Social Science The Dreams Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Affidavit

I thought it would be interesting to see what crazy shit you GD people dream about.

Be it dreams you wish were true or nightmares that scared the shit out of you, lets hear it.

I had a weirddddd dream last night like none other before.

I was in a Casino and was playing the pokies. I hate the pokies but for some reason this is the first thing I wanted to play when I entered. I sat down and put in $2. It gave me 1 spin. On my only attempt I get 5 treasure chests and the sirens and alarms go off. It's flashing. People are screaming congratulating me. I stunned and have no idea how much I've won but am expecting a shit load. An attendant walks over and congratulates me on my win but says they have bad news. They tell me i've only won $13 as the jackpot went off 2 hours earlier for $500,000.

I blackout.

I wake up on an island with Napoleon. However it is Napoleon's head on an ants body. I look down and I'm an ant as well. He says he needs my help to rescue the spaceship. I oblige and agree to join his crusade to get it back. I then remember being on the battlefield where 10s of thousands of ants are killing each other with modern day weapons.

All of a sudden I get thrown into the air which seemed like an eternity. I landed on the head of a T-Rex in Jurassic Park. I crawl down slowly trying not to be noticed and end up making it further into the jungle.

I turn around and there is none other than Napoleons spaceship. So I climb aboard and take off. (Because I used to be a astronaut or I was like Neo in the Matrix and could learn everything and anything).

Unfortunately it was like the Columbia space mission and I blew up 20 seconds after take off.

Last thing I remember was making out with Pamela Anderson in a pool.

I told her I couldn't do this any longer if she didn't eat meat (and not just mine ;)) she refused and slapped me.

Seconds later I woke up, had a shower and went to uni.

:confused:

search function n00b

and they are some f'n messed up dreams

I had the weirdest dream today when I was having a nap before work. I was supposed to start work at 5, began the nap at about 1, so plenty of time, but I'd set my alarm and everything just in case.

Anyway, in my dream, I woke up at 4.50 to start work at 5, so was in a mad panic to get ready, but was still going to be late. It was really detailed, I remember doing things that I actually do when running late! Anyway, I 'wake up' realizing it's actually 10pm and I've missed my whole shift, so start calling work to apologize and what not, but then 'wake up' again, and realize it's actually Saturday, and I don't have to work at all.

I then actually wake up, for real, realize it's 3pm on Wednesday, I'm not running late, I didn't sleep through my whole shift, and it's not Saturday!

Inception eat your heart out!

Woah that's crazy.

Whenever i have a nap around 7 - 8ish, and i wake up say around 11, i always seem to trip out and wonder what time / day it is.

I woke up once in a hurry to get ready for uni thinking it was morning, til i checked the time and it was only 11:30pm.

Yeah, on Saturdays I used to start at 6am, so in winter it's pitch black outside. One night I went to sleep at about 9pm, woke up thinking it was 5.30, full got ready for work, shower and all, got in my car, and was only then did I notice it was 11pm...
And I swear my alarm had gone off to wake me up. No idea how I didn't see the time before I left the house...

anyone else have super-realistic dreams after drinking?

Last week, got on the beers and happened to meet Lynden Dunn, then had a dream about telling my brother that I met Dunny. Was really confused when I went to tell him in real life - for a few seconds I was sure I'd already told him.

Hmm...ever had any tests done on your brain's electrical signals? :confused:

The following anecdote was based on some study of me as a kid (12-15), I found later on that on nights that I was drinking, even when I had absolutely zero memory, the smallest prompt enabled me to remember entire conversations, actions, etc. Some preliminary research showed that Alcohol slowed the pulses in the brain, ascerbating my "condition" (which medically can't be proven/doesn't exist).

The reason I ask is that I have (had) a terrible run of "deja vu" - situations that I had experienced before - and WRITTEN DOWN - then happened exactly as I described it, often weeks or months before.

Anyway, some of the testing they did was along the lines of where my brain sent signals - what areas of the brain were active at various times. Turns out that there was a "blackspot" in my short-term memory, and my brain was committing some things to long-term memory, including whilst I was asleep (normally this area of the brain is "off" during sleep).

In the absence of any logical reasoning or medical facts, the conclusion was that (somehow) I was simply dreaming but, unable to access short-term memory, my brain was sending signals to long-term memory, and then much later (days, weeks, months, some years later) subconsciously I was recreating the incidents according to my memory.

I can buy that for 99% of my deja vu experiences - I could have unwittingly manipulated conversations by repeating my 'deja vu' lines, etc. But that never explained the boat.

<X-files music>

During a deja vu experience (I had written that there were four in the car driving, mum puts a clix biscuit in dad's mouth, dad chokes and needs water, we go around corner, boat slides accross the road, black)....we were driving, mum puts a clix biscuit in dad's mouth, dad chokes and asks for water....I call out to "STOP!" and dad pulls over. 10 seconds later a car comes around the corner with a boat trailer, minus boat. Which had slid accross the road into our lane. :eek:

I very rarely have them now (maybe 1-2 a year), but stopped recording after the boat incident as it was a little too freaky.

Few nights ago had a dream i caught all these massive fish, in some random shallow river in a crab net. One of them was Scott Pendlebury. It didnt look like him obviouisly, i didnt name it that, it just was Scott Pendlebury. I mean YTF would i dream about that.

whats sechs with a fish like?

I have 'super-realistic' dreams after drinking all the time! just before i wake up i always seem to be lying down so when i open my eyes i still think that the dream is there and freak out for a second.

The other week after a night out i had a dream where i hooked up with a girl at a club that i was at earlier that night. i woke up and seriously didnt know if i had actually hooked up with her or not as the dream was so realistic.... turns out she was not out that night.:thumbsd:

Hmm...ever had any tests done on your brain's electrical signals? :confused:

The following anecdote was based on some study of me as a kid (12-15), I found later on that on nights that I was drinking, even when I had absolutely zero memory, the smallest prompt enabled me to remember entire conversations, actions, etc. Some preliminary research showed that Alcohol slowed the pulses in the brain, ascerbating my "condition" (which medically can't be proven/doesn't exist).

The reason I ask is that I have (had) a terrible run of "deja vu" - situations that I had experienced before - and WRITTEN DOWN - then happened exactly as I described it, often weeks or months before.

Anyway, some of the testing they did was along the lines of where my brain sent signals - what areas of the brain were active at various times. Turns out that there was a "blackspot" in my short-term memory, and my brain was committing some things to long-term memory, including whilst I was asleep (normally this area of the brain is "off" during sleep).

In the absence of any logical reasoning or medical facts, the conclusion was that (somehow) I was simply dreaming but, unable to access short-term memory, my brain was sending signals to long-term memory, and then much later (days, weeks, months, some years later) subconsciously I was recreating the incidents according to my memory.

I can buy that for 99% of my deja vu experiences - I could have unwittingly manipulated conversations by repeating my 'deja vu' lines, etc. But that never explained the boat.

<X-files music>

During a deja vu experience (I had written that there were four in the car driving, mum puts a clix biscuit in dad's mouth, dad chokes and needs water, we go around corner, boat slides accross the road, black)....we were driving, mum puts a clix biscuit in dad's mouth, dad chokes and asks for water....I call out to "STOP!" and dad pulls over. 10 seconds later a car comes around the corner with a boat trailer, minus boat. Which had slid accross the road into our lane. :eek:

I very rarely have them now (maybe 1-2 a year), but stopped recording after the boat incident as it was a little too freaky.

inception.png

Very weird one last. Cant remember to much but i do know i was on the waters edge just out of the bush taking cover with Forrest and Bubba. :confused:

I had a dream in grade 5 that i was riding my bike to school and just as i was about to enter the school i realised to my horror that i had forgottern my bag (and it took me about 20 minutes for me to ride to school back then, so it wasn't like i could just go back and fetch it). I also realised i wasn't dreaming.......oh ****.

One of my earliest recurring dreams was being roasted on a spit by dinosaurs, viewed from the third person. I was having that dream at 5. Like, wtf?

Also, around the same age, I used to have this dream that I was at some sort of house/daycare thing, and I was in the drive way looking up towards the house, and there were these berries in the driveway that made my legs paralyzed, but I was still standing, and there was an evil clown at the other end of the driveway up at the house, slowly advancing. ****ing scary.

Another weird dream I had was I was in Sydney, in the CBD, at a non-existant intersection between Elizabeth St and George St (the two streets run parallel in reality), up near Hyde Park. Australia was being invaded by Nazis, and they were marching down George St, and me and a small group of others, all of us armed with assault rifles, were running down George St and turned into Elizabeth St, and started taking shots at the Nazis as they marched past (and they didn't fire back, oddly). Suddenly a Nazi car comes up and parks next to us. We open fire in a sort of awkward slow-motion-but-not way, and kill everybody in the car except for one guy in the back seat, who was impervious to our bullets. He rolls down the window (somehow not smashed by the bullets) and simply smiles at us. He then points a handgun behind him, without looking, and fires. I look at who/what he shot, and see Sideshow Bob with a bullet in his head on a bench in Hyde Park, dead. It then turns out that this invincible guy is Sideshow Bob 2.0, a master criminal who is actually competent, and his first order of business was to kill his brother. However, somehow we convince him to join us and fight the Nazis. Dream ended there.

Easily the scariest and trippest dream I've had, however, was one in which I was playing cricket, we were batting and I was waiting to bat. I had something to eat, can't remember what, and then found out I'd eaten plastic explosives, and they would detonate any minute, killing me. The rest of the dream was spent panicking and coming to terms with the fact that I was about to die, and be splattered all over the park. There was a countdown and everything, and when it got to zero, I didn't wake up immediately (like you're meant to when you die in dreams). Instead, it just went black, there was nothing, no sound, no feeling, and then after a little while, I woke up. That freaked me out more than any other dream I've had.

I frequently have weird dreams where odd people have had odd cameos. For example, one of my weirdest dreams had Andre Rieu as a gun toting terrorist.

The car i was traveling in, stopped at a traffic intersection, as the lights changed for us to continue, a van comes speeding towards and collides with us. Then Andre Rieu pops out from the van, machine gun in hand, does a bizarre laugh (kind of like Shaun Micallef's laugh when he portrayed Fabio on Full Frontal) and starts shooting with it.

Jurassic Park dream.

Was in JP, got chased by velociraptors and got run down. Was attacked then everything went dark for 2 or so seconds. I woke up was on the ground lying down, and looked up to see them eating and tearing away my body. Then i woke up for real.

Way back when I was in like year 2 I used to have these recurring dreams where I was at school, with no shoes on I really started to get scared about it.

Also had a dream last night where my mate stole a game from EB in the city, except it was a really modern city.