maccas_no1

Suspended
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
Well done Crows great 1st half great to see we are showing some ticker, Johncock 4 goals ****ing champ, Mattner who everyone was bagging doing the tough stuff, Carey one goal but racking up possesions in the midfeild great bump on Wakelin get the ball and get it forward to Bock, Massie great game tough and hard at it Mcleod having a better game got some pace Hentshel doing well in defence, same with Bassett who is now on Tredrea as Perrie is useless and had three goals kicked on him before he was moved off, Welsh playing well, Stenglein playing well Clarke's ruckwork senstional hitting it down to Stenglein a number of times great game playing well great goal from 50 by McGregor:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Crows are fired up Im fired up keep it going Crows man up play tight keep working hard it time to break the Hoodoo beat the Ferals :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

CARN THE MIGHTY ADELAIDE CROWS

WHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO We are No 1 we kicked the Alberton Idiots arses never doubt our boys never doubt the Pride Of South Australia we are No 1 we played the best footy i have seen in a longtime well done Crows toughhard footy showed some ticker and this is the rewards:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Eat **** Port you are lowlifes you are crap you are chokers go **** yourselves we gave everything tonight 2004 is not over fight hard Crows the rewards will come:D :D :D :D :D

Roo fantastic Carey,Edwards,Johncock,Stenglein,Clarke Jericho,Burton,Clarke absoulutly everyone gave it there all :D :D :D :D :D

Sweeeet.

I don't care what happens for the rest of the year. :D (OK maybe round 22.)

Who'd have thought we'd outdo Port for precise disposal?

Let's hope we don't have to wait another 4 years for the next showdown win.

A great day all round. Backed the Crows to win outright plus had them to lead halftime and fulltime. Then saw the Eagles win at Richmond then the Crows tonight. I'm in heaven, I'm in heaven. Finally we broke the duck and lets keep it going fellas. Roo lead from the front and Tredrea had a big game but it didn't matter. Ye ha!!!!!

YOU LITTLE BEAUTY!!!!!!!!!

What a win, what a win.

I'd had written this game off as a loss all year, so to win is ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!!!

If only we kicked straight, we would have won by 80. If only we kept Treadrea quiet, we would have won by 100+, but I don't care. We beat that white trash scum of the earth port adelaide flower power pansies.

147754ah.jpg

Crows in Showdown breakthrough
10:34:13 PM Sat 8 May, 2004
Jason Phelan
Sportal/Exclusive to afl.com.au
The Adelaide Crows have pulled off a stunning upset with a 17.17 (119) to 13.9 (87) Showdown win over Port Adelaide at AAMI Stadium on Saturday night.

Rank outsiders before the match, Adelaide put on a superb display of high intensity football to snap a seven-game losing streak against its arch cross-town rivals.

Mark Ricciuto was in rare form for the Crows with his 36 touches earning him the West End Medal for best-on-ground while Andrew McLeod returned to his scintillating best with a 26-disposal performance in his 200th AFL game.

Adelaide’s delivery into its forward 50 was a feature of its play - Wayne Carey and Ken McGregor the main beneficiaries with three goals each and 15 marks between them.

Warren Tredrea was the clear standout for the Power – finishing with seven goals from limited opportunities and Peter Burgoyne worked hard all night for his 26 possessions.

Tyson Stenglein gave the Crows the start they were after with a goal inside the first two minutes of play but it didn’t take Tredrea long to reply – kicking truly after outbodying Ian Perrie in the goal square.

The acting Power captain was clearly the most dangerous forward on the ground and had three goals to his name before Perrie was moved off him at the 20-minute mark of the first quarter.

Adelaide showed the greater intensity for most of the term but the Power did well to soak up the pressure and hit back hard late in the quarter with goals to Dominic Cassisi and Dean Brogan helping Port to a six-point lead at the first break.

That lead was quickly doubled when Tredrea slotted his fourth early in the second as the Power looked to have weathered the storm and bound away from Adelaide.

However, a Martin Mattner chase down and subsequent free kick with 50-metre penalty provided the spark the Crows needed to surge back into the contest.

Adelaide piled on six unanswered goals - with Graham Johncock exploding into action for four second-term majors – and opened up an imposing 27-point lead. Brett Ebert stopped the rot for Port with his first goal late in the quarter but the Crows quickly answered to lead by 27 at the main break.

The Crows hadn’t won a third quarter this season coming into the match and Port certainly posed the question early in the term and had the momentum without hurting Adelaide on the scoreboard. Ebert bagged his second to narrow the gap but Adelaide was equal to the task and extended its lead to 37 points at three-quarter time.

The Power was still in the hunt after goals to Kane Cornes and Tredrea brought the deficit back to 25 points with 15 minutes to play but Crow young gun Luke Jericho bagged two goals to seal the win.

Port Adelaide: 5.2, 7.3, 9.7, 13.9 (87)
Adelaide: 4.2, 11.6, 14.14 (119)

Goals: Port Adelaide: Tredrea 7, Ebert 2, Brogan, S Burgoyne, Cassisi, Ebert, K Cornes
Adelaide: Johncock 4, McGregor 3, Carey 3, Jericho 2, Stenglein, Massie, Bock, Welsh, Edwards
Best: Port Adelaide: Tredrea, P Burgoyne, Wilson, C Cornes, Cassisi
Adelaide: Ricciuto, McLeod, Stenglein, Clarke, McGregor, Burton, Carey
Injuries: Port Adelaide: TBC
Adelaide: TBC
Reports: Nil
Umpires: Rowe, Woodcock, Goldspink
Crowd: 44,733 at AAMI Stadium

------------------------------------------------------

GREAT GAME BY THE BOYS.. I'M SO HAPPY WE FINALLY GOT A WIN OVER PORT AGAINST ALL THE ODDS. GREAT TO SEE MACCA CELEBRATE A WIN ON HIS 200TH AS WELL :D

Well thats a bloody relief.

Went and watched a fantastic eagles side today and saw how much of a bright future Watts has. Then went to see us win the showdown.

We were fantastic. A real 4 quarter effort. I was really worried at half time that we will come out again and lose the 3rd quarter and let Port back intot he game. The boys were fantastic. Roo was superb, Clarke had a ripper and stenglein was as tough as they come.

When I saw Perrie line up on Tredrea I thought its good night d|ck. Our forward line functioned really well and the pressure from the team especially our forwards was second to none.

Well done boys and keep it up.

Now thats how you play, from now on THATs how you play!!!!!! and believe me you will win more than you lose ;)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Well thats a bloody relief.

Went and watched a fantastic eagles side today and saw how much of a bright future Watts has. Then went to see us win the showdown.

We were fantastic. A real 4 quarter effort. I was really worried at half time that we will come out again and lose the 3rd quarter and let Port back intot he game. The boys were fantastic. Roo was superb, Clarke had a ripper and stenglein was as tough as they come.

When I saw Perrie line up on Tredrea I thought its good night d|ck. Our forward line functioned really well and the pressure from the team especially our forwards was second to none.

Well done boys and keep it up.

Now thats how you play, from now on THATs how you play!!!!!! and believe me you will win more than you lose ;)

You got to have the passion Stiify and you have it we are Number 1 the players have to beleive in themselves and each other reach deep intot heir hearts and play the best they can and it payed off we beat the FERALS:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Congrats guys. A completely deserved showdown win.

We were out classed in every aspect of the game (except Tredrea).

I must ask the question tho.

You played hard, tough, quick, direct football tonight. Why the **** have the Crows waited till now to do that? Why the **** havent you guys done this all year?

Had of played in this fashion all year you would have barely lost a game.

Well done.

I think we have to give Gary Ayres a heap of credit for the win.

He pulled a big sh*tter with Perrie on Tredrea early but rectified it much earlier than normal.

His structuring of our forward line was brilliant and the main reason for our success. He played 2 CHF's across HF, with each out wide, which gave us a target no matter which side we attacked from and left a space at CHF proper to lead into.

Up forward he changed the small quick targets in Edwards and Macca, with space in front of them.

Choco tried to counter this by dropping a couple of loose players into our forward line, but this time Ayres didn't fall for it by pushing our players forward. He left our players loose in their forward line and as a result Port found it too hard to score.

And he won the loyalty and effort of his players with his calmness during the week.

We all bag Ayresy quite a bit. Tonight we should salute him!!

Well done Gary Ayres.

Originally posted by Macca19

You played hard, tough, quick, direct football tonight. Why the **** have the Crows waited till now to do that? Why the **** havent you guys done this all year?

Well done.
Thanks mate.

How good is Tredrea. That bloke is a freak. I thought Bassett did a reasonable job on him but Tredders still kicked 4 goals on Bass. He is a REAL champion. He only took 4 marks but still kicked 7 goals.

The Crows are a bit of an enigma ATM. We played really well against Richmond but crap the next week. Played really well against Port and will probably get our backsides kicked by Essendon.

At our best we can beat any team in the comp but we are too inconsistent to do anything. Despite the good win we will not make the 8.

Good luck next week. Kangas will be a tough team to beat especially considering they are coming of a trashing

Well done.

Well done Macca, although I wouldn't have expected any less from you.

Why haven't we played like this in other games?? It's a mystery how players can play like pussy cats one week, and tigers the next!! I just hope our players have a good look at the tape so that we can see that type of footy again.

Tredrea was a Colossus, and I thought Peter Burgoyne was the best of the rest for Port.

Good luck for the rest of the year - other than round 22 of course!!! ;)

Originally posted by MrMeaner
Well done guys. Adelaide thoroughly deserved the win. You were much more desperate all night. I fear to think what the result would have been but for Tredrea.

Good sporting stuff - thanks mate!! ;)

Originally posted by macca23
I think we have to give Gary Ayres a heap of credit for the win.

He pulled a big sh*tter with Perrie on Tredrea early but rectified it much earlier than normal.

His structuring of our forward line was brilliant and the main reason for our success. He played 2 CHF's across HF, with each out wide, which gave us a target no matter which side we attacked from and left a space at CHF proper to lead into.

Up forward he changed the small quick targets in Edwards and Macca, with space in front of them.

Choco tried to counter this by dropping a couple of loose players into our forward line, but this time Ayres didn't fall for it by pushing our players forward. He left our players loose in their forward line and as a result Port found it too hard to score.

And he won the loyalty and effort of his players with his calmness during the week.

We all bag Ayresy quite a bit. Tonight we should salute him!!

Well done Gary Ayres.
Spot on mate.

When I saw Perrie line up on Tredrea I thought it was all over. It was clearly the wrong match up. However, unlike that game at the GABBA with Perrie on Lynch he made the move much quicker.

The forward line was a work of genius. We often bag our coaching department for their lack of imagination but tonight the forward line structure was really something special. The double teaming of Tredrea worked well but he still kicked 7 goals. If anyone said to me before tha game that we would win and Tredrea would kick 7 I would have told them to get off the bloody grass.

Full credit must go to Gary Ayres and the coaching staff. His match day coaching today was fantastic. Credit must also go to players for their effort and endevour for 4 quarters. Everything Gary wanted players doid and everything came off.

Well done Gary Ayres.

Well done.
Thanks to one of the few gracious Port supporters on this board. The win came about by Ayres actually taking some risks and backing his players instead of putting them in "safe" positions. Starting Tyson Edwards up forward was one great move that put Port out of synch and the other was allowing Kenny Mc to play up forward, when the temptation would have been to put him back on
Tredrea. i still don't think we saw McLeod's best tonight, but amazing the confidence starting to grow when he was left in the midfield rather than rotting in the backline. Once the coach showed faith, the players maintained the intensity, hence the result. We may not be the best team in the league, but we are certainly not in the bottom half.

Originally posted by macca23
Good sporting stuff - thanks mate!! ;)

It was said through gritted teeth, but I try.;)

Seriously though, you have every right to be happy with the passion shown tonight. You made us look second rate.

Will try to unclench teeth now.

Surely he must be given one more year to see just how good he can be with introducing youngsters. Something he probably hasn't had a chance to do ever in the past.
Repent all you sinners. ;)

Congrats on the win.
I have said a number of times in the past that the scoreboard didn't quite reflect just how well we won a number of Showdowns, well the same thing can be said this time. We got absolutely flogged. More than the result shows.

Lastly, and I have said it on the Port board as well,
even though Carey played reasonably well and contributed,
The King is dead. Long live the King.

Originally posted by afc9798
Thanks to one of the few gracious Port supporters on this board.
Weak.