Rudest/Nicest player you've met?

Was at a Port game a couple of months ago and NRiewoldt and Kcornes were doing their thing by the away race.
My Wife loves Rooey so I said go ask him for a selfie.
She went down to the fence but he didnt go over near her and she came back sulky.

I said go back down and ask Kane, he wont say no as it'll boost his ego, then once you get him ask him to get Roo.
So down she goes, jags Kane, hits him up to get Roo, you could see by his body language he knew he was bait.
Sure enough Roo came over and obliged.
She was stoked.

As he has just retired...

Luke Breust is one of the nicest, most humble genuine people ever to play the game...

Goddard is a prick. Lots of blokes from that Saints era were as well. Milne tried to steal my taxi outside a club in Brighton one night. Shocking bloke. Baker was a flog as well.
Funny I had a great time with Bakes . Was shooting hoops opposite to him and yelled to him he was a champ then invited me to join him in shooting around. Was a total ledge about it.

Rudest: Mick Malthouse - Slapped me across the back of the head when I was a kid. Prick.

Nicest: Peter Moore - Replied to my letters I sent him when I was a kid, and even sent me a signed Photograph. Met him at Eltham years later and even chatted with him.
Another Good'un from the Collingwood files: Peter McKenna. Met him while at a music shop in Preston, we were just chatting away (as ya do) while noodling away on one of the guitars there.

It was only when the shop owner mentioned that this old bloke had actually scored a hit single in Australia that I clocked onto who he was (Smile all the While - check it out!). Had a good chat about the footy, Geelong and Collingwood - he said that this young Hawkins looked good, but just needed some confidence. Sadly for Peter, he found some at the worst time for the CFC...

Another Good'un from the Collingwood files: Peter McKenna. Met him while at a music shop in Preston, we were just chatting away (as ya do) while noodling away on one of the guitars there.

It was only when the shop owner mentioned that this old bloke had actually scored a hit single in Australia that I clocked onto who he was (Smile all the While - check it out!). Had a good chat about the footy, Geelong and Collingwood - he said that this young Hawkins looked good, but just needed some confidence. Sadly for Peter, he found some at the worst time for the CFC...

Remember chatting to him at the 1996 Brownlow. Seemed like a great guy and was happy to talk footy, tell stories, the works.

As he has just retired...

Luke Breust is one of the nicest, most humble genuine people ever to play the game...

He's the epitome of someone who has let his footy do the talking for him.

Staggering to think even now he's still underrated. If you asked who was the best small/medium forward of the last 20 years, he'd barely get a mention. Hard to think of anyone better in terms of actual output (i.e. kicking goals).

He's the epitome of someone who has let his footy do the talking for him.

Staggering to think even now he's still underrated. If you asked who was the best small/medium forward of the last 20 years, he'd barely get a mention. Hard to think of anyone better in terms of actual output (i.e. kicking goals).
Has to be the best small forward of the last 15 years.

Sadly, as a Pies supporter, I've read far too many similar fan encounters that reaffirm this opinion
Not sure if people have it in for Darcy Moore and he's actually the most lovely bloke going around, or if he's a genuine rank human.

But fair to say there's a lot of negativity on Bigfooty about Moore.

Not sure if people have it in for Darcy Moore and he's actually the most lovely bloke going around, or if he's a genuine rank human.

But fair to say there's a lot of negativity on Bigfooty about Moore.
I’ve come across him a few times and always have had a positive experience. Every time he has been up for a chat and a photo.

People behind the keyboard seem to speculate the same about McRae yet every person who has actually met him has also experienced the same.

There’s a pattern of gross footy fans trying to tear down genuinely good people.

I’ve come across him a few times and always have had a positive experience. Every time he has been up for a chat and a photo.

People behind the keyboard seem to speculate the same about McRae yet every person who has actually met him has also experienced the same.

There’s a pattern of gross footy fans trying to tear down genuinely good people.
happens in every sport.

only time i met darcy moore he was respectful and friendly to everyone. very peculiar stuff

Did he spew up on the kid?
He didn't care about the kid, he just wanted any excuse to get out of there and hit the tanning salon

We'd been looking forward to that day for months, small school where nothing ever happened

Shocking bloke, absolute prick👎

Terry Wallace came to our school in 1978 for a clinic, called it off after five minutes because ONE KID (who hated sport) stuffed around

Absolute flog
Reminds me of a story from my primary school days about former SA Cricket Captain, Les Favell.

He came to our country primary school in the mid 1970's to do a days cricket coaching (some other SA players came as well but I cant remember who they were but I think Jeff Hammond may have been one of them)

We were told by Les to sit down on the oval and he would do some talking before we started with the bats and balls.

One of my mates (who hated cricket and couldn't give a shit) was carrying on a bit and Les walked over, grabbed him by the arm, dragged him out in front of the rest of us and gave him a whack on the arse with a bat he was holding and told him to stop being disrespectful and that he (Favell) was not going to waste his time if 'you young blokes don't want to listen'

No joke. Imagine doing that today..

I was 10 at the time and my everlasting memory of that day (apart from my mate getting whacked) was that Favell was a very arrogant and grumpy man.

Excluding football-adjacent events, these blokes in 'the wild' left the following impressions:

Neil Kerley, Ken Hunter, Jimmy Buckley and Simon Black had time for everyone.

Richo and Ben Harrison were terrific despite the fact some of the boys were annoying the crap out of them in the mid-90s.

Kept it together well despite being under the influence: Arnold Briedis, Andrew Lovett, Sharrod Wellingham, Stevie Motlop, Daisy Thomas, Leigh Montagna, Sam Fisher.

Bob Murphy was the worst. Marc Murphy was also a jackass.

80/20 rule applies. Mostly nice.
ABC woke peanut

Reminds me of a story from my primary school days about former SA Cricket Captain, Les Favell.

He came to our country primary school in the mid 1970's to do a days cricket coaching (some other SA players came as well but I cant remember who they were but I think Jeff Hammond may have been one of them)

We were told by Les to sit down on the oval and he would do some talking before we started with the bats and balls.

One of my mates (who hated cricket and couldn't give a shit) was carrying on a bit and Les walked over, grabbed him by the arm, dragged him out in front of the rest of us and gave him a whack on the arse with a bat he was holding and told him to stop being disrespectful and that he (Favell) was not going to waste his time if 'you young blokes don't want to listen'

No joke. Imagine doing that today..

I was 10 at the time and my everlasting memory of that day (apart from my mate getting whacked) was that Favell was a very arrogant and grumpy man.

Is it wrong that I sort of sympathise with Les here?

Rudest/Nicest player you've met?