Rumour File #4.

Malthouse = Pagan.

If Malthouse was still that great, he'd be coaching Collingwood from 2012, not Buckley.

Every coach has a use by date.

Perhaps but it's rarely one year post a premiership, a premiership that most would acknowledge was built on teamwork and strategy rather than a few star players.

Reality is that malthouse has now won flags or made grand finals with 3 different teams with three different playing sides over three different eras. For mine, that is more impressive than a Matthews, who won flags with a side containing 3 brownlow medalists, the best CHF in theg ame and umpteen other AAs.

Only reason MM isn't there next year is because Eddie shot his load off too early and was made to look liken a fool when they won the flag last year.

It's absolutely nothing like Pagan, who inherited a terrible list and was pressuerd to draft recycled hacks in an effort to remain competitive.

1. His appointment will see us play that boring, lock down Sydney style of football
Couldn't give a stuff about point 1 if it got us a premiership

I always find this an interesting view - surely the pleasure of a premiership can only first be built through pleasure of watching the team.

As an extreme example, would you not care if all Collingwood & Carlton players switched teams, since it will likely give us a premiership?

I don't think it's as simple as assuming Roos will have us play boring lock down footy, but I certainly would care if Carlton adopted an ugly style of play under any coach.

I always find this an interesting view - surely the pleasure of a premiership can only first be built through pleasure of watching the team.

As an extreme example, would you not care if all Collingwood & Carlton players switched teams, since it will likely give us a premiership?

I don't think it's as simple as assuming Roos will have us play boring lock down footy, but I certainly would care if Carlton adopted an ugly style of play under any coach.

It is certainly an interesting discussion.

Put it this way - I'd rather see us play boring footy and win the flag, then play entertaining footy and not have the ability to go all the way.

Sydney fans and the club as a whole copped a hell of a lot of crap at the time for playing an unattractive brand of footy. But if you asked them now retrospectively, do you think they'd swap the flag in favour of playing fast flowing and attractive footy, if it meant they fell short of the flag?

Not a chance in hell.

A premiership is a premiership. It isn't devalued or thought anything less of down the track if it is won using 'boring' tactics. It may cop criticism at the time, like it did in Sydney, but that's pretty quickly forgotten.

The ideal, of course, would be to somehow find a way to play attractive footy that wins a flag, but that may not always be a reality.

The pleasure of winning a premiership, for the fans, shouldn't be diminished by how it came about. It may take time to adjust to a more boring game style, but once the supporters are over that initial period of transformation, I'd guarrantee that it won't matter one iota how they play.

Not sure how the Carlton/Collingwood players switching teams is relevant to this discussion.

Your extreme example is as you know odious. I would not care if all Collingwood players came to Carlton subject to being able to fit them into an expanded list (i.e. the AFL giving us that benefit). Of course anyone would loathe to see all of Carlton's players going to Collingwood - it would be unthinkable to see our players so perverted.

Not sure how the Carlton/Collingwood players switching teams is relevant to this discussion

Thought that would be clear (albeit unrealistic).

If someone is prepared to accept an ugly style of footy if it ensures premiership success, I was curious as to where the line is drawn, or even if there is one. Would that same person also not care if all our players were replaced with another team if that too ensured premiership success.

Anyway, not the thread for this discussion I guess, but an interesting topic nonetheless.

So when is our 'debt demolishion' happening? It seems other clubs have done this with great effect.

I dont think this is panic button time, but the finger is definitely hovering over the button, IMO. I do not like the fact that we are budgeting on paying off these debts through unstable and unreliable (i.e. pokie machines). On top of this I also don't like the fact that we are relying on the AFL and our banks to 'roll-over' our loans to next year. While Swanny seems more than confident they will receive this, a couple of interest rate drops might see the bank do a total back-flip.

I would love to see something along the lines of a debt demolition, could easily wipe a few million off our total amount owing. After all the positive publicity we received during Pratt's time at the club in regards to our financial state, i think it's a bit of a reality check that we are still nowhere near out of the dark yet!

Pertains to financial 'mis-management' of the club.

Good get Blues_fc...

Credit to your source on this story and for sharing...

Not what we want to hear but the debt will be wiped fairly quickly once we get full control of the pokies venues...

Lol, this is nothing new. As Swann said, the loans have been rolling over for a few years now.

Whilst I hope we do clear off most of the debt, its not panic stations like the article suggests.

Lol, this is nothing new. As Swann said, the loans have been rolling over for a few years now.

Whilst I hope we do clear off most of the debt, its not panic stations like the article suggests.

It's been too positive down out Blueland, so we were due for a nothing/negative article...

Heard a rumour that Murphy stated in a press interview that he was injured for the first half of 2010, and when the PooMonkey brought that fact to the attention of this board, he was shot down

Poor form

Heard a rumour that Murphy stated in a press interview that he was injured for the first half of 2010, and when the PooMonkey brought that fact to the attention of this board, he was shot down

Poor form
Piss off dennis you flog. This is what ApeShit had to say

hahahaha

the fact that you are still dirty on that shows that "the murphy" thread was the greatest Troll of all time.....hahahaha

Didn't know he wrote that.

PooMonkey is a flog and I withdraw my support on that issue (even though I still believe he did not lie about what he heard)

Carry on

I recall (couldnt be fagged looking it up, its boring this time of year but not that boring) him saying that Murph had Ost Pub and would miss the following game. Murph played, nuff said about that nuff nuff.