Should they come forward?

Isn't Ian Robson on the Police Board?

I get the feeling he knows more about all this than he is leading on (or isit Evans who is on the Police Board?)..

Clearly we have been tipped off that this report was coming out and as Ant555 has suggested we chose to come out publicly and on the front foot rather than try and defend ourself and our integrity.

No. They don't have any proof on player (like Lance). They ask people to come forward to implecate others. It only takes one stupid person to talk for the whole thing to start falling down.
If no one talks, most of them will be fine.

It stinks of a teacher going "I know who broke this, come forward and you'll only receive half a penilty" when she has no clue who did it.

No. They don't have any proof on player (like Lance). They ask people to come forward to implecate others. It only takes one stupid person to talk for the whole thing to start falling down.
If no one talks, most of them will be fine.

It stinks of a teacher going "I know who broke this, come forward and you'll only receive half a penilty" when she has no clue who did it.

Not really they would know a few but would also know they are missing a few which by there results would mean there a quite a few who have been caught and they are pretty damn sure there are many more.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/nat...-for-drug-cheats/story-fn59niix-1226573061294

interesting.

A mate's "inside" source told him we will get 12 weeks if we admit unknowingly taking PEDs. Guess he means half a year for no points. Mate gets some of these things around the mark.

Hopefully it doesn't come to that, I still hope everything we took has been checked by doc reid against asada/wada guidelines.

A mate's "inside" source told him we will get 12 weeks if we admit unknowingly taking PEDs. Guess he means half a year for no points. Mate gets some of these things around the mark.

Hopefully it doesn't come to that, I still hope everything we took has been checked by doc reid against asada/wada guidelines.

We already know that isnt the case

Ant, I have always respected your inside knowledge on the club. You sound convinced with this viewpoint but it's not clear as to whether it is a 'feeling' you have or whether you have reliable info from those close to the club.

Do not claim to know all the ins and outs but it is not based on a feeling and the sources are not only from the club. Lets just say the AFL wanted this to stay out of the news for another week as well given the events of yesterday as they knew what was coming.
There was no way this could be done once the news about Dank and investigations got out.

We already know that isnt the case
Do we? The worst I've read is that we can't be found guilty of taking banned substances but may have taken substances that mimic banned substances. I haven't heard that anything was done behind doc reid's back? I trust he wouldn't authorise anything sus.

It's about time the AFL clamped down on media accreditation. Those journalists tarnishing the AFL brand by offering opinion without any substance or fact to the claims should be stripped of accreditation. All AFL clubs are struggling to sell memberships due to the media circus Ant555 accurately describes above. The AFL should be furious and hold these media accountable. This would include Caroline Wilson who appears to be the worst offender - she has assumed players will be suspended and Essendon is guilty (without any facts) and is suggesting Hird, Thompson, Corcoran, Evans and Robson all stand down.

I suggest to Caroline Wilson (if you are horribly wrong on all accounts) you do all AFL fans a favour and stand down yourself (if the AFL don't have the power to strip her of accreditation).

Do we? The worst I've read is that we can't be found guilty of taking banned substances but may have taken substances that mimic banned substances. I haven't heard that anything was done behind doc reid's back? I trust he wouldn't authorise anything sus.
Dank

It's about time the AFL clamped down on media accreditation. Those journalists tarnishing the AFL brand by offering opinion without any substance or fact to the claims should be stripped of accreditation. All AFL clubs are struggling to sell memberships due to the media circus Ant555 accurately describes above. The AFL should be furious and hold these media accountable. This would include Caroline Wilson who appears to be the worst offender - she has assumed players will be suspended and Essendon is guilty (without any facts) and is suggesting Hird, Thompson, Corcoran, Evans and Robson all stand down.

I suggest to Caroline Wilson (if you are horribly wrong on all accounts) you do all AFL fans a favour and stand down yourself (if the AFL don't have the power to strip her of accreditation).
I think it was stated elsewhere but the 24 hour news cycle thanks to the demand for instant information has horribly impacted the quality of journalism in this country. I still read most articles but these days don't actually believe too much of what is written. Its basically like an online version of TodayTonight or ACA. Sensationalist, one sided, innuendo reporting written with the sole intention of selling papers and scoring advertising revenue rather than reporting fact.

Its a sad case for the state of Australian journalism and not just sports/footy journalism. Journalistic ethics seems to be well and truly dead.

As for the journalists themselves that write this gutter trash, well I don't hold them in much regard at all. In fact I'd probably think twice about breaking if I saw them cross the road ;)

I think it was stated elsewhere but the 24 hour news cycle thanks to the demand for instant information has horribly impacted the quality of journalism in this country. I still read most articles but these days don't actually believe too much of what is written. Its basically like an online version of TodayTonight or ACA. Sensationalist, one sided, innuendo reporting written with the sole intention of selling papers and scoring advertising revenue rather than reporting fact.

Its a sad case for the state of Australian journalism and not just sports/footy journalism. Journalistic ethics seems to be well and truly dead.

As for the journalists themselves that write this gutter trash, well I don't hold them in much regard at all. In fact I'd probably think twice about breaking if I saw them cross the road ;)
Part of the problem is that the AJA Code of Ethics is not legally binding. It's a token list of utopian ideals in Australia. Another part of the problem is that the regulatory body that is supposed to deal with complaints of unethical journalism, The Press Council, is actually an industry organisation operated by media owners themselves. This guarantees that the standard of Australian journalism will be mostly rubbish delivered by those with the thickest cheque book.

What are you talking about ?

The AFL media has their own Media Department which they want to dominate the landscape.

Part of the problem is that the AJA Code of Ethics is not legally binding. It's a token list of utopian ideals in Australia. Another part of the problem is that the regulatory body that is supposed to deal with complaints of unethical journalism, The Press Council, is actually an industry organisation operated by media owners themselves. This guarantees that the standard of Australian journalism will be mostly rubbish delivered by those with the thickest cheque book.

There was talk of changing all this after the Finklestein report was published but News Ltd and the Liberals had a massive sook about "ARE FREE SPEECH!!!" and nothing ended up happening.

When you
There was talk of changing all this after the Finklestein report was published but News Ltd and the Liberals had a massive sook about "ARE FREE SPEECH!!!" and nothing ended up happening.
When you say 'nothing ended up happening', do I also read that as 'nothing is going to happen'?