SFL Div 3 Reserves

blac! What happened mate?

beaten by a better side on the day!! heaps of players to come back in the next few weeks, should be on song again by the time we get back to playing you blokes!!:D:D lucky you!! on saturdays game, without sounding bitter about losing, like i said, " beaten by a better side on the day", the standard of umpiring was an absolute disgrace! we had a young fella, probably 17-18 who went alright, remembering he is probably still learning and he is going to make mistakes, but the other fella was an absolute peanut. benchman, if you took part in the early game or even watched it surely you would agree? soft decisions, bagging our players, giving tips on how to get back in the game, inconsistentency, absolute disgrace!! the club are already putting in a complaint, that bloke should never umpire again. i know we need them, but he should be banished to the goal line!! i felt bad for about a second at halftime when i told him to f#*k off!

He wasn't a short bloke with darkish hair and possibly a cap? Maybe in his 20s? If it was, that guy was shocking for us aganst Skye. Sent me and another guy off for arguing, first time I've ever been sent off playing footy. He had a boner when he spoke to the team before the match. He was umpiring with a young kid, who was in trouble if he was learning to umpire off this guy.

Other than that, you obviously have to give the kids some leeway. I don't mind the bald bloke, though some of his decisions are questionable. There was one who umpired us by himself who was very good. And there's an older bloke from the country who umpires, and gives away at least 10 fifties a match.

Mount Waverley 18 - 22 - 130
Sandown 4 - 3 - 27

Another good win for the Mountain Lions on saturday..
Unfortunately for Sandown it was against them to the tune of 103 pts!

Sandown came at us hard in the first quarter and matched it with us all over the ground with the result with them being up by 1 pt at qtr time..
We did feel though as a group that we were only playing at 25% of what we are capable of, but credit to Sandown, they made us play that way.

In the second qtr, we started to lift where we piled on 6.3 to their 0.0 and really started playing to our potential.
Dean Leask was probably the motivator for this when he started playing as the goal kicking midfielder that he is, kicking 4 goals for the entire match even though he sat out pretty much the last qtr.
We started to run with the ball more and use it alot better than they did.
It was good for us that they started to drop as we startd to lift our hard-work and intensity.

The Third qtr was alot like the second qtr, Dean kicked more goals as our whole side just kept lifting their work rate and intensity outscoring Sandown again 4.4 to 0.0 as we started to put the game out of reach for Sandown.

The Fourth qtr should be known as the "Hungry" qtr!..
where we had nearly every player playing from the half back line to the full forward line, drifting forward and having shots at goal.. this was probably our most inaccurate qtr for the year!.. At the 3 qtr time huddle, our team goals were to outscore Sandown (we have a trend to drop off in the last qtr when we think the game is beyond dispute) and not let Sandown score.. we only achieved 1 of these goals.. we outscored them 5.11 to 1.0!!.. and I would say 9 out of those 11 points we kicked were shots at goal (special mentions to Dan Gargano who kicked 3 points i think?? and Matt Parella who kicked 4 points)..

Dean Leask did well in the middle getting the ball everywhere and chiming in with 4 goals.
Andy Paollacci dominant up forward with 5 goals.. i think only 2 were from set shots the rest just pure magic from a contest.
Simon Wells played extremely 'Well' for his first game and will be a very hand addition to our side with his toughness and nice skills.
Daniel Gargano provided plenty of run off the half back flank and creating plenty of the play, even chipped in with 2 goals of his own (pity about his set shots). But it was good for Gags to beat his old side convincingly.
James Mayer once again presented well at full forward and provided great contests for us to work off, he has been a handy addition to full forward for us.
Jason Bird / Will Walton - Our coaching staff I think have found a good combination with these 2 up on the wing, rotating off the bench halfway through every qtr. They both provided great run along the wings getting plenty of the ball with their good skills and toughness.
Shaun Donovan provided plenty of run and creativity through the middle setting up plenty of goals and winning plenty of clearances.
Cam Marshall provided plenty of class and skillfulness on the half forward line outplaying any opponent that was unfortunate enough to play on him.
Cam set up many goals and pretty much dominated the half forward line.

But in all fairness to Sandown, In the second half they had only 16 or 17 players with some of their guys sustaining injuries and just not having enough to field a whole team. They did battle hard all the day and didn't give up. They did have a few 'passengers' though and left all the work to too few.

Cheers!

P.S. sorry for the long post.

Haha, did Matt Parella kick one? He's a hungry little man. How were Sandown for numbers? Did you see if they had a bench?

Matt Parella played well.. but he was one of the 'hungriest' in the 4th qtr..
he was playing half back and kept drifting forward to try and snag a few..
he ended up kicking 4 pts from four of the easiest shots at goal!!
By the end, everybody was cracking it at him and telling him to stay on his man and play his position.. everybody would have been nicer to him if he had atleast got 1 goal!

Sandown's numbers were good up until half-time..
i think they had a few 1's players filling in for the first half, but in the second half they had 17 players mainly when 1 or 2 went off injured/sent off.

Mount Waverley 18 - 22 - 130
Sandown 4 - 3 - 27

Another good win for the Mountain Lions on saturday..
Unfortunately for Sandown it was against them to the tune of 103 pts!

Sandown came at us hard in the first quarter and matched it with us all over the ground with the result with them being up by 1 pt at qtr time..
We did feel though as a group that we were only playing at 25% of what we are capable of, but credit to Sandown, they made us play that way.

In the second qtr, we started to lift where we piled on 6.3 to their 0.0 and really started playing to our potential.
Dean Leask was probably the motivator for this when he started playing as the goal kicking midfielder that he is, kicking 4 goals for the entire match even though he sat out pretty much the last qtr.
We started to run with the ball more and use it alot better than they did.
It was good for us that they started to drop as we startd to lift our hard-work and intensity.

The Third qtr was alot like the second qtr, Dean kicked more goals as our whole side just kept lifting their work rate and intensity outscoring Sandown again 4.4 to 0.0 as we started to put the game out of reach for Sandown.

The Fourth qtr should be known as the "Hungry" qtr!..
where we had nearly every player playing from the half back line to the full forward line, drifting forward and having shots at goal.. this was probably our most inaccurate qtr for the year!.. At the 3 qtr time huddle, our team goals were to outscore Sandown (we have a trend to drop off in the last qtr when we think the game is beyond dispute) and not let Sandown score.. we only achieved 1 of these goals.. we outscored them 5.11 to 1.0!!.. and I would say 9 out of those 11 points we kicked were shots at goal (special mentions to Dan Gargano who kicked 3 points i think?? and Matt Parella who kicked 4 points)..

Dean Leask did well in the middle getting the ball everywhere and chiming in with 4 goals.
Andy Paollacci dominant up forward with 5 goals.. i think only 2 were from set shots the rest just pure magic from a contest.
Simon Wells played extremely 'Well' for his first game and will be a very hand addition to our side with his toughness and nice skills.
Daniel Gargano provided plenty of run off the half back flank and creating plenty of the play, even chipped in with 2 goals of his own (pity about his set shots). But it was good for Gags to beat his old side convincingly.
James Mayer once again presented well at full forward and provided great contests for us to work off, he has been a handy addition to full forward for us.
Jason Bird / Will Walton - Our coaching staff I think have found a good combination with these 2 up on the wing, rotating off the bench halfway through every qtr. They both provided great run along the wings getting plenty of the ball with their good skills and toughness.
Shaun Donovan provided plenty of run and creativity through the middle setting up plenty of goals and winning plenty of clearances.
Cam Marshall provided plenty of class and skillfulness on the half forward line outplaying any opponent that was unfortunate enough to play on him.
Cam set up many goals and pretty much dominated the half forward line.

But in all fairness to Sandown, In the second half they had only 16 or 17 players with some of their guys sustaining injuries and just not having enough to field a whole team. They did battle hard all the day and didn't give up. They did have a few 'passengers' though and left all the work to too few.

Cheers!

P.S. sorry for the long post.

well, the doveton game v b/rock had some div 3 reserves MAGIC of its own. it all started once upon a time when.....

and they all lived happily ever after. :thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

He wasn't a short bloke with darkish hair and possibly a cap? Maybe in his 20s? If it was, that guy was shocking for us aganst Skye. Sent me and another guy off for arguing, first time I've ever been sent off playing footy. He had a boner when he spoke to the team before the match. He was umpiring with a young kid, who was in trouble if he was learning to umpire off this guy.

Other than that, you obviously have to give the kids some leeway. I don't mind the bald bloke, though some of his decisions are questionable. There was one who umpired us by himself who was very good. And there's an older bloke from the country who umpires, and gives away at least 10 fifties a match.
We had him in the skye vs Canterbury game. Absolute knob jockey. Paid a 50 against me for saying "i am preety sure i got a fist to that, but your the boss" and his reply was "thats right i am the boss.....50m" was consistently inconsistent!!!:D

I take it you're from Canterbury SMUU? (Probably obvious but I don't pay enough attention). How's ypur midfield going? You had a couple of good guys against us, there was a blonde bloke and number 39 who I think is Manks or something. Your website gave 39 best on against us, I reckon he could have played better though. The blonde bloke was your best in my opinion. Mind you, we played you I don't know how many weeks ago now.

yeah number 18 for south yarra was good in that game dominated in the centre lol frankencow get a kick actually get mel to teach you how to kick you know im joking "LOVE YOU LONG TIME RADIO BOY":):):):):):)

Anyone from Black Rock want to give an insight of what to expect for us (Mount Waverley) from Doveton?

How has their form been? what are they like lately? Fast & Fit? Physical? Or just smart with the footy?

We've obviously got them this week at our home ground.
We beat them last time we played them (round 1) and I'm sure they are a different side to what they were then.. we're a different side since having a few rounds now to gel together properly..

Cheers!

Anyone from Black Rock want to give an insight of what to expect for us (Mount Waverley) from Doveton?

How has their form been? what are they like lately? Fast & Fit? Physical? Or just smart with the footy?

We've obviously got them this week at our home ground.
We beat them last time we played them (round 1) and I'm sure they are a different side to what they were then.. we're a different side since having a few rounds now to gel together properly..

Cheers!

Doveton Reserves work hard on clearences, Obviously Blac04 tries to outpower his opposition ruckmen around the ground and give his midefeilders first use, he does very well at that, front position against him is a must as his leap, even though is good for a big fella, isnt too extreme!!

They also have a couple of young kids who dominated of half back against us, not sure if they are still playing ressies but there is one kid who is about 16 and he is very solid and tall and runs well, I think he was 16, maybe injury prone can help out what number he is??

Anyways obviously there main weapon up forward has been poached by the seniors so there main threat in front of goal is still Angelo, I think he is number 8??

In summary they are an extremely good outfit, defeanetly in the top 3 that we have played this year, we kicked 4 goals to 1 in the first qtr which pretty much won us the game, even though we were a little undermanned I expect them to be tough for you guys this week, actually to tell you the truth I expect them to beat you guys in a tough game!!

They will not give you the freedom to run like you guys like too!!

Doveton Reserves work hard on clearences, Obviously Blac04 tries to outpower his opposition ruckmen around the ground and give his midefeilders first use, he does very well at that, front position against him is a must as his leap, even though is good for a big fella, isnt too extreme!!

They also have a couple of young kids who dominated of half back against us, not sure if they are still playing ressies but there is one kid who is about 16 and he is very solid and tall and runs well, I think he was 16, maybe injury prone can help out what number he is??

Anyways obviously there main weapon up forward has been poached by the seniors so there main threat in front of goal is still Angelo, I think he is number 8??

In summary they are an extremely good outfit, defeanetly in the top 3 that we have played this year, we kicked 4 goals to 1 in the first qtr which pretty much won us the game, even though we were a little undermanned I expect them to be tough for you guys this week, actually to tell you the truth I expect them to beat you guys in a tough game!!

Think he was #14, but strong, reasonably quick and Doveton kicked to him every chance they got.

haha yeah we love to run and use the handball alot in open spaces...
but then again.. we were expecting a tough physical game against dandy demons and found it wasn't as tough as we thought it would be..
our line-up even changed to be a bit more top heavy to counter for this.. in the end it was our running and using the ball in open spaces that beat them..
but overall, if we win the clearances by shutting down their midfield and nullify their full forward... that should give us every chance to win..

Thanks for that!

I take it you're from Canterbury SMUU? (Probably obvious but I don't pay enough attention). How's ypur midfield going? You had a couple of good guys against us, there was a blonde bloke and number 39 who I think is Manks or something. Your website gave 39 best on against us, I reckon he could have played better though. The blonde bloke was your best in my opinion. Mind you, we played you I don't know how many weeks ago now.
Thats the only two's game scotty has played all year and ever since than has gone in leaps and bounds in the ones. The blond bloke is Nick Ardley and he has had about 5 best on's in the two's and should be up in the late game this week. As for the mid-field thought we matched skye for 3 quarters on saturday just needed some one about 8 foot to get over there big ruckman, massive unit!!:D

firstly, that nick ardley fella killed us. very good and surprised he is playing 2's, mind you, their 1's sit on top.

secondly, madman, what do you mean my leap isn't too extreme?:D i don't have one mate!

thirdly, i was wearing no.14 until the skye game, then changed it and left my form behind for young jack to take over. maybe i need to change back?

he won't be playing this week along with a heap of others. injuries have hit hard at power reserve, and it will be a totally different side from round 1, even from the skye game!! hopefully we can get 22 players for the day!!

firstly, that nick ardley fella killed us. very good and surprised he is playing 2's, mind you, their 1's sit on top.

secondly, madman, what do you mean my leap isn't too extreme?:D i don't have one mate!

thirdly, i was wearing no.14 until the skye game, then changed it and left my form behind for young jack to take over. maybe i need to change back?

he won't be playing this week along with a heap of others. injuries have hit hard at power reserve, and it will be a totally different side from round 1, even from the skye game!! hopefully we can get 22 players for the day!!

You blokes love the underdog status dont you blac04

all I ever hear from you is you talking down your guys chances!!

You dont want to drop games now, competition is too close, a couple of losses and all of a sudden your out of the finals race, look at sandown, its crunch time for there ressies this week!!

The injury cloud is finally lifting at Fritsch Holzer Reserve. While it's mainly been the ones injured, them getting players back kicks a few ones regulars down to us. As a result we should have our best team this year in on the weekend. Henry kicked 6 goals in his only Ressies game against Black Rock, and Wayne Andrews has gotten himself into the best for the ones twice this year, but will be having the pleasure of our company in the twos for the first time and should be good in the centre. It's good to finally have some genuine pressure for spots in the ones, can only be good fo the club. The injection of four ex-Wesley College blokes has been enormous.

The second half of the season will be interesting, comparing scores now that we've played together and a lot of guys have found positions. We should definitely improve on Dandy's 73 point belting of us in Round 1. That goes for the ones too, who won three out of four quarters against Dandy last time around.

Any truth to the rumour that Sandown got 2 to training?

We had a visit from the SFL Chairman last night at training. While he said he was there to congratulate us on getting back in the comp, I'm pretty sure he was there to mention the melee of two weeks ago. Ah well, nice enough bloke.