Play Nice Scott Morrison 2.0 - How Long? Part 8 - Lose Unit. Game Over, Bulldozer. Cont in Part 9

May 13, 2008
Part 5 is here:

Part 6 is here:

Part 7 is here:

Part 9 is here:

Last edited by a moderator:
It found 47 per cent of respondents held negative views towards Chinese Australians.

Nearly half of all participants also expressed negative feelings towards Iraqis and Sudanese, and above 40 per cent held negative attitudes towards Lebanese Australians.

When it comes to religion, intolerance towards Muslims remains far higher than any other faith group with 37 per cent indicating a "negative view" towards those who follow Islam.

More Australians now hold negative views towards Chinese Australians (not just Chinese, Chinese Australians) than Lebanese or Muslim Australians. And we know how vicious the slandering of Muslims has been from the right to win elections. And they now know there's more hated views towards Chinese Australians. It doesn't take a genius to see what is about to occur.

The next 3 months are not going to be a good time to be ethnically Chinese or Asian (the bogans won't see a difference) in Australia, and this will incur permanent harm in our relationship with Asia.

Australians, like humans in general, are suspicious towards people who don't behave 'like them'. It is true that, for this reason, cultures clash. This state of affairs is neither admirable nor ideal and should be stamped out, but suspicion towards those who engage in non-mainstream cultural practices sadly doesn't surprise me.

However, Australians as a whole have never been enthusiastic about endorsing openly xenophobic/racist parties like ON, and there's a reason for that.

It's partially for reputational reasons (Australians don't want to see themselves as racist/xenophobic, or endorsing such), but also because holding negative views about a certain ethnic group doesn't mean that you dislike them just for existing. For instance, there's a real dog-eat-dog element to Chinese culture, as I've experienced it anyway, that I've always found repellent. There's also little to no trust outside social networks in China, or so I've heard. Australians don't have such a low-trust culture yet, despite the best efforts of those that shall not be named. EDIT: And yet, one of my school friends was from Nanjing.

Also, the more exposure one has to different ethnic groups and cultures, the more accustomed one becomes to them, especially if they're exposed from a young age. So I think these sentiments would be strongest in the regions - but the LNP hold almost all regional seats, anyway.

They hate us First Nations people as well.

So what.

We are a racist country, fuelled by the media.
The only ones they hate more is indigenous, immigrants of colour and women that are successful - uppity. Might be their issue with Chinese - dominating VCE results and doing so well in business, borne from their steely work ethic.

Has anyone at fed level made a comment about what’s happening in Canada? I find it staggering if not.

Because those trucker protests are as consequential as the Canberra protests recently. Ie they're not. The vast majority of Canadians are vaccinated, including truckers, the majority support mandates, the majority want the disruptive protests to end, the far right organising these protests have nowhere near the level of influence as they do in the US.

Just because Fox News, Joe Rogan, Shapiro and all the conspiracy pushers in the US are saying it's a widely supported revolution doesn't make it so.

The only ones they hate more is indigenous, immigrants of colour and women that are successful - uppity. Might be their issue with Chinese and asians dominating VCE results and doing so well in business, borne from their steely work ethic.

Oh yeah. Look at a list of pictures of high achieving students, on social media or in real life with the wrong crowd and you get "spot the Aussie" type comments

There's a large number of Australians who associate "Australian" with "white Anglo Saxon".

The only ones they hate more is indigenous, immigrants of colour and women that are successful - uppity. Might be their issue with Chinese and asians dominating VCE results and doing so well in business, borne from their steely work ethic.
That’s a big stereotype you are playing into

Because those trucker protests are as consequential as the Canberra protests recently. Ie they're not. The vast majority of Canadians are vaccinated, including truckers, the majority support mandates, the majority want the disruptive protests to end, the far right organising these protests have nowhere near the level of influence as they do in the US.

Just because Fox News, Joe Rogan, Shapiro and all the conspiracy pushers in the US are saying it's a widely supported revolution doesn't make it so.

Not supporting protests, it’s a waste of time, but mate.. freezing bank accounts is fk* cooked.

Djokovic will handle himself in front of the international media a hell of a lot better than Scumo. Scumo will run from it imo. Wonder what the next “issue” we’ll have that takes our attention away from his latest stuff up.

Picked it like a dirty nose a month ago.

That’s a big stereotype you are playing into

Tended to be the case with every wave of immigrants. They work 2/3 jobs and expect their children to apply themselves.

People who have ‘got up and gone’ tend to have ‘get up and go’ - they believe anything can be achieved through hard work and diligence.

Tended to be the case with every wave of immigrants. They work 2/3 jobs and expect their children to apply themselves.

People who have ‘got up and gone’ tend to have ‘get up and go’ - they believe anything can be achieved through hard work and diligence.
It’s still a stereotype that’s being applied, yea it does happen no doubt about that but it’s not always the case.

In general, I side with the second view (any election victory is good, and if you lose too often, a fear of success may take over because you're so used to losing), but 2019 may be one of the few exceptions.

This is because no government would want to handle a pandemic + a serious recession during their term, especially if said pandemic and economic difficulties resurface in different forms. That's a crisis situation, and in crisis situations governments make mistakes, even relatively competent ones. People are generally pretty forgiving of such mistakes if it looks like you're at least taking the pandemic threat seriously, but as Dan Andrews discovered, people become altogether less charitable if the body count increases due to your mistakes. From memory more Victorians than not supported him, so he would have retained a majority had an election been held that year, but IMO not a comfortable one because there was a lot of anger over that, and he may have felt forced to resign in the face of an emboldened opposition. Luckily for him, he did not have to make that choice.

Assuming that the polls were accurate in 2019, the ALP would have 80 seats to play with - a clear majority, but far from insurmountable. They would have handled the pandemic better than the LNP on the whole, but ScoMo would have ruthlessly seized on any mistake. The Murdoch media are overrated in terms of winning elections IMO, but they would have given him some heft, especially if "LABOR'S DEBT" increased, as would inevitably have happened. Quite a few people would have bought this.

A massive recession would also still have occured, (unfairly) justifying the ALP's reputation as poorer economic managers than the LNP. Plus, mistakes would inevitably have been made RE vaccine rollouts/border closures/Delta/OMICRON. The Higgins controversy would not have affected the ALP directly per se, but it may well have emboldened someone from the ALP side to speak up, hurting him more than ScoMo since he would be running the government and so be perceived to be more responsible for what's going on in Parliament House (not to mention that those old rape allegations would have been raised, not unlike with Porter). This is not unlike how the Higgins controversy represented the first real chink in ScoMo's polling armour, since it was not a normal controversy, but rather a blood crime (rape) which was gaining momentum rather than fizzling out within a couple of weeks like other controversies.

The ALP's more competent handling of events would enable them to remain competitive, but they faced a tenacious, aggressive individual who knew how to market himself against an incumbent that IMO would never truly have been popular - and moreover, since ScoMo hadn't become PM, his flaws in that role wouldn't yet have been exposed. Many more people would have been inclined to give him a go, especially since some deaths would have occurred, especially among older people, and that would have increased anger towards Shorten. The polls wouldn't have been 45-55, but it'd be a repeat of 2010, with Shorten needing to save the day with his superior negotiation skills. Even if he did though, the ALP would have lost handily in 2028. If he couldn't, then it'd be difficult for the ALP to actually win government for a while because the 'LABOR'S DEBT' and 'LABOR'S RECESSION' would have stuck to them for at least 2 terms.

From a humane perspective, the ALP's loss in 2019 was a tragedy. However, from a political perspective, the LNP have had to raise debt, they've endured several economic slumps and they've more or less given up any pretence of good governance. Plus, the party has visibly been falling apart, with ScoMo's colleagues openly undermining him RE the RDA signifying his lack of internal authority. Moreover, Albanese is more Beazley than Shorten - he's uncharismatic, but he's so grey that it's hard to define him particularly negatively - not unlike Howard in 1995.

Having no other options, and not really being able to campaign on trust - since ScoMo is widely distrusted whereas Albo isn't - they've tried to create a Tampa out of China. For reasons I've outlined yesterday, I think that strategy will ultimately be self-defeating.

Given how the LNP are visibly falling apart, they'd better hope that the economy is well and truly booming come May, and that COVID has been forgotten.

Could this happen? Well, online spending has picked up and the jobless rate is encouraging, which suggests that wages should grow in-between now and May. On the other hand, I suspect the jobless rate is as low as it is partially because people have been discouraged from looking for work due to there being a pandemic resulting in mass business closures and shadow lockdowns, plus Centrelink doesn't register all of Australia's unemployed - only the unemployed who register with them.

I don't think COVID will be forgotten - seeing your relatives die to it would have a marked, lasting impact on you, especially if you feel it was caused partially by government negligence - but has seemingly peaked in NSW. That said, BA.2 will ensure that it lingers for longer than the LNP would have liked, and the LNP had better hope that there's no new COVID variant in the pipeline...

Even if the economy/pandemic situation are looking good come May, will that save the LNP? Much depends on 1) their own campaign (going all anti-China will IMO backfire, though I expect them to tout the economic/pandemic situation as well), 2) the ALP's campaign and 3) how visibly the LNP are falling apart. Voters are less inclined to vote for parties that appear unable to govern themselves, especially if the opposition looks relatively stable and isn't putting forth any scary policies, which Albo hasn't.

Right now, I'm still giving Albo a 65% chance of victory, but if the LNP continue to self-destruct, I'd say 65-70%.
Great write up. Love your stuff. I only disagree in that we could say the same thing theoretically about the GFC but we're still infinitely better off for ALP being in charge, even if that hurt them in the end. It's robbing Peter to pay Paul a bit, but you get the idea.

Out of curiosity, what is BA.2? I haven't been able to figure it out yet.

It’s still a stereotype that’s being applied, yea it does happen no doubt about that but it’s not always the case.
No doubt there are racist bigots, like the McMichaels, that can function in society and you feel should not be stereotyped as dead set ****holes but as far as I am concerned they can keep to their own circle of acquaintances.

There is no plausible reason for half of ‘respondents’ to have a negative view of Australians of colour. It indicates that we have more deplorables, willing to blame their unhappiness in life on disadvantaged members of the community, than just Hansen voters.

Oh yeah. Look at a list of pictures of high achieving students, on social media or in real life with the wrong crowd and you get "spot the Aussie" type comments

There's a large number of Australians who associate "Australian" with "white Anglo Saxon".

Those types would tend to be older regional/rural residents who are loyal LNP/ON voters.

Not an insignificant number, but representative of Australia as a whole?

Maybe it's just my youthful idealism, but I don't see most Australians as being consciously racist anymore.

Subconscious racism, however, is another matter. This issue here is that Anglo culture is quite cliquish and insular - if you're not part of the in-group, becoming part of the in-group is very difficult, no matter what your skin colour. However, since the in-group is invariably white (or mostly white at best), I imagine it'd be even more difficult for Indigenous peoples and other non-whites to become part of the in-group, because they resemble the 'in-group' even less than whites who aren't part of the in-group.

Great write up. Love your stuff. I only disagree in that we could say the same thing theoretically about the GFC but we're still infinitely better off for ALP being in charge, even if that hurt them in the end. It's robbing Peter to pay Paul a bit, but you get the idea.

Out of curiosity, what is BA.2? I haven't been able to figure it out yet.

Thanks for the compliment. :)

Your contributions are not to be trifled with, either.

BA.2 is a subvariant of OMICRON. Not necessarily any more dangerous, but much more transmissible and arguably more resistant to booster shots than the original subvariant.

No doubt there are racist bigots, like the McMichaels, that can function in society and you feel should not be stereotyped as dead set ****holes but as far as I am concerned they can keep to their own circle of acquaintances.

There is no plausible reason for half of ‘respondents’ to have a negative view of Australians of colour. It indicates that we have more deplorables than just Hansen voters.

The issue is that 'negative view' is a vague term that the survey hasn't defined properly.

Why do they have those views? What are those views even about? Do they relate to race per se, or cultural practices they don't care for or understand?

One can have a negative view of certain aspects of Chinese culture without disliking Chinese in principle, for example.

This.

Really well said.

The issue is that 'negative view' is a vague term that the survey hasn't defined properly.

Why do they have those views? What are those views even about? Do they relate to race per se, or cultural practices they don't care for or understand?

One can have a negative view of certain aspects of Chinese culture without disliking Chinese in principle, for example.
They know jack schitte about Chinese culture.

Study after study has shown that communities with a high percentage of recent immigrants strongly approve of immigration and have a positive view of Australians of colour.

Parents with school aged children have a very positive opinion of their child’s teacher. The correlation may appear tenuous - but most Australians have had an Irish, Catholic, Southern European or Asian ancestry and have no excuse for being bigots.

I have had very little contact with aborigines, Asians, muslims or gays. Never crossed my mind that they would be lesser humans, deserving of less rights than fellow Australians. Why would one possibly have a negative view of certain ‘cultures’ after meeting less than ten thousand of them ‘intimately’.

So you’re saying we are f’ed ?

:(

As a patriot, I have been worried about the direction AUS is travelling in for some time TBH. Inequality has been rising since the mid-90's, which Rudd/Gillard stalling rather than stopping it.

Although I don't think we'll literally become Argentina, they were one of the world's richest countries in the 1960's, and it was all downhill from there.

The US has been decaying economically since the 1970s, but it became obvious after the GFC. Like the US, we have also become more corrupt over time, though our corruption became obvious post-2013 and so is still retrievable, whereas political corruption is ingrained within their system.

Compulsory voting + IRV means that Australian politics will become more Kiwified over time, which will undermine, rather than reinforce, a corrupt duopoly the way that it does in the US, so I don't think we'll become exactly like them. However, Australians tend to be rather complacent, so if we're not careful the Kiwification of AUS politics will lead to a sclerotic leadership that can't pass legislation because nobody can agree on anything. In this worst case scenario, we'll face a period of stagnation and decay, with the public losing trust in the government because they can't accomplish anything.

They know jack schitte about Chinese culture.

Study after study has shown that communities with a high percentage of recent immigrants strongly approve of immigration and have a positive view of Australians of colour.

Parents with school aged children have a very positive opinion of their child’s teacher. The obvious difference is that most Australians have had an Irish, Catholic, Southern European or Asian ancestry and have no excuse for being bigots.

I have had very little contact with aborigines, Asians or gays. Never crossed my mind that they would be lesser humans, deserving of less rights than fellow Australians.

It's another sad aspect of human nature that people tend not to like what they don't understand, and since they associate Chinese culture with Chinese, they don't like Chinese peoples.

Those people would be:
1) White
2) Tending older
3) Tending regional/rural
4) Loyal LNP/ON voters
5) Little to no exposure to cultures besides their own
6) Socialised in a racist/bigoted culture

In that context, it's not surprising that they'd treat 'the other' with hostility. It is unacceptable, but these people need to be educated regarding why their views are wrong. Calling them all sorts of names in response, while cathartic, will make them dig in their heels, so it's counterproductive in the long run.

In the interests of disclosure, one of best friend's was from Nanjing. Another childhood friend came out. My step-brother came out. I lost contact with the first guy, but the latter two I treat just like any other person. As it should be.

Your stance on this issue is admirable, I believe that it is genuinely held, and I would ardently hope that you believe my attitude regarding the matter is acceptable.