The Law The 120 hours learning to drive scheme needs to be extended

That's more an argument for breaking the dates up between qualifying then...Don't really care which one gets moved, but that the same day you can get your licence is the same day you can walk into a pub has never seemed right to me.

Mind you, it also backs my argument for making people use motorbikes first...When your balance and coordination is that important, you realise quickly that drinking and riding don't mix well.

Over here in WA we can get our licence before we can buy booze. Don't think WA is any better or worse than VIC in terms of drink driving

I got sideswiped by a Hilux yesterday on a busy road from a guy turning into the main road while i was turning off. Pissed off that he had to wait more then 20 seconds.

Guy was about 50. So therefore people should have to wait about 55 years before they pass the L's In my ******ed worthless opinion

Just adding my 2 cents.

When I had to get my licence (not that long ago) it was 50hrs on learners permit and minimum of 12 months. I just got in before the silly rules were introduced.

I did all of my hours with a driving instructor :eek: however the instructor was happy with driving and every 1 hour lesson turned into a 2hr session in the log book ;)

When I went to take my P's test the instructor had a word with the assessor and I barely did any manoeuvres. He also told me when to book in my test to get the easy assessor.

Just adding my 2 cents.

When I had to get my licence (not that long ago) it was 50hrs on learners permit and minimum of 12 months. I just got in before the silly rules were introduced.

I did all of my hours with a driving instructor :eek: however the instructor was happy with driving and every 1 hour lesson turned into a 2hr session in the log book ;)

When I went to take my P's test the instructor had a word with the assessor and I barely did any manoeuvres. He also told me when to book in my test to get the easy assessor.

Must have hurt the hip pocket to do so many paid hours :eek:

When I got my license I probably did about 50 hours with adults, two lessons with an instructor (for tips on the test ie: head checks constantly) and made up the last 60odd hours. I am the youngest of 3 kids so I was the lowest priority for hours behind the wheel.

Imagine being the youngest kid with 3 or 4 older siblings all getting their licences. 480hours of driving and It's finally your turn! 120 hours is way too much.

Sent from my GT-N7000 using Tapatalk 2

Just adding my 2 cents.

I had a similar experience where the instructor seemed to be having a quiet word with the assessor before we left for the practical test.

....and that is how it should be!

You should be assessed based on overall ability over time and not a 30 minute one off experience. That said, there was no minimum time when I got my licence, the test could be in an auto or manual, L's at 15 years and 9 months and Ps after 3 month of Ls and full licence 12 months later.

All the hoon laws and driver training in the world will not stop me from breaking as many traffic violations as i have to stay well away from the unskilled and incompetent car drivers that ANY car COULD contain.

Remember folks, they are all out to kill you, so speed past them and get home quicker.

This message was not endorsed by any authority.

One thing I have always wondered, particularly in later years - how do kids with no possible instructor learn to drive?

Not everyones parents have their licences. Not everyones parents are fit to drive or fit to instruct. Not every parent gives a damn about their kid and tries to help them.

How do you rack up 120 hours (50 hours in Tassie) if, say, your dad was in prison and your mum was an unlicenced alcoholic on the dole? Can hardly afford to pay for an instructor to take you out on however many lessons (which are also often in the middle of the day - can't always leave apprenticeships, schooling etc).

Is there government support in these cases? Or do the kids just lie about their hours? Or do they just not get their licences?

One thing I have always wondered, particularly in later years - how do kids with no possible instructor learn to drive?

Not everyones parents have their licences. Not everyones parents are fit to drive or fit to instruct. Not every parent gives a damn about their kid and tries to help them.

How do you rack up 120 hours (50 hours in Tassie) if, say, your dad was in prison and your mum was an unlicenced alcoholic on the dole? Can hardly afford to pay for an instructor to take you out on however many lessons (which are also often in the middle of the day - can't always leave apprenticeships, schooling etc).

Is there government support in these cases? Or do the kids just lie about their hours? Or do they just not get their licences?

Get a mate, mates parent, older siblings and lie for three quarters of the hours.

I was lucky enough to get a license in the late 90s when with a couple of lessons you could pretty much then go in and get it on your 17th birthday if you wanted. They had to make it more difficult but 120 hours is quite ridiculous.

I reckon as a driver you are almost more vulnerable a year or 2 after getting the license, start to get a bit relaxed and over confident after driving for a bit whilst still in that rather reckless age.

I was lucky enough to get a license in the late 90s when with a couple of lessons you could pretty much then go in and get it on your 17th birthday if you wanted. They had to make it more difficult but 120 hours is quite ridiculous.

I reckon as a driver you are almost more vulnerable a year or 2 after getting the license, start to get a bit relaxed and over confident after driving for a bit whilst still in that rather reckless age.

More difficult =/= more hours though.

I still think the P's test should be held in conjunction with a general skills test, like the Motorcycle P's test in NSW http://www.rms.nsw.gov.au/licensing/tests/most/, where they do some practice on a closed course which is observed by the instructor, then a group ride along a decent route on real roads, the instructor slowly works their way through the pack to observe each of them and there are periodic stops where important points are discussed, and then they are back at the course for skills testing (emergency stop, u-turn, obstacle avoidance, slow ride etc). By this point the instructor already knows whether they are competent or not, they're not just relying on "was < speed limit, made a left turn without dying" and so on to work out if they should have a licence.

Told you everyone should be trained on motorbikes...

http://www.visordown.com/motorcycle...d-the-wheel-of-a-car/23971.html#ixzz2kUVLVvla

Apparently Motorcyclists as 23% safer car drivers than non motorcyclists.

I will confess, I'm not sure about the methodology here...Could be that they spend less time driving because they ride instead, but if the head of an insurance company's motor retail division is willing to say it, I imagine they allowed for factors like that.

Yeah but for kids owning cars and misusing them on the roads that's more dangerous than voting. I totally agree with you on the drinking point.
The voting age of 18 should stay. However, the age of drinking should be raised to 21 like it is in America.
Everyone including Job Network agencies should realise that having a license is a privlidge rather than a given. I can imagine how many people on bigfooty will expect a car on their 18th birthday and when it comes to their birthday they don't get one. You can't expect everything to be given to you on a platter just because you think you are ready for it. Everything takes time. I am sure when you started work you would have done things that were repetitive. For example sweeping floors, vaccuuming, replacing food that has been bought, etc. Now that you are older you might of had a few promotions. Everyone starts from the bottom and has to work their way up to the top.

How many hours did YOU do to get your license you flog?
I suppose its just that my gen are soooo much more irresponsible than Gen X. Oh but those old people hey? How brilliant are they at driving? Teens up until they're of their P's have to have a blood alcohol of 0 (not disagreeing with it) yet the majority of old people who drive are permanently impaired and can drive all they want. A crazy world we live in.

How many hours did YOU do to get your license you flog?
I suppose its just that my gen are soooo much more irresponsible than Gen X. Oh but those old people hey? How brilliant are they at driving? Teens up until they're of their P's have to have a blood alcohol of 0 (not disagreeing with it) yet the majority of old people who drive are permanently impaired and can drive all they want. A crazy world we live in.

That poster does not actually have a driver's licence.

Sorry are you talking about me or the person I quoted? :p

He's talking about Umpiringfooty, has no license and complains that the school bus won't stop for her.

Because we pay attention.

To everything.
The only issue. Speed, drinking and all other issues pale into insignificance when compared. Sober people who drive at the speed limit who refuse to pay the appropriate attention to the task they undertake when driving are the greatest menace on the roads, because they are everywhere, and invariably do it. Everyone has to make allowances for them, always. They usually do so without even noticing.

The reason for 120 hours is so you are forced to practice driving in all conditions. As others have said, they have been driving for years and driving doesn't get easier and you are constantly seeing new things. You may know how to drive after 20-30 hours, but you certainly haven't seen everything, and maybe never been tested too hard to avoid an accident.

I got my license earlier this year at 21, as I couldn't get 120 hours before my 18th birthday. For most the hours is possible, it just means you drive on family outings, rather than your Parent.

A raise to 21 to get p's would probably save lives, but that's an extra 3 years parents are responsible for their children, even if the children are more than mature enough to handle the outside world known as real life. Same with the drinking age. Most parents allow their kids to drink booze before they turn 18, and those that don't sneak it anyway. Changing the age to 21 would just increase the amount of underage drinkers.

When I got my license I couldn't stop noticing how every single driver breaks the road rules - and they might not even know they are doing it. Not indicating, not enough space, faulty brake lights, not stopping at stop sign. No cars obey the speed limit on the freeway, until you get to the cameras. Monkey see, Monkey do!

The reason for 120 hours is so you are forced to practice driving in all conditions. As others have said, they have been driving for years and driving doesn't get easier and you are constantly seeing new things. You may know how to drive after 20-30 hours, but you certainly haven't seen everything, and maybe never been tested too hard to avoid an accident.

I got my license earlier this year at 21, as I couldn't get 120 hours before my 18th birthday. For most the hours is possible, it just means you drive on family outings, rather than your Parent.

A raise to 21 to get p's would probably save lives, but that's an extra 3 years parents are responsible for their children, even if the children are more than mature enough to handle the outside world known as real life. Same with the drinking age. Most parents allow their kids to drink booze before they turn 18, and those that don't sneak it anyway. Changing the age to 21 would just increase the amount of underage drinkers.

When I got my license I couldn't stop noticing how every single driver breaks the road rules - and they might not even know they are doing it. Not indicating, not enough space, faulty brake lights, not stopping at stop sign. No cars obey the speed limit on the freeway, until you get to the cameras. Monkey see, Monkey do!

I don't think it's not knowing, it's either momentarily forgetting/not paying enough attention (e.g. not indicating), justifying things to themselves "If everyone else is driving 120 in a 100 zone, then it's safer to stick with the traffic" or just arrogantly thinking they know better "I can see plenty at this stop sign, I don't need to stop". I tend to think the penalty for most traffic offenses should include doing a new test (mightn't change things, but would make them recognise/remember what they're doing wrong).

The other problem with increasing the driving age to 21 would be that 18 is about when a lot of people enter the workforce. Forcing them to use PT, etc. would cut down job opportunities significantly, especially when we're looking at people going for their first job.

The Law The 120 hours learning to drive scheme needs to be extended