Hyper Colour T-shirts lmao

Collecting NBA/AFL Cards

Going to the Footy and Parties with mates

Weed/hooking up/Wagging school - Terrific Trio

Great, great memories.

Slap bands:

91g46Ycvn8L._SX466_.jpg

I worked Hoyts- 16 screen cinema- between 1996-2001. 1996, the peak times on Friday and Saturday night were crazy busy, im talking lines outside the foyer. Late 90s tho i definitely remember it becoming less hectic during those "peak" times. That was a long time ago tho and cinemas are still going strong so I doubt home cinemas will kill it off. Going to the movies is really about getting out of the house + the atmosphere, cant do that at home.

Cinemas are "going fine" like newspapers were "going fine" in 2005. It's already "120+ minutes and CGI explosions" just to get people to go. Home experience has improved out of sight (pun?) with reasonably cheap widescreen high definitition TVs and the cinema experience has gone down the toilet with people playing around on their phones.

The odd person answering a call or the old school text sound were annoying but 6 inch smartphone screens in a dark room are like police helicopter search lights. Infuriating. Last time I went to the moofies the pre feature ads had a 'don't just put it on silent, turn of off' warning. I doubt anyone followed it.

Indeed. It is the cinema after all, not gogglebox.

I find their phones don't trouble me as much after I tip my coke all over them.

Netflix is one of the shitter things to happen to the industry.

Most of their library is cheap and barely updated.

They throw millions to billions at movie stars and has-been directors to make a series or a film. The artist gets complete freedom and Netflix get... a shit movie from someone who can barely act, definitely can't direct, but has a buzzy name so people watch it anyway.

They make shows based on what's trending. I don't think shows about black men stuck in a cycle of hopelessness, dealing drugs on the street was trending in 1997. You'll never get shows like The Wire or The Sopranos or even The Simpsons on there: it's all about big name leads and cameos, in settings that are trendy or likely to appeal to their demographic.

Then there's how diluted the business is. You might have a great cinematographer on your show, but the editing is down to shit. There aren't three big egos in the director's chair, all with passion and brimming with ideas, then a team of talented writers beneath them. You might have one quality writer and one director.

I worked Hoyts- 16 screen cinema- between 1996-2001. 1996, the peak times on Friday and Saturday night were crazy busy, im talking lines outside the foyer. Late 90s tho i definitely remember it becoming less hectic during those "peak" times. That was a long time ago tho and cinemas are still going strong so I doubt home cinemas will kill it off. Going to the movies is really about getting out of the house + the atmosphere, cant do that at home.
Think you are delusional. 90's was probably peak times for cinemas but gradually as more and more home entertainment systems become the norm and now online streaming is genuinely common way to view movies it is naturally less people going. It will still exist for some time but the golden age for cinema is over.

To add to it, the motion picture industry has shifted from movies being king, to far more energy put into tv series, rather than two hour movies.
I goto movies two or three times a year now. In 90's I probably went two or three times a month. I think you would find a lot of people like that and even younger generations are growing up expecting to watch things from home on big screens. Cinema will be reduced to a niche market in time.

Netflix is one of the s**tter things to happen to the industry.

Most of their library is cheap and barely updated.

They throw millions to billions at movie stars and has-been directors to make a series or a film. The artist gets complete freedom and Netflix get... a s**t movie from someone who can barely act, definitely can't direct, but has a buzzy name so people watch it anyway.

They make shows based on what's trending. I don't think shows about black men stuck in a cycle of hopelessness, dealing drugs on the street was trending in 1997. You'll never get shows like The Wire or The Sopranos or even The Simpsons on there: it's all about big name leads and cameos, in settings that are trendy or likely to appeal to their demographic.

Then there's how diluted the business is. You might have a great cinematographer on your show, but the editing is down to s**t. There aren't three big egos in the director's chair, all with passion and brimming with ideas, then a team of talented writers beneath them. You might have one quality writer and one director.
I don't know. Yeah, giving Adam Sandler millions to make half a dozen shitty "comedy" movies is pretty dumb. But Netflix has a lot of good original stuff on there. They're also reviving stand up comedy with specials from Bill Burr, Dave Chappell and (before that whole "jerking off in front of other female comedians" meme) Louis CK.

The whole industry is pretty stale at the moment anyway. Everything is either a remake that no one asked for, a sequel (Fast and Furious 12: Escape from the Retirement Home), or a derivative superhero movie. Seriously, how much longer can nerds salivate over CGI-filled Marvel films?

Think you are delusional. 90's was probably peak times for cinemas but gradually as more and more home entertainment systems become the norm and now online streaming is genuinely common way to view movies it is naturally less people going. It will still exist for some time but the golden age for cinema is over.

To add to it, the motion picture industry has shifted from movies being king, to far more energy put into tv series, rather than two hour movies.
I goto movies two or three times a year now. In 90's I probably went two or three times a month. I think you would find a lot of people like that and even younger generations are growing up expecting to watch things from home on big screens. Cinema will be reduced to a niche market in time.

Well perhaps not going strong, but still around, yes? I cannot even recall one near me closing down- all up would have at least 6 options to go to +the ones in the city. Anyway, i'll always love going to the movies, on average would go to one a month.

Well perhaps not going strong, but still around, yes? I cannot even recall one near me closing down-
Yes, most are still around. They are just not as strongly attended. Some have closed down. When I go into city, the cinemas in cbd have been halved I reckon.
My point was more the peak would have been in the 1990's and early 2000's still very healthy. But I think it is on the decline for sure and more cinemas closing down will happen next decade. The internet streaming will just naturally make it so.

I think Reading have set the trend with $10 tix. Demand for $25 tickets and $20 popcorn/Coke combos aren't what they used to be. People have theatre rooms now. A leather recliner and a giant TV screen are more likely to be owned by a cashed up bogan than some Macquarie banker.

You can get a couple of pizzas and sides delivered to your house by some underpaid Indian student for $20, so you're not going to pay $50 to go and eat the same thing at a Domino's/Pizza Hut that still has seats. But people will pay $50 to eat good quality pizza in a nice setting. Gotta offer something good/niche to attract customers these days. Or failing that, make it cheap. Whatever the era, people still love a bargain.

I think Reading have set the trend with $10 tix. Demand for $25 tickets and $20 popcorn/Coke combos aren't what they used to be. People have theatre rooms now. A leather recliner and a giant TV screen are more likely to be owned by a cashed up bogan than some Macquarie banker.

Hoyts are the most expensive- they are having a laugh with their prices tbh. Village is reasonable (except for their GC)- and Reading the cheapest. Am going to go see Once Upon a time in Hollywood there in couple weeks for $24 GC. The ones in the city I'd go to Nova and Kino and not badly priced either.

Who is the best 90s chick?

Winona Ryder for me.

57a9f6411700002600c72189.jpeg

2.jpg

And Drew too.

But I love the look in general, something so youthful about it, but weird shades of drama and drug abuse too...

You can see why every girl tries dressing like that chick in the Dirty Boots Sonic Youth video now. It's a good look.

Watched Aquaman at home last night and thought "This would've been good at the cinema" but after making my way to cinema, sitting through 25 minutes of shit before it starts, campaigners in front of me dicking around on their phones and campaigners anywhere talking when explosions aren't happening, I probably would've left the cinema annoyed.