That 70's thread

Ummm, I really did search for Kenny Everett clips, inspired as I was by TOD's post. This one was always a favourite:

Brother Lee Love

[YOUTUBE]<object width="425" height="355"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/rX03hgf_LcM&hl=en"></param><param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/rX03hgf_LcM&hl=en" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" wmode="transparent" width="425" height="355"></embed></object>[/YOUTUBE]

For The Teflon Dean with his insightful and humorous digs at Bulldogs Fans.

Pretenders-"Kid"

[YOUTUBE]5QMy5RVAIes[/YOUTUBE]

Pretenders-"Brass In Pocket"

[YOUTUBE]-7Hy7uAb_eU[/YOUTUBE]

Pretenders- "Stop Your Sobbing" from the Kenny Everett Show (thanks to the previous posts for tickling the memory bank)

[YOUTUBE]BU5qgGxG0ZY[/YOUTUBE]

My dedication to Dave Gilmour

Pink Floyd - Echoes (part 1) live in Pompeii

[youtube]uLJ_QVfT_wM[/youtube]

Pink Floyd - Breathe in the Air / On The Run

[youtube]1ku-ma1dVI8[/youtube]

Pink Floyd - Wish You Were Here

[youtube]q1moiym6-Nk[/youtube]

Pink Floyd - Comfortably Numb

[youtube]6-71-xT3qIY[/youtube]

Two bands that remind me of each other-

The Hollies started around the same time as the Beatles, had a few hits with "The Air That I Breathe", "He Aint Heavy", "Bus Stop".

It's this song from 1972 that imo is perfect

Hollies - "Long Cool Woman In A Black Dress"

[YOUTUBE]lP94PlEtsEQ[/YOUTUBE]

Shocking Blue were less productive but wrote a classic pop song with similar guitar to Cool Woman...

Shocking Blue - "Venus" live on Dutch TV

[YOUTUBE]gf3h8CoWC14[/YOUTUBE]

Love the 70's style Pinball Machines.

Remember playing this game

[YOUTUBE]Ltx7tZd8w54[/YOUTUBE]
kiss_5.jpg

We had this deli where one of these and other's (Pinball Machines) were and everytime one of us got a free game the machine clunked and the owner used to give the winner a packet of chewie's or whatever sweet of choice. Kept us out of trouble. Good times between playing footy etc..

Also reminds me of our local Mr.Whippy Ice Cream Van with the vendor placing a treat in the bottom of our cones. Used to love hearing that crappy tune down the street knowing we'd score an ice cream.

The Kiss pinny rules. (Ok.)

Bally did some very fine work in the 70's.

Here's a few of my faves.....

Playboy

Backglass2.jpg

Six Million Dollar Man

Backglass.jpg

Mata Hari

Backglass.jpg

Evel Knievel

Backglass.jpg

Power Play

Backglass.gif

And this gem.....

Harlem Globetrotters

image-1.jpg

I have played every single pinny that TOD mentioned.:thumbsu:

As for "video games", I was a huge fan of "Defender."

Anyone remember the "money machines", or "baseball machines" that cost 10 cents a game where you used to have to try and line up 3 to 5 balls to win credits?

Sure do. I call 'em "money machines". A good mate has one in perfect working order. Play it all the time.

P.S. Defender rocked.

I have played every single pinny that TOD mentioned.:thumbsu:

As for "video games", I was a huge fan of "Defender."

You lads must have a few years on me, I have many high scores around the Launceston area on '1942'.

Anyway, when the 70's is mentioned, I automatically think of these-

images
images
images
(1969, I know...)

Some things haven't changed much.
The quality of Australian television drama, for example:
Number 96
Abigail was a guest at the local bottle shop sometime in the mid-seventies, signed a few autographs and spoke her sexy speak.

Was a bit young and not allowed to watch at the time (a tad racy then). Didn't really care, the ad's for the show with Abigail in lingerie talkin it up were better than the episode's :D

You lads must have a few years on me, I have many high scores around the Launceston area on '1942'.

Very cool game was 1942.....

11812408185.png

Apart from the big ones (Space Invaders, Donkey Kong/Crazy Kong, Pacman, Asteroids, etc) here's some of the other arcade games I gave a hammering as a kid.....

Phoenix (a very tough game to master)......

118124215056.png
118124215054.png

Qix (awesome game)......

11812421558.png

Ladybug (kind of Pacman-y)......

118124212649.png

Moon Patrol (not to be confused with Moon Cresta)......

1181242138159.png

And an excellent game called Paint Roller....

118124214381.png

Only barely made the 70's in '79 but Airplay was a great session project collaborated between two great session players in Jay Graydon and David Foster. Again won't be everyone's "bag", but for serious muso's and songwriters looking to expand their knowledge the make up of the material was/is a must. This clip was done live and much later obviously but it still highlights to the aforementioned the strings to the bow that are required if one was to attempt to forge out a career in the field (or I could've just said get their arses into songwriting, arranging and do some aural training) Anyway I'll STFU. :)

[youtube]UHN6AGAMYfE[/youtube]