Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Used to work with his wife, so met him at least once at a work Christmas do.

Absolutely lovely dude and his wife was an all round gorgeous human, inside and out.

tenor.gif

Met Shane Edwards at the Bridge Hotel years ago. Beautiful man.

It was when he was coaching Footscray in the 80's, at a Collingwood v Footscray game at Vic Park.

I was sitting on stairs unbeknownst to me that lead to the coaches box. The quarter time siren went and Mick came storming down the stairs and whacked me over the back of the head, and told me to 'get out of the ****ing way you little campaigner'.
How did it feel when it was announced he was going to coach Collingwood after that?

One of the funniest past players I heard in a fan interview was St Kilda's Troy Schwarze, when he was roasting his past coaches like Malcolm Blight for being absent from St Kilda's playing group in 2001, making jokes that he was hiding in the bushes. And that Blight really couldn't careless about coaching St Kilda, so much so he would just make up stuff about him when they did a meeting, Blight had checked out that much by 2001. Likewise roasting Tim Watson for being a cold and nasty person threatening to demote him if he ever suggested getting together outside of footy again. Ripping interview.

I was a young fella in the Hawks rooms at Waverley in the late 80s.
Was shyly standing in the corner with my autograph book and Gary Buckenara came over , introduced himself then spent about 10 minutes taking me around to every player getting them to sign the book for me
Champion fella , never have forgotten it .

Know its not Aussie Rules but whilst I haven't met many of the current players all the Storm players I've met have been lovely. Antonio Kaufusi shouted us all drinks.

Billy Slater and Cam Smith very nice as well.

Haven’t met many current players but met dozens of previous ones when I was covering sport. Plenty of supercar drivers as well (I worked in Bathurst).
Lowndes was one of the nicest blokes you’d ever meet based on every interaction I ever had. David Reynolds was hilarious but hasn’t got a PC bone in his body. John Bowe was a legend.

Funniest interaction I ever had with anyone famous was when I was at uni, the Newcastle knights had a famous ‘scandal’ where a player ended up sacked for an incident. I was in the dorm where it happened. Mark Hughes (famous now for the Mark Hughes foundation but played Origin and famous for his love of a beer, and I was about 15 deep and just back from the pub) appeared randomly at our common room window and asked if I was keen for a couple: ‘I’m staying at the motel next door, are you on the cans mate?’
‘Holy shit, you’re mark Hughes!!! Yeah mate come in!’

In roll him and about 6 teammates and, well, carnage followed. He was well behaved and just talked footy with me for an hour and had a few beers but a few of his teammates well, they didn’t exactly cover themselves in glory.

Yeah you can't judge someone from one interraction, though a recurring pattern might suggest something.

I think many players celebs also feel they have to put on a good face in public, especially nowadays.

I've met Jai. I think he's just really shy and reserved which can come off as stand offish. Seems to have opened up a bit more recently and doing some more media work for the club.

Guy Rigoni.

Ripping fella. Met him at the Lorne Hotel about 20 years ago. Played pool with him and his mates, he was great. Jeff White was there and was good value as well.

It’s good to see the same names keep popping up. Myself or a friend has had great interactions with Ablett, Crawford, Richo.

Dermott and David King are both great. Both just love to talk footy. Dermott in particular would give you his left arm if he could.

Bontempelli is as you’d expect. Very much like Selwood where they’ll do anything to make a kid smile.

Had some bad experiences with players. Taylor Walker, Matthew Jaensh, Brad Crouch. Absolute flogs who don’t know how to handle their drink. Luke Dahlhaus was lovely to me sober, an absolute prick to me when not so sober. Nick Watson, incredibly arrogant and won’t talk to someone unless they’re an AFL player.

A few mates have met Mark Rucitto and say he’s just awesome to be around. One of those guys that you can feel the whole room change for the better as soon as he walks in.
Dermott is one of the best blokes you’ll ever meet. Had a big chat to him at a Cricket function years back and he was great value. Bumped into him in an elevator at the G 6 months later and he remembered me. Really good guy.

Nicest - Jack Darling when I looked after his firstborn. Such a stressful time for him and his wife but he was so kind /chatty /as interested in me as I was him

Rudest - Brendon Goddard. Refused to shake my hand , look me in the eye or even acknowledge my greeting at the coin toss.
Goddard is a prick. Lots of blokes from that Saints era were as well. Milne tried to steal my taxi outside a club in Brighton one night. Shocking bloke. Baker was a flog as well.

Yeah we need to be careful with equating "giving me, ie, a stranger, the time of day" with being a "good bloke"

All good if they are at a proper thing like a footy clinic or something - if you phone it in there that's pretty shit.

But out and about? Yeah being noticed is the proce of fame and all, but they don't really owe us anything in that scenario.
Yeah, exactly. It must be somewhat akin to when you're on the train, earphones in, and someone opposite you decides that they absolutely MUST have a conversation, except it happens every time. Would drive me mental.

Nick Watson, to nobody’s surprise, was rude to my wait staff friend. He got the impression that Nick considered him inferior - wouldn’t make eye contact and talked like he was giving orders.

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?