Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread

Yes he is a class act, didn’t realise his father passed away, tough time for him
I was really saddened to hear that bit. I met his late father Lynden at a function at the JLT game vs Cheats FC earlier this year. He was a terrific fella, loved a dart, a beer (which we shared a few) and idolised his boy. A real salt of the Earth type, the apple doesnt fall far from the tree they say.

Bolts is, and always has been, absolute class.

And he raises a very good point re: the long game, one which I have posted about previously.

I still maintain we played the long-game, to his detriment, and that is what ultimately brought about his demise.

I have absolutely no doubt we could have recruited more experience, we could have played more mature players, and by extension we could have done better, but we didn't necessarily want to.

Sure things derailed and didn't pan out exactly as we all would have loved, but it is absolutely clear, to me at least, that Bolton sacrificed himself for the Carlton Football Club.

If we reach the pinnacle we strive for, his selfless contribution should not be forgotten.

Maybe you can take that view (he focussed too long-term to his own detriment etc.) of his overall career at Carlton, but it doesn't wash for this year.
You can't really complain about the lack of senior players, when you have Ed wasting away in the forwardline. And when you see what Teague was able to achieve with the same list, but less available players.

However, Bolts is all class, and definitely helped to set the foundations to what I hope will be success.

I am reasonably high up in my Organisation … If I butted heads with the CEO … do you know where my career would be?? Think about it for a minute. This happens EVERYDAY in corporate Australia …...

The thing is, football clubs are not corporations.

I'd suggest that the head of list management is, while fitting below the CEO, more important within a football club. I think a club with the best list manager, and 18th best CEO would have more success than a club that had the best CEO, and only the 18th best list manager.

Maybe you can take that view (he focussed too long-term to his own detriment etc.) of his overall career at Carlton, but it doesn't wash for this year.

Sure it does.

I don't believe for a second that Bolts thought we'd win more games with Ed, Murphy out of the midfield.

Sure it does.

I don't believe for a second that Bolts thought we'd win more games with Ed, Murphy out of the midfield.

OK, but how does losing every week possibly help us long-term?
How much did Fisher and Dow and Samo learn or develop by getting smashed by ****ing norf? Players develop better, and more quickly when they're playing in good, successful teams. Not teams that win 4 times in 43.

You can't really complain about the lack of senior players, when you have Ed wasting away in the forwardline. And when you see what Teague was able to achieve with the same list, but less available players.

However, Bolts is all class, and definitely helped to set the foundations to what I hope will be success.
Bolts really didn't have much luck.
Doc does his knee twice
GC-Dow handballs the wrong way with a minute to go/MM play the extra man in nowhere land
Magpies-JSOS gives a 50 with 5 minutes to go/JDG gets away with mauling Plow
Hawks-Simo goes down at half time and the defence leaks like a seive/ HMcK marks a second after the siren.

A little more reward for effort and things could have turned out different. Then overcoached as he tried too hard. Hardwick nearly lost his job doing the same thing.

How would it have gone for Teague if the Lions had taken one of the many chances they had when they were 6 goals up?

Bolts really didn't have much luck.
Doc does his knee twice
GC-Dow handballs the wrong way with a minute to go/MM play the extra man in nowhere land
Magpies-JSOS gives a 50 with 5 minutes to go/JDG gets away with mauling Plow
Hawks-Simo goes down at half time and the defence leaks like a seive/ HMcK marks a second after the siren.

A little more reward for effort and things could have turned out different. Then overcoached as he tried too hard. Hardwick nearly lost his job doing the same thing.

How would it have gone for Teague if the Lions had taken one of the many chances they had when they were 6 goals up?

Oh, definitely, Bolts was unlucky. 2018 in particular was an unmitigated disaster of injuries.

And the over-coaching thing seems to happen to heaps of coaches, perhaps especially when the pressure comes on. But as we see time and time again, that is not the path to success.

stamos, you're a gun poster, but I get the feeling you may have argued yourself into a corner - as far as your basket case comment goes, were you around in 07?

Not on Bigfooty. I remember it though.

The problem I have now, when compared with then is that we had seemed to have finally got our shit together. It looked like we were professional, and going about things the right way. There have been so many positives about the Club.
And yet we descend once more to egos and factions and political bullshit, absolutely needlessly.

OK, but how does losing every week possibly help us long-term?
How much did Fisher and Dow and Samo learn or develop by getting smashed by ******* norf? Players develop better, and more quickly when they're playing in good, successful teams. Not teams that win 4 times in 43.

Losing every week doesn't help in isolation, obviously.

Just as losing every week didn't help the Giants when they were getting smashed every other week for the first few years of their existence.

But you know what? They rode that out, and when they emerged on the other side of it, their gun kids all had 50-100 games into them. And now they're one of the stronger sides in the competition, and may remain as such for a little while yet.

Losing sucks but I'm not sure any of the GWS players who went through that as kids have suffered for it long-term as a result.

Clearly that is exactly what we have tried to emulate. We haven't had the concessions, but thanks to SOS we've had a massive influx of kids over the past few years. And we've not just played them, we've often given them significant roles in the senior side, before they were ready to assume those responsibilities.

How many times did we hear Bolton talk about wishing there was a way to immediately inject (cue Essendon gag here) 100 games into these kids?

There's a reason for it. Because the pain we've been through - the pain we've put ourselves through - will pay off in the long term. And I reckon it could pay off in spades.

Not on Bigfooty. I remember it though.

The problem I have now, when compared with then is that we had seemed to have finally got our shit together. It looked like we were professional, and going about things the right way. There have been so many positives about the Club.
And yet we descend once more to egos and factions and political bullshit, absolutely needlessly.

...and how does bitching and moaning on here or at club member forums help any of that. Only create more factions and opening for egos to thrive.

Despite the last week the club is in bloody good shape - miles better than back in 2007.

I’m super positive about the coming year.

spell proper or forby will come for ya.....

**** that toothless tradie mongrel …. I'll have him on a Performance Improvement Plan before too long ...

And the perception is what, that they didn't try?

Did you not read what I said to Jabba? This has all the earmarks of someone refusing to be stage managed. Trigg and Bolton were both willing to 'play' as it were, and to allow the club's narrative to determine the media narrative; why is it that people think that this departure is vastly different to that one, that we're leaking like a ******* sieve all of a sudden (again), that we're hearing about how 'CEO's lost the plot' a month out from the trading period, that all was well and good then but it isn't now?

What is happening here is due to SOS not caring to go quietly. It's not his character, and it's not his prerogative. He wasn't happy, and he made it known. MLG cannot do anything to stop someone who refuses to play ball.
I’ve arrived here because Google tells me that Bolton either gave an interview to the Herald Sun about his time at Carlton or that rag has reported on it.
Where can I find a paywall free copy of the article?

I’ve arrived here because Google tells me that Bolton either gave an interview to the Herald Sun about his time at Carlton or that rag has reported on it.
Where can I find a paywall free copy of the article?

Is covered on Fox Sports re: interview for ABC grandstand.

Not anymore.

Tell you what, you've come a long way as a poster since I had a stoush with you. Enjoying your posting quite a bit.
Beats being in the cellar I guess

The thing is, football clubs are not corporations.

I'd suggest that the head of list management is, while fitting below the CEO, more important within a football club. I think a club with the best list manager, and 18th best CEO would have more success than a club that had the best CEO, and only the 18th best list manager.

and yet everywhere I turn with my romanticised idealism I am met with endless chants of "it's a business now"...........
Tell Mike I always liked him ... it was just business