Analysis Stadium deals - what, how, when - why we need a new one and the SA footy paradigm shift happening

So if the best thing happens and both clubs do earn a higher share of the revenue (out of the SANFL's cut, of course) due to pressure from the AFL and state government, do you think the SANFL will defray their "losses" by deciding not to cop the upkeep costs for AAMI anymore?

If so, lol.

The Crows moving out of AAMI and the "compensation" negotiations for them being kicked out will be accelerated one would expect.

Compensation for having to stand on your own two feet home ground wise for the first time ever? Wow.

How did the Encore Group get the AO catering contract? I understand its owned by SANFL...Is that correct?

722251-elle-macpherson.jpg
two-ewes.jpg

How did the Encore Group get the AO catering contract? I understand its owned by SANFL...Is that correct?

Encore was started by Whicker.

Totally on board with your sentiment, but Geelong is an insane outlier to the point of wondering whether Bob Davis sold his soul or found a genie lamp in his sunset years.

Between the forty-odd million government dollars thrown at the Kardinia Park precinct - on account of the area being the most marginal federal and state seat in the country - and the Cats controlling all stadium revenue, they've had a golden goose fall in their lap that's situationally irrelevant to just about every other stadium deal on the planet.

Lucky bastards.

Luck you reckon, try Brian Cook who took what he learned from his days at the Eagles i.e the WA model & convinced the powers at Sleepy Hollow thats the way to go. No luck there tribster.

Cook is an excellent administrator, but getting Kardinia Park converted into a spaceship isn't happening without all the porkbarreling.

On the flipside, Port Adelaide is one of the safest seats in the country. The last thing to be built there was an asbestos-fibre pennyfarthing factory.

2013 = Footy Park - those superboxes = 100% revenue for Sanfl. Crows and Port only had 1 area each they could sell - for us SuiteOne and a few "open boxes". At Subi every corporate facility is sold by WCE. Although I think Wafc and Subiaco footy club get one small area for free.
Far out, that's crazy if true. What a terrible deal that was.

That Rucci article states the SANFL's uplift as around 4.5 million!!! WHAT THE F@#$.

Break that down in quite simple terms and that should equate to about another $2.1 mill for Port and $2.4 mill for the crows.

The SANFL are taking too much from AFL as it is and not only have they taken that money but they've taken MORE. What a joke.

I think you need to go and read the first few posts even the first few pages of this thread to understand the whole picture of stadium deals around Oz. I wrote it in March 2009 but not a lot has changed at individual stadiums and the big picture principles havent changed.

Encore catering group was set up to take advantage of the crows and Port playing at Footy Park and was set up with the northern stand funding being approved in 1999 - before the season. Since then they have started catering for non footy events and venues. Its a SANFL business - there is a registered business name and its a SANFL business. You can see where they have branched out to at the following site

http://www.encoregroup.net.au/external/index.php

Notice Caro always puts these stories out on a Thursday.

You mean the SA stories - yep sets it up for her arvo discussion on 5AA.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...-called-in-over-oval-row-20141119-11q2st.html

South Australian Premier called in over oval row
The Adelaide Crows and Port Adelaide have turned to South Australian Premier Jay Weatherill to resolve the crippling Adelaide Oval impasse that has seen the Power lose close to $2 million in 2014 and the Crows struggle to make a profit.

It is understood that the premier will deliver an ultimatum to the SANFL in the coming days that could ultimately lead to the restructuring of the prize stadium and alter the balance of power in South Australian football. The expected ultimatum follows talks between Weatherill, Crows chairman Rob Chapman and Port chairman David Koch.

Last edited by a moderator:

No it did not. Trigg made the statement on 5cc. It is a FREE RIDE for the cows from the SANFL. It has nothing to do with us and our upkeep of Alberton.
I know the statement was made by Trigg but he was probably repeating what the SANFL told him.
Asking how much we pay is only to be used as a comparison. 2mil sounds like a lot if bucks for what at first glance appears not to be too much.

http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/pr...-fight-for-money/story-fnelctok-1227129786328
PREMIER Jay Weatherill says he will not hesitate to force an end to the SANFL-AFL impasse on revenue sharing at Adelaide Oval if money brawl tarnishes the venue.
Mr Weatherill today met SANFL president John Olsen and Stadium Management Authority chief executive Andrew Daniels as the stadium review entered its 127th day.
He has asked the SMA to table before Christmas a full report on the state of negotiations between the SANFL, AFL and Adelaide and Port Adelaide football clubs.
http://www.news.com.au/sport/afl/pr...-fight-for-money/story-fnelctok-1227129786328

Looks like Weatherill getting involved at last :)

The article posted earlier stated that they're going to recieve seven HUNDRED million for kardinia and I nearly choked until I realised it was a typo.

They could launch it into low earth orbit with that.

That is everything ie includes gross membership revenue / 8 home games - gross membership expenses / 8 home games. Its not net profit just from all the food and booze and corporate facilities on match day.

The 70% of the canteen take that the clubs are asking for.

Clubs would only profit from football I would imgine.

The clubs arent looking for 70% of catering. They are looking for 70% of Total Stadium Football Revenue. They get 100% of membership fees, 100% of designated corporate inventory, 100% of pre match functions, so they wont get 70% of catering. Its an AFL term, which I have never see the proper definition - unlike the definition of Net Stadium Returns which has been put out in the public. 70% TSFR is a bit meaningless without knowing the costs.

But on the flip side the SMA get 100% of catering, their corporates, Audi Club, 8000x $550 memberships.......

Where have you been since those superboxes were built in 1997?? As I said the 2 clubs had limited access to corporate facilities at Footy Park. That's why Koch bags the crap out of Footy park whenever he gets the chance re corporate inventory the club's had the right to sell.

http://www.aamistadium.com.au/artman2/publish/historyAndFacts/index.shtml
Q: How many Corporate Hospitality Facilities are there at AAMI Stadium?

A: There are 153 Open Facilities, varying in size from four to 14 seats; 29 Enclosed Facilities ranging from eight to 12 person capacity; 27 Premier Facilities accommodating 14 people; and 33 Superboxes, with 18-20 person capacity.

Upgrades to AAMI Stadium
Development .........year
Seating in the outer 1982
Concourse Roofing 1982
Park Pavilion Suites completed1997
http://www.aamistadium.com.au/artman2/publish/historyAndFacts/index.shtml

But on the flip side the SMA get 100% of catering, their corporates, Audi Club, 8000x $550 memberships.......

Yep, and that's why that 70% is meaningless without some definitions, costings and revenue figures.

The more I think about it, the more I think us posting a $2 million loss this year is a strategical masterpiece.

So too the Crows.

If SMA can bank a few million for the sinking fund, not due for a few years, and claim "look, no profit", then it's only fair that the two AFL clubs play the same game.

Cook is an excellent administrator, but getting Kardinia Park converted into a spaceship isn't happening without all the porkbarreling.

On the flipside, Port Adelaide is one of the safest seats in the country. The last thing to be built there was an asbestos-fibre pennyfarthing factory.

WAFL, SANFL, VFL sides that played at a home ground run by their local council basically had clean stadium deals either paying rent and the ground upkeep / maintenance costs BUT keeping all match day revenue but having to bare match day costs.

The WAFC gave WCE a clean stadium deal and Geelong had one long before Cook got to the Cattery. But **** me all those government grants because both federal and state seats in the Geelong area were marginal have been like Santa Claus handing out presents.

From my following post in a thread about Geelong sharing revenue on this board from July last year
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/cats-prepared-to-revenue-share.1021503/#post-29344359

Cook said that the total 3 stage redevelopment cost $103mil see below
by my calculation its
Feds. $24mil
State $46mil
CGG.. $11mil (City of Greater Geelong)
GFC.. $13.8mil
AFL.. $8.2mil
Total $103mil

That Rucci article states the SANFL's uplift as around 4.5 million!!! WHAT THE F@#$.

Break that down in quite simple terms and that should equate to about another $2.1 mill for Port and $2.4 mill for the crows.

The SANFL are taking too much from AFL as it is and not only have they taken that money but they've taken MORE. What a joke.

Which article? Linky needed? There are so many articles floating around.

Rowe the campaigner at it again shouting over Caro and backing the SANFL to the hilt. Caroline Wilson saying that Jay Weatherill has been in discussions with John Olson and if there isn't a resolution soon the Government will step in and make sure there is a resolution for the clubs.

Totally on board with your sentiment, but Geelong is an insane outlier to the point of wondering whether Bob Davis sold his soul or found a genie lamp in his sunset years.

Between the forty-odd million government dollars thrown at the Kardinia Park precinct - on account of the area being the most marginal federal and state seat in the country - and the Cats controlling all stadium revenue, they've had a golden goose fall in their lap that's situationally irrelevant to just about every other stadium deal on the planet.

Lucky bastards.

Nah - this happens a lot in the 4 professional sports in North America over the last 25 years. Private owners threaten to move their team to another city and screw down city governments and state governments to build them stadiums and give them sweat heart deals on rents. The public panics thinking they will lose their team, put pressure on politicians and they panic and they pony up. But the smarter cities/states have over the last decade or so either said no, or we will only contribute part of the expense ie x%, the even smarter ones cap it to a $ figure so the private owners have to pay the cost overruns and the smartest ones take it al to a referendum to get the voters approval to give them the $$$ but which taxes to increase and/or introduce to pay for it.

The big difference is the feds in the USA dont spend money on stadiums - the republicans wont let the democrats spend the monies. That changed in the 2000's when Australian Commonwealth government was flush with mining resources boom generated company and PAYG taxes, so rather than putting all the money into the Future Fund, they started giving cash hand outs ie buying votes- some of that cash handouts went into stadiums, big capital city based ones as well as suburban grounds and regional grounds.

I think that gravy train has pulled into the station for the feds spending and will be mothballed for a few years.

Analysis Stadium deals - what, how, when - why we need a new one and the SA footy paradigm shift happening