jo172

San Antonio, Redbacks
Graham Johncock and Richard Douglas have returned to Adelaide’s line-up for Saturday’s clash with Sydney at AAMI Stadium.

Both missed the Crows’ last game (against North Melbourne) through illness. They replace Brent Reilly, recovering from a hamstring strain, and Jared Petrenko.

Captain Simon Goodwin (knee strain) will need to wait at least one more week to play his 250th AFL game while Brett Burton has delayed his SANFL comeback game for one week.

Petrenko, James Sellar and Tony Armstrong are the emergencies.

Adelaide trains on Friday morning from 10am at AAMI Stadium.

The team is:

B: Johncock, Rutten, Otten
HB: McLeod, Bock, Symes
C: Doughty, Shirley, Dangerfield
HF: Knights, Walker, Mackay
F: Porplyzia, Tippett, Edwards
R: Moran, Thompson, Nathan van Berlo
I/C: Vince, Maric, Douglas, Stevens
Emerg: Sellar, Petrenko, Armstrong

In: Douglas, Johncock
Out: Reilly (hamstring), Petrenko
afc.com.au

Bit dissapointing Shirley is still there, But I suppose we'll need his harder, bigger body on a wet afternoon against the Swans and without Reilly or Goodwin he's our only big hard body left.

Good to see DOuglas and Johncock back, along with the youth of the emergency list.

Personally would have preferred Petrenko to stay in, or even Armstrong to debut this weekend, but I guess Shirley stays in for the bigger body against the Swans.

Good to see that in a rebuilding year we drop Petrenko ahead of Shirley. And just to top it off, the gold carded one slots straight back into the team, as though he's an important part of our team. Awesome selections this week Adelaide.

We still need to win games mate. Shirley isn't a bad selection, and, at this stage, he offers more than Petrenko - at present.

Douglas is kind of in limbo at the moment, he's showing glimpses of being a very good midfielder, interspersed with some average performances. He needs to really nail his spot in the side down, but no massive problems with him still being given that opportunity.

Didn't Shirley play in the last game?? So he's not actually being put IN the team, he was already there. Petrenko will get more games of that you can be sure. Nothing wrong with this decision IMO.

Just realised the "gold carded" one you referred to was Douglas. Douglas has been playing pretty well since being moved into the middle, you really need to take your "I hate DOUGLAS" blinkers off.

Good to see the usual suspect overreacting. God bless you.

Do you really think Petrenko, or any other available player not currently in the side, deserves a spot ahead of Douglas?

I'm sorry you're not inspired.

Im off to bunnings. Will start recruiting my mob when i get back.

After some thought i understand this is an important match and we could probably do with Shirley in the side. It still makes me a sad panda to see Petrenko out though.

Didn't Shirley play in the last game?? So he's not actually being put IN the team, he was already there. Petrenko will get more games of that you can be sure. Nothing wrong with this decision IMO.

Just realised the "gold carded" one you referred to was Douglas. Douglas has been playing pretty well since being moved into the middle, you really need to take your "I hate DOUGLAS" blinkers off.

champagne comedy. :D

Sydney Swans
B:
Paul Bevan, Lewis Roberts-Thomson, Martin Mattner
HB: Rhyce Shaw, Ted Richards, Jared Crouch
C: Adam Goodes, Brett Kirk, Craig Bird
HF: Ed Barlow, Ryan O’Keefe, Nick Smith
F: Heath Grundy, Barry Hall, Michael O’Loughlin
Foll: Darren Jolly, Kieren Jack, Jude Bolton
I/C: Ryan Brabazon, Kristin Thornton, Patrick Veszpremi, Jesse White
Emg: Luke Ablett, Matt O’Dwyer, Michael Pyke
In: Brabazon, Veszpremi
Out: Jarrad McVeigh (shoulder), Jarred Moore

No Jarrad McVeigh and Bolton hasn't recovered from his knee troubles which is a plus. Unless it's going to rain in Adelaide on Saturday afternoon, i'm not too happy with Shirley being kept in the team. I can't see him tagging anyone now with McVeigh out, and Goodes is really untagable, so i don't know what role Shirley is going to play if it dry weather footy and we're playing a quick ball movement, play on at all cost style.

Sydney Swans
B: Paul Bevan, Lewis Roberts-Thomson, Martin Mattner
HB: Rhyce Shaw, Ted Richards, Jared Crouch
C: Adam Goodes, Brett Kirk, Craig Bird
HF: Ed Barlow, Ryan O’Keefe, Nick Smith
F: Heath Grundy, Barry Hall, Michael O’Loughlin
Foll: Darren Jolly, Kieren Jack, Jude Bolton
I/C: Ryan Brabazon, Kristin Thornton, Patrick Veszpremi, Jesse White
Emg: Luke Ablett, Matt O’Dwyer, Michael Pyke
In: Brabazon, Veszpremi
Out: Jarrad McVeigh (shoulder), Jarred Moore

No Jarrad McVeigh and Bolton hasn't recovered from his knee troubles which is a plus. Unless it's going to rain in Adelaide on Saturday afternoon, i'm not too happy with Shirley being kept in the team. I can't see him tagging anyone now with McVeigh out, and Goodes is really untagable, so i don't know what role Shirley is going to play if it dry weather footy and we're playing a quick ball movement, play on at all cost style.
I would say Shirley is there for Jude Bolton, only player he matches up on. But not the most suprising changes ever, pretty much expected. With McVeigh out I'm tipping us by 25 points. Go Boys!!:thumbsu: