Squad v GWS

Cant really believe some of the stuff on here. Twp point loss against a fairly good side and its panic rubbish.

Only change to the side, Tarrant out Cameron Delany in. really happy for this kid. I liked the look of him in pre season.

I think the honeymoon period of being able to justify finishing 10th-14th based on playing kids and plodders with an eye on the futute is now over.

So we're led to believe now that we've shedded the plodders and toilers, and apparently we're in this fantastic position of competition for spots because of so many superstars waiting in the wings. Yet we're playing two ruckmen out of position again, persisting with Anthony who needs to go, persisting with Cunnington who needs a spell, picking McKenzie who is an unknown, and ignoring Pederson, Garlett and Greenwood yet again. People have the right to be frustrated. There's a transition period when a new coach takes over, and after a few years it's to deliver and stop mucking around.

It's only round 2 and it's only GWS.. So what, that makes it fine not to pick your best team to win after 3 years supposedly building it? Not good enough. Start trying to win now, stop trying to leave an 'out' in case we lose, we can blame it on lack of experience and getting used to the game plan.

Comes a time, personalities aside, that a win loss record is average, and therefore the same as whoever the predecessor was - regardless of what hope you spin by talk.

fair comments, I agree, early yes ...

only point I make about the players you mention not being included(pederson/garlet/greenwood) what have they done in the magoos to earn selection?
the selectors are there to pick our best side, they see many things we don't....
on greenwood, i love him but his disposal is ****ing horrible, lets be fair..
saying that I don't know why we can't use him as a hard tag???:footy:

Although we were poor for 2 full Quarters last week (from half way through 2nd to half 4th), no need for mass changes. Yet.

Disappointed about Robbie T - I seriously think he can play, but just needs another 20-30 games to build his confidence and composure at this level. Remember, it took WC, 30+ games to stamp himself with NM (that's no comparison to RT).

Like many I believe our our kick-ins are still are a debacle, which should not be Brad's fault - we employ a back-line coach. If he cant devise 3-4 different options, find somebody who can. Period. Like most of you, I donate $$ to the club, and in my business, if a very strategic aspect was so poor (having uncontested possession provides a wonderful launch pad to attack), it just wouldn't be tolerated.

LA is lucky - several times on Saturday he ran forward of the ball, while it was still being hotly contested...that's not an NM trait. Harvey / Wells, yes it is tolerable, because they break lines and use it better than anyone...for LA (and very being kind), that's not a strength.

We just need be a little patient at the moment - which can be frustrating - but let's see what unfolds by mid-season.

Why are so many ppl around here so anti playing the kids.
Let's look at who has given us hope that we might move up the ladder.... It's Ziebell, Harper, Atley and the like.
Every other club does it and gets the benefit of the energy the kids give you.
Rather we play the kids who might surprise rather than the plodders that will give us the same mediocre performances.

It's only round 2 and it's only GWS.. So what, that makes it fine not to pick your best team to win after 3 years supposedly building it? Not good enough. Start trying to win now, stop trying to leave an 'out' in case we lose, we can blame it on lack of experience and getting used to the game plan.

If you honestly believe all that and aren't just trolling... Wow.

On another note, glad no drastic changes. Congrats to Delaney on making his first game, we'll still be able to stretch their defence with 2 ruckmen.

Disagree. Fact is they shouldn't have been demoted to the VFL to play "poorly" to start with. To use your analogy, would we have dropped Ricky Ponting in his prime to play for Tassie, and if he failed in a shield game refuse to bring him back? Absolute nonsense.

Well no, Greenwood and Pedersen as footballers don't compare to Ponting as a cricketer. My analogy was more referring to Marcus North scoring a century every now and then, but failing the rest of the time, or Phil Hughes' dreadful summer (should clarify I'm not saying Levi/Pedersen are similar, just saying it's silly to give people a free run, that's when complacency sets in)

But you may be right about being demoted to the VFL in the first place. I wouldn't know, and I don't claim to know. But I thought Levi was a Scott favourite, so he must have come back unfit or had a bad pre season or something??
I don't know their VFL form, but imo neither are as much of a lock as you can be for the 22 like Petrie, Swallow, Wells etc are. So if they don't perform, they aren't in. That's all I'm saying.

On another note, congratulations to Cameron Delaney :thumbsu: Good luck to him

edit: Nick Dal Santo was dropped a few years ago. So was Milne. And I'm sure there were a couple of Adelaide guys sent back to the SANFL. All have came back better. If we have the right characters these guys will take their chances when they get them and never look back

It may have. I just dont rate Anthony in the AFL - period.

Levi at least (well he has previously) brings some toughness/accountability and can be a role player - if anything he is more suited to AFL and Anthony more suited to VFL in how the game is played.
Agreed. We can't carry a soft, unaccountable, downhill skier, especially if he can't hurt the opposition even when the ball is handed to him by an inside team-mate.

If you honestly believe all that and aren't just trolling... Wow.

On another note, glad no drastic changes. Congrats to Delaney on making his first game, we'll still be able to stretch their defence with 2 ruckmen.

Really? See, I'd rather see our ruckmen, or at least one of them, stretch their midfield by being in the right position- the actual ruck. I know that's a bit strange, but I'll go with it. It seemed pretty good last year.

I know wanting to win and win well this year is a strange thing to anticipate, but I think it's possible. If that's cause for a 'wow' as a comeback, maybe I signed into the Tigers' board without realising.

Well no, Greenwood and Pedersen as footballers don't compare to Ponting as a cricketer. My analogy was more referring to Marcus North scoring a century every now and then, but failing the rest of the time, or Phil Hughes' dreadful summer (should clarify I'm not saying Levi/Pedersen are similar, just saying it's silly to give people a free run, that's when complacency sets in)

But you may be right about being demoted to the VFL in the first place. I wouldn't know, and I don't claim to know. But I thought Levi was a Scott favourite, so he must have come back unfit or had a bad pre season or something??
I don't know their VFL form, but imo neither are as much of a lock as you can be for the 22 like Petrie, Swallow, Wells etc are. So if they don't perform, they aren't in. That's all I'm saying.

On another note, congratulations to Cameron Delaney :thumbsu: Good luck to him

edit: Nick Dal Santo was dropped a few years ago. So was Milne. And I'm sure there were a couple of Adelaide guys sent back to the SANFL. All have came back better. If we have the right characters these guys will take their chances when they get them and never look back

Yep, fair enough Liam and in general I agree :thumbsu:

I suppose I am just a Pederson fan to be honest. Thought he was a real find last year. If anyone needs AFL more experience (whether rusty or not) to become the player he could be, whether "deserving" on form or not, its him! But somehow he misses out and others like Anthony, McIntosh, Macmillan, Mullett (and now maybe Mackenzie) have somehow leapfrogged one of the most valuable commodities to get in the AFL - a versatile utility who can play forward and back......

DJ Dupre, I agree entirely with both your posts.

Interesting that I suggested for cam delaney to get a game and a couple of people suggested I had no idea and hadnt watched any footy.

tarrant was a headless chook last saturday. Was totally unnatural in the forward line unlike pedersen who moved beutifully last season,i dun understadn y he is on the outter. He and petrie are without doubt our 2 best forwards.

many posters here r just saying well y don't we try him or her, we r not structurally right therefore we wont beat other people. Last yr our structure was right against te shit teams but pathetic against the good teams. With petrie in, we can only have 1 ruckman plus pedersen season 2011) or someone like him. WHen we dont have petrie wecan have 2 big ruckman (season 2010).

Structure is everything. Having a wayne carey is not as effective as having a pagan's paddock. Rd 1 showed us that our defense was decent and it didn't falter even when we were 5 goals down. Our defensive structure was sound, i.e. against pesky fast moving forwards, we need another bigger body against team with powerforwards. Our midfield was hit and miss until last quarter. Which was not good enough but we do have the skill but lacked onfield leadership (as expected with a captain that is turning 25).

Our midfield needs better position and that will improve with more familiarity with each other, things will improve drastically with greenwood and ziebell back in the middle. Having swallow, ziebell and greenwood will give us much more physical prescence also cunnington will eventually become one like ziebell, so we will have 4 strong player. Superior positioning from our mids will drasticaly improve our ball movement.

many posters here r just saying well y don't we try him or her, we r not structurally right therefore we wont beat other people. Last yr our structure was right against te shit teams but pathetic against the good teams. With petrie in, we can only have 1 ruckman plus pedersen season 2011) or someone like him. WHen we dont have petrie wecan have 2 big ruckman (season 2010).

Umm no.

tarrant was a headless chook last saturday. Was totally unnatural in the forward line unlike pedersen who moved beutifully last season,i dun understadn y he is on the outter. He and petrie are without doubt our 2 best forwards.

wot r u basin that on ?

p.s. bbq

LA's form was excellent over the preseason, moreso than Levi's, and both didnt have the best of games last weekend. Swapping a poor Levi for a poor Anthony is really a non-move.

Levi can put pressure on his opponent and has done so against very good opposition midfielders, i am not convinced Anthony is switched on defensively enough for this level.

It wouldn't be a non-move imo, while Levi hasn't done jack so far this pre-season I would be more optimistic of him extracting the digit than Anthony becoming accountable. I hope things fall into place for Anthony, but how many cheap goals were kicked by his direct opponent last week? That can't continue.

Wishing Spare Keys all the very best for his AFL debut.

So, we have one debutant at AFL level and they have none.

As for selections, and the philosophies behind it, I reckon Bon gives it away in his presser when he says "we'll be playing a brand of football we think we'll need to play in order to win finals". He's also asked about the three ruckmen in the side, saying "I expect them to bounce back, especially Goldy, but if it doesn't work we'll change it."

They're not going to go down that path till they've given it more than one game, at the very least.

Disappointed than Ben Warren didn't get a game. Deserves it.
Good luck to Cameron Delaney though. (I honestly don't even know what the kid looks like)

Tarrant can't take a trick, ****in spewing.

Im not sure why they refer to our setup as 3 ruckman, with Goldy and HMac sure Petrie is 100% forward (other than kickouts) and one of the better ones going around.

Disappointed than Ben Warren didn't get a game. Deserves it.
Good luck to Cameron Delaney though. (I honestly don't even know what the kid looks like)

Tarrant can't take a trick, ****in spewing.

He is in the emergencies, we'll know more tomorrow if Milky lines up for Werribee.

He deserves his chance.

Why would any- one want warren in the side for, he will not even be at the club in the next 2 years,should have been moved on already.