Sheedy attacks Walls' credibility

• Thread starter Thread starter JeffDunne

Kickett had played every game for the year, so he was hardly lacking match fitness.
Kickett is still bitter to this day, shows his attitude was right on the money - then and now.
Form is temporary.

I dare you to look up Kickett's finals form at Sydney.

He was a hopeless finals footballer, right decision, poorly handled.

As legal as their player payments for the year.

So both 100% above board. Thanks for clearing that up.

Sheedy did a great job in those early years at Essendon, but a lot of the hard work had been done by Davis & to a certain extent Bill Stephen in the 4 seasons prior to Sheedy taking over.

And if you knew anything about Kevin Sheedy, you would know he gives massive kudos to the work Bill Stephen's did. He has mentioned him time after time.

A sad case of Dumb and Dumber, Sheedy in this case being the dumber of the two. Why wouldnt he just shut his mouth and get on with the job of coaching his side, instead of fuelling Walls' desire to write these pieces, which he is perfectly entitled to do, about himself and his club. Especially in March, Walls has a whole year to jump on Essendon as soon as they start failing again.

Kevin, you idiot.

You'd think after all these years that people would understand Sheeds a bit better. Sheeds likes people talking about Sheeds.

Opposition supporters are so quick to throw out the deflection jibes but so slow to recognise it.

Sheedy is almost senile. What he says about Wallsy is right though but Kev needs to plan his own coaching exit strategy so he does not end up being dragged out kicking and screaming. A repeat of 2006 would be a disaster and a sad way to end his highly successful coaching career. Handing over more of the reins to O'Donnell is one avenue he ought to explore.

Do yourself a favour and read the other article Sheeds wrote this week.

Take a breath mate, and stop quoting half the people in this thread, everyone but you seems to know how annoying that is. Essendon fans can take heart though, in the fact that Lloydy is back this season, not that i'm suggesting they're a one man team or anything:rolleyes:

what is hilarious is watching a bunch of BF nobodies going on as if this is anything other than a bitch fest between 2 greats i.e. neither of them is in the right.

Yes, Royal One. As always you remain above it.

Take a breath mate, and stop quoting half the people in this thread, everyone but you seems to know how annoying that is.

And me, I didn't know that was annoying. You'd prefer just general insults thrown into a crowd like hand grenades would you?

I am surprised you're trying to pretend to have an opinion on something that happened before you could walk.
I wasn't born in the nineteenth century, but imho Jack the Ripper was probably a nasty bit of work.

Walls achieved something Sheedy never did in coaching a struggling club in the Brisbane Bears in a Rugby state to a near upset of Carlton in the 1995 Finals. The only club Sheedy has coached is an established power of the like of Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton where there has never been a shortage of talent and money. Michael Voss acknowledged that Walls help set up the Bears and put them on the path to becoming the Brisbane Lions.

Absolutely correct. Sheedy is the one who lacks credibility. Until he steps out of his comfort zone and takes on something new, he will never be a great coach in my eyes. The great coaches have all achieved success at more than one club.

For someone who has been around footy for such a long long time, Robert walls is a football moron! The man is a football fossil, and channel 10 need to put him back on the senior's pension list, completely lost touch with reality. His rambling's are no longer wanted and i've said it before, i'll be watching games his commentating on with the volume down!

Never thought i'd say it being a Hawks man but... Good on ya Sheedy!

You'fd get more objectivity by getting Don Scott back. - at least the winges would be more entertaining.

"oh dear this is crap football"

Absolutely correct. Sheedy is the one who lacks credibility. Until he steps out of his comfort zone and takes on something new, he will never be a great coach in my eyes. The great coaches have all achieved success at more than one club.

Jock McHale doesn't qualify then? Nor **** Reynolds it seems.

So are you saying Norm Smith wasn't a great coach then? 6 premierships in 10 years not good enough for you?

I could not agree more with Sheedy. Walls never shuts up when commentating Essendon games about how they have underachieved while Sheedy has been coaching. I do not think that anyone could challenge the fact that Walls was a good player and a pretty coach, but as Sheedy argues, he needs to put aside grudges and be more constructive in his criticisms. Walls would do well to remember that Carlton has not exactly performed that well over the past decade.

I agree 100%. I'm not Sheedy's biggest fan, and sometimes it appears he is clearly insane, but in this instance he could not be more accurate in his assessment. Walls is nothing more than a blinkered and prejudiced moron. What I hate most of all is his posturing and hypocrisy. This is the same guy who as a coach ordered Peter Worsfold to take out Ken Hinkley against Geelong in 1991. Hinkley was duly king hit behind play and Worsfold got 6 weeks. For Walls to come out every week now and lambast players for being undisciplined is astonishingly hypocritical.

All been said really , but Walls comes across a try-hard 'bad boy' , terrible commentator and a fool .

I look at his record and wonder whether the premiership was just a fluke or whether he was at some point a good coach. Listening to his special comments you get the impression that he knows very little about the game.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,%5E32425,00.html

The one where he repeats himself. You are right Longy...... old Sheeds is definitely senile :D

The one where he talks about leaving Essendon at the end of the season and wanting to leave the club in good shape.

Until he steps out of his comfort zone and takes on something new, he will never be a great coach in my eyes.

Like coaching Australia?

All been said really , but Walls comes across a try-hard 'bad boy' , terrible commentator and a fool .
I guess someone like JeffDunne and Bigfooty provides more insight and analysis than Walls. :rolleyes:

A fool is a person who resorts to embarassing personal attacks because he can't counter Walls' arguments. ;)

Sheedy should grow up and move on. :o

I look at his record and wonder whether the premiership was just a fluke or whether he was at some point a good coach.
Who put Rhys-Jones on Brereton? ;) :thumbsu:

He was a good coach since Fitzroy, Carlton and the Bears were successfull sides in his time and he was the first coach to introduce the huddle in the eighties.

Victoria beat SA when he was coaching. :thumbsu: :)
Listening to his special comments you get the impression that he knows very little about the game.
I think his TV work has gone downhill with the way the game has changed, but he was the best special comments in the business when he was on Talking Footy and his insight on that show was great. I respect Walls more than Garry Lyon and Brereton who might know modern footy, but they've never coached a side and they talk like they know what it's like to be a coach on matchday.

They don't have the balls to risk their reputation by taking on a coaching job. :thumbsd:

Dermot has said he'd only do it if he was paid more than his team's number one player. :rolleyes: :thumbsd:

Anyone can perform a king hit. You don't have to be fit to do it. Wallis was an expert at them though. That's why he got a gig.

Buddy, there was no King Hit - I was 15 metres from the incident and Wallis simply leapt into Hanna from the side - his shoulder making contact with Hanna's head.

There was no King Hit at all.

Wallis would be booked today for jumping off the ground but back then, it was a perfectly legal, and incredibly effective move.

I still dont know why Scum fans whinge about it anyway as surely having a hack of Hanna's quality off the ground was doing you a huge favour.

Oh by the way, did you Carlton idiots ever stop to wonder why Sean Denham had a broken nose at the end of that game??

Does the phrase, 'Greg Williams you Dirty Dog" ring a bell???

Buddy, there was no King Hit - I was 15 metres from the incident and Wallis simply leapt into Hanna from the side - his shoulder making contact with Hanna's head.

There was no King Hit at all.

Wallis would be booked today for jumping off the ground but back then, it was a perfectly legal, and incredibly effective move.

I still dont know why Scum fans whinge about it anyway as surely having a hack of Hanna's quality off the ground was doing you a huge favour
What puzzles me (about that GF selection) is that Kickett used to deliver a very effective hip & shoulder, so he could have done what Wallis did ; plus he was actually a good footballer.

http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,21359741%5E19742,00.html

What a load of crap!

Walls achieved something Sheedy never did in coaching a struggling club in the Brisbane Bears in a Rugby state to a near upset of Carlton in the 1995 Finals. The only club Sheedy has coached is an established power of the like of Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton where there has never been a shortage of talent and money. Michael Voss acknowledged that Walls help set up the Bears and put them on the path to becoming the Brisbane Lions.

I think Sheedy is still bitter that Carlton kicked a record score against Richmond and Walls kicked six goals.

No, you just dropped a better footballer in Derek Kickett to select a thug in Wallis and that thug knocked out one of Carlton's best players in the 1993 Grand Final. I think Sheedy should play the man not the ball and quit coaching to take up plumbing again. At least Walls walked away from coaching the Tigers when he was past it and not talking about flags when you're a rabble.

Sheedy, it's time you quit and and walked off into the sunset to take a few more wine tours.

SPOT ON !!!!!

Wow - Walls made a successful coaching move!
Sore loser!

Is this simple enough for you?

Walls>Clarkson, Judge and Schwab.
And who put Brereton out on the ground with a back problem so bad he should have been in traction?

LH86
How is that relevent to Walls being a good coach and Carlton spanking your mob in the Grand Final?

A shame Essendon were found guilty of breaching the salary cap in a premiership year under Sheedy and Kevin should hang his head in shame at this fact. He's a cheat, a thug and his articles in the paper aren't worth the paper they're written on.

Neale Daniher and Wheadon were the tactical brains behind their success in 1993 and he's never coached an average list or poor club with little resources into the finals. The only tactic Sheedy ever came up with was using the bench a million times a game and that's it.

A pity Sheedy doesn't mention Salmon having his best ever season and becoming an AA player after leaving Sheedy's Essendon because he wouldn't play him in the ruck. This left them a ruckman short in the 1999 preliminary final when Allan thrashed the pants off their number one ruck by consistently putting the ball down the throats of Carlton players.

Then Sheedy got him to come of out retirement. :o

I don't think Carlton fans booed any of their stars during Walls tenure as coach. :cool:

I still dont know why Scum fans whinge about it anyway as surely having a hack of Hanna's quality off the ground was doing you a huge favour.

Clearly you dont know sh1t from clay. Hanna was without question the Blues best "offensive run with player" that year. He kept Winmar to 1 kick in a game at Optus that year till he did his ankle, then Winmar kicked 10. Kernahan kicked 9-1 the same day, the Blues won by a point.

Or do you think Wallis didnt know that Hanna was probably going to make the difference?

oh...and broken nose or off on a stretcher..........Ill give you your choice , i reckon I know which you'll pick....back to Farty Hill, CLOWN!:thumbsd:

A shame Essendon were found guilty of breaching the salary cap in a premiership year under Sheedy and Kevin should hang his head in shame at this fact. He's a cheat, a thug and his articles in the paper aren't worth the paper they're written on.
what year was that exactly - got a link to some proof?
didn't think so.
:rolleyes:

A shame Essendon were found guilty of breaching the salary cap in a premiership year under Sheedy and

The fact that it was carlton who lost in `93 meant that there were 14 clubs who celebrated that flag, not one, cheating or not.