Mega Thread The Adam Goodes Megathread - Now with Added Poll!

Why are crowds booing Goodes?

• Racism

Votes: 565 29.9%
  • He's perceived as a dirty player

Votes: 563 29.8%
  • He's perceived as making a team game all about himself

Votes: 758 40.1%
  • Because everyone else is booing, I thought I'd join in - like a Mexican wave thing

Votes: 268 14.2%
  • Because Gillon doesnt want them to

Votes: 135 7.2%
  • I have no idea

Votes: 74 3.9%
  • Other

Votes: 183 9.7%
  • His onfield message is at odds with his off field one

Votes: 233 12.3%
  • He can do no wrong with the MRP

Votes: 164 8.7%
  • I was saying Boo-Urns?

Votes: 61 3.2%
  • Jack Watts

Votes: 56 3.0%

Great to see that Goodes was able to outshine even Micheal Clarke

Are you agile enough to duck those eggs Swans fans have at the ready ?
I notice that verbal abuse - that would be booing - is not ok but physical abuse is - al la throwing bum nuts at opposition fans

Footy last night - fantastic
Richmond supporters - great as always
Racist comments - zero
Chant for Eddie - loud - bet Adam wishes everyone loved him like they love Eddie
Consensus on booing from general chit chat in the bar and the stands - stiff s**t
Are the AFL seriously going to kick you out if you boo
Anyone told you that you have more than a bit of an agenda here?

Her mum is obviously a racist bogan who shouldn't be trusted to raise kids. She's the one who ought to apologise. As to the question of did the girl know it was a racist comment. Of course she bloody did. Ape is hardly a term used to insult your average punter. She's lucky her youth let her off the hook.
You sound a bit like Goodesy, bet you stand around on your front lawn in a skivvy telling of the neighborhood kids for riding bikes on your nature strip.

Are you uneducated on white privelage????

I've lived in developed countries, developing countries and LDC's, and am sharply aware that people of different race, ethnicity, class, social status, religion, caste, citizenship, gender, language etc are recipients of unearned advantages and disadvantages, depending of course where on this earth they may live at any given time.

There is a difference between education and understanding. Those who focus on white privilege alone because they've been educated to, have but a narrow paradigm for understanding the concept of unearned advantage IMO.

I'd say the initial booing of goodes was sparked by his comments after "the incident".

But I believe the main reasons it has continued is because people are being told not to, and because it is clearly affecting him.

I've lived in developed countries, developing countries and LDC's, and am sharply aware that people of different race, ethnicity, class, social status, religion, caste, citizenship, gender, language etc are recipients of unearned advantages and disadvantages, depending of course where on this earth they may live at any given time.

There is a difference between education and understanding. Those who focus on white privilege alone because they've been educated to, have but a narrow paradigm for understanding the concept of unearned advantage IMO.
All those big words and nary a point amongst them. Congrats.

Her mum is obviously a racist bogan who shouldn't be trusted to raise kids. She's the one who ought to apologise. As to the question of did the girl know it was a racist comment. Of course she bloody did. Ape is hardly a term used to insult your average punter. She's lucky her youth let her off the hook.

Wow, you can judge a person's ability to raise a child (and if she shouldn't be trusted to raise kids presumably you think her child should be taken away from her - ironic in the context of this thread) and get inside a person's mind to know their intentions (regarding a word which can indeed used to "insult your average punter" - see kwijibo, Jason Dunstall and Gareth Bale), all from a few minutes' worth of media coverage.

As for getting "let off the hook", being shown on live TV to hundreds of thousands of people and being splashed on the front page of newspapers is more than a teenage rapist would get. Plus don't forget that she was escorted out by security and interviewed by police, which is at least as much as an adult would get for saying something unambiguously racist. The West Coast supporter who used a clearly more racist expression didn't get treated so badly.

The extremist positions on both sides of this "debate" are as bad as each other.

Wow, you can judge a person's ability to raise a child (and if she shouldn't be trusted to raise kids presumably you think her child should be taken away from her - ironic in the context of this thread) and get inside a person's mind to know their intentions (regarding a word which can indeed used to "insult your average punter" - see kwijibo, Jason Dunstall and Gareth Bale), all from a few minutes' worth of media coverage.

As for getting "let off the hook", being shown on live TV to hundreds of thousands of people and being splashed on the front page of newspapers is more than a teenage rapist would get. Plus don't forget that she was escorted out by security and interviewed by police, which is at least as much as an adult would get for saying something unambiguously racist. The West Coast supporter who used a clearly more racist expression didn't get treated so badly.

The extremist positions on both sides of this "debate" are as bad as each other.

Unless you're from a non-european background you cannot criticize Goodes for re-acting in the instantaneous emotionally charged manner that he did.

An analogy (none are ever perfect) would be someone shouting out distasteful jokes about a player's mother just days after she's passed away. The shock and anger that would immediately wash over a player at hearing that in wouldn't surprise if he asked security to remove the a-hole culprit as well or make it known he'd take matters into his own hands.

Clearly the word 'ape' strikes a raw nerve in Goodes pysche, it's very likely that he was belittled and de-humanised with this word in his childhood. Let's be honest here for a second the word 'ape' directed at someone who's not european has 99.99% (if not 100%) of the time carried a racist intent which is to imply he/she is 'sub-human'. The same cannot be said when 'ape' (or derivatives) is aimed at europeans.

So it's the height of arrogance for any sensible fair minded person to expect him to have been cool, calm and collected and had the presence to of mind to analyse the situation, gauge the perpetrators age accurately (personally I thought she was between 15 and 17 when I first saw her) and decide it isn't worth it, all within a fraction of a second.

About a week ago the mother came out demanding Goodes apologise for pointing out someone out yelling racist slurs in the spur of the moment. No doubt the bogan mother is being emboldened by the idiots who claim Goodes is in the wrong and bringing this all on himself. Never-the-less it still says a lot about the mindset of this woman to think her off-spring caught in public yelling out specifically to a non-european person what is commonly accepted to be a racist term, is owed an apology. It speaks volume really.

Unless you're from a non-european background you cannot criticize Goodes for re-acting in the instantaneous emotionally charged manner that he did.

And you will note that I did not say a thing about Goodes' reaction.

My issue was with the poster's judgment from afar of two people and the media's response.

About a week ago the mother came out demanding Goodes apologise for pointing out someone out yelling racist slurs in the spur of the moment. No doubt the bogan mother is being emboldened by the idiots who claim Goodes is in the wrong and bringing this all on himself. Never-the-less it still says a lot about the mindset of this woman to think her off-spring caught in public yelling out specifically to a non-european peson what is commonly accepted to be racist term, is owed an apology. It speaks volume really.

She is absolutely owed an apology, but from the media rather than Goodes. I think her resentment towards Goodes for the situation is somewhat misplaced, but I can understand how she might feel that way given how outrageously her daughter was treated and given the natural maternal instinct to protect one's child - especially when there are those who pass comprehensive judgment about their intentions and qualities as people from afar.

I'd say the initial booing of goodes was sparked by his comments after "the incident".

But I believe the main reasons it has continued is because people are being told not to, and because it is clearly affecting him.
Crazy how one simple comment hits the nail on the head, while journos should be to blame for insinuating that a boo can be a racist slur.

And you will note that I did not say a thing about Goodes' reaction.

My issue was with the poster's judgment from afar of two people and the media's response.

She is absolutely owed an apology, but from the media rather than Goodes. I think her resentment towards Goodes for the situation is somewhat misplaced, but I can understand how she might feel that way given how outrageously her daughter was treated and given the natural maternal instinct to protect one's child - especially when there are those who pass comprehensive judgment about their intentions and qualities as people from afar.

Well the fact that she's demanding it from Adam is sufficient evidence to assume she's of bogan stock and that her 'naive' little one knew precisely what she was doing. Placed in the same situation I wouldn't want my, and my hypothetical child's mug, in the public spotlight ever again.

An analogy (none are ever perfect) would be someone shouting out distasteful jokes about a player's mother just days after she's passed away. The shock and anger that would immediately wash over a player at hearing that in wouldn't surprise if he asked security to remove the a-hole culprit as well or make it known he'd take matters into his own hands.

Clearly the word 'ape' strikes a raw nerve in Goodes pysche, it's very likely that he was belittled and de-humanised with this word in his childhood. Let's be honest here for a second the word 'ape' directed at someone who's not european has 99.99% (if not 100%) of the time carried a racist intent which is to imply he/she is 'sub-human'. The same cannot be said when 'ape' (or derivatives) is aimed at europeans.

So it's the height of arrogance for any sensible fair minded person to expect him to have been cool, calm and collected and had the presence to of mind to analyse the situation, gauge the perpetrators age accurately (personally I thought she was between 15 and 17 when I first saw her) and decide it isn't worth it, all within a fraction of a second.

About a week ago the mother came out demanding Goodes apologise for pointing out someone out yelling racist slurs in the spur of the moment. No doubt the bogan mother is being emboldened by the idiots who claim Goodes is in the wrong and bringing this all on himself. Never-the-less it still says a lot about the mindset of this woman to think her off-spring caught in public yelling out specifically to a non-european person what is commonly accepted to be a racist term, is owed an apology. It speaks volume really.
Unless you are talking about Garry Lyon

hairy_back_contest.jpg

this whole incident has taught me that if things arent going your way you should complain, then sook, then walk off in a huff and threaten to quit until people agree to kiss your feet and you get what you want.

what a role model

Nice to see him still get booed.
Honestly I didn't care until the Premier commented on it.