarter where we sniffed blood and went for the kill.
Our 3rd quarter where we tore Freo apart.
The coming of age of guys like Vickery Rance Nahas White & King
Matt Whites courage in the second half where he took that mark at CHB and set up a goal then ran head on into a contest.

Negatives:
McGuanes first 3 quarters which nearly cost us the game.
Our inability in the first quarter to clear our backline, will cost us one day.

Changes:
If White is injured then out for Webberley.

OP pretty much hit the nail on the head! Would add a few things to above:
-Still feel we kick too much to Jack in the F50 but when 2-3 fly against him, he still gets it down to King/Nahas etc..
- I saw our inability to kick out of our backline in Q1 a positive for the game.. Everybody saw how well Freo's zone worked in Q1 and we continually kicked it to Sandilands. However, we didn't have the same level of trouble in Q2,3&4.. Obviously Dimma changed something - Positive for the coach..
- McGuane.. Don't drop him but needs a few stern words from Dimma about accountability, leadership and decision making. Should be made aware that if he's form does not improve, he will be dropped for Moore to come back in.
IMO our three tall defenders rated like this today: Rance>>>>Grimes>>>>>>>>>>McGuane

Positives:

We went toe-to-toe with a high scoring side for four quarters and simply out-punched them at the end. Considering how many kids we're carrying, to play a game out like that is very exciting.

Nahas has gone from nowhere to being very close to our most important player of late. Some people may scoff at that, after all, it's a very recent thing, but the way he links us together through the corridor tearing around at a speed which makes him virtually impossible to shut down is just pure gold in this era. His work-rate brings others into the game, lifts the side and keeps us competitive during flat periods, he's been a massive factor in our improvement. If he stays fit enough to keep working at the rate he currently is, the sky's the limit.

Conca was very good, outstanding game from a kid his age, but I really like the fact that he'll be learning a lot from his tape this week when he watches the time he spent on Pavlich in the middle and a few other examples from his game.

Edwards had a much better game and was important, good to see him striking some form after a few poor efforts, got enough ball both loose and contested and used it pretty well.

Backline transition to attack is improving very nicely over the last three weeks and we're breaking lines better than we have at any other time this century because we're finally assembling the right personnel with the right skill set.

Our field kicking has improved dramatically, mostly because of our improved ability to do the two things which most help to improve field kicking effectiveness - hold marks from passes out in front when leading around the ground, and provide good options through hard, smart running. And of course, we also just kicked better than we often have in the past. ;)

We broke even in our Sandilands tactical battle: the decision to concede Sandilands most CB hitouts in the first half (when Graham HAD to win a hitout - deep in defence etc. - he usually did) and use Graham as an extra at ground level often didn't really work because we were pretty poor defensively as a midfield unit, but we did get a win by conserving Graham in the first half, wearing Sandilands down and making sure he couldn't dictate the end of the game. We couldn't afford a situation where both Sandilands and Graham were spent and Graham couldn't overcome his height disadvantage with leap when the game was in the balance. Graham helped a great deal by making many of what hitouts he did go after be to advantage and by making himself useful around the ground. Leading tackler for the game and he stood up exactly on cue with those key plays in the 3Q. It was close to being a career-high game rating for him, so he did well with the hitouts he got, did well around the ground and we can't ask much more than that considering the opposition. Thankfully, Sandilands won't play forever.

Our backline was tremendous defensively without the experience of Moore or Thursfield, and with McGuane the passenger amongst a young bunch of kids that are going past him like he's standing still. Rance has all the tools to be a really great key defender and the flexibility to play any of the three tall roles down back, Grimes has added a lot to our ability to double-team in the air and our general aerial defence without detracting too much from our rebound, Batchelor already resembles a 100-gamer at times with his footy smarts, competitiveness and skill, and Grigg is a solid customer with plenty of improvement left in him.

Forwardline structure and spread of goalkickers is very pleasing - much like our backline, we're improving rapidly.

Negatives:

As briefly mentioned earlier, we were poor defensively in the midfield and while it was a good win with a stack of positives, in the end we were lucky Fremantle couldn't capitalise on the staggering number of way too easy centre clearances they had. On today's midfield effort, we would have been smashed by a number of teams (or indeed Freo on one of their better days) who have more dominant key forwards and their mids hitting them up well. This had little to do with Sandilands' dominance, everyone was roving to him, it had to do with some of our setups, but mostly it's the fact that bar Jackson and Graham, none of the others who are rotating through the centre are currently good enough defensively consistently enough. As Hardwick said post-match, we mostly work hard for our goals and we need to make the opposition do the same, not waltz out of the centre without being challenged (let alone tackled) and then being able to kick quick reply goals at will.

In the coming weeks the coaching staff will have to decide whether they want to persist with the mix we played today and hope they'll learn to apply the necessary defensive pressure quickly enough for it not to kill our season off, or bring Tuck in and fix it immediately.

Personally, as I may have pointed out once or twice already :p, I favour the option of fixing it with Tuck ASAP - I think we'll probably only play finals if we go that way and I think the benefits for player confidence, club morale and player development outside of this one midfield role far outweigh the arguments for development of the young mids - they can still learn on their individual opponent with Tuck alongside.

Changes:

Webberley for White if he doesn't come up
McGuane out if anybody has good recent Burger form or Moore is ready. Like to see Astbury back in the side soon.

I want Jack to fly for most marks but one yesterday could of ended up very bad if he didnt clip someone on the way down, he was seriously going to fall on his head. Hes already basically knocked himself out doing it so i think he needs to be a bit more smarter in some of these situations.

Out: Miller
In: Post
Miller doesn't have pace or jumping ability to provide a good tall target. He does the 1%'s, but anyone can give off a handball and use their body :cool:

Were you at the game MT? Miller should not be dropped. His body work and lead up work is why we are starting to get a spread of goals. He's not kicking bags, but if you have any idea of forward work, you'd realise he is definately helping create them. He aint going anywhere and this hard on thing for Post has to stop.

I want Jack to fly for most marks but one yesterday could of ended up very bad if he didnt clip someone on the way down, he was seriously going to fall on his head. Hes already basically knocked himself out doing it so i think he needs to be a bit more smarter in some of these situations.

I thought he actually got pushed during that contest- call it tunneling or a push in the back but it wasn't Riewoldt's doing that he ended up horizontal

It's very tough to find negatives in such a ripping win...
But I do think it's a little disappointing to have had 4 tigers not register a single tackle for the day. I'll excuse Nason as he only came on in the last... but even then, you'd expect the sub to have the intensity that would result in a tackle or two. Having said that, we did starve Freo of the ball... so if Nason wanted to register a tackle, he probably would have had to try and tackle one of our own instead.

However, the same cannot be said for Vickey, Grigg and White.
Especially Grigg - 85% game time. Also, isn't White playing a defensive foward role? No excuse for him not to be registering a tackle.

On a positive note, really liked our unslelfishness. In particular Kingy with his handball over the top to Nahas in the goal square. As much as I wanted to see him take on a defender without even flinching (as he did against Stiller last week), was great to see his unselfishness in dishing off to Robin who capped off a great game with his 4th major.

Jack's left foot. Been mentioned a couple of times.. but his kick to Cotch on the run was superb. There was another similar around the body kick on his left which ended up in a goal late in the fourth also.

Grimes - starting to back himself a little more with taking grabs rather than going the fist. Did manage to register another 14 spoils though. Seriously, this guy is a punching machine.

it was good to see us competitive in the first qtr.
it was good to see us win a good 4 qtr contest - that's the first time i've seen freo this year, they're not bad. we certainly didn't have it all our own way.
it was good to see the team stay switched on for 4 qtr.s

all players made great contributions at certain times. - the backline seemed to lift in the last qtr. not all our stars dominated but they were well covered by the new recruits - all of them had very good games.

10 goal kickers, bags of 4 to midfielders and small fwds. was great. means that Jack's 4 are like icing on the cake.
conca had a very good game (not rising star level, but good contribution)

it was good to see us smash any side let alone a top 4 side with skills,confidence and belief.

before the game i was quietly confident that we could win, jeez next week? the dogs? could we?

Positives:
Our variety of goal kickers. No longer are we predictable to the opposition.
Our last quarter where we sniffed blood and went for the kill.
Our 3rd quarter where we tore Freo apart.
The coming of age of guys like Vickery Rance Nahas White & King
Matt Whites courage in the second half where he took that mark at CHB and set up a goal then ran head on into a contest.
We are in the 8 currently and it seems like West Coast is not going to win the game against Essendon

Negatives:
McGuanes first 3 quarters which nearly cost us the game.
Our inability in the first quarter to clear our backline, will cost us one day.
Melbourne seems to have the Adelaide in their hands and we are not going to be in the 8

Changes:
If White is injured then out for Webberley.

I'll deviate a little from the Positive/Negative/Change format if I may, and bring up a huge strength of our game last night.

Disposal efficiency. We were absolutely amazing, 77% or something. Re-watching the second half online, every kick hits the target, and the decisions as well as the skills were impeccable :thumbsu:

Barring any enforced changes tipping we go in unchanged for the next game. Sends a message to the bulldogs who are bordering on a rabble with the in house shit fight that is unfolding atm. ;)