team lists?

• Thread starter Thread starter sumavich

Same as it's always been though.

Looks as if Silvagni will be out for at least this week. Can our injury list get any longer???

That will meant that our backline is going to be missing at least 4 of the best 22 players. Faulks may get a call up to cover Clarke.

I see our backline lining up like this as a result with Faulks on the bench.

Duffield Grover Broughton Full Back
Roberton Elvis Suban Half Back

It is like Lando Calrissian in "The Empire Strikes Back"

This news (deal) is getting worse all the time!

Will be interesting, read amusing, to see the team the footy show put up tonight. IRC they didnt even list Barlow on their guessed version of the team, even though everyone knew he would play rd1.

No probelms if the team lists havent been released and they put up a best effort team, but they shouldnt read out the teams as fact!

Still a decent looking backline.

Only real issue is who takes Brown. Not sure that Grover has the tank or Johnson has the strength to go with him.

Looks as if Silvagni will be out for at least this week. Can our injury list get any longer???

That will meant that our backline is going to be missing at least 4 of the best 22 players. Faulks may get a call up to cover Clarke.

I see our backline lining up like this as a result with Faulks on the bench.

It is like Lando Calrissian in "The Empire Strikes Back"

This news (deal) is getting worse all the time!

Which 4 players would you replace from the backline you have suggested we will be going with? I can only see Roberton and Suban as not being locked in, but am pretty happy to see them there anyway.

The 4 suggested would be

1- Hayden
2- Silvagni
3- Mzungu
4- Ibbotson

These moves would free up Duffield, Broughton and Roberton to rotate through the midfield/backline.

I agree that it is still a serviceable backline but I like options. Silvagni, Ibbotson and Mzungu all have very good disposal. What we have replacing them are excellent replacements that restrict our overall versatility.

Robbing Peter to pay Paul. :(

IMO if Mzungu plays like we're all expecting him to then Hayden slips out of the best team. He's still a great player and has always been one of my favourites to watch but another 3months plus out of the game and I'll be suprised if he can gain back the speed he needs. He's probably still got some great games ahead of him and may play on another year but for mine IF there was a fully fit squad and Mzungu steps up, Hayden isnt a certain starter.

I like that backline particuarly if Roberton has improved over the off season though I'm getting a bit worried about Silvagni's run of injuries he's another player I'd like to see making a permanent home for himself in the starting side.

If Mzungu & Rog return and are both in contention for a call up it's likely Roger will be pinch-hitting in attack again as he did for stints last year, he'd probably rotate between the 2 possies off the bench.

I am not sure that Hayden is going to have the fitness to rest on the bench. With the new Sub rule all players that have not been subbed are going to spinning on and off the bench like never before.

No team is going to be able to carry an unfit player into a game. The great player for Freo that Hayden is may have played his last game for the Purple Army.:(

I am not sure that Hayden is going to have the fitness to rest on the bench. With the new Sub rule all players that have not been subbed are going to spinning on and off the bench like never before.

No team is going to be able to carry an unfit player into a game. The great player for Freo that Hayden is may have played his last game for the Purple Army.:(

Really? You're writing him off this early? I reckon Rog will suprise us all and come back his silky self come round 11!

Freo list from the footy show tonight...
Backs: Grover, Elvis, Fyfe,
Mayne, Johnson, Duffman

Centre: McPhee, Suban, Mundy

Forwards: Crowls, Bradley, Roberton
Anthony, Pavlich, Ballas

Followers: 211, Hill, Broughts

Int: (from) Michie, Faylks, Chrichton, Clarke, Walters, Lower, JVB, Palmer, Silvagni, Mellington, Griffin

?????????

1. Plenty of players out of position
2. injured players named on the interchange
3. Walters was mentioned twice on the list
4. They spelt Chricthon with a G!!!

Sounds like Freo have not submitted anything to the afl and the producer for the footy show has quickly typed up something in the last few minutes.:thumbsd:

Yep, looks like the footy show just fudged it, I wager a steak dinner that's not what the lineup will be come friday arvo.

I'll see your steak dinner and up you a 'dessert + unlimited drinks'

When I saw Fyfe and LBP I nearly cried... HOW DARE THEY!!! :mad:

Footy show just throw names on a screen, don't know why they bother really. Shit show anyway, I wouldn't even give it 3mins of my time.

You could give them a 10th of that and still catch every word they mention about a Freo game. With enough time left over to make a cup of tea.

The show has more plugs than Hutchy's forehead...That aside the actual football content is bare minimum and the humour is contrived.

In comparison, for those who can afford Fox, AFL360 and On The Couch are actually shows worth watching. The analysis and opinion, whilst still generally Victoriacentric, is less whimiscal and more valid than the channel nine effort.

And you don't have to listen to Billy Brownless or Shane.