The HFC...

• Thread starter Thread starter Rohan_

Interesting how this thread has dragged on for so long, due partly to suzi olsen butting in (and yet she tells me to butt out!) Well suzi if people didn't see you as they do now, they would not reply as some do and this thread won't have turned out as it is.

Re: Re: Re: Re: The HFC...

Originally posted by superstar

Who cares about what you did 70 years ago?

I'm sure Johnny Howard would love to think like that. Because it happend more than 40 years ago there would be no such thing as the stolen generation.

Great Logic.

Originally posted by grayham
No, it actually shows that you have poor language skills, because under even the most relaxed of syntax rules, your sentence fails to meet basic criteria

So, oh-wise-one, do you care to conduct a grammatical analysis of the particular sentence in question? Do you follow this routine for every post you read?

Considering the fact that the sentence was clearly intepretable to all and sundry (well . . . perhaps not in your case), I fail to see how you expect a thesis-style exposition/debate, on an internet forum. After all, those who are well versed on genre theory, would already be aware of the appropriateness of the sentence in regards to field, tenor, and mode, along with audienece (excepting your good self) and intention.

I wonder, are you so anal with every single sentence you read on BigFooty?

... a bit like fitzroy.
;)

I would give you that one, but I already gave to the Salvo's yesterday (oh, and yes, before you mention it, Fitzroy at some stage as well).

Originally posted by Cyclops
Something is a bit wrong at Hawthorn. The Croad business was poorly handled and hurt the club. I don't think it was the kid's fault, and he's doing fine at Freo when nearly all the Hawk big men went down this season.

The perceived Dicker/Schwab split is hurting too, with the coach seen as a "lame duck" on borrowed time. I don't think its true, but the whiff of it is destabilising. The Spider gamble smells of desperation, from a club that traditionally values "clean living"-they sacked Ablett remember.

Its possible they honestly thought (like the Tigers) that they'd done the hard work in 2001 so a 2002 GF spot was a lay down misere. If they still have that attitude then they are like Collingwood in 1995-headed for a long drought.

Its not all bad. They have some ace young runners coming through. Barker and Holland have crocked it, but the other big men should come back hard. Spider might reform his character.

Above all they have Crawford. I don't mind bagging him for a pretty boy, but the guy is solid gold. He gets the hard ball and delivers with smooth aplomb. He's a matchwinner and a workhorse. Bagging his footy ability is like running down Buckley-you're just revealing your ignorance.

If the Hawks keep their heads down and forget Goldspink, they'll go places: If they live in the past, that's the only place they'll find success.
There is no split between Peter Schwab and Ian Dicker.

Trent Croad Quit Hawthorn after hearing his name during trade talks last year.

Barker and Holland were and still are carrying niggling injuries and have not passed their used by date at all.

Don't use umpiring as an excuse.

Ablett was sacked for a very good reason. He fought with Allan Jeans too much.

Hawthorn need a ruckman and Spider wanted to leave St Kilda because of some bad years at the club.

Come back and see us all at the end of the 2003 season when Hawthorn have won the premiership.

Originally posted by Stocka

So, oh-wise-one, do you care to conduct a grammatical analysis of the particular sentence in question? Do you follow this routine for every post you read?

Considering the fact that the sentence was clearly intepretable to all and sundry (well . . . perhaps not in your case), I fail to see how you expect a thesis-style exposition/debate, on an internet forum. After all, those who are well versed on genre theory, would already be aware of the appropriateness of the sentence in regards to field, tenor, and mode, along with audienece (excepting your good self) and intention.

I wonder, are you so anal with every single sentence you read on BigFooty?

You are someone who has trouble admitting you are wrong even on things so simple as basic english.

I merely asked for an explanation that no one else has said was understandable (so I dont know where you get your "clearly" from). Your anal personality is trying to flog the dead horse so to speak. Just admit, you were wrong and move on. If its any consilation, most (at least 80%) of your other sentences are fine. Ok, so you may need to work on your thoughts behind them, but syntactically ok, at least for an informal internet board.

Originally posted by myee8
Interesting how this thread has dragged on for so long, due partly to suzi olsen butting in (and yet she tells me to butt out!) Well suzi if people didn't see you as they do now, they would not reply as some do and this thread won't have turned out as it is.
BS. Why blame me? Rohan started this thread and got an angry response from the Hawthorn Supporters in this forum.

myee8 - You make me angry:mad:

Originally posted by suzi_olsen

BS. Why blame me? Rohan started this thread and got an angry response from the Hawthorn Supporters in this forum.

Only coz it was Rohan adn they no really like him, and some people don't like you. I personally don't mind Rohan so i don't care really.

You are someone who has trouble admitting you are wrong even on things so simple as basic english.

But the point is mate, I wasn't wrong. You claim that I was wrong, but you can't even explain why. The case is rather, that you were exposed for not being able to understand the sentence.

I merely asked for an explanation that no one else has said was understandable (so I dont know where you get your "clearly" from).

No-one else has said that they couldn't understand it either - just you. In fact, I think Slax also earlier commented on your inability to understand the sentence, so you're obviously on your own on this one.

Your anal personality is trying to flog the dead horse so to speak.

Funny, I thought that was what you were doing.

Just admit, you were wrong and move on.

Are you reading that from a sheet? I suggest you adhere to its message.

If its any consilation, most (at least 80%) of your other sentences are fine. Ok, so you may need to work on your thoughts behind them, but syntactically ok, at least for an informal internet board.

As I mentioned earlier, it seems a bit strange that you seem to expect a thesis-style exposition/debate, on an internet forum. After all, those who are well versed on genre theory, would already be aware of the appropriateness of my posts in regards to field, tenor, and mode, along with audience (excepting your good self) and intention.

Unfortunately, you seem to be lacking an understanding of the function and purpose of BigFooty as a whole. Chin up though, I'm sure if you stick around long enough you'll put two and two together.

But the point is mate, I wasn't wrong. You claim that I was wrong, but you can't even explain why. The case is rather, that you were exposed for not being able to understand the sentence.

No-one else has said that they couldn't understand it either - just you. In fact, I think Slax also earlier commented on your inability to understand the sentence, so you're obviously on your own on this one.

Funny, I thought that was what you were doing.

Are you reading that from a sheet? I suggest you adhere to its message.

As I mentioned earlier, it seems a bit strange that you seem to expect a thesis-style exposition/debate, on an internet forum. After all, those who are well versed on genre theory, would already be aware of the appropriateness of my posts in regards to field, tenor, and mode, along with audience (excepting your good self) and intention.

Unfortunately, you seem to be lacking an understanding of the function and purpose of BigFooty as a whole. Chin up though, I'm sure if you stick around long enough you'll put two and two together.

I think this post is symptomatic of why very few people miss Fitzroy in the AFL.

Only coz it was Rohan adn they no really like him, and some people don't like you. I personally don't mind Rohan so i don't care really.
Both you and Rohan at the moment have got attitude problems. It makes everyone in here frustrated to read these juvenile threads and posts by you and Rohan.

I think this post is symptomatic of why very few people miss Fitzroy in the AFL.

Tough. At least people can work out who I support by the passion I show for my club in my posts. Who do you support again?

Ablett was sacked for a very good reason. He fought with Allan Jeans too much.

May be his attitude and lifestyle had a lot to do with it?

In reference to the Ablett comment by Cyclops: How many premierships did Ablett win vs how many did we win without him!!

Originally posted by Hawkas

May be his attitude and lifestyle had a lot to do with it?

In reference to the Ablett comment by Cyclops: How many premierships did Ablett win vs how many did we win without him!!
Possibly Hawkas.

A bit of a bitter response there Mark, and somewhat taking my comments out of context.
Merely meeting your crap with like. Your comments were taken as they read and I didn't see them as inconsistant with other comments about my club.

I have no bitterness to Fitzroy at all. In fact I was at many a function and I could recycle enough raffle tickets to rival Mr. Pratt. I was privy to many of the back room goings on via a professional association wiith a director and frankly I am bitter with the AFL for what they did.
I wouldn't expect you to 'understand' what it was like to support a club during those times, apart from being able to observe it. Similarly, I wonder if many other teams have been subjected to the conditions that Fitzroy were, during the 90's?
I have a fair undestanding and appreciation. I think I understand the plight of the Fitzroy supporter more than you would the plight of the Collingwood supporter through the 70's to 1990 and throughought the 90's. None of that has anything to do with what you said in relation to a comparrison draw between two clubs, none of wich were Fitzroy or Brisbane. Your 2 simply was a person in a glass house throwing stones. If I am bitter then what does your long reply indicate?
Yet, your response in turn, when ribbed over recent Collingwood performances was that "we were crap", and somehow insinuating that this was therefore a suitable response for you, even if not for Carlton. I think this displays a high level of hypocrisy, even if for the good cause of hanging crap on Carlton.
It wasn't a response for me it was a response to you. If I was hypocritical is was inspired by your hypocracy and it there was a touch of the smartarse in my response them you can view that similarly. The point I made was - yes we werecrap as has any other team been at times. carlton's time is now. When it was our time we were given our share of crap and in fact we are still being crap for how crap we WERE.

FWIW you have overanalysed it all but at least it is a better read than the other convo you have going here - SHEESH!
If you want to sit around and have a go at Fitzroy...
I have never had a go at Fitzroy. I was having a go at you not your former club.
As to whether or not I think the Brisbane Lions are a continuation of Fitzroy....
From some of the comments I have seen you contribute Mark, the underlying logic could also consist that Collingwood are therefore no longer "Collingwood" as they no longer play out of that particular suburb.
I have on many occassions that as far as I'm concerned Brisbane is not Fitzroy and the merger is more a merger in hindsight with what the parties eventually saw was neccessary to make it work. I have also said that how I see it is irrelevant. The only valid assessment is that of former Fitzroy supporters. FWIW I know some in both camps.
From some of the comments I have seen you contribute Mark, the underlying logic could also consist that Collingwood are therefore no longer "Collingwood" as they no longer play out of that particular suburb.
Everything changes and evolves. If you are comparing a single club moving where it plays its home matches because it is economically beneficial to do so to a club folding and merging with an interstate club then I suggest you have another think. The two are hardly analagous. I think the "underlying logic" bit need reassessing. Regardless of whether Collingwood play at Vic. Park, are forced to play at Waverley of choose to play at the MCG, they are far the same club. The fact that there are discernable differences between the Collingwood of today and that of the depression, for instance, can be put down to many factors but do not add up to anything more than prgression with the times. Had Fitzroy been able to do some of that we wouldn't be having this conversation (and that is NOT a dig - just a fact).

Originally posted by MarkT

Merely meeting your crap with like. Your comments were taken as they read and I didn't see them as inconsistant with other comments about my club.

I have no bitterness to Fitzroy at all.

What, not even for beating you at Victoria Park twice in '85? ;)

Anyway, I wasn't suggesting you did, but rather, that you seemed to be bitter about me reflecting on a time when your club was performing poorly (not that it isn't to be expect by anyone, really).

In fact I was at many a function and I could recycle enough raffle tickets to rival Mr. Pratt. I was privy to many of the back room goings on via a professional association wiith a director and frankly I am bitter with the AFL for what they did.

Not dissimilar to many others.

I have a fair undestanding and appreciation. I think I understand the plight of the Fitzroy supporter more than you would the plight of the Collingwood supporter through the 70's to 1990 and throughought the 90's. None of that has anything to do with what you said in relation to a comparrison draw between two clubs, none of wich were Fitzroy or Brisbane.

Fair enough points.

Your 2 simply was a person in a glass house throwing stones.

Aren't we all? That was my original point, and I have never said that I too wasn't subject to it.

If I am bitter then what does your long reply indicate?

Since when has the length of a reply indicated its tone?

It wasn't a response for me it was a response to you. If I was hypocritical is was inspired by your hypocracy and it there was a touch of the smartarse in my response them you can view that similarly.

Yes, and I could say that about the comments which initially inspired me to post. It may not have involved my club, but the opportunity was too great to resist.

The point I made was - yes we werecrap as has any other team been at times. carlton's time is now. When it was our time we were given our share of crap and in fact we are still being crap for how crap we WERE.

No different to anyone else really. Go back to your "glass houses" comment, as well as my original comment in the thread. What goes around comes around. I'm all for sticking the boots into Carlton at any point in time, although, it should be kept in perspective. It's one thing to have a go at a club in an area in which they have performed/acted far worse than your own. However, when you are having a go at someone for something which is comparitable to your own efforts, then you need to watch out! ;)

FWIW you have overanalysed it all but at least it is a better read than the other convo you have going here - SHEESH!

It's the off-season.

I have never had a go at Fitzroy. I was having a go at you not your former club.

Current club (you should have read my post more thoroughly!).

I have on many occassions that as far as I'm concerned Brisbane is not Fitzroy and the merger is more a merger in hindsight with what the parties eventually saw was neccessary to make it work. I have also said that how I see it is irrelevant. The only valid assessment is that of former Fitzroy supporters. FWIW I know some in both camps.

Fair enough point.

Everything changes and evolves. If you are comparing a single club moving where it plays its home matches because it is economically beneficial to do so to a club folding and merging with an interstate club then I suggest you have another think. The two are hardly analagous. I think the "underlying logic" bit need reassessing. Regardless of whether Collingwood play at Vic. Park, are forced to play at Waverley of choose to play at the MCG, they are far the same club. The fact that there are discernable differences between the Collingwood of today and that of the depression, for instance, can be put down to many factors but do not add up to anything more than prgression with the times.

Once again, a fair enough point, but I think you can see the point that I was making originally, and how I may similarly argue for my point of view as you have above.

Although, as you've said, your original post wasn't intending to deal with the issue, so it's of no concern to either of us then.

Had Fitzroy been able to do some of that we wouldn't be having this conversation (and that is NOT a dig - just a fact).

I agree, and I've often had many conversations with others as to the reasons why Fitzroy ended up in the situation in which they did. It's certainly not as cut-and-dried an issue as some people tend to make it out to be (I'm not suggesting you are guilty of that though, Mark).

Anyway, you didn't leave me any room to reminisce on Round 15 1988. I'm disappointed.

Originally posted by Hawkas

You sacked Ablett for not conforming to Hawthorn's off-field code, and suceeded handsomely without him. You have hired Spider who has off-field behaviour problems. Times appear to have changed.

Suzi, I know when I have been outpointed. Such a disparity in intellect and wit allows no competition. I concede on all points.

A good response from someone who's club wasn't even good enuff to make the finals to a person whose club was good enough to lose the grand final to the raging favourites by a small margin :rolleyes:.

What does that have to do with how the respective clubs run their best and fairest???

Originally posted by Stocka What, not even for beating you at Victoria Park twice in '85?
Anyway, I wasn't suggesting you did, but rather, that you seemed to be bitter about me reflecting on a time when your club was performing poorly (not that it isn't to be expect by anyone, really).
Was that when you shared Vic. Park?
I was at the Fitzroy home game with a then Fitzroy sponsor and latter to become director, his mother (a rabid old style Fitzroy supporter) and some friend of his. I can still hear the bitching about the Roys coming out of the visitor’s rooms. I can still hear the crap I copped all day as were outpointed after that "indignity".

So yeh, maybe a little bitter after all come to think of it.

Thruth is Collingwood and Fitzroy were great rivals in their heyday. No matter what I just can't feel the same about Brisbane though.
Originally posted by Stocka Aren't we all? That was my original point, and I have never said that I too wasn't subject to it.
Fair enough. That was my point is all. Likewise I have never claimed not to throw stones from a glass house at times. At least we both have sense enough to see it and can admit it. Pity it is a rare thing on here. Maybe if we encouraged more Collingwood supporters to speak their mind we'd get more common sense!
Originally posted by Stocka Since when has the length of a reply indicated its tone?
Only when someone tried too hard to make a small point sound convincing regardless of substance. ;)
Originally posted by Stocka Yes, and I could say that about the comments which initially inspired me to post. It may not have involved my club, but the opportunity was too great to resist.
I don't mind you having a crack. I think you should take my response as more appropriate than bitter given that. No biggy though.
Originally posted by Stocka However, when you are having a go at someone for something which is comparitable to your own efforts, then you need to watch out! ;)
Alternatively Carlton, the subject of the post, could be viewed as receiving back some of their own. Collingwood supporters more than most might just owe them a bit.
Originally posted by Stocka Current club (you should have read my post more thoroughly!).
Ditto.
Originally posted by Stocka Once again, a fair enough point, but I think you can see the point that I was making originally, and how I may similarly argue for my point of view as you have above.
No I barrack for Collingwood. No one else has valid points. There is only black and white. There is only our point of view. Frankly I'm astounded that you would even consider anything else.
Originally posted by Stocka Anyway, you didn't leave me any room to reminisce on Round 15 1988. I'm disappointed.
The mere fact that you can remember every win is enough consolation for me. I can't possibly remember all ours.

Originally posted by Cyclops

You sacked Ablett for not conforming to Hawthorn's off-field code, and suceeded handsomely without him. You have hired Spider who has off-field behaviour problems. Times appear to have changed.

Suzi, I know when I have been outpointed. Such a disparity in intellect and wit allows no competition. I concede on all points.
Spider's off - field behaviour problems were caused by the way how St Kilda was run. Remember, they did have a lot of problems when they sacked 6 coaches in six years since playing in a GF against Adelaide..

Thanks for proving me right.

All you need to do is a little research and you will get there.;)

The mere fact that you can remember every win is enough consolation for me. I can't possibly remember all ours.

Well considering it only just fell short of a record margin, it was a fairly memorable occasion. Now that you've asked, I might as well give you the run down:

Fitzroy
5.6 9.8 16.13 21.16 142

0.2 1.6 2.7 7.10 52

(If only we'd gone on with it in the last quarter!).

If I recall correctly, Leon Harris bagged about 6 or so that day. Not a bad result, considering it was second playing second last (albeit an underperforming one) at the time. ;)

Was that when you shared Vic. Park?
I was at the Fitzroy home game with a then Fitzroy sponsor and latter to become director, his mother (a rabid old style Fitzroy supporter) and some friend of his. I can still hear the bitching about the Roys coming out of the visitor’s rooms. I can still hear the crap I copped all day as were outpointed after that "indignity".

So yeh, maybe a little bitter after all come to think of it.

Thruth is Collingwood and Fitzroy were great rivals in their heyday. No matter what I just can't feel the same about Brisbane though.

Fair enough. That was my point is all. Likewise I have never claimed not to throw stones from a glass house at times. At least we both have sense enough to see it and can admit it. Pity it is a rare thing on here. Maybe if we encouraged more Collingwood supporters to speak their mind we'd get more common sense!

Only when someone tried too hard to make a small point sound convincing regardless of substance. ;)

I don't mind you having a crack. I think you should take my response as more appropriate than bitter given that. No biggy though.

Alternatively Carlton, the subject of the post, could be viewed as receiving back some of their own. Collingwood supporters more than most might just owe them a bit.

Ditto.

No I barrack for Collingwood. No one else has valid points. There is only black and white. There is only our point of view. Frankly I'm astounded that you would even consider anything else.

Mark T,

This is a forum for everyone not just Collingwood supporters. BTW, the world doesn't evolve around footy and one AFL team. It is impossible to have everyone in this world following one team. There would be no competition at all and footy would be boring.

This is why we are discussing everything. You have to see outside the square you live in no matter what. It's a big world out there.

Mark T,

This is a forum for everyone not just Collingwood supporters. BTW, the world doesn't evolve around footy and one AFL team. It is impossible to have everyone in this world following one team. There would be no competition at all and footy would be boring.

This is why we are discussing everything. You have to see outside the square you live in no matter what. It's a big world out there.

Anyone get the feeling that this thread has jsut done a full circle??

Suzi, I have never responded to one of your posts because I thought you were either very young or just not the full quid. I probably should be a bigger person but I am a Collingwood suppoerter as you pointed no doubt noted. Since you stuck your bib in I will have a crack at this one.
Originally posted by suzi_olsen This is a forum for everyone not just Collingwood supporters. BTW, the world doesn't evolve around footy and one AFL team.
The world evolves around a combination of the Big Bang, some complicated cosmological theories and Darwinian natural selection processes if you believe accepted or prevailing knowledge. The football worl, however, revolves around Collingwood. I can prove it. Count the media mentions and the Big Footy posts. I'm not Steven Hawking but I can see an obvious hypothesis proof when it farts in my face.
It is impossible to have everyone in this world following one team. There would be no competition at all and footy would be boring.
It's not impossible but you are right that it would be boring. Not sure what that has to with my conversation with stocka but nevermind.
Ah, outside the square.
I'm sorry but like all Collingwood supporters I'm happy if they let me see outside my cell. Since you understand all these difficult and confusing concepts, can you please tell me how big the world is? I'm a little confused. Just yesterday I bumped into a bloke who used to know an old friend of mine. he said "it's a small world isn't it?" I didn't know what he meant so I just agreed. I didn't want to look silly you see. Now you are telling me it's a big world. No wondwer I get these headaches. The shrink says it's the voices but I think it is all these confusing things the people out there keep telling me.

Anyway, suzi, thanks for the chat. Please stop by again.

I've got a theory.

It's my considered opinion that Suzi doesn't exist. She is, instead, a manifestation of each of our deepest grievences and annoyances.

Each person sees and reads a different Suzi, and each must choose - respond to the irksome side, or turn the other cheek, whistle while you work, and associated platitudes.

'Tis a battle within oneself: eternal, intense, and so very annoying.