Media Swans Talk in the Media 2022

Our club in the Media

Speaking of Papley I don't think I will be getting many arguments when I say with confidence that Papley is going to give away the most 50 metre penalties for umpire descent than any other Swans player by a reasonably big margin. Love hm but he has massive white line fever.

Neither of his grandads had white line fever, though Max would not put up with nonsense. It must come from his mum or grandmas.

My Dad said to me when I was kid that you cannot change the umpire's mind . So why argue? I never did. I might hate the decision but I moved on.
I find it juvenile when players go on with it. Get on with the game.
Likewise, when young I learned not to argue the toss. Total waste of time and energy. But most umpires, when approached respectfully, will explain a decision. I think we've all seen that and know that it's not the target of the crackdown.

Same as Police , treat them well and it makes a difference

My Dad said to me when I was kid that you cannot change the umpire's mind . So why argue? I never did. I might hate the decision but I moved on.

I reckon the fact we as fans pump up the tyres of players who carry on like pork chops probably hasn't helped. Draftees are now listing a knack for being lippy, "goal celebrations" and "pumping the crowd up" as stand-out attributes they have to offer on the field.

Meanwhile the quiet ones who do nothing but work hard and play good footy while being totally respectable get very little fan recognition.

I remember I met Jake Lloyd once and told him he was my favourite player. He was completely taken aback, like it was the first time he'd heard that. I thought it was kinda sad tbh.

I reckon the fact we as fans pump up the tyres of players who carry on like pork chops probably hasn't helped. Draftees are now listing a knack for being lippy, "goal celebrations" and "pumping the crowd up" as stand-out attributes they have to offer on the field.

Meanwhile the quiet ones who do nothing but work hard and play good footy while being totally respectable get very little fan recognition.

I remember I met Jake Lloyd once and told him he was my favourite player. He was completely taken aback, like it was the first time he'd heard that. I thought it was kinda sad tbh.
Defenders. Always forgotten and unloved but by the discerning few like us 88.

Interview with Lance Franklin on Yokayi Footy show tonight. Interview starts at 19:25mins into show

15MAR22: Weekend preview/Footyology
GWS v SYDNEY (Stadium Australia, Saturday 5.10pm local time)
This game has the potential to be historic with Lance Franklin just five goals away from becoming only the sixth man in VFL/AFL history to reach the magical 1000 barrier. He would join footy luminaries Tony Lockett, Gordon Coventry, Jason Dunstall, Gary Ablett senior and Doug Wade in the very exclusive group. But recent history would suggest he is more likely to achieve the milestone in Round 2 considering he kicked five goals or more only three times last year.

The subplot of this contest is that it is also a grudge match, perhaps not on the scale of Melbourne-Bulldogs, but a grudge match nonetheless. These crosstown rivals last met in that epic elimination final which GWS won by one point – taking their finals head-to-head against the Swans to 3-0. However, this time the Giants will be without their inspirational co-captain Toby Greene who still has another five weeks to serve of his six-match ban he copped during that final for making contact with an umpire. For all intents and purposes, Sydney should have won that game and it’s a result that wouldn’t have sat properly with the Swans over summer. They’ll be keen to make amends for their diabolical goalkicking performance in the final quarter in particular.
RONNY’S TIP: Sydney by 16 points.
ROCO’S TIP: Sydney by 32 points.

I have told many a referee when fencing they are wrong (sometimes in not so subtle terms when younger).

Have gotten better over the years (I usually just ask them to explain the decision) but still prone to moments of madness, in particular a bad one on a kayo stream last year 🤣

If you compete on the edge it can be hard to hold back.

GWS v SYDNEY (Stadium Australia, Saturday 5.10pm local time)
This game has the potential to be historic with Lance Franklin just five goals away from becoming only the sixth man in VFL/AFL history to reach the magical 1000 barrier. He would join footy luminaries Tony Lockett, Gordon Coventry, Jason Dunstall, Gary Ablett senior and Doug Wade in the very exclusive group. But recent history would suggest he is more likely to achieve the milestone in Round 2 considering he kicked five goals or more only three times last year.

The subplot of this contest is that it is also a grudge match, perhaps not on the scale of Melbourne-Bulldogs, but a grudge match nonetheless. These crosstown rivals last met in that epic elimination final which GWS won by one point – taking their finals head-to-head against the Swans to 3-0. However, this time the Giants will be without their inspirational co-captain Toby Greene who still has another five weeks to serve of his six-match ban he copped during that final for making contact with an umpire. For all intents and purposes, Sydney should have won that game and it’s a result that wouldn’t have sat properly with the Swans over summer. They’ll be keen to make amends for their diabolical goalkicking performance in the final quarter in particular.
RONNY’S TIP: Sydney by 16 points.
ROCO’S TIP: Sydney by 32 points.

Caro Wilson had us going down by 28

I have told many a referee when fencing they are wrong (sometimes in not so subtle terms when younger).

Have gotten better over the years (I usually just ask them to explain the decision) but still prone to moments of madness, in particular a bad one on a kayo stream last year 🤣

If you compete on the edge it can be hard to hold back.
Yeah. I learned my lesson when I was very young. I remember hopping in the car after a game and complaining to my dad about the decision which annoyed me. He set me straight then and there. I never complained again.

I remember telling my dad in the car that there was no way that I was out LBW that morning, and his response was simply "So, why did you let it hit you on the pads?"

You know it is very funny when I look back at my dad and his parenting method.

We had 8 kids in our family. Dad went to work and mum had to deal with us. I was one of the oldest. We were good kids but that doesn't mean we were always good. Initially mum would chase us around the house with a wooden spoon and whack us when we were naughty. She gave that up when she realized that we enjoyed it. Eventually she just gave up and said you will have to deal with your father when he gets home.
That shut us down.
Dad would get home. Food would be cooked and eaten. Washed the dishes etc.

Then dad would ask me to come out to the back steps and he would sit by my side. There was limited space so I had press up next to my dad when we both sat there. In winter it was cold and he has this warm furry jacket that I liked to press up to. But I was there because I was naughty. So despite my efforts not to press up to him I did. My dad would just sit there when we sat down. Silence for at least 10 minutes. He would start by asking me about my day. Then silence. He would ask other inane questions about my day. Then silence. Eventually he asked me what I thought I did wrong that day. I would tell him. Then silence. He would then offer me the opportunity to tell him what I thought I should do better.
This was excruciating for me. I knew the process. But he never ever hit me. He would just excruciatingly allow me to admit my mistake and encourage me to state what I should do in a similar circumstance.

I would rather be hit than be put through that. It taught me patience, restraint, and lots of other things. He made me think about my decisions.

You know it is very funny when I look back at my dad and his parenting method.

We had 8 kids in our family. Dad went to work and mum had to deal with us. I was one of the oldest. We were good kids but that doesn't mean we were always good. Initially mum would chase us around the house with a wooden spoon and whack us when we were naughty. She gave that up when she realized that we enjoyed it. Eventually she just gave up and said you will have to deal with your father when he gets home.
That shut us down.
Dad would get home. Food would be cooked and eaten. Washed the dishes etc.

Then dad would ask me to come out to the back steps and he would sit by my side. There was limited space so I had press up next to my dad when we both sat there. In winter it was cold and he has this warm furry jacket that I liked to press up to. But I was there because I was naughty. So despite my efforts not to press up to him I did. My dad would just sit there when we sat down. Silence for at least 10 minutes. He would start by asking me about my day. Then silence. He would ask other inane questions about my day. Then silence. Eventually he asked me what I thought I did wrong that day. I would tell him. Then silence. He would then offer me the opportunity to tell him what I thought I should do better.
This was excruciating for me. I knew the process. But he never ever hit me. He would just excruciatingly allow me to admit my mistake and encourage me to state what I should do in a similar circumstance.

I would rather be hit than be put through that. It taught me patience, restraint, and lots of other things. He made me think about my decisions.
RC what thread are we on mate . This is perfect for RW's Dump thread , love it

Proudly Sydney for

edited: Swans the first AFL club to support reclaim the game
The Sydney Swans are proud to take a stance against sports betting sponsorship and advertising. Their fans are behind them:
  • 90% of Swans fans believe there is too much gambling advertising.
  • 90% of Swans fans believe children and young people are exposed to too much gambling advertising.
  • 74% of Swans fans believe gambling should not be part of experiencing sport.

AFL 2022: Sydney great Michael O’Loughlin pays tribute to Lance Franklin​

From the moment Lance Franklin arrived in Sydney, it became clear that he was a different breed of AFL superstar. Sydney great Michael O’Loughlin reveals the true impact of his Swans career.
It had always been a treat watching Lance Franklin’s brilliance on the football field.
But it wasn’t until he joined us in Sydney that I got a real taste of the enormity of what we’ll call the Buddy Effect.

It was not long after Lance arrived to play with us in Sydney, and I had taken over as head coach of the Swans’ Academy, we went to watch the cricket together at the SCG.

I hadn’t had a lot to do with him until that point, but it was really enjoyable getting to know “Bud”.
We were sitting in a corporate box, having a chat and a few drinks and I couldn’t believe the amount of people in the stands below who were turning around after nearly every over and going, “Look, there’s Buddy Franklin”.

The number of people who had turned around to take a look or had their phones up trying to take photos of him was crazy.

It was clearly evident because it was all new, Buddy was in town and he had signed for the Swans. I found it really fascinating.

He probably didn’t even notice it but that was one of the big things that I noticed. It was like you were sitting with a rock star.

That’s the effect that he has on people. The Buddy Effect.
Everywhere he goes, he attracts attention and the poor guy has had to lead a little bit of a different life to the rest of us purely because of who he is and what he has done.

Throughout the AFL’s history, we have talked about certain players pulling people through the gates. Buddy sits very comfortably – if not at the top – of that list.

He’s had that magic since he arrived in the league.
When he was a young forward at Hawthorn, my first impressions were “Wow, who is this kid?”. Watching the way he played, his movement, his workrate, his freakish skills – you couldn’t take your eyes off him.

When you see young people do something special, you tend to sit up and take notice. That was the impact he had from his first game. No one could take their eyes off him.

Sadly, I was a few years into retirement before Buddy joined the Swans, but I was lucky enough to play with some great forwards during my career in Sydney. Some real champs.

I played with a bloke called Tony Lockett, who I still say is the best player that I ever played with and have seen.

When Tony decided to basically take over a game and win it for us, that’s what he did and not many people can do that.

We’ve been very blessed in Sydney to have had some incredible forwards. Barry Hall is in that category as well and Warwick Capper before ‘Plugger’. People come through the gates to watch these players.

I have got no doubt Bud will go on to become an Australian Football Hall of Famer and a Legend with a statue somewhere.

His influence on the game, not only for those coming through the gates to watch, but for the imagination of young players — boys and girls — around the country has been huge.
I know Bud is very proud of his Indigenous culture, his heritage and his background. He has strong links to Western Australia and that has been something he wears with a lot of pride.

But his influence has transcended all communities.

It doesn’t matter if they are black, white, red or green, it doesn’t matter their background. When they first go to the footy to watch this guy with the No. 23 on his back and see what he does, he just captures their imagination.

The rest is history, they are sold. They are like ‘This player is great, this game is great, this football club is great’.

We are in a rugby league town here in Sydney and what he has done for our club, and football in this city, is just incredible.

There are not too many players who have had the influence on the game that he has had.
Adam Goodes is probably the other one. The impact Goodesy has had on people away from football and culture has been huge. Buddy sits very comfortably alongside Adam.

Now for him to be so close to joining elite company in the 1000-goal club is amazing. That’s a lot of bloody goals.

I’ve got to know Bud well since he joined Sydney and he is just an incredible person.

We’ve seen him mature from the young kid at Hawthorn trying to find his feet who kicked 100 goals and now he’s on the verge of 1000.

That just shows you his longevity in the game and that is a really impressive trait.

Most are terrible , junior scribes who because they probably play supercoach think they know everything about footy .
My brother was a columnist for both The Age & Murdoch rags. he once told me that once you put the word 'Sports' in front of Journalist it is a case of the illiterate trying to become illustrious and failing badly

We don't know how much Mrs Heeney's son has signed for , but i don't think he was ever leaving .
No, he was always staying put. I think that young group is pretty tight. Errol is apparently a character, with a huge footy brain. Last year seeing him and Bud discussing field movement and then about 5 minutes later he hits Bud lace out. Brilliant. We have some awesome kicks of the footy. Gulden, best in the AFL. Blakey, is nearly as good, so too JMac & Campbell.

Rowbum, Sheldrick, Heeney, Warner to back up Parker, Mills.. as the hard men
I reckon we're about half way through a rebuild.. Over the next two years we'll see JPK, Buddy, Rampe, Sinkers, Hickey retire. We'll also see the 1st-4th yr players become 3rd to 6th yr players, and with 50-100 games experience
Im a big fan of Buddy, JPK and Rampe still playing. What they've lost in individual performance, they're more than making up in leading/coaching/developing the younger crew
We've got 2 x 1st round picks and potentially a few academy players next draft..

JPK & Bud to retire at the end of the year. The reason I say this is JPK steps down as captain. Bud, is wanting to get glory this year, not next, not the one after.