Oct 31, 2000
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
I know it is early but here is my evaluation of the current status of our list

1.Headland- move everything to keep him, vital to our future success
2.Johnson- safe as houses
3.Voss-more chance of Jesus coming to earth than him leaving.
4.McRae-invaluable to us, wouldn't attract to much trade attetion from other clubs.
5.B.Scott- massive improver , vital clubmen
6.L.Power-great little player, though come salary cap problems, could be a great trade interest, though it is preferable for him to stay.
7.J.Gram- still developing
8.T.Notting- another young gun, will only get better, will one day dominate the competition.
9.A.McGrath- definate trade potential, don't like his attitude, better to offload whilst there is still interest
10.M.Ashcroft-crafty, super intelligent, still a required and vital player.
11.A.Lynch-can and will go around again.
12.J.Ackermanis- as if we would trade him
13.M.Pike-showed his true worth this year.
14.R.Hadley- shows ability, hard to get a start, but has the ability too. That is the important thing.
15.M.Michael-we let him go at 17, don't think we will ever let that happen again.
16.J.Brown-would port let Tredrea go, i think not.
17.M.Martin-working his way back, showed in the local league he is getting over his injuries, watch him burn next year.
18.L.Hammond-shows promise, could be a trade option, silky skills, but not sure if he is anywhere near ready to crack our line up.
19.J.Charman-safe as houses
20.S.Black- what do you think?
21.D.Cupido-vital to get him fit and firing. Top five player of the club in the future.
22.C.Scott-cornerstone
23.J.Leppitsch-no chance of ever leaving.
25.D.McLaren- possible trade, never going to make it as a ruckman, needs to be key backman, competing with morrison.
26.C.Bolton-time to trade him now while there is interest. Has all the attributes, just too many in his way.
27.C.Keating-may yet have to be traded, three star ruckman in one club does not fit, one may have to go. This hurts me to say.
30.R.Copeland-want him to stay, though could be a trade option.
32.S.Hart-club legend, lead the way in the Gf, will never be forgotten. Great time to bow out.
33.D.White-as long as the hunger is there he will stay.
34.A.Shattock-expect big improvements again next year.
35.S.Morrison-see dylan mclaren.
36.D.Bradshaw- will be traded, hurts me heaps.
37.Darren Bradshaw-will be given opportunities created by his brothers departure.
38.N.Clarke- another who has suffered from limited opportunities, lions should seek to trade.
43.B.McDonald- in the same boat as keating,
44.N.Lappin-get your money on him for the brownlow next year.

Rookies- Raines to be held, Maplestone to be delisted, Weller to be upgraded.

Well that is my synopsis feel free to comment.

it will be an interesting few weeks, with player contracts to be renegotiated.

given that i personally believe AFL players are paid very very well, it does beg the question - would you agree to receive 10% less money to stay/play for a team that has brought you one/two premierships with the potential for more if the team is held together?

obviously voss and leppa were mentioned in articles saying they'd accept less money to keep the group together - it will be interesting to see if there is a collective decision to hold the group together as much as possible.

personally, if I was on, say $400k a year I'd be willing to accept $360k a year to remain in a group like that.... for that matter, if I was on $150k a year I'd accept $135k....

we shall see i guess.

My comments.

1.Headland - should be kept if possible.
2.Johnson- Virtually an untouchable.
3.Voss- won't leave.
4. McRae- For the right deal, could be used as trade bait.
5. B.Scott- vital player as a tagger/run-with player and also great in the midfield.
6. Power - would keep for as long as possible, but the call of home is rising.
7. Gram- only 1 year at the club. Should be given at least another year.
8. Notting- Could be used a trade bait, for the right deal. It would have to be good though.
9. McGrath - Possible trade. Perhaps McGrath/Cupido for Essendon's Bolton and a second round draft pick.
10. Ashcroft - could be asked to retire if there are salary cap problems with Headland.
11. Lynch- see Ashcroft. We need to find a replacement for him. Perhaps McLaren or Morrison?
12. Akermanis - defintely an untouchable.
13.M.Pike - Still great skill, but perhaps only 2 years left in him at most.
14.R.Hadley- Would like to see more of this player. Hear good reports. Would probably give him another year to make an impact.
15.Michael - Untouchable.
16.Brown- Untouchable
17. Martin - For the first half of the year was in favor of delisting, but given ben Robbin's success at North, may we worth keeping as back-up midfielder/half back flanker.
18. Hammond- One more year perhaps.
19. Charman- Untouchable. Does he have the mobility to replace Lynch at full forward, if he retires?
20. Black- Untouchable.
21. Cupido- See him as trade bait for the right offer.
22. Scott- Untouchable
23. Leppitsch- Untouchable
25. McLaren- Agree he could be a possible trade. Don't see his future as a ruckman. Possibility as key defender or at full forward?
26. Bolton - Would trade, if a good offer came along.
27.Keating- His performance in the GF, shows that when fit, is a top player. I would be loathe to trade him.
30. Copeland- Trade option.
32. Hart - Should definitely retire, if there are problems with the salary cap in retaining Headland.
33. White - starting to age. Possibly like Pike, only a couple of more years left in him.
34. Shattock - Not untouchable, but certainly worth keeping.
35. Morrison - should be brought along next year. Could be slotted into a number of positions in the future depending on who departs.
36. Daniel Bradshaw - Would keep, as experienced sidekick to the full forward who replaces Lynch.
37. Darren Bradshaw - Hmmm. Matthews has already stated he is unlikely to play alongside his brother. One of the brothers may need to go. Would like to see a bit more of him at senir level, so would probably keep at this stage.
38. Clarke - Probably delisted. May need to be delisted to comply with the AFL's rules on number of delistings as he was last year.
43. McDonald- Would keep.
44. Lappin- Untouchable.

My guesses as to who are going:

Daniel Bradshaw, McLaren, Martin, and probably Notting.

Cupido has indicated his desire to remain at the club, and I think Des might stay as well.

MCLAREN IS A LEGEND... ask anyone who goes to a reserves game & im sure that they would tell you that he is a great ruckman......we brough him to the club as a CHB & evceryone on here baged the decision.... now you are saying not a ruckman & possibly a CHB.... WHAT THE???? we thought that he would go close to winning the Grogan - maybe he didnt get anywhere near but he would have been our best player over the whole season i would think.. most consistent... him & boofa... & as a ruckman.... he gets rested in the Backline when he has had a big quarter in the ruck....

i think he will be a great AFL footballer

With regards to the 3 ruckmen "problem."

I am of the strong belief that you cannot have too many good ruckmen. Certainly 3 is NOT too many.

Sooner or later(probably sooner) we are going to have to fill a void up forward i.e. when Lynchy retires.

The logic a lot of people are using is this makes Bradshaw worth more to keep than if we trade him. Not necessarily so. Although Bradshaw has many attributes, he is no Lynch.

If we want to have a big, imposing, strong FF who can also take a good mark we are either going to have to buy one (or do a deal to get one) or develop one.

Now think about it......who is a player on our list who has got a whole career ahead of him, who won't be intimidated, is as strong as an ox and takes a really good contested mark? He's only 19 but has had a whole year of AFL footy under his belt and has proven he can perform at this level?

ANS = Jamie Charman.

The perfect scenario would be for Lynch to continue for one more year with Charman as his understudy. The beauty is that McDonald and Keating could be fully employed sharing the ruck duties and you would still have Charman as a back up ruckman in the case of injury or form loss by either Beau or Crackers.

Am I crazy or what?

i think it is pretty much common knowledge that Ash McGrath has more tickets on himself then those that are sold for a grand final in local footy circles. Maybe he should spend less time at the Adrenalin bar.

As for talk of Charman playing as a permanent full forward, joke. Charman has the makings of an absolute dominant ruckman. This boy has all the attributes and if i had to keep one ruckman it would be Charman, even though Keating is superior at this stage this won't be the case in two years.

As for wright. I haven't seen enough of him, i have heard mixed reports. The local comp though is not a great indicator though. Big McLaren will never cut it at the lions. He is an honest toiler at best.

Though we are in this great position to trade these blokes cause they attract some worth from the lesser performed clubs with a late draft pick for a higher draft pick. This is what we need to do to secure as much of the best talent as possible.

I think Des will stay.

Lynch should hopefully play on for another year. We don't need Daniel Bradshaw. I would seek to Trade him and Notting for Matty Lappin. Carlton will be after a FF and Daniel would be lured down there. I think Pagan thinks highly of Bradshaw also. Matty Lappin to be with his cousin might be one worth considering.

I don't think Martin will end up going. I think the club will give him one more year. He doesn't deserve a de-listing but we'll see what happens.

Luke Power I believe is out of contract. Someone correct me if I'm wrong. If we can't have his brother up in Brisbane, my thoughts are he would want to join him at one stage and as he was 2 premiership medals, he might seek greener pasture and play the rest of his career with his brother. I would not have an idea who to get for him, maybe a draft pick considering we won't have enough room in the salary cap or maybe Robert Murphy.

Nathan Clarke is gone IMO. He will be one of the de-listed ones with Morrison. McLaren will end up staying. I will get to him shortly.

Luke Hammond I think will be de-listed. Has been on our list for 2 years and hasnt played a senior game. If Martin stays, the club will keep Hammond, if Martin goes then I reckon the club will de-list Hammond aswell. They are in the same situation of not playing a senior game the last 2 years aswell as Clarke.

Hadley is de-listed. He's my guess at the other de-listing.

The club will seek to trade Bolton for a draft pick.

These are my guesses for de-listings.

1. Luke Hammond
2. Shane Morrison
3. Nathan Clarke
4. Richard Hadley

The trades I put on the table are.

1) Bradshaw and Notting to Carlton for Matty Lappin and a draft pick.

2) Luke Power to the bulldogs for a 1st round draft pick and a young player. Maybe Robert Murphy. Power is bound to be with his brother sooner or later.

3a) Craig Bolton or Ash McGrath to Essendon for Henneman or Heffernan.

Or,

3b) Both Bolton and McGrath to Essendon for either Henneman or Heffernan and a draft pick.

This is the proposed idea. If Lynch does retire at the end of the year, we use Leppa up forward and bring Henneman to play the CHB role. Before the trading period, Lynch would have already announced what hes going to do. If he is going to retire, we work on a trade to get Henneman for the CHB and use Leppa up forward with Darren Bradshaw in the pocket.

If Lynch plays on, we work to trade those 2 above for Heffernan. McLaren and Weller can both play at CHB and can both play up forward. One of them can develop at CHB. Lynch probably won't be able to travel much next year so Lynch won't play every away game. Leppa can be used up forward and in defence and McLaren or Weller (depending on who to develop at CHB) can be used up forward and in defence aswell. They will be developing and then one can take over at CHB at the end of the year when Lynch retires to enable Leppa to go up forward.

The answers for FF are there. We can play Leppitsch up forward for the rest of his career. Darren Bradshaw in the pocket and we have Heffernan, McLaren or Weller playing at CHB. Leppitsch is awesome up forward. In the future he should play there. Lynch is retiring at the right time depending on when it is so this can work.

I too belive that Luke Power would love to play with his brother and I know that the Lions did everything in their power (excuse the pun) to get Sam. What prevented us in the end was the trade from West Coast for Des Headland. The Lions wanted a round one draft choice because they knew Sam would go top 10 (I think he went with pick 10 incidentally) and West Coast wouldn't deliver.

We don't want or need Matty Lappin at our club ... he's always in the media for the wrong reasons .. he has a drinking problem and would be bad publicity for our club. :eek:

cheers ... Kaz :rolleyes:

Please explain to me veteran's rule? DO they have to be at the club for a certain number of years?

Under no circumstances do we want Matty Lappin. I wholeheartedly agree that he has off field issues taht we don't want to deal with. It is no coincidence that our team started it's amazing run after a certain player left the club. Off field issues will always affect the team.

Status of our list