The Butcher !

liverpool-soccer
Saw an old collingwood friend last night and we were talking about collingwoods very average finals performance.
This bloke was a friend of Chris Egan's and Leon Davis.
Anyhow the conversation swung towards the The November draft and we started talking about the low depth of the current draft,and i told my mate that collingwood could be interested in BUTCHER,as a kpp player.

My mate laughed and he said he new Butcher very well, cause he is from the same regional town as him.
But he did say that he hoped Collingwood DOES NOT recruit him.
Why ? i asked and he said, he can do everything except KICK !

In the last final that Butcher played,he kicked 10 POINTS !

Collingwood stay way !

So the fact that he kicked quite a reasonable 32 goals, 19 behinds in the TAC Cup all season long should be discounted because of a game played in Maffra that your mate isn't even reporting accurately, in conditions that not one of us can testify to?

John Butcher is a fine talent, and through whatever means, we could do much worse than to pick up a player like him.

Yes Vinnie !
But do you know what collingwood were thinking ?
Trading cloke and our first pick 14 to Richmond to get their pick 5 to secure Butcher,NO WAY would i do that,that would be the biggest blunder in recent recruiting history !
I would be fuming if that happened.

If he was around at pick 14 and we pickled him up just with that pick no worries,but i would no way trade Cloke and our first round pick for someone who can't kick...........
We need players who can pin point and acuurately kick goals.
Clokey will tear it up next year,mark my words.

Taylor walker or Tippett that's a different story !

We need players who can pin point and acuurately kick goals. Clokey will tear it up next year,mark my words.

You see the problem with what you have done there?

I am not sure of the draftees this year. However I do trust that if the rumour turned out to be true that either Butcher will be a worthwhile prospect and I'd also suspect that Cloke might want out.

Yes Vinnie !
But do you know what collingwood were thinking ?
Trading cloke and our first pick 14 to Richmond to get their pick 5 to secure Butcher,NO WAY would i do that,that would be the biggest blunder in recent recruiting history !
I would be fuming if that happened.

If he was around at pick 14 and we pickled him up just with that pick no worries,but i would no way trade Cloke and our first round pick for someone who can't kick...........
We need players who can pin point and acuurately kick goals.
Clokey will tear it up next year,mark my words.

Taylor walker or Tippett that's a different story !
Mate, I don't think YOU have got any idea what Collingwood is thinking.

I doubt that the inner sanctum is going around sharing their recruiting strategies with ANYONE, let alone random blokes on the internet.

I just explained to you that the story of Butcher not being able to kick is an hysterical fallacy, and yet you continued on spouting it.

You seem drunk. Are you drunk?

Mate, I don't think YOU have got any idea what Collingwood is thinking.

I doubt that the inner sanctum is going around sharing their recruiting strategies with ANYONE, let alone random blokes on the internet.

I just explained to you that the story of Butcher not being able to kick is an hysterical fallacy, and yet you continued on spouting it.

You seem drunk. Are you drunk?

Vinnie no i am not drunk !
If your refering to spelling mistakes,i am at work and doing three things at once,i am trying to get on line when i can.

Also the Butcher thing is true.It comes from someone who is related to him.
Did you listen to Sen this morning ?
Eddie said that there will be some big names traded during next this trade period.

But if collingwood do this they are F....d !

Vinnie no i am not drunk !
If your refering to spelling mistakes,i am at work and doing three things at once,i am trying to get on line when i can.

Also the Butcher thing is true.It comes from someone who is related to him.
Did you listen to Sen this morning ?
Eddie said that there will be some big names traded during next this trade period.

But if collingwood do this they are F....d !

Was Ed talking in general about trade week or was he referring this to the Collingwood Football Club?

Also for the record, Richmond have pick 3 not 5. If we are to trade Cloke+ pick 14 for pick 3, it would almost guarantee us Butcher.

Having said all that I haven't got an opinion on this yet. I'll just wait and see what happens in trade week.

hahaha awesome thread

anyway im with vinnie, if every other side rates butcher and Hine rates butcher im sticking my bags on their wagon

Was Ed talking in general about trade week or was he referring this to the Collingwood Football Club?

Also for the record, Richmond have pick 3 not 5. If we are to trade Cloke+ pick 14 for pick 3, it would almost guarantee us Butcher.

Having said all that I haven't got an opinion on this yet. I'll just wait and see what happens in trade week.

Yes you are right!
I believe Eddie was talking about Clubs in general.
I also believe the rumour about Cloke was on Extreme black and White.

Ok lets just wait and see what happens.
Wish we got afew good players so we can finally challenge for the big one!
Vin what do you think about recruiting Tuck and Coughlan.Would they fit into our midfield,plus we could get them for zip.Even as depth players?

Rumours are just that Rumours!

Don't take them too seriously !

How many rumours actually transpire ?

Hardly any !

So look at things like a grain of salt.

Rumours are just started by arm chair specialists like us .

Then the media rides with it.

Ha Ha its all fun.

i'd trade cloke and keep dawes. Will always be a dumb footballer cloke. Just does dumb things on a regular basis.
That said, cant see him being traded, although i'd love butcher.

In Hine we trust!

DerekHine_draft_462.jpg

But in all seriousness from what I've heard Butcher would be a great pick up. Just make him follow Jack Anthony around all the time.:D:thumbsu:

For us to get Butcher were gonna need at least pick 4!!
We are gonna have to give up a bit.
If we do he better be worth it.

i'd trade cloke and keep dawes. Will always be a dumb footballer cloke. Just does dumb things on a regular basis.
That said, cant see him being traded, although i'd love butcher.

Or get Matthew Llyod down as "specialist" goal kicking coach.

Llyod was quoted as saying he doesnt want a full time coaching job, but that he would look at a specialist role if one was offered.

For us to get Butcher were gonna need at least pick 4!!
We are gonna have to give up a bit.
If we do he better be worth it.
or we could do what we do now

Its all MM and Em's fault, everything

Rumours are just that Rumours!

Don't take them too seriously !

How many rumours actually transpire ?

Hardly any !

So look at things like a grain of salt.

Rumours are just started by arm chair specialists like us .

Then the media rides with it.

Ha Ha its all fun.

Is that a Poem!

If it is i dont like it, try again

Harry O's junior coach said he couldn't kick for shit.
Look how that turned out.

If the young Butcher had a proven TERRIBLE goal/point ratio, then you might be a little concerned, but from all available reports he is rated very highly and you are just reporting that he had one off game.
Maybe that game was during the dust storms?
:p

It was a windy day, he kicked 1-7,he got one of Maffra's best took some good grabs. I know his father, he was the worst kick I've ever seen. he used to get the ball 30+ times a game, then everyone just spread out to cover as much of the ground as we could.

Why would we trade a 22 year old who has played 4 seasons of footy at CHF, the hardest position on the ground, in order to pick up an 18 year old that will need at least another 4-5 years to get to the same point Cloke is at now? It would have to be the dumbest move of all time. Cloke had one bad season, and even then his 2nd half was promising. Plus he had a load of off-field problems. He's had 1 quiet year its not the end of the world. We need to be trading for players that can have an impact NOW! And if we cant get those players for whatever reason, there is no point trading for the ***** of it and putting ourselves in a worse position.

Dawes, Reid, Nath Brown, Cloke, Anthony should all be off limits. If we need to give up a good player to get a gun from somewhere else then I'd say it should be Leon based on the fact he has consistently struggled in finals. But lets not forget his first 14-16 games were absolutely scintilating. I wouldnt be surprised if he finished off the year carrying a niggle, if anyone watched him run he had the turning circle of a truck. Some of you are just too impatient or flat out ignorant

Buddy Franklin is a s**t kick and is the best forward in the competition. So is Riewolt most forwards are not the greatest kicks. But this kid has huge potential i like the look of him will be a great player to come. But we wont get him anyway. So no point really of us talking about him.

Dawes, Reid, Nath Brown, Cloke, Anthony should all be off limits. If we need to give up a good player to get a gun from somewhere else then I'd say it should be Leon based on the fact he has consistently struggled in finals. But lets not forget his first 14-16 games were absolutely scintilating. I wouldnt be surprised if he finished off the year carrying a niggle, if anyone watched him run he had the turning circle of a truck. Some of you are just too impatient or flat out ignorant

exactly why would we want to trade our key position players. this draft has only got a couple of good key position players which we are unlikely to get. We wouldnt recieve high picks for cloke or ried ect so we would jsut be giving them away for weak picks that are useless. I would defiantly not be getting rid of ben reid he is going to be a star up back next year, and for nathan brown he is going to be a star aswell i would like to see him tried up forward i think he could have a good career up there.