Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Yet to meet a rude player.

Probably the nicest player was Ben Hart (We are talking back in the mid to late 90s when i was a teen)

Can confirm.

He sat in an airport waiting lounge next to my mate. My mate said absolutely down to earth champion bloke up for a yarn.
Met Hirdy a few times at work and just in public.

Not sure if it would still happen now but even 5 years ago he was having multiple people come up to him when going about his day and he'd always be polite and cordial and give them some time.

If I had only ever had my interactions with him I would say he's a thoroughly decent bloke.

A mate of mine has been to Hawthorn footy clinics for the kids in 2023 and 2024.

During the first session in 2023 he said all the Hawthorn blokes were friendly and polite to everyone except Jai Newcombe.
He assumed Newcombe was just having a prick of a day and didn't think anything of it.

The following session in 2024, he once again noted that all the Hawks blokes were absolute rippers to the kids and parents, aside from...you guessed it...Jai Newcombe.

A mate of mine has been to Hawthorn footy clinics for the kids in 2023 and 2024.

During the first session in 2023 he said all the Hawthorn blokes were friendly and polite to everyone except Jai Newcombe.
He assumed Newcombe was just having a prick of a day and didn't think anything of it.

The following session in 2024, he once again noted that all the Hawks blokes were absolute rippers to the kids and parents, aside from...you guessed it...Jai Newcombe.
I reckon he's shy. Doesn't sound like he likes being around people (who doesn't ;) )

Simon Madden just about the nicest I’ve met, I reckon. Incredibly humble, friendly and comfortable talking to anyone.

I used to play basketball against him a lot, his team also sometimes had Stephen Alessio and Michael Long. Madden was a really nice guy, frustrating to play against though, he was crap but every time he'd miss he'd get the rebound and eventually score. Long dribbled between my legs one game ☺️

Wayne Harmes coached our local footy side for a few years. Claims he is a Richmond supporter these days. He is a different cat.

Hasn't Harmesy always barracked for the Tigs?

Thought I read somewhere he saw playing for Carlton as his job but was a true Tigs fan.

I feel like his maternal grandfather, Len Smith, might've coached the Tigs.

Chad Cornes was the nicest i've met I gave a shot of chartreuse one night and he went to the toilet for a spew and came back and gave us high fives.
Primus and Darryl Wakelin were dicks

Had lunch sat next to and drinks afterwards with Tex Walker a while back.

Realise i'm coming from a place of significant bias, but one of the all time best blokes to have a beer with i've ever come across.

I was having breakfast with my family (wife and 2 young kids) in Fremantle last year when the crows were in town.

My kids were running around going nuts as usual. I was trying to calm them down but it was hard.

Tex stopped and chatted to us for 2-3 mins about his own kids. Sloane did too. Having a laugh pretending to chase my kids. Great guys.

You could tell other guys like Keays probably didn’t have kids as they weren’t interested (and probably a little annoyed).

Not that there’s anything wrong with that. At that age I wouldn’t be interested in kids either. All up there were about 8 crows there and they were all very pleasant.

I was having breakfast with my family (wife and 2 young kids) in Fremantle last year when the crows were in town.

My kids were running around going nuts as usual. I was trying to calm them down but it was hard.

Tex stopped and chatted to us for 2-3 mins about his own kids. Sloane did too. Having a laugh pretending to chase my kids. Great guys.

You could tell other guys like Keays probably didn’t have kids as they weren’t interested (and probably a little annoyed).

Not that there’s anything wrong with that. At that age I wouldn’t be interested in kids either. All up there were about 8 crows there and they were all very pleasant.
Oh, Tex wasn't pretending.

Met David Rodan on a construction site
Absolute gentleman, happy to chat about footy
Even suggested to take a selfie with me and some work mates just a ripping human.

I look forward to the steady transition to inevitably get to this sort of stuff - starting a video on your phone and saying a few obligatory nice things about a person (when they're at the airport of all places) and then expecting them to be nice and responsive to them.

I'm actually surprised at how many people seem to be polite to this guy: it's one thing to simply go up to a public figure and say 'hello, big fan...etc.' but when you start recording someone on your phone when you're still walking up to them, they have every right to tell you to bugger off.

You'll struggle to meet a better bloke than Luke Beveridge. Genuinely a 10/10 human being.

Tim Clarke, Shane Crawford, Luke Breust and Darren Glass are the standouts I've encountered in my years following footy. All top-shelf humans.

Buddy was a mixed bag on the surface for most of his Hawthorn days, but he was just a kid at the time.

Brad Hill is a good dude who makes an arse of himself on the piss.

I've had poor experiences with Brad Johnson and Garry Lyon, but it's not right to judge someone's character off a singular instance (at least not the former).

Have heard nothing but wonderful things about Crawford.

Perhaps one of the best stories I heard was one about a young boy who had lined up for ages to get an autograph and say hi but freaked out and froze up when he got to Shane. Shane apparently told his dad to wait around later and then had a kick of a footy with the boy when there was nobody else around.

Stuff like that hits you in the feels.

Can confirm.

He sat in an airport waiting lounge next to my mate. My mate said absolutely down to earth champion bloke up for a yarn.
I can confirm this too. I met Hird a few times when he was at his peak as a footballer and he was very friendly and down to earth.

Met David Rodan on a construction site
Absolute gentleman, happy to chat about footy
Even suggested to take a selfie with me and some work mates just a ripping human.
Back in the day, I had a mate who had AFL Live 2003 on the PS2. He'd always pick Richmond, and every single game, Rodan would absolutely tear me apart. He'd grab the ball in the back pocket and run the length of the field while my players would randomly fall over trying to tackle him, as was the style at the time. I've had it in for him ever since.

Met Nathan Buckley on the ground at Vic Park as a 10 year old, asked for an autograph for myself and my mate on a couple of footy cards, told me to F'k off o_O

It was after a loss and not sure it was directed at me or just a general get away from me to the crowd but it broke my little heart. Still love the bloke and always have but FIGJAM was right back in those days.

Bailey Fristch is an A class flog, Dayne Zorko is all show for camera's but an absolute self obsessed spanner of the highest order.

James Harmes is a legend.

Bailey Fristch is an A class flog
shocked philip j fry GIF

I have plenty to do with the Swans and Giants pretty much every week up here in Sydney.

Yet to meet one of them who isn't a good a good bloke - shout out to Tom Green (very outspoken but very good guy), Errol Gulden, Callan Ward and Finn Callaghan (cracking bloke).

Adam Kingsley, Dean Cox and Brett Kirk (unsurprisingly) also really easy to talk to and happy to chat.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?