Tex walker worth a shot?

Tex is still upgrade on Cox and Cameron. Tex would love to get the 1 on 1s those two get.

Given the clock is ticking on Pendles, Tex has be considered if they can't get a genuine gun.

I'd rather even look at 2 metre Peter and which I'd rather we develop Kelly.

I'd really consider looking at Jezza Cameron, but we don't have cap space of draft picks for a player who'll obviously ask more than we can afford.

Those 2 are preferable but if they aren't available the club can't roll with the same big forwards in 2021.

I'd back Walker to have 4 shots a game in our forward line. He is a beautiful kick and reckon he'd average 2 a week.

He's a tall flanker
Not strong overhead not big enough
Plays like checkers ( robust flanker)

We need a bit up forward who can take a grab convert and lead
Fev type
Jakovich
A guy with goal sense

We will be a better team if and when degoey can play mid
Get a forward
(Sexton)
Get a goal kicker
Ronke

Who is Sexton?

Alex of Gold Coast (just in case you are serious), a medium-sized forward who kicks a few goals! He's had a couple of rather good years prior to this one, though (apparently) not doing so well in 2020. Although seen as a Queenslander, he was living in Victoria until he was c. 14-15, so not foreign territory to him if he headed south. I'm still not sure why he'd want to leave Gold Coast, but I'd prefer him to Tex!

Alex of Gold Coast (just in case you are serious), a medium-sized forward, who kicks a few goals! He's had a couple of rather good years prior to this one, though (apparently) not doing so well in 2020. Although seen as a Queenslander, he was living in Victoria until he was c. 14-15, so not foreign territory to him if he headed south. I'm still not sure why he'd want to leave Gold Coast, but I'd prefer him to Tex!

I know him but not sure why Darkyprotector reckons he fits a need. We have a million medium forwards. Don't need another.

Yes, absolutely yes!

I've purchased 3 new guns this year, an air rifle, 22 mag & a 4/10 shotty.

Which would you all like me to use?

I'm leaning to the 4/10 coz bird shot is the way to bring down a Crow.

No way, if we’re making left field suggestions I would rather go for a forward like Hogan at Freo. seems on the outer there.

How did you manage to get the PTA's this year?
Maybe because I'm in the country, member of the SSAA & have a 10 acre property?

No issues at all.

EDIT: have you had issues?

Should we have a go at Tex walker?
Now I know what everyone is going to say
- finished as a player
- can't jump over a jam tin
- damaged mentally
- rubbish contested mark
The pros
- cheap Adelaide will pay most of wage
- great leadership likeable fellow
- a forward who actually has forward craft can lead back peddle dumbie lead
- only have to look at Tom Hawkins who was finished 2 years ago how quick it can turn around for tex

I’d say yes. Apparently very good outdoors - loves camping. Could really take the young guys under his wing, or strap a few of them to some trees blindfolded. Apparently works a treat for camaraderie.

From a footy perspective it’s a big no.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

If in typical Collingwood fashion we don't go after and get anybody good, and we can get Tex for peanuts, why not? At least Tex will crash a pack or nail a big tackle, unlike Cox/Cameron. 1 year contract with low salary, sure.

Have a look at walkers last game. He actively moved away from contests, from tackling... He may have lost complete confidence but he doesnt seem desperate to want to turn that around. His nomination as best captain in previous years by the players reminded me of the ryan lonie put down. He wastes his height and bulk so you end up with a josh thomas without the chasing. Downhill skier.
First year as captain he steered the club through the mid season death of their coach to still make finals. Not a player I necessarily want, but the knocks on his leadership credentials are rough.

So we overlook what he is doing on the footy field? The captain leads the team in a game and sets the benchmark - in training as well. The rest of his duties is icing. In some of the past games several of the crows have been busting their gut to try to get a win.... and tex is following his man to contests and sometimes actually walking away from them. The coach had to pump up his ego when tex went the sook and wondered aloud whether he would be at the crows next year......something that should have waited until the end of the year. He was thinking about himself. I've never been too impressed with him but this year he is having a shocker in playing...in leading...i would stay away from him like he was poison

You claimed his 2xALFPA Best Captain awards were a pisstake. Have a look at the previous winners. Have a look where Adelaide finished the years he won those awards.

Should we have a go at Tex walker?
Now I know what everyone is going to say
- finished as a player
- can't jump over a jam tin
- damaged mentally
- rubbish contested mark
The pros
- cheap Adelaide will pay most of wage
- great leadership likeable fellow
- a forward who actually has forward craft can lead back peddle dumbie lead
- only have to look at Tom Hawkins who was finished 2 years ago how quick it can turn around for tex
No

Mayne had 24 touches tonight, he must have been in the bests!

I know our ball movement is horrific, but you can't ignore that Adelaide only had 30 inside 50's against us, the ball didn't go down there. I felt whenever he was near the ball, he looked dangerous - Yes this was on Lynden Dunn....Point noted.

I think he would be a better forward option than both Cox and Cameron, which is not hard.
It's still no on Tex

Tex walker worth a shot?