Southern FL Div One 2012

If that is true it is a good get for Mordi, but not sure about them getting many more from St Bedes, as Phibbs has moved to Mazenod and James Tyquin and Brett Collins to Karingal Football Club
Also with Mordi losing Armstrong plus a few others they are starting from a long way back

This the bloke who spent the '11 season at Cohuna in the Central Murray??

Daddy francis,
Can you please find out whether old 'Coke Bottles' Hill is still alive and well?
we miss his informed comments about opposition clubs and his spruiking of the sfl 2011 minor premiers
Big footy members very much enjoyed how yourself and Jerry Lewis pumped your team up so much that the noose was neck breaking come the big dance

Cheers
Thekoach:D:confused::p

quote=footballs great;23043136]The council wouldn't sign off on the ground for the first game April 14 as we have had it all reseeded. So they asked the SFL to change the game which we said yes too and so did you guys, so hoping it will be a cracker of a game first up at Clayton
Better to change it now, as to hoping it will be ok by then

Also if you are planning anything for that day, let us know so we can push it for you as well.[/quote]

Fine by us, always good to kick of the season with a home game.
Im sure now that its official they will organise something.
Thanks for letting us know..:thumbsu:

I saw hilly the pres of east brighton in bentleigh the other day riding his unicycle.
The funny thing was it had no seat!:confused:
it was fair to say old hilly was a bit happier than post gf:D

Very quiet in here,so I thought we had better get this going for 2012
This is how I see the ladder for 2012

East Brighton: has kept most of the list together and picked up some very handy players, with 4-5 coming into our best 22

St Pauls: have lost a few and picked up a couple so will be hard to beat again

St Kilda City: Look to have lost a few. However, they will know more when training starts back. But I’m sure they will be around the top again.

Chelsea Heights: have done a great job in keeping the list together, as it looked like they were going to lose 3-4 top players, so good to see they saved them. They need a ruckmen is what I have heard, but will stay in the top 4 again in 2012

Fifth spot will be hard to pick

Clayton: I think they will be the big improvers in 2012

Dingley: Will again be just off the pace, and they haven’t picked up any big names to talk about

Mordialloc: have not finished trying to acquire some new players. However, they have lost some of their main players from last year; consequently, I think it will work out about the same as this year

Cheltenham: Considering the C/C going and then the B&F plus not picking up much, from what I hear, they might be heading the wrong way

Heatherton: haven’t picked up any big names, I thought they were going to get an ex AFL player, but heard he has gone cold on the idea.

Highett: Will find it very hard

The top four are a long way in front of the rest, and sure, there might be the odd upset. However, who has the fittest list out of the top four at the end of the season will get the flag; St Pauls proved that in 2011
I'm looking forward to our first game vs Clayton on April 14th at Clayton which should be a ripper first up

Let the battle commence ( on big footy anyway ) :):D

So most teams have lost a few and picked up a few. Amazing insight there.

Any chance of a name or two?

Very quite in here,so I thought we better get this going for 2012

East Brighton: has kept most of the list together and picked up some very handy players, with 4-5 coming into our best 22

St Kilda City: Look to have lost a few. However, they will know more when training starts back. But I’m sure they will be around the top again.

Chelsea Heights: have done a great job in keeping the list together, as it looked like they were going to lose 3-4 top players, so good to see they saved them. They need a ruckmen is what I have heard, but will stay in the top 4 again in 2012

Dingley: Will again be just off the pace, and they haven’t picked up any big names to talk about

Mordialloc: have not finished trying to acquire some new players. However, they have lost some of their main players from last year; consequently, I think it will work out about the same as this year

Cheltenham: Considering the C/C going and then the B&F plus not picking up much, from what I hear, they might be heading the wrong way

Heatherton: haven’t picked up any big names, I thought they were going to get an ex AFL player, but heard he has gone cold on the idea.

The top four are a long way in front of the rest, and sure, there might be the odd upset. However, who has the fittest list out of the top four at the end of the season will get the flag; St Pauls proved that in 2011
I'm looking forward to our first game vs Clayton on April 14th at Clayton which should be a ripper first up

Not a bad summary but it's tricky picking the seasons outcome but I'll have a go rather than sling tish which is all too common in this forum.

Highett - Might find the jump too big, history would indicate they struggle in Division 1 but who knows. Been pretty quiet on the recruiting front. Last years list will not compete in the upper grade

Cheltenham - Really at the crossroads. Huge loss with Brown going, off field numbers appear to be diminishing. Hanging together through the excellent work of the Andersons. May be fighting relegation.

Heatherton - Big improvement required. Haven't established themselves as a Division 1 club but this time around has been better than last. Relegation candidate.

Mordialloc - Lost plenty but recruited well, Probably tread water although StBM additions will go well. Finals chance, maybe slip into 5th.

Dingley - An enigma, should be better than they are. Not a lot of news there and would need around 6 good players to threaten. Junior program superb so may challenge with the kids but gap between reserves and seniors close. Not enough quality yet but kids may surprise. Possible finalist.

Clayton - Coach has arrived with big wraps. Reasonable recruiting will see a big improvement but they were coming from a long way behind. Expect improvement, top end of the bottom four.

Chelsea Heights - Too old and slow last year and nothing to suggest any change there. Will be competitive, quality players there but getting past their use by, finalists but no threat.

St Kilda City - Kids program will reap rewards, surprised last year but will depend on whether stars are retained. Coach looked elsewhere but not appointed, Poyas & Quinn the keys. Could slide but plenty of talent should see them challenge.

East Brighton - Poor GF after dominating season. List is probably good enough but will need more luck. Recruiting good with player retention a feature. Should be smarting after the GF loss will be amongst it

St. Pauls - Always around it, lost a few but have gained some. Competition benchmark. Could go back to back! Good junior program will boost senior depth. Would start favourite.

Not a bad summary but it's tricky picking the seasons outcome but I'll have a go rather than sling tish which is all too common in this forum.

Highett - Might find the jump too big, history would indicate they struggle in Division 1 but who knows. Been pretty quiet on the recruiting front. Last years list will not compete in the upper grade

Cheltenham - Really at the crossroads. Huge loss with Brown going, off field numbers appear to be diminishing. Hanging together through the excellent work of the Andersons. May be fighting relegation.

Heatherton - Big improvement required. Haven't established themselves as a Division 1 club but this time around has been better than last. Relegation candidate.

Mordialloc - Lost plenty but recruited well, Probably tread water although StBM additions will go well. Finals chance, maybe slip into 5th.

Dingley - An enigma, should be better than they are. Not a lot of news there and would need around 6 good players to threaten. Junior program superb so may challenge with the kids but gap between reserves and seniors close. Not enough quality yet but kids may surprise. Possible finalist.

Clayton - Coach has arrived with big wraps. Reasonable recruiting will see a big improvement but they were coming from a long way behind. Expect improvement, top end of the bottom four.

Chelsea Heights - Too old and slow last year and nothing to suggest any change there. Will be competitive, quality players there but getting past their use by, finalists but no threat.

St Kilda City - Kids program will reap rewards, surprised last year but will depend on whether stars are retained. Coach looked elsewhere but not appointed, Poyas & Quinn the keys. Could slide but plenty of talent should see them challenge.

East Brighton - Poor GF after dominating season. List is probably good enough but will need more luck. Recruiting good with player retention a feature. Should be smarting after the GF loss will be amongst it

St. Pauls - Always around it, lost a few but have gained some. Competition benchmark. Could go back to back! Good junior program will boost senior depth. Would start favourite.

Very accurate with regard Dingley. We have recruited quite well and are relying on the maturing of the young blokes who have had a taste.

We have had fantastic numbers on the track and are quietly confident that we will take a significant step this year. No big name recruits but we have recruited a B&F winner from the Casey Cardinia League along with some handy types from the EFL and MPNFL.

Good to hear that Chelt will be keeping there B&F winner, from last year, as the SFL don't need to lose players of his class

What's the latest on Jerry hill?
Last I heard he'd be for his yearly check up!
The doctor said there was no point giving the heart worm injection!
So they just settled for some advocate for the 50kg+ species
But I hear all is well and hopefully we'll be hearing from old coke bottles soon

Very quiet in here,so I thought we had better get this going for 2012

Hopefully they can make up the 10+ goal difference!!!
Otherwise old coke bottles is gonna fireball more coin on choking recruits:D

Weren't too old and slow against EB's late in the year.... Gotta be fair, were destroyed by injuries at the wrong time.

They'll be there abouts again. Will need luck, like most sides.

Weren't too old and slow against EB's late in the year.... Gotta be fair, were destroyed by injuries at the wrong time.

They'll be there abouts again. Will need luck, like most sides.

Fair point JAM, maybe a bit harsh an assessment, absolutely devastated with injury which can cruel any clubs season. From memory EB had a few out that day and never got back to full strength from my sources. My point is that without an injection of some speed the team that fell short in the last quarter in 2010 won't have got any faster in 2 years since. But having stated that they'll play finals, no doubt. Good club the Heighters

Have the heightens lost many players and if so who? have they recruited anyone?

As mentioned earlier I think, Paul Wineberg is off to coach Ashwood, and I think Darren Granger might've gone too.

Besides that, I think everyone has stayed.

Picked up a few, young blokes, whose names escape me.

just a quickone which clubs would have the biggest budgets around? who would spend the most on guns? who would spend the most on duds?

A few tidbits...
- Ilya Friedman from Bentleigh is at Dingley. Key forward, played a bit of VFL ressies at Casey.
- Uaongo from Chelsea Hts has apparently headed up to Queensland to play with Labrador.
- Rafferty is back from overseas but will play with St Pauls co-tenant instead of the Doggies.

Clearances open Wednesday, let the fun begin.

Watched The Dingoes train last night. The fitness levels havent been this advanced for a long time. Great numbers again.
Dingley look to have recruited very well but still need a Ruckman.
Might be harder in the tackling department as well. Shane Morwood has organised the Melbourne Storm tackling Coach to be a regular at training teaching advanced tacking skills.

How are the other clubs tracking?

Watched The Dingoes train last night. The fitness levels havent been this advanced for a long time. Great numbers again.
Dingley look to have recruited very well but still need a Ruckman.
Might be harder in the tackling department as well. Shane Morwood has organised the Melbourne Storm tackling Coach to be a regular at training teaching advanced tacking skills.

How are the other clubs tracking?

Dont know how they organized this, as John Donahue is one busy man. Not just melbourne storms coach but carlton's aswell. He is my Brazilian jiu jitsu coach, and is by far the best in Australia. He has definitely helped my tackling which is something that I pass onto all of our boys at our club.

My bad, a tackling coach from The Storm, not the tackling coach!

Don't believe Ilya friedman would leave bntleigh, why is he leaving? How much.?

Long time track watcher at St Pauls... also king of the cliche's for February... here goes

Incredible numbers on the track & the boys have never looked fitter
Skin folds are bordering on anorexia, although incredibly, muscle mass levels have increased by 15%
Rookies are training the house down whilst the influx of new arrivals almost requires border protection.
The KPI's are being surpassed by the ODI's & the high altitude trip seems to have improved aerobic levels and last but not least,
Membership has topped 40,000 for the first time in February
top that!!!