Swans in 2004

Grayham's back! How did the operation go Gra Gra, should we now call Ms Grayham?

Originally posted by Minkus_Swan
Swans hardly get mentioned outside NSW, so most supporters of different clubs would barely get any news on the swans. It's a bit like Freo, West Coast and Brisbane - unless you win games, you won't get mentioned.

For the record, I think it will be tough for the swans for reach the top 4 - although i'm hopeful. The ones to beat this year are Brisbane, Port, Pies and Freo. The competition is very even and about 9 teams have the ability to win it.

I think that Freo have a very strong chance to win the flag this year, they are my early tip for this year.

Agree on young Freo. I can really see them and St Kilda continuing with the improvements they made in 2003.

Us, well I'm going to sit on the fence and just sit back and let it unroll in 04. They shocked me with the confident way they not only played footy but the way they held on to win pretty much all the cliffhangers they played in. In 2002 they lost 9 games by under 10 points, so it could be said that we really weren't that far off, despite Eade's defensive game plans at the time.

What I will say is that in all the time in following the Swans I have never seen such steely-eyed determination during a pre-season. Adam Schneider was interviewed saying how filthy all the team gets when they see a replay of the Lions Preliminary Final. Tadgh Kennelly was interviewed about the picture of him lying with his head in his hands. He said similar things to Schneids, musing about how close we had gotten to a dream (I still think we'd not have done any worse than Collingwood in the GF had we played them too.....but that is just opinion of course).

Purely and simply there is a fire in the belly in the Swans this season. In addition to that the squad is staying pretty much intact, Cresswell aside. I'm expecting big improvements from guys like the talented Luke Ablett and Mark Powell in 04. With possibly Jarrod Sundqvist and definitely LRT in that group as well. Micky O will be back to full fitness. And guys like Jason Ball, Heath James and Fixter will be added to an already successful squad enthusiastic squad. Plus there is always the chance of another first year bolter making an impact as much as Schneider did in 2004.

One area where I do have concerns is in the game plans opposition coaches will adopt to try and nullify our running game. Brisbane I think did it the best in the PF, with lots of long lateral passing and players stepping a kick behind the play to quell out any prespective Swans' attacks. What if we are covered like were in games against Hawthorn and North this year? Does Roosey have a Plan B for when things aren't going well?

I guess we'll see. A win over Brissie in Vegas is something that could set up our season at the very first chance. Players will not be wanting to forget how close we got to beating those guys. A win would NOT surprise me at the Gabba.

Now that is VERY unswan-like confidence! :eek:

JF

PS:- Thanks for writing us off Juddy_baby (Danny_boy these days). I've been missing you, big boy!:p

Originally posted by ZimZum
A side full if nobodies? Give me a side full of nobodies with a will to win anyday.

You got it mate. I think we are better equipped to overcome taggers or bad form than we were in 1996. Then we were so Lockett-conscious that it wasn't funny, even if Craig Obrien did act as a wonderful foil at times. This season when one of our no-name 'stars' has a quiet match, there will be chances for others to step up.

And until the day that they find out how to tag a ruckman, I don't think we will have a problem with him having too many bad matches. He just loves it on the ball. Put him elsewhere and he gets lazy, lethargic and somewhat haphazard with his footy. Even if thanks to Roosey's confidence in his ability to just go and get the pill, he is a different player ( and person too) from the insipid one we saw even as recently as 2002.

JF

Originally posted by Cyclops
Instead a bit of quality showed through, the coach did well, and they had a bit of luck with injuries. Best of all they made the absolute most of their opportunities. Kids who might've been resting on their laurels in September have played (and won!) hot finals against hard opposition. They only sank when they struck the rock of Brisbane.

True mate. But from what I hear there are reasons for the way we played in that last quarter. It goes without saying that the Brions lifted a couple of knotches in the last stanza. They are a class side playing below itsef for much of the season. But as the game got away from Sydney, it was more than noticeable from my position in the Cheer Squad behind the goals that several of the Swans' players heads dropped quite considerably.

But WHY did they drop?! It has not been brought up anywhere, but in my view Roosey made a serious serious blue in telling the whole team that it would be Darryn Cresswell's last game if we lost. Bam, Brisbane kick 3 goals and suddenly the team is thinking about how sad it is to not send him out on a winner. The next thing you know it Brisvegas are in another GF. And we are finished for 2003, and Cresswell forever.

I'm not saying we didn't fight until the end in that match. But it was highly noticeable that the fighting spirit we showed only 2 weeks before against Port deserted us in that last quarter. I know a couple of players have intimated that he WAS on their minds as soon as Roosey mentioned it.

Personally I think Roosey goofed that night. And quite badly. I'm surprised more of it was never made by the media.

JF

Originally posted by EssJayW
If people read BF they will know that I have already spoken. The Swans will be premiers this year. End of story.

Another premiership won in January. How many does that make now.
Personally, I like mine in September.

Originally posted by JF_Bay_22_SCG
Personally I think Roosey goofed that night. And quite badly. I'm surprised more of it was never made by the media.

Not sure I agree there JF. Sure the announcement would have been critical in the loss of momentum, but to call it a goof is unfair. Roos took a gamble, he knew Brisbane were about to unleash everything and had more experience than any other team to make that last effort an effective one. He needed a spur, something special, but it didn't pay off. I doubt not stating that fact would have saved the game, and I'm sure someone would be on these boards complaining that he DIDNT say it, and thus lose the game.

Personally I just think that its much easier to play for something when you know what it feels like to have it. Its harder to play for a dream when you imagine everything about it. Its easier when you want to relive a dream you've tasted once. I believe one things certain - if the Swans do make the finals they'll go as far as the Prelims minimum, and I think they will play like the "home" side at AAMI Stadium for the next couple of years. Thats the benefit of a successful Finals campaign, and Brisbane have been reaping the maximum benefits of their "shock" win in 2001.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
The PF between the Swans and the Lions was the Grand final we should have had.

Totally agree. As far as I'm concerned, that was the playoff between the two best, and most in form finals teams in the competititon in '03.

As for Sydney this year- I'm not going to pretend that I have any idea, since like 99.99% of footy pundits last year i was totally wrong. Probably the fundamental thing they have going for them is that Roos is a bloody good coach, and bloody good coaches tend to get better with experience. I'll guess 6-3rd most likely.

Originally posted by Danny_Green
Sydney 2004 will be like the St Kilda of 1998, the Melbourne of 1989.... and the Richmond of 1996... You always get 1 club that play so far above themselves and somehow manage to to have a dcent year even though you look at them and think "How the hell" invariably the next year they turn to crap the resume their rightful place ni the bottom half of the AFL.

Your side will also have to prove themselves this year as well and someone need's to tell worsfold to give lynch a game cause sooner or later your forward line will need a proper foward who can kick a bag instead of metera winning games for you!

Originally posted by grayham
Ah, Collingwood actually went backwards marginally in 2003.
How so? Because they lost the GF by more?
They improved in a number of areas but most notably they won more games.

Originally posted by Mead
Totally agree. As far as I'm concerned, that was the playoff between the two best, and most in form finals teams in the competititon in '03.
Sydney won less games and consequently finished lowewr than Collingwood, were beaten convincingly by Collingwood late in the season at home never really being a winning chane at all and Collingwood beat a number of finalists in the run home as well as Brisbane in the QF. I can;t see any way Sydney were more deserving grand finalists than Collingwood including for the fact they were beaten easily in the end by Brisbane and by barely less than Collingwood were the week later.

Originally posted by MarkT
Sydney won less games and consequently finished lowewr than Collingwood, were beaten convincingly by Collingwood late in the season at home never really being a winning chane at all and Collingwood beat a number of finalists in the run home as well as Brisbane in the QF. I can;t see any way Sydney were more deserving grand finalists than Collingwood including for the fact they were beaten easily in the end by Brisbane and by barely less than Collingwood were the week later.

There is no doubt Sydney were a better team than Collingwood in 2003, as testified by winning hard away finals, and the only team to push Brisbane in a sudden death final. It was anyones game at 3/4 time despite Sydneys horific late season injury toll. Most agreed that whoever won the Sydney prelim was a shoe in for the flag.

Collingwood may have won more games in the season but they do not have to play 10 geniune tough road trip away games which makes it very difficult to finish top 4 unless you are the real deal.

Sydney convinvingly beat Collingwood in Melbourne, beat Brisbane at the gabba, and beat Port in Adelaide. No team could boast that away record against top 4 teams.

2004, Who knows. I think it safe to bet that Sydney will have a better year than Collingwood because Sydney will have gained a lot of confidence and experience from 2003, whereas Collingwoods minds would be shot to pieces after GF embarrasement.

Oh he's back alright........................

Can't agree that Sydney were the more in form finals team than Collingwood. Yes you could say Collingwood's wins were at "home" but both of them were as convincing all game efforts as you could want, yet Sydneys PF final quarter was as flat as they had been > Rd. 4, and in front of a huge home ground crowd to boot.

Sydney had their chance to beat Collingwood at home in the run up to the finals and never looked good enough. They had their chance to beat Brisbane in a final and had them on the back foot at 3/4 time and couldn't get the ball past centre for the whole last quarter. It was a great effort overall for 2003 but when push came to shove they showed they were not as good as Collingwood or Brisbane.

Originally posted by MarkT
Sydney had their chance to beat Collingwood at home in the run up to the finals and never looked good enough. They had their chance to beat Brisbane in a final and had them on the back foot at 3/4 time and couldn't get the ball past centre for the whole last quarter

Which is a lot more than Collingwood could manage, as they couldnt get the ball past centre for an entire match.

Suffice to say that Sydney's form peaked mid season, and dropped off slightly in the final rounds and finals due to key injuries. But clearly the 2nd or 3rd best team for 2003 behind Brisbane and Port who had all share the same away game burden, and therefore the H&A is a true reflection of their ability.

Originally posted by Ten Ton Hammer
Your side will also have to prove themselves this year as well and someone need's to tell worsfold to give lynch a game cause sooner or later your forward line will need a proper foward who can kick a bag instead of metera winning games for you!

*yawn* We had a forward who kicked 62 goals.... more than Tredrea, Brown, Gehrig and Tarrant... apparantly all gun forwards..... he was averaging 3.26 goals a game... the 3rd highest average only beaten by Lloyd and Lynch.... yet apparantly we don't have a "proper forward"..... In fact.... our forward finished only 2 goals behind your apparant superstar forward Barry Hall.... in 5 less games than Hall. Just because Matera is 171cm that apparantly doesn't make him a "proper forward".... well I'd hate to think how good we would be if we got a "proper forward" that could also average over 70 goals a year :rolleyes:

I guess finishing the year as the highest scoring team in the AFL isn't enough proof yet.... when will that Worsfold ever learn :rolleyes:

*yawn* We had a forward who kicked 62 goals.... more than Tredrea, Brown, Gehrig and Tarrant... apparantly all gun forwards..... he was averaging 3.26 goals a game... the 3rd highest average only beaten by Lloyd and Lynch.... yet apparantly we don't have a "proper forward"..... In fact.... our forward finished only 2 goals behind your apparant superstar forward Barry Hall.... in 5 less games than Hall. Just because Matera is 171cm that apparantly doesn't make him a "proper forward".... well I'd hate to think how good we would be if we got a "proper forward" that could also average over 70 goals a year :rolleyes:

I guess finishing the year as the highest scoring team in the AFL isn't enough proof yet.... when will that Worsfold ever learn :rolleyes:

Can kind of agree with you here mate, if Fido Matera was 195cm, there would be no issue. A forward who can kick 62 goals in some 18 games is exactly that, a forward who can kick 62 goals in some 18 games....

It's not perfect, but more often than not, seen as how we won 12, drew 2 and lost 8, Phil "not a proper forward" Matera, worked out better than the majority of "proper forwards" running around....

Barry Hall played from CHF mate.
Therefore 62 goals from CHF is an excellent return.

O'Loughlin kicked 40 odd I think, but his season was interrupted with injuries.

Originally posted by Perty4
You know its Grayham when his posts mention Collingwood in them more than Sydney.

Hardly.

My previous post had one mention of Sydney, one mention of Collingwood, one mention of Brisbane and one mention of Port. Funnily enough, the top 4 teams of last year.

You're paranoid.

Sydney are in for a Stellar Year in 2004 - I cant see them going any lower than third - and the Lions will hard pressed to win 4 in a row.

Collingwood and Freo look the obvious dangers but its the Swans likely to take out the flag this year.

Stu Maxfield will also have a "Stella" year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!He looked flabby early on in training sessions. The same could be said for Paul Williams and Schneider. All 3 will have to watch the kilos..:)